AT-4

解决方案集群 4.3.3

加强可持续领土发展

解决方案集群 4.3.3 支持当地食品参与者 与世界粮食安全委员会(CFS)关于将小农与市场联系起来的高级别论坛提出的建议有关。然而,地域视角提供了更多的实质内容并加强了粮安委建议的价值(例如建议 #18:“促进短食品供应链,使小农从生产中获得更好的收入”和 #24:“促进小农增加产量的能力”他们的议价能力和对经济环境的控制,以及通过集体行动参与食品价值链”)。该集群的直接目标是促进协调、高影响力和具有成本效益的合作,并加速不同参与者之间的学习循环,以及与当地食品价值链中的小农、中小企业和其他参与者合作的举措。鉴于市场在一个领土内的嵌入性,支持这些当地食品参与者有可能减少供应链参与者之间的距离(地理和社会文化),允许更短的分销渠道,使小农更容易获取信息(从而减少信息不对称),并协商更好的参与这些市场的条件。同样,这些市场在领土内的嵌入性使其对于确保当地消费者的粮食安全和获得健康饮食至关重要,特别是对于最脆弱的人来说,这些市场是购买新鲜和未加工食品的主要零售渠道。最后,当地食品参与者可以在保护与产地相关的特定食品质量方面发挥关键作用,为保护当地生物多样性、文化特征和食品遗产做出贡献,同时改善市场准入和当地附加值的再分配。随着特定标签和基于地点的规范(如地理标志)的发展,这一点得到了加强。当地食品参与者应该得到认可和支持,因为他们可以成为促进当地食品环境更健康的主要渠道。

改善农村、城郊和城市地区之间的联系可以更有效地将生产者与市场和消费者联系起来,并为食品生产、加工、储存、运输和市场的转型投资创造机会,从而支持当地经济发展并提高质量当地居民的生活。应优先加强当地市场和短食品供应链,特别是在小城市。本地化可持续和健康饮食的基于食物的膳食指南可以告知消费者并将需求重新定位到文化上可接受的当季当地生产的食物。

小城镇及其农村腹地尤其如此。农村-小城市连续体/界面预计将占到约 49 亿人,占世界总人口的 57%,其中很大一部分人处于贫困和粮食不安全状态。在这些领土上发展可持续粮食系统具有可持续减少贫困和粮食不安全的潜力。

关于此解决方案集群

当地粮食行动者对于消除饥饿和贫困最为重要,但在全球粮食系统中却最容易被忽视。 人们越来越认识到政府、国际机构、研究界、民间社会和土著人民组织需要采取行动和投资,以更大和更好地支持发展农民在种子系统管理方面的机构。中小企业是几乎所有粮食系统的经济支柱。它们创造了大部分新的就业机会,帮助一个国家的经济基础多样化,促进创新,向金字塔底层提供商品和服务,并且可以成为将妇女和年轻人融入经济主流的强大力量。一些中小企业嵌入到大型农业综合企业的供应链中,对稳定和透明的供应至关重要。 目前政策雷达中没有领土市场 许多政府及其潜力尚未得到充分理解和广泛理解。

领土可以充当创新中心,从而激励中小型农业和非农业企业的创建并促进就业。公私伙伴关系将导致创建技术和创业生态系统,这将满足包括有机和农业生态产品和服务在内的日益增长的需求。

该集群中的解决方案将奏效,因为它们基于证据,证明在非正式转移、更短的供应链和本地市场贸易以及小型商业企业可以蓬勃发展的地方,生计更加公平和安全。例如,如果农民网络在信息和知识转移的支持下得到加强,那么他们的个人和集体机构就会得到加强。在过去几年中,包括小农组织在内的公共和私营部门的多项举措已经从小农生态系统的各种干预措施中积累了经验教训。这也进一步突出了需要解决的各种弱点,以实现整体小农生态系统方法。该集群中的所有解决方案均基于已发表的学习和证据,以及需要更多解决方案来解决领土粮食系统中个人和集体的问题,而不管宏观经济如何。这种优势可以导致议价能力、市场参与和与更高级别治理结构的联系增加。消费者对正宗、原产地品质和当地食品的兴趣也是行动的重要推动力,而食品的推广也受益于当地的声誉,反之亦然,为乡村旅游铺平了道路和当地美食。

