AT-4

مجموعة الحلول 4.3.1

تعزيز سياسات النظم الغذائية المتكاملة والتخطيط والحوكمة

مجموعة الحلول 4.3.1 تعزيز سياسات النظم الغذائية المتكاملة والتخطيط والحوكمة يعترف بالاعتماد المتبادل بين مختلف مكونات النظم الغذائية والدور الحاسم للجهات الفاعلة على مختلف مستويات الحكم التي تعمل بطريقة متماسكة ومنسقة. في هذا السياق ، تلعب الحكومات الحضرية والمحلية ودون الوطنية دورًا رئيسيًا في تحويل النظم الغذائية. تعزيز سياسات النظم الغذائية المتكاملة والتخطيط والحوكمة داخل إقليم يشمل المدن والبلدات ومناطق مستجمعات المياه الريفية فيها عنصر أساسي في نظام حوكمة متماسك ومتعدد المستويات لتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs). مثل هذا النظام لا يغني عن الحاجة للتخطيط العمراني أو التخطيط في الوحدات الإدارية الأخرى ودمج النظم الغذائية فيها. ومع ذلك ، يجب أن يكون هذا التخطيط متسقًا مع الأهداف والإدارة الإقليمية الأوسع.

توفر المناهج الإقليمية إطارًا فعالًا لمعالجة الجوانب المختلفة لتحول النظم الغذائية على نطاق يمكن معالجة أبعاده الاجتماعية والبيئية والاقتصادية والمتعلقة بالصحة بمشاركة نشطة من جميع أصحاب المصلحة. يتطلب تعزيز سياسات النظم الغذائية المتكاملة والتخطيط والحوكمة التزامًا طويل الأجل من جميع المعنيين ومشاركة وحوارًا مستمرين بين الجهات الفاعلة الإقليمية (الحضرية والريفية) ولكن أيضًا بين أصحاب المصلحة الإقليميين والوطنيين. تتمتع الحوكمة الإقليمية بميزة كونها قائمة على المكان ، ومحورها الناس ، ومتعددة الجهات الفاعلة ومتعددة القطاعات. يتم استغلال الحوار الاجتماعي وآليات صنع القرار المجتمعية لإيجاد حلول مشتركة لتعزيز أوجه التكامل ومعالجة المفاضلات بين عناصر التحول المستدام للنظم الغذائية (الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئية).

حول مجموعة الحلول هذه

عادة ما تكون السياسات الغذائية وطنية ، وتتميز بنُهج قطاعية ، لا تشمل الحكومات دون الوطنية وإمكانات الروابط الريفية الحضرية في تحويل النظم الغذائية. على الرغم من قدرتها على تحويل النظم الغذائية ، إلا أن السلطات المحلية ودون الوطنية لا تتمتع بالاستقلالية والموارد الهادفة وليست مدمجة في آليات المساءلة الفعالة. على سبيل المثال ، تلعب الحكومات الحضرية دورًا رئيسيًا في إدارة النظم الغذائية على المستوى الإقليمي. مع وجود 54 في المائة من سكان العالم يعيشون الآن في المدن ، حيث يعيش 85 في المائة من سكان العالم في أو في غضون 3 ساعات من مركز حضري ، ومع حدوث 70 في المائة من استهلاك الأغذية والنفايات في مناطق مصنفة على أنها حضرية ، تصبح المدن هي مراكز تحول النظم الغذائية. لكن المناطق الحضرية هي أيضًا بؤر الزيادة السريعة في زيادة الوزن والسمنة والأمراض غير المعدية المرتبطة بالنظام الغذائي. تكافح العديد من المدن والبلدات لخلق بيئات غذائية تتوفر فيها مكونات النظم الغذائية الصحية والمستدامة ، ويمكن الوصول إليها ، وبأسعار معقولة. إن الافتقار إلى الروابط الفعالة بين تخطيط نظم الأغذية الحضرية وإدارتها مع تلك الموجودة في "الإقليم" الذي يشمل مناطق مستجمعات المياه الزراعية يمثل عقبة رئيسية في تحقيق حلول مربحة للجميع لإحراز تقدم في تحسين النظم الغذائية وسبل العيش الحضرية والريفية. ومع ذلك ، فإن مثل هذه الروابط ونظام الحكم السليم الذي لا يستغلها مفقودان إلى حد كبير. يمكن أن تعالج هذه الروابط مشكلة الصحارى الغذائية في العديد من المدن ونقص استهلاك الأطعمة المغذية (الفواكه والخضروات والبقول / البقوليات والحبوب الكاملة والمكسرات والبذور) ، مع إنشاء منافذ تسويق للزراعة المحلية ومشاركة صغار المزارعين. وعلى نفس المنوال ، فإن استغلال إمكانات التخطيط الإقليمي يمكن أن يسهل الوصول إلى النظم الغذائية الصحية التي لا يمكن تحمل تكاليفها بالنسبة للعديد من الأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض. قد يعزز التخطيط الإقليمي الوصول إلى الأسواق الدولية لكل من واردات ما لا يمكن إنتاجه محليًا والصادرات من خلال ضمان الحد الأدنى من الكمية المطلوبة ، والتنسيق في اللوجيستيات ، ومعايير سلامة الأغذية ، وما إلى ذلك. كما يمكن أن يقلل بشكل كبير من عدم المساواة في المناطق الريفية الحضرية والاستفادة من تطوير النظم الغذائية لخلق لائقة العمالة والحد من الفقر ووقف التحضر "الدافع". يمكن للحوكمة الإقليمية التشاركية الاستفادة بشكل أفضل من مجموعة واسعة من المعارف الأصلية التي أظهرت مساهمات كبيرة في الأمن الغذائي والتغذية والاستدامة البيئية.

