fss_actiontrack_1-cover.png

解决方案集群 1.2.1b

“重置”浪费预防和治疗以促进行动和问责

该解决方案旨在就减少全球流行率和消瘦发生率所需的内容进行对话,并进行清晰的交流。在联合国 FSS 上发起的讨论将导致在 2021 年 12 月的营养促进增长 (N4G) 峰会上宣布“重置”婴儿和儿童消瘦预防、早期检测和治疗,以促进 2022 年的全球行动和问责–2030 年期间。通过高级别圆桌会议和六个工作组的投入制定的宣言将作为这一重置的基础。目的是将婴儿和儿童浪费的话题从技术领域提升到更高的政治层面,从医学问题提升到食品系统问题。

关于此解决方案集群

消瘦是指由于饮食摄入不足和/或感染导致体重迅速减轻。它与死亡风险显着升高有关,但却是全球最容易被忽视的营养问题之一。目前有 4540 万名五岁以下儿童患有消瘦(世界银行集团 2021),并且大多数国家都偏离了实现可持续发展目标营养目标的轨道 (2020年国民总收入),是时候进行“重置”了。未来还有更多挑战,包括由于气候变化的影响,预计会增加浪费和其他形式的营养不良(世界粮食计划署,2018 年) 和 COVID-19 大流行 (罗伯顿等人,2020)。因此,需要大规模地从根本上改进预防、早期检测和治疗工作。尽管国际上对减少浪费有相当大的兴趣和投资,并得到了各国政府的大力支持,但目前的进展速度还不够快,无法确保实现全球目标。有效营养规划的基石是有利的金融和政策环境,由强大的政治意愿驱动,并在旨在防止营养不良的食品、健康和社会保护系统中建立。该解决方案将进一步推动产生确保实现全球浪费目标所需的高层政治支持。

着眼于改善浪费管理的关键影响的成本效益分析强调了关注这一解决方案的重要性,例如 柳叶刀 母婴营养系列(2013 年、2021 年)和世界银行对“扩大营养:需要多少成本?”的估计。 (霍顿等人。 2010年)。消瘦和发育迟缓共存并存在因果关系(威尔斯等人。 2019年),因此减少儿童消瘦的策略也将改善发育迟缓。有大量关于与儿童发育迟缓相关的严重经济成本以及投资改善营养的理由的大量文献(例如, 麦戈文等。 2017年)。这次重置的一个组成部分将建立在联合国关于儿童消瘦的联合全球行动计划(GAP)的基础上(粮农组织、难民署、联合国儿童基金会、粮食署、世卫组织,2020)。 GAP 使用了一个多系统概念框架,描述了政府及其合作伙伴可以探索的一系列潜在的循证行动,以改进儿童消瘦的预防、早期发现和治疗。它将预防置于该方法的核心,并强调了在食品、健康、社会保护以及水、个人卫生和环境卫生系统之间协调行动的重要性。各国政府及其合作伙伴制定运营路线图,以优先考虑解决特定环境需求和机会所需的服务和行动,并为其提供充足的资源。

最多 30 人将组成一个圆桌小组,其中包括来自政府、联合国、学术界、民间社会、捐助者和私营部门(例如食品生产商)的高级代表。他们将获得来自六个工作组 (WG) 的信息,每个工作组都专注于对扩大浪费预防、早期发现和治疗至关重要的特定领域:1) 预防,2) 融资,3) 宣传,4) 治疗规模-up,5) 政策和指南,以及 6) 营养产品。工作组将建立共识驱动的解决方案:各国政府和其他利益相关者可以而且必须采取现实行动,以便到 2030 年显着减少浪费。每个工作组将准备一份简报,其中将告知确定“重置”的关键组成部分'——例如,什么可以建立,什么需要改变,如何激发政治支持,以及在联合国 FSS 上宣布宣言并在 N4G 上发布的关键下一步是什么。解决方案涉及到 2030 年实现 SDG 2(零饥饿)的思维、资金和实践的重新设置。继续现有的方法是不够的;需要通过重新检查成功之处(确定范例)和仍然存在的障碍来确定路线修正。

许多组织、团体、联盟和倡议一直在努力增加对扩大浪费预防和治疗的关注和行动。当前的支持体现在 GAP 领跑国家承诺实施详细的行动计划,即“GAP 运营路线图”。该解决方案结合了 GAP 框架,同时还扩大了参与浪费重置的利益相关者的范围,以进一步增加当前势头和可操作解决方案的采用。该解决方案的灵感源自主要政府代表、联合国机构、联盟、全球和国家民间社会成员、全球营养集群技术联盟、全球和区域消瘦倡导团体以及 AT1 领导团队之间的讨论。 