该集群汇集了广泛的解决方案,可以触及所有参与者,从致力于购买更多当地食品的新鲜食品市场和连锁超市,到获得更好的教育、资源和所有权能力的小农。

  • 调整小农支持生态系统的努力。 将建立一个数字知识系统,其中包含一个精心策划的地理参考数据界面,跟踪关键的正在进行或计划中的举措;不同国家服务提供商的数字目录;关于影响跟踪的非机密数据和从不同方案模型中吸取的经验教训;以及为有兴趣寻求合作的参与者提供市场功能。该系统可以通过定期举办论坛来补充小农组织和服务提供商,旨在完善现有模式,确保服务牢固地根植于小农的需求并对其做出响应,并通过同行讨论加快创新和相互学习的步伐。
  • 促进包容性种子系统以实现公平生计,通过建立包容性网络,使农民能够为了当地粮食安全和主权以及公平生计的利益而相互参与。农民所有的中小企业生产种子也将促进创业,创造生产性就业和体面工作。
  • 考虑学校供餐,因为它可以解决所有可持续发展目标,进行系统干预,并有助于促进当地粮食经济。实施学校供餐是一项轻而易举的成果,通过为所有儿童提供每日必需的膳食来教育儿童什么是健康食品,确保没有一个儿童掉队,并通过这种教育膳食,为世代建立更强大的可持续饮食文化来。可以利用学校供餐和其他食品采购计划来加强当地经济并促进可持续的当地食品系统。
  • 大型零售商促进本地采购,通过全球大型连锁超市的全球自愿承诺,特别是在全球南部(非洲、拉丁美洲和亚洲)经营的连锁超市,对其新鲜产品供应(水果、到 2030 年来自当地小生产者的蔬菜等),并承诺为附加值支付公平的价格。超市自己会提出实现目标的手段,包括帮助组织合作社和/或其他形式的有效协会,以满足超市供应的规模和数量,建立让农民获得技术的信贷计划。达到标准,促进知识传播等。
  • 建立农业中小企业业务发展平台 (商业发展计划) 将参与加强农业中小企业的不同跨部门参与者联系起来,并提供多种服务,以更好地利用和调整其集体资源——以最大限度地发挥集体影响。该 BDP 的一些关键功能将基于现有举措以及位置优越但不同的利益相关者群体产生的丰富经验和见解:为企业家和企业发展服务提供一套评估和培训资源和材料;以及可以帮助实施农业中小企业融资的本地企业网络和学习社区,并提供积极的学习和外展计划。
  • 建立农场到市场联盟 (FtMA)s) 以东非国家已经开发的模式为基础,让农民与服务中心建立联系,并作为农民与服务提供者互动的一站式商店。这包括促进私营部门和公共部门之间更广泛的伙伴关系,以更好地吸引私营部门公司在当地采购。
  • 改善基础设施和其他政策和计划 连接一个领土内的城镇及其农业“集水区”,并连接生产者、农业工业加工商和辅助服务以及食品价值链的其他部分。这种方法的一个例子包括农业走廊,它将生产区连接到小型城市中心。
  • 建立公私伙伴关系 将导致创建技术和创业创新生态系统,这将满足包括有机和农业生态产品和服务在内的日益增长的需求。
  • 发展地理标志系统 (地理标志) 以保留与原产地相关的特定质量产品,并使其在市场上脱颖而出。地理标志是用于具有特定地理来源并具有源于该来源的品质或声誉的产品的标志,包括自然和人为因素(世界知识产权组织的定义)。它为一群小农提供了集体保护与其产品名称相关的知识产权及其相关生产系统声誉的机会。由于规范中重视他们的具体做法,因此附加值可以在当地更好地重新分配给当地的初级生产商和加工商。
  • 支持地域市场 通过投资、政策和能力发展,使这些市场更具包容性,振兴当地经济,使消费者能够获得健康和多样化的饮食,并促进向可持续粮食系统的过渡。
  • 加强食品安全和质量标准和控制机制。
  • 推进本地交易平台建设 (电子商务)或基础设施(改善当地市场)。
  • 加强本地加工 (包括地方设防)能力,并促进跨价值链参与者采用长期和公平的合同,以减少议价能力的不对称并建立信任。

