fss_actiontrack_1-cover.png

مجموعة الحلول 1.2.1b

"إعادة تعيين" منع الهدر ومعالجته لتحفيز العمل والمساءلة

يهدف هذا الحل إلى التوفيق بين الحوار وإيصاله بوضوح حول ما هو مطلوب لتقليل الانتشار العالمي وحالات الهزال. ستؤدي المناقشات التي بدأت في مجلس الأمن الغذائي التابع للأمم المتحدة إلى الإعلان عن `` إعادة ضبط '' الوقاية من الهزال لدى الرضع والأطفال ، والاكتشاف المبكر ، والعلاج في قمة التغذية من أجل النمو (N4G) في ديسمبر 2021 ، لتحفيز العمل العالمي والمساءلة في عام 2022 –2030 فترة. ستدعم عملية إعادة التعيين هذه بيانًا تم تطويره من خلال اجتماع مائدة مستديرة رفيع المستوى ومدخلات من ست مجموعات عمل. والهدف من ذلك هو رفع موضوع هزال الأطفال والرضع من المجالات التقنية إلى المستويات السياسية الأعلى ، ومن مشكلة طبية إلى مشكلة تتعلق بالنظم الغذائية.

حول مجموعة الحلول هذه

يشير الهزال إلى فقدان الوزن السريع بسبب عدم كفاية المدخول الغذائي و / أو الإصابة. يرتبط بارتفاع خطر الوفاة بشكل كبير ، ولكنه يعد أحد أكثر مشكلات التغذية تجاهلًا على مستوى العالم. مع وجود 45.4 مليون طفل دون سن الخامسة يعانون حاليًا من الهزال (مجموعة البنك الدولي 2021) ، ومع خروج معظم البلدان عن المسار الصحيح لتحقيق أهداف التغذية لأهداف التنمية المستدامة (GNR ، 2020) ، حان وقت "إعادة التعيين". هناك تحديات أخرى تنتظرنا ، بما في ذلك الزيادات المتوقعة في الهزال وأشكال أخرى من نقص التغذية بسبب آثار تغير المناخ (برنامج الأغذية العالمي ، 2018) ووباء COVID-19 (Roberton et al ، 2020). ولذلك ، فإن الحاجة إلى تحسين جذري في جهود الوقاية والكشف المبكر والعلاج على نطاق واسع أمر بالغ الأهمية. على الرغم من الاهتمام الدولي الكبير والاستثمار في الحد من الهدر فضلاً عن الدعم القوي من الحكومات الوطنية ، فإن سرعة التقدم ليست بالسرعة الكافية حاليًا لضمان تحقيق الأهداف العالمية. إن حجر الأساس لبرمجة التغذية الفعالة هو بيئة مالية وسياسية مواتية ، مدفوعة بإرادة سياسية قوية ومتأصلة في أنظمة الحماية الغذائية والصحية والاجتماعية التي تعمل على منع نقص التغذية. سيوفر هذا الحل مزيدًا من الزخم لتوليد الدعم السياسي رفيع المستوى اللازم لضمان تحقيق أهداف الهزال العالمية.

سلطت تحليلات التكلفة والفوائد التي تبحث في التأثير الحاسم للإدارة المحسنة للهزال الضوء على الأهمية الحيوية للتركيز على هذا الحل ، مثل لانسيت سلسلة تغذية الأم والطفل (2013 ، 2021) وتقديرات البنك الدولي حول "توسيع نطاق التغذية: ما هي التكلفة؟" (هورتون وآخرون. 2010). يتعايش الهزال والتقزم ويرتبطان سببيًا (ويلز وآخرون. 2019) ، وبالتالي فإن استراتيجيات الحد من هزال الأطفال ستؤدي أيضًا إلى تحسين التقزم. هناك وفرة من المؤلفات حول التكاليف الاقتصادية الجسيمة المرتبطة بتقزم الأطفال والأساس المنطقي الناتج عن الاستثمار في تحسين التغذية (على سبيل المثال ، ماكجفرن وآخرون. 2017). جزء لا يتجزأ من عملية إعادة التعيين هذه سوف يعتمد على خطة العمل العالمية المشتركة للأمم المتحدة (GAP) بشأن إهدار الأطفال (منظمة الأغذية والزراعة ، مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية لشؤون اللاجئين ، اليونيسف ، برنامج الأغذية العالمي ، منظمة الصحة العالمية ، 2020). تستخدم الممارسات الزراعية الحسنة إطارًا مفاهيميًا متعدد الأنظمة يصف مجموعة الإجراءات المحتملة المسندة بالأدلة التي يمكن للحكومات وشركائها استكشافها لتحسين الوقاية والاكتشاف المبكر ومعالجة هزال الأطفال. فهو يضع الوقاية في صميم النهج ويسلط الضوء على أهمية العمل المنسق عبر أنظمة الغذاء والصحة والحماية الاجتماعية والمياه والنظافة والصرف الصحي. تضع الحكومات الوطنية وشركاؤها خرائط طريق تشغيلية لتحديد الأولويات وتوفير الموارد الكافية للخدمات والإجراءات اللازمة لتلبية الاحتياجات والفرص الخاصة بالسياق.

