AT-4

解决方案集群 4.3.1

促进综合粮食系统政策、规划和治理

解决方案集群 4.3.1 促进综合粮食系统政策、规划和治理 认识到粮食系统各个组成部分之间的相互依存关系,以及不同治理层级的行动者以一致和协调的方式工作的关键作用。在此背景下,城市、地方和次国家级政府在粮食系统转型中可发挥重要作用。 促进综合粮食系统政策、规划和治理 在包括城市、城镇及其农村集水区的领土内,是实现可持续发展目标 (SDG) 的连贯、多层次治理系统的关键组成部分。这样的系统并不排除其他行政单位的城市或规划以及粮食系统整合的需要。然而,这种规划必须与更广泛的领土目标和管理相一致。

地域方法提供了一个有效的框架,可以在所有利益相关者的积极参与下解决其社会、环境、经济和健康相关方面的规模,以解决粮食系统转型的不同方面。促进综合粮食系统政策、规划和治理需要所有相关方的长期承诺以及领土行为者(城市和农村)之间以及领土和国家利益相关者之间的持续参与和对话。领土治理具有以地方为基础、以人为本、多参与者和多部门的优势。利用社会对话和基于社区的决策机制来寻找共同的解决方案,以加强互补性并解决可持续粮食系统转型要素(社会、经济和环境)之间的权衡。

关于此解决方案集群

粮食政策通常是全国性的,以部门方法为特征,没有包括次国家政府和城乡联系对粮食系统转型的潜力。尽管在改变粮食系统方面具有潜力,但地方和地方当局没有获得有意义的自主权和资源,也没有融入有效的问责机制。例如,城市政府在地区层面的粮食系统治理中发挥着关键作用。现在世界上 54% 的人口居住在城市,85% 的世界人口居住在市中心或距市中心 3 小时以内,70% 的食物消费和浪费发生在城市地区,城市成为粮食系统转型的中心。但城市地区也是超重、肥胖和饮食相关非传染性疾病迅速增加的中心。太多的城市和城镇都在努力创造食物环境,让健康和可持续饮食的组成部分可用、可获得且负担得起。城市粮食系统规划和治理与“领土”(包括其农业集水区)的粮食系统规划和治理之间缺乏有效联系,这是实现双赢解决方案以在改善饮食和城乡生计方面取得进展的主要障碍。然而,这种联系和不利用它们的适当治理体系在很大程度上缺失了。这种联系可以解决许多城市的食物荒漠问题和营养食物(水果、蔬菜、豆类/豆类、全谷物、坚果和种子)消费不足的问题,同时为当地农业和小农参与创造市场渠道。同样,利用领土规划的潜力可以促进许多低收入家庭无法负担的健康饮食。领土规划可以通过确保最低需求量、物流协调、食品安全标准等来加强本地无法生产的进口和出口产品进入国际市场的机会。它还可以大大减少农村城市不平等并利用粮食系统发展创造体面的就业、减贫和阻止“推动”城市化。参与式领土治理可以更好地利用大量本土知识,这些知识已证明对粮食安全、营养和环境可持续性做出了重大贡献。

包容性的城市和地区粮食治理机制(例如,粮食政策委员会或类似机制)将把利益相关者聚集在一起,以更好地协调行动,以实现上述地区方法的好处。领土粮食治理将通过双轨方法协调行动:将城市(和地方)饮食转向更健康和更可持续的模式,同时确保领土内的粮食系统(生产、加工和分配)以某种方式提供此类饮食所有人都可以获得和负担得起,并以改善农村生计并支持整个食品供应链中更可持续的过程的方式。但这种“领土”治理和规划工具往往缺乏或功能失调。因此,城市、地方和次国家级政府在其“管辖范围”内优先考虑粮食系统的承诺仍然缺乏协调,粮食系统规划受到行政障碍的限制。因此,粮食系统(空间或部门)组成部分之间的基本联系并未通过参与性和协调的规划过程加以考虑或利用。失去了关键的集聚经济和学习以及经验交流机会。

该集群中设想的一些具体解决方案和活动包括:

    开展粮食系统参与式评估,这对于启动综合规划过程至关重要。
  • 让多方利益相关者参与优先事项设定、食品行动计划、政策以及监测和评估机制。城市、地方和次国家级粮食治理机制可以成为初步规划的结果,也是启动各个行政实体和部门政策之间协调过程的关键切入点。
  • 将粮食系统纳入城市和地区规划,制定整体战略以加强城市、地方和国家以下利益相关者在粮食系统转型中的作用,并促进与其他系统(如交通、卫生和基础设施)的相互联系。
  • 促进权力下放进程,以确保地方当局进一步合法化,并下放规划、融资、管理和支持经济和社会发展的一些职责。
  • 将城市和地区的优先事项和观点纳入粮食系统转型的整体管理(例如,将地区方法(包括基于权利的)纳入修订后的国家粮食安全和营养战略)。
  • 通过加强消费者和生产者的激励措施和能力(通过分区法规、地方税收、公共采购等),建立当地的食品环境,使健康、文化适宜和可持续生产的食品成为默认设置。地方食品委员会可以在这项工作中发挥关键作用。
  • 通过将可持续发展目标以可衡量的方式纳入合同,将公共粮食采购作为重要工具和驱动力来要求进行系统性变革,从而可以报告进展情况。获得公共采购的全部效果取决于是否存在一个连贯和协调的多级治理架构,以整合现有的努力并在各级建立区域方法的机构能力(例如,由区域采购大使协调的食品采购官员网络作为在丹麦)。
  • 确定不同背景下正在进行的领土进程,以扩大和利用现有经验和资源。这还需要加强知识和提高认识,以协调现有活动、讨论当地挑战并建立可持续粮食系统的特设网络/工作组/实践社区,以加强协同作用并分享经验教训。
  • 在类似的农业生态和社会经济背景下加强和阐明相关的横向网络,以确定类似领土地方层面的适应指导原则。通过跨环境的包容性流程和创新工具进行知识、经验和数据的横向交流,对于从领土到全球层面的良好治理至关重要,并且可以为共同框架内的部门政策和计划提供信息。
  • 向年轻农民或市场持有者提供低租金/补贴租金,并在城市内外提供/租赁公共或市场场所,以支持当地的粮食生产和消费。