ستجمع آليات إدارة الأغذية الحضرية والإقليمية الشاملة (مثل مجالس السياسات الغذائية أو الآليات المماثلة) أصحاب المصلحة معًا من أجل تنسيق أفضل للإجراءات لتحقيق فوائد النهج الإقليمي الموصوف أعلاه. ستعمل الإدارة الإقليمية للأغذية على العمل المنسق عبر نهج مزدوج المسار: تحويل النظم الغذائية الحضرية (والمحلية) نحو أنماط أكثر صحة واستدامة مع ضمان أن النظم الغذائية في الإقليم (الإنتاج والمعالجة والتوزيع) تقدم مثل هذه النظم الغذائية بطريقة التي يمكن للجميع الوصول إليها وبأسعار معقولة وبطريقة تحسن سبل العيش الريفية وتدعم عمليات أكثر استدامة في جميع أنحاء سلسلة الإمدادات الغذائية. لكن أدوات التخطيط والحوكمة "الإقليمية" هذه غالبًا ما تكون غير متوفرة أو معطلة. لذلك ، لا تزال التزامات المدن والحكومات المحلية ودون الوطنية بإعطاء الأولوية للنظم الغذائية في "ولاياتها القضائية" غير منسقة ، كما أن تخطيط النظم الغذائية مقيد بالحواجز الإدارية. ولذلك لا يتم النظر في الروابط الأساسية بين مكونات النظم الغذائية (المكانية أو القطاعية) أو استغلالها من خلال عملية تخطيط تشاركية ومنسقة. تضيع الاقتصادات الحرجة للتكتل وفرص تبادل التعلم والخبرة.

تتضمن بعض الحلول والأنشطة الملموسة المتوخاة ضمن هذه المجموعة ما يلي:

    إجراء تقييم تشاركي لنظم الغذاء ، وهو أمر حاسم لبدء عملية التخطيط المتكامل.
  • إشراك أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين في تحديد الأولويات وتخطيط العمل الغذائي والسياسات وآليات المراقبة والتقييم. يمكن أن تصبح آليات إدارة الأغذية في المناطق الحضرية والمحلية ودون الوطنية نتيجة للتخطيط الأولي ونقطة دخول رئيسية لبدء عملية التنسيق بين مختلف الكيانات الإدارية والسياسات القطاعية.
  • دمج النظم الغذائية في التخطيط الحضري والإقليمي ، ووضع استراتيجيات شاملة لتعزيز دور أصحاب المصلحة الحضريين والمحليين ودون الوطنيين في تحويل النظم الغذائية ، وتعزيز الترابط مع النظم الأخرى (مثل النقل والصحة والبنية التحتية).
  • تعزيز عمليات اللامركزية ، لضمان مزيد من الشرعية للسلطات المحلية وتفويض بعض المسؤوليات لتخطيط وتمويل وإدارة ودعم التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية.
  • دمج الأولويات والمنظورات الحضرية والإقليمية في الإدارة الشاملة لتحويل النظم الغذائية (على سبيل المثال ، دمج النهج الإقليمية (بما في ذلك القائمة على الحقوق) في استراتيجيات الأمن الغذائي والتغذية الوطنية المنقحة).
  • إنشاء بيئات غذائية محلية حيث يصبح الغذاء الصحي والملائم ثقافيًا والمنتَج بشكل مستدام هو الوضع الافتراضي من خلال تعزيز حوافز وقدرات المستهلكين والمنتجين على حدٍ سواء (من خلال لوائح تقسيم المناطق والضرائب المحلية والمشتريات العامة وما إلى ذلك). يمكن أن تلعب مجالس الغذاء المحلية دورًا حاسمًا في هذا الجهد.
  • استخدام المشتريات العامة للأغذية كأداة مهمة ومحرك للمطالبة بتغييرات منهجية من خلال دمج أهداف التنمية المستدامة في العقود بطريقة قابلة للقياس ، بحيث يمكن الإبلاغ عن التقدم المحرز. يعتمد تحقيق التأثير الكامل للمشتريات العامة على وجود بنية حوكمة متماسكة ومنسقة متعددة المستويات لدمج الجهود الحالية وبناء القدرة المؤسسية للنُهج الإقليمية على جميع المستويات (على سبيل المثال ، شبكة مسئولي مشتريات الأغذية التي ينسقها سفراء المشتريات الإقليميون مثل في الدنمارك).
  • تحديد العمليات الإقليمية الجارية في سياقات مختلفة لتوسيع الخبرات والموارد الحالية والبناء عليها. وسيتطلب ذلك أيضًا تعزيز المعرفة وزيادة الوعي لتنسيق الأنشطة الحالية ومناقشة التحديات المحلية وإنشاء شبكات / مجموعة (مجموعات) عمل / مجتمعات ممارسة مخصصة حول النظم الغذائية المستدامة لتعزيز التآزر وتبادل الدروس المستفادة.
  • تعزيز وتوضيح الشبكات الأفقية ذات الصلة في سياقات بيئية زراعية واجتماعية اقتصادية مماثلة لتحديد المبادئ التوجيهية للتكيف على المستوى المحلي في أقاليم مماثلة. يعد التبادل المستعرض للمعرفة والخبرة والبيانات من خلال العمليات الشاملة والأدوات المبتكرة عبر السياقات أمرًا أساسيًا للحوكمة الرشيدة من المستوى الإقليمي إلى المستوى العالمي ويمكنه توجيه السياسات والبرامج القطاعية ضمن إطار مشترك.
  • تقديم إيجارات منخفضة / مدعومة لصغار المزارعين أو أصحاب السوق وتوفير / تأجير مواقع عامة أو سوقية في المدينة وحولها لدعم إنتاج واستهلاك الغذاء المحلي.

انضم إلى مجموعة العمل

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.3.1

Promoting Integrated Food Systems Policies, Planning, and Governance

Solution Cluster 4.3.1 Promoting Integrated Food Systems Policies, Planning, and Governance recognises the interdependence of the various components of food systems and the crucial role of actors at different levels of governance working in a coherent and coordinated way. In this context, urban, local, and sub-national governments have a major role to play in food systems transformation. Promoting Integrated Food Systems Policies, Planning and Governance within a territory that includes cities, towns and their rural catchment areas is a key component of a coherent, multi-level governance system to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Such a system does not obviate the need for urban or planning in other administrative units and the integration of food systems in it. However, such planning must be consistent with broader territorial objectives and management.

Territorial approaches provide an effective framework to address the different aspects of food systems transformation at a scale where its social, environmental, economic, and health-related dimensions can be tackled with the active participation of all stakeholders. The promotion of integrated food systems policies, planning and governance requires a long-term commitment from all involved and a continuous engagement and dialogue among territorial actors (urban and rural) but also between territorial and national stakeholders. Territorial governance has the advantage of being place-based, people-centred, multi-actor and multi-sectoral. Social dialogue and community-based decision-making mechanisms are exploited to find common solutions to strengthen complementarities and address trade-offs among elements of a sustainable food systems transformation (social, economic, and environmental).