加入工作组

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.3.3

Strengthening Sustainable Territorial Development

Solution Cluster 4.3.3 Supporting Local Food Actors is related to the recommendations emanating from the Committee on World Food Security (CFS) High-Level Forum on Connecting Smallholders to Markets. However, a territorial perspective gives more substance and strengthens the value of the CFS recommendations (such as recommendations #18: “promote short food supply chains that enable smallholders to obtain a better income from their production” and #24: “facilitate smallholders’ capacity to increase their bargaining power and control over their economic environment, and participation in food value chains by acting collectively”). The direct objective of the cluster is to facilitate alignment, high-impact, and cost-efficient collaborations, and accelerate learning loops among different actors and initiatives working with smallholder farmers, SMEs, and other actors in the local food value chains. Given the embeddedness of markets in a territory, supporting these local food actors has the potential to reduce distances (both geographical and socio-cultural) among supply chain actors, allowing for shorter distribution channels which enable smallholders to acquire information more easily (thus reducing the information asymmetries), and to negotiate better terms of participation into these markets. Similarly, the embeddedness of these markets in territories makes them crucial to ensuring food security and access to healthy diets for local consumers, especially for the most vulnerable ones for whom these markets are the main retail outlet for purchasing fresh and unprocessed foods. Finally, local food actors can play a crucial role in preserving specific quality of their food linked to the place of production, to contribute to preserving local biodiversity, cultural identity, and food heritage, while improving market access and local redistribution of added values. This is enhanced with the development of specific labelling and place-based specifications such as geographical indications. Local food actors should be recognised and supported as they can be the key channels for contributing to healthier local food environments.

Improved connections between rural, peri-urban, and urban areas can more effectively link producers to markets and consumers, and create opportunities for transformative investments in food production, processing, storage, transport, and markets that can support local economic development and enhance the quality of life of the local population. Priority should be given to strengthening local markets and short food supply chains, particularly in small cities. Localising food based dietary guidelines for sustainable and healthy diets can inform consumers and reorient demand towards culturally acceptable, locally produced foods in season.

This is particularly the case for small cities and towns and their rural hinterland. The rural-small city continuum/interface is expected to account for around 4.9 billion people, or 57 percent of the world’s total population with a large part of them being poor and food insecure. Development of sustainable food systems in those territories holds the potential for sustainably reducing poverty and food insecurity.

About this Solution Cluster

Local food actors are the most important to ending hunger and poverty but are the most overlooked in global food systems. There is a growing recognition of the need for action and investment by governments, international agencies, the research community and civil society and indigenous peoples’ organisations for greater and better support to developing the agency of farmers in seed system management. SMEs are the economic backbone of virtually all food systems. They generate most of the new jobs created, help diversify a country’s economic base, promote innovation, deliver goods and services to the bottom of the pyramid, and can be a powerful force for integrating women and young people into the economic mainstream. Some SMEs are embedded in the supply chains of larger agribusinesses and critical to a stable and transparent supply. Territorial markets are currently absent from the policy radars of many governments and their potential is not yet well and widely understood.

Territories can act as hubs of innovation and, thus, incentivise small and medium-sized agricultural and non-agricultural enterprise creation and promote employment. Public-private partnerships will result in the creation of technological and entrepreneurial ecosystems which will meet, inter alia, increasing demands for including organic and agro-ecological products and services.

The solutions in this cluster will work because they are based on the evidence that livelihoods are more equitable and secure where informal transfer, shorter supply chain and local market trade and small-scale commercial business enterprise can thrive. For instance, if farmer networks are strengthened with support for information and knowledge transfer then their individual and collective agency is strengthened. In the last few years, several initiatives by public and private sectors – including smallholder organisations – have accumulated lessons learned from a variety of interventions across the smallholder ecosystems. This has also further highlighted the various weak points that need to be addressed to deliver on a holistic smallholder ecosystem approach. All the solutions grouped in this cluster are based on published learning and evidence and on the need for more solutions that address the agency of individuals and collectives in territorial food systems, regardless of macro-economics. This strength can then lead to increased bargaining power, market engagement and connection with higher level governance structures. Consumers’ interest in authentic, origin-linked quality and local food is also an important driver for the actions to work, while the promotion of the food products also benefits from the reputation of the territory and vice-versa, paving the way for rural tourism and local gastronomy.