سيتم تشكيل مجموعة طاولة مستديرة بحد أقصى 30 شخصًا ، يتألفون من ممثلين رفيعي المستوى من الحكومة والأمم المتحدة والأوساط الأكاديمية والمجتمع المدني والجهات المانحة والقطاع الخاص (مثل منتجي الأغذية). سيتم تزويدهم بمعلومات من ست مجموعات عمل (WGs) ، كل منها يركز على مجال معين مهم لتوسيع نطاق منع الهزال ، والكشف المبكر والمعالجة: 1) الوقاية ، 2) التمويل ، 3) الدعوة ، 4) مقياس العلاج -up ، 5) السياسات والمبادئ التوجيهية ، و 6) المنتجات الغذائية. ستضع مجموعات العمل حلولًا قائمة على الإجماع: إجراءات واقعية يمكن ويجب أن تتخذها الحكومات الوطنية وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرون من أجل الحد بشكل كبير من الهدر بحلول عام 2030. وستقوم كل مجموعة عمل بإعداد موجز ، والذي سيوجه تحديد المكونات الهامة لـ "إعادة الضبط" - على سبيل المثال ، ما الذي يمكن البناء عليه ، وما الذي يجب تغييره ، وكيفية حشد الدعم السياسي ، وما هي الخطوات الحاسمة التالية للإعلان عن البيان في UN FSS وإطلاقه في N4G. يتضمن الحل إعادة التفكير ، والتمويل ، والممارسة للوصول إلى الهدف 2 من أهداف التنمية المستدامة (القضاء على الجوع) بحلول عام 2030. إن استمرار النهج الحالي لن يكون كافياً ؛ يجب تحديد تصحيحات المسار من خلال إعادة فحص ما تم بنجاح (تحديد النماذج) والعقبات المتبقية.

تعمل العديد من المنظمات والمجموعات والتحالفات والمبادرات على زيادة الاهتمام والعمل من أجل توسيع نطاق الوقاية من الهزال ومعالجته. يتجسد الدعم الحالي في التزام البلدان الرائدة في GAP بتنفيذ خطط عمل مفصلة ، تُعرف باسم "خرائط الطريق التشغيلية GAP". يتضمن هذا الحل إطار عمل GAP مع توسيع نطاق أصحاب المصلحة المشاركين في إعادة الضياع لزيادة الزخم الحالي واستيعاب الحلول القابلة للتنفيذ. نشأ الإلهام لهذا الحل من المناقشة بين الممثلين الحكوميين الرئيسيين ووكالات الأمم المتحدة والائتلافات وأعضاء المجتمع المدني العالمي والوطني والتحالف الفني لمجموعة التغذية العالمية ومجموعات الدعوة العالمية والإقليمية لمكافحة الهزال وفريق قيادة AT1. 

انضم إلى مجموعة العمل

اقتراحات تغيير اللعبة في مجموعة الحلول هذه

fss_actiontrack_1-cover.png

Solution Cluster 1.2.1b

‘Reset’ wasting prevention and treatment to catalyse action and accountability

This solution aims to coalesce and clearly communicate the dialogue around what is required to reduce global prevalence and incidence of wasting. Discussions initiated at the UN FSS will lead to the announcement of a ‘reset’ of infant and childhood wasting prevention, early detection, and treatment at the Nutrition for Growth (N4G) Summit in December 2021, to catalyse global action and accountability in the 2022–2030 period. Underpinning this reset will be a Manifesto, developed through a high-level roundtable meeting and inputs from six working groups. The aim is to elevate the topic of infant and childhood wasting from technical domains to higher political levels, and from a medicalised problem to a food systems concern.