加入工作组

此解决方案集群中的改变游戏规则的提议

fss_actiontrack_1-cover.png

Solution Cluster 1.2.1b

‘Reset’ wasting prevention and treatment to catalyse action and accountability

This solution aims to coalesce and clearly communicate the dialogue around what is required to reduce global prevalence and incidence of wasting. Discussions initiated at the UN FSS will lead to the announcement of a ‘reset’ of infant and childhood wasting prevention, early detection, and treatment at the Nutrition for Growth (N4G) Summit in December 2021, to catalyse global action and accountability in the 2022–2030 period. Underpinning this reset will be a Manifesto, developed through a high-level roundtable meeting and inputs from six working groups. The aim is to elevate the topic of infant and childhood wasting from technical domains to higher political levels, and from a medicalised problem to a food systems concern.

About this Solution Cluster

Wasting refers to rapid weight loss due to inadequate dietary intake and/or infection. It is associated with a significantly elevated risk of mortality yet is one of the most ignored nutrition problems globally. With 45.4 million children under five years of age currently suffering from wasting (WBG 2021), and with most countries off track to meet SDG nutrition targets (GNR, 2020), the time has come for a ‘reset’. Further challenges lie ahead, including anticipated increases in wasting and other forms of undernutrition due to the effects of climate change (WFP, 2018) and the COVID-19 pandemic (Roberton et al, 2020). The need for radically improved prevention, early detection, and treatment efforts at scale is therefore critical. Despite the considerable international interest and investment in reducing wasting as well as strong support from national governments, the speed of progress is not currently fast enough to ensure global targets are met. The bedrock for effective nutrition programming is a conducive financial and policy environment, driven by strong political will and established within food, health, and social protection systems that operate to prevent undernutrition. This Solution will provide further impetus to generate the high-level political support needed to ensure global wasting targets are met.

Cost-benefit analyses looking at the critical impact of improved management of wasting have highlighted the vital importance of focusing on this solution, such as the Lancet Maternal and Child Nutrition Series (2013, 2021) and the World Bank estimates on ‘Scaling Up Nutrition: What Will it Cost?’ (Horton et al. 2010). Wasting and stunting co-exist and are causally related (Wells et al. 2019), hence strategies to reduce child wasting will also improve stunting. There is a wealth of literature on the grave economic costs associated with childhood stunting and the resulting rationale for investing in improved nutrition (e.g., McGovern et al. 2017). An integral part of this reset will be building on the UN-joint Global Action Plan (GAP) on Child Wasting (FAO, UNHCR, UNICEF, WFP, WHO, 2020). The GAP uses a multi-systemic conceptual framework describing the range of potential evidence-based actions that governments and their partners can explore to improve the prevention, early detection, and treatment of child wasting. It puts prevention at the core of the approach and highlights the importance of coordinated action across food, health, social protection, and water, hygiene and sanitation systems. National governments and their partners develop operational roadmaps to prioritise and adequately resource the services and actions necessary to address context-specific needs and opportunities.

A maximum of 30 people, comprised of high-level representatives from government, UN, academia, civil society, donors, and the private sector (e.g., food producers), will form a roundtable group. They will be provided with information from six working groups (WGs), each focussing on a specific domain critical for the scale up of wasting prevention, early detection and treatment: 1) prevention, 2) financing, 3) advocacy, 4) treatment scale-up, 5) policies & guidelines, and 6) nutritional products. The WGs will establish consensus-driven solutions: realistic actions that national governments and other stakeholders can and must take in order to significantly reduce wasting by 2030. Each WG will prepare a brief, which will inform the identification of the critical components of the ‘reset’ — e.g., what can be built on, what needs to change, how to galvanise political support, and what the critical next steps are to announce the manifesto at the UN FSS and launch at N4G. The solution involves a reset of thinking, funding, and practice to reach SDG 2 (Zero Hunger) by 2030. Continuing the existing approach is not going to be enough; course corrections need to be identified through re-examination of what has been successful (identifying exemplars) and what obstacles remain.

Many organisations, groups, alliances, and initiatives have been working to increase attention and action for the scale up of wasting prevention and treatment. Current support is exemplified by GAP frontrunner countries committing to implement detailed action plans, known as ‘GAP Operational Roadmaps.’ This Solution incorporates the GAP framework whilst also broadening the range of stakeholders involved in the wasting reset to further increase the current momentum and uptake of actionable solutions. The inspiration for this Solution evolved from discussion between key government representatives, UN agencies, coalitions, global and national civil society members, the Global Nutrition Cluster Technical Alliance, global and regional wasting advocacy groups, and the AT1 Leadership Team. 

Join Working Group