This cluster brings together an ample range of solutions that can touch all actors, from fresh food markets and supermarket chains committing to buying more local food, to smallholder farmers gaining improved access to education, resources, and ownership abilities.

  • Aligning efforts in the smallholder farmers support ecosystem. A digital knowledge system would be established with a curated, geo-referenced data interface tracking key ongoing or planned initiatives; a digital directory of service providers for different countries; non-confidential data on impact tracking and lessons learned from different programmatic models; and a marketplace function for participating actors with interest in seeking collaborations. The system could be complemented by periodic forums gathering smallholder organisations and service providers designed to refine existing models, ensure that services are strongly anchored into smallholders’ demand and responsive to it, and accelerate the pace of innovation and mutual learning through peer discussion.
  • Promoting inclusive seed systems for equitable livelihoods, via the establishment of inclusive networks, so that farmers can engage with each other in the interests of local food security and sovereignty and of equitable livelihoods. The production of seed by farmer-owned SMEs will also promote entrepreneurship and create productive employment and decent work.
  • Considering school feeding, as it can address all the SDGs, create a systemic intervention, and help boost the local food economy. Implementing school feeding is a low hanging fruit educating children in what is healthy food by giving a daily essential meal to all children, that ensures that no child is left behind, and, with that educational meal, building a stronger sustainable food culture for generations to come. School feeding and other food procurement programmes can be leveraged to strengthen local economies and promote sustainable local food systems.
  • Promoting local sourcing by large retailer, via a global voluntary commitment by large supermarket chains globally, especially those operating in the Global South (Africa, Latin America, and Asia), to exercise preferential sourcing of at least one third of the net value of its fresh products supplies (fruits, vegetables, etc.) from local small producers by 2030, and to commit to pay fair prices for the value added. The supermarkets themselves would put forward the means to reach the target, including helping organising cooperatives and/or other forms of effective associations to be able to meet the scale and volume needed to supply the supermarket, establishing credit schemes for the farmers to obtain the technology to meet standards, facilitating knowledge dissemination, etc.
  • Establishing agri-SME Business Development Platforms (BDPs) to connect diverse cross-sector actors engaged in strengthening agri-SMEs and provide multiple services that better leverage and align their collective resources – to maximise collective impact. Building on existing initiatives and a wealth of experience and insights generated by well-placed but disparate stakeholder groups, some of the key functions of this BDP will be: a toolbox of resources for agri-SMEs to enhance their investment-readiness and bankability; a suite of assessment and training resources and material for entrepreneur and business development services; and a network of local businesses that can help implement and a learning community for agri-SME finance, with an active learning and outreach program.
  • Establishing Farm to Market Alliances (FtMAs) engaging farmers with service centres and serving as a one-stop shop through which farmers interact with service providers, based on the model already developed in eastern African countries. This includes promoting a broader partnership between private and public sector to better engage private sector companies procuring locally.
  • Improving infrastructure and other policies and programmes to connect cities and towns and their agricultural “catchment areas” within a territory and to connect producers, agro-industrial processors and ancillary services, and other segments of the food value chain. An example of the approach includes agro-corridors, which connect production areas to small urban hubs.
  • Creating Public-private partnerships will result in the creation of technological and entrepreneurial innovation ecosystems which will meet, inter alia, increasing demands for including organic and agro-ecological products and services.
  • Developing geographical indication systems (GIs) to preserve their specific-quality product linked to the origin and differentiate it on the market. A GI is a sign used on products that have a specific geographical origin and possess qualities or a reputation that are due to that origin, including natural and human factors (World Intellectual Property Organisation definition). It represents an opportunity for a group of smallholders to collectively protect the intellectual property attached to their product name and the reputation of their related production system. The added value can then be better redistributed locally to local primary producers and processors, because of their specific practices valued in the specifications.
  • Supporting territorial markets through investment, policy, and capacity development to make these markets more inclusive, revitalise the local economy, enable access to healthy and diversified diets to consumers, and catalyse the transition toward sustainable food systems.
  • Strengthening food safety and quality standards and control mechanisms.
  • Promoting the establishment of local trading platforms (e-commerce) or infrastructure (improved local markets).
  • Strengthening local processing (including local fortification) capacity and promoting the adoption of long-term and fair contracts across value chain actors to reduce asymmetries in bargaining power and build trust.

Join Working Group