About this Solution Cluster

Wasting refers to rapid weight loss due to inadequate dietary intake and/or infection. It is associated with a significantly elevated risk of mortality yet is one of the most ignored nutrition problems globally. With 45.4 million children under five years of age currently suffering from wasting (WBG 2021), and with most countries off track to meet SDG nutrition targets (GNR, 2020), the time has come for a ‘reset’. Further challenges lie ahead, including anticipated increases in wasting and other forms of undernutrition due to the effects of climate change (WFP, 2018) and the COVID-19 pandemic (Roberton et al, 2020). The need for radically improved prevention, early detection, and treatment efforts at scale is therefore critical. Despite the considerable international interest and investment in reducing wasting as well as strong support from national governments, the speed of progress is not currently fast enough to ensure global targets are met. The bedrock for effective nutrition programming is a conducive financial and policy environment, driven by strong political will and established within food, health, and social protection systems that operate to prevent undernutrition. This Solution will provide further impetus to generate the high-level political support needed to ensure global wasting targets are met.

Cost-benefit analyses looking at the critical impact of improved management of wasting have highlighted the vital importance of focusing on this solution, such as the Lancet Maternal and Child Nutrition Series (2013, 2021) and the World Bank estimates on ‘Scaling Up Nutrition: What Will it Cost?’ (Horton et al. 2010). Wasting and stunting co-exist and are causally related (Wells et al. 2019), hence strategies to reduce child wasting will also improve stunting. There is a wealth of literature on the grave economic costs associated with childhood stunting and the resulting rationale for investing in improved nutrition (e.g., McGovern et al. 2017). An integral part of this reset will be building on the UN-joint Global Action Plan (GAP) on Child Wasting (FAO, UNHCR, UNICEF, WFP, WHO, 2020). The GAP uses a multi-systemic conceptual framework describing the range of potential evidence-based actions that governments and their partners can explore to improve the prevention, early detection, and treatment of child wasting. It puts prevention at the core of the approach and highlights the importance of coordinated action across food, health, social protection, and water, hygiene and sanitation systems. National governments and their partners develop operational roadmaps to prioritise and adequately resource the services and actions necessary to address context-specific needs and opportunities.

A maximum of 30 people, comprised of high-level representatives from government, UN, academia, civil society, donors, and the private sector (e.g., food producers), will form a roundtable group. They will be provided with information from six working groups (WGs), each focussing on a specific domain critical for the scale up of wasting prevention, early detection and treatment: 1) prevention, 2) financing, 3) advocacy, 4) treatment scale-up, 5) policies & guidelines, and 6) nutritional products. The WGs will establish consensus-driven solutions: realistic actions that national governments and other stakeholders can and must take in order to significantly reduce wasting by 2030. Each WG will prepare a brief, which will inform the identification of the critical components of the ‘reset’ — e.g., what can be built on, what needs to change, how to galvanise political support, and what the critical next steps are to announce the manifesto at the UN FSS and launch at N4G. The solution involves a reset of thinking, funding, and practice to reach SDG 2 (Zero Hunger) by 2030. Continuing the existing approach is not going to be enough; course corrections need to be identified through re-examination of what has been successful (identifying exemplars) and what obstacles remain.

Many organisations, groups, alliances, and initiatives have been working to increase attention and action for the scale up of wasting prevention and treatment. Current support is exemplified by GAP frontrunner countries committing to implement detailed action plans, known as ‘GAP Operational Roadmaps.’ This Solution incorporates the GAP framework whilst also broadening the range of stakeholders involved in the wasting reset to further increase the current momentum and uptake of actionable solutions. The inspiration for this Solution evolved from discussion between key government representatives, UN agencies, coalitions, global and national civil society members, the Global Nutrition Cluster Technical Alliance, global and regional wasting advocacy groups, and the AT1 Leadership Team. 

Join Working Group