About this Solution Cluster

Food policies are usually national, characterised by sectoral approaches, that fail to include sub-national governments and the potential of rural-urban linkages for food systems transformation. Despite their potential in transforming food systems, local and sub-national authorities are not empowered with meaningful autonomy and resources and are not embedded in effective accountability mechanisms. For instance, urban governments have a key role in the governance of food systems at territorial level. With 54 percent of the world’s population now living in cities, with 85 percent of the world’s population living in or within 3 hours of an urban centre, and with 70 percent of food consumption and waste taking place in areas classified as urban, cities become the epicentres of food systems transformation. But urban areas are also the epicentres of rapidly increasing overweight, obesity, and diet related non-communicable diseases. Too many cities and towns struggle to create food environments where the components of healthy and sustainable diets are available, accessible, and affordable. Lack of effective connections between urban food systems planning and governance with the ones in the “territory” that includes their agricultural catchment areas is a major obstacle in achieving win-win solutions to make progress in improving diets and urban and rural livelihoods. And yet, such linkages and a proper governance system that does not exploit them are largely missing. Such linkages can address the problem of food deserts in many cities and the underconsumption of nutritious foods (fruits, vegetables, pulses/legumes, whole grains, nuts, and seeds), while creating market outlets for local agriculture and small farmer participation. In the same vein, exploiting the potential of territorial planning can facilitate access to healthy diets which are unaffordable for many low-income families. Territorial planning may strengthen access to international markets for both imports of what cannot produced locally and exports through ensuring minimum quantity needed, coordination in logistics, food safety standards, etc. It could also substantially reduce rural urban inequality and leverage food systems development to create decent employment, poverty reduction and stem “push” urbanisation. Participatory territorial governance can better utilise the vast array of indigenous knowledge which has shown to make substantial contributions to food security, nutrition, and environmental sustainability.

Inclusive urban and territorial food governance mechanisms (e.g., food policy councils or similar mechanisms) will bring the stakeholders together for better coordination of actions to deliver the benefits of the territorial approach described above. Territorial food governance will work on coordinated action across a twin-track approach: shifting urban (and local) diets towards healthier and more sustainable patterns while ensuring that food systems in the territory (production, processing, and distribution) deliver such diets in a way that are accessible to and affordable by all and in a way that improves rural livelihoods and supports more sustainable processes throughout the food supply chain. But such “territorial” governance and planning instruments are often lacking or are dysfunctional. Therefore, commitments by cities, local, and sub-national governments to prioritise food systems in their “jurisdictions” remain uncoordinated and food systems planning is constrained by administrative barriers. Essential links between components of food systems (spatial or sectoral) are therefore nor considered or exploited through a participatory and coordinated planning process. Critical economies of agglomeration and learning and experience exchanging opportunities are lost.

Some of the concrete solutions and activities envisaged within this cluster include:

    Conducting food systems participatory assessment, which is crucial for starting the integrated planning process.
  • Engaging multi-stakeholders in priority setting, food action planning, policies, and monitoring and evaluation mechanisms. Urban, local, and sub-national food governance mechanisms could become a result of initial planning and a key entry point for initiating the process of coordination between various administrative entities and sectoral policies.
  • Integrating food systems in urban and territorial planning, developing holistic strategies for strengthening the role of urban, local, and subnational stakeholders in food systems transformation, and fostering inter-connection with other systems (such as transport, health, and infrastructure).
  • Promoting decentralisation processes, to ensure further legitimation of local authorities and the devolution of some responsibilities for planning, financing, managing, and supporting economic and social development.
  • Integrating urban and territorial priorities and perspectives into the overall management of food systems transformation (e.g., incorporating territorial approaches (including rights-based) into revised national food security and nutrition strategies).
  • Establishing local food environments where healthy, culturally appropriate, and sustainably produced food become the default by strengthening incentives and capacities of consumers and producers alike (through zoning regulations, local taxes, public procurement, etc.). Local food councils can play a crucial role in this effort.
  • Using public food procurement as an important tool and a driver to demand systemic changes by incorporating the SDGs into the contracts in a measurable way, so that it is possible to report on progress. Getting the full effect of public procurement depends on the existence of a coherent and coordinated multi-level governance architecture to integrate existing efforts and to build institutional capacity for territorial approaches at all levels (e.g., a food procurement officer network coordinated by regional procurement ambassadors as in Denmark).
  • Identifying ongoing territorial processes in different contexts to broaden and build upon existing experiences and resources. This will also require strengthening knowledge and raising awareness to harmonise existing activities, discuss local challenges and set up ad hoc networks/working group(s)/communities of practice on sustainable food systems to enhance synergies and share lessons learned.
  • Strengthening and articulating relevant horizontal networks in similar agroecological and socioeconomic contexts to identify guiding principles for adaptation at local level in similar territories. Transversal exchanges of knowledge, experience and data through inclusive processes and innovative tools across contexts are key for good governance from territorial to global level and can inform sectoral policies and programmes within a common framework.
  • Offering low/subsidised rents to young farmers or market holders and providing/leasing public or market locations in and around the city to support local food production and consumption.

Join Working Group