加入工作组

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.3.1

Promoting Integrated Food Systems Policies, Planning, and Governance

Solution Cluster 4.3.1 Promoting Integrated Food Systems Policies, Planning, and Governance recognises the interdependence of the various components of food systems and the crucial role of actors at different levels of governance working in a coherent and coordinated way. In this context, urban, local, and sub-national governments have a major role to play in food systems transformation. Promoting Integrated Food Systems Policies, Planning and Governance within a territory that includes cities, towns and their rural catchment areas is a key component of a coherent, multi-level governance system to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Such a system does not obviate the need for urban or planning in other administrative units and the integration of food systems in it. However, such planning must be consistent with broader territorial objectives and management.

Territorial approaches provide an effective framework to address the different aspects of food systems transformation at a scale where its social, environmental, economic, and health-related dimensions can be tackled with the active participation of all stakeholders. The promotion of integrated food systems policies, planning and governance requires a long-term commitment from all involved and a continuous engagement and dialogue among territorial actors (urban and rural) but also between territorial and national stakeholders. Territorial governance has the advantage of being place-based, people-centred, multi-actor and multi-sectoral. Social dialogue and community-based decision-making mechanisms are exploited to find common solutions to strengthen complementarities and address trade-offs among elements of a sustainable food systems transformation (social, economic, and environmental).

About this Solution Cluster

Food policies are usually national, characterised by sectoral approaches, that fail to include sub-national governments and the potential of rural-urban linkages for food systems transformation. Despite their potential in transforming food systems, local and sub-national authorities are not empowered with meaningful autonomy and resources and are not embedded in effective accountability mechanisms. For instance, urban governments have a key role in the governance of food systems at territorial level. With 54 percent of the world’s population now living in cities, with 85 percent of the world’s population living in or within 3 hours of an urban centre, and with 70 percent of food consumption and waste taking place in areas classified as urban, cities become the epicentres of food systems transformation. But urban areas are also the epicentres of rapidly increasing overweight, obesity, and diet related non-communicable diseases. Too many cities and towns struggle to create food environments where the components of healthy and sustainable diets are available, accessible, and affordable. Lack of effective connections between urban food systems planning and governance with the ones in the “territory” that includes their agricultural catchment areas is a major obstacle in achieving win-win solutions to make progress in improving diets and urban and rural livelihoods. And yet, such linkages and a proper governance system that does not exploit them are largely missing. Such linkages can address the problem of food deserts in many cities and the underconsumption of nutritious foods (fruits, vegetables, pulses/legumes, whole grains, nuts, and seeds), while creating market outlets for local agriculture and small farmer participation. In the same vein, exploiting the potential of territorial planning can facilitate access to healthy diets which are unaffordable for many low-income families. Territorial planning may strengthen access to international markets for both imports of what cannot produced locally and exports through ensuring minimum quantity needed, coordination in logistics, food safety standards, etc. It could also substantially reduce rural urban inequality and leverage food systems development to create decent employment, poverty reduction and stem “push” urbanisation. Participatory territorial governance can better utilise the vast array of indigenous knowledge which has shown to make substantial contributions to food security, nutrition, and environmental sustainability.

Inclusive urban and territorial food governance mechanisms (e.g., food policy councils or similar mechanisms) will bring the stakeholders together for better coordination of actions to deliver the benefits of the territorial approach described above. Territorial food governance will work on coordinated action across a twin-track approach: shifting urban (and local) diets towards healthier and more sustainable patterns while ensuring that food systems in the territory (production, processing, and distribution) deliver such diets in a way that are accessible to and affordable by all and in a way that improves rural livelihoods and supports more sustainable processes throughout the food supply chain. But such “territorial” governance and planning instruments are often lacking or are dysfunctional. Therefore, commitments by cities, local, and sub-national governments to prioritise food systems in their “jurisdictions” remain uncoordinated and food systems planning is constrained by administrative barriers. Essential links between components of food systems (spatial or sectoral) are therefore nor considered or exploited through a participatory and coordinated planning process. Critical economies of agglomeration and learning and experience exchanging opportunities are lost.

Some of the concrete solutions and activities envisaged within this cluster include:

    Conducting food systems participatory assessment, which is crucial for starting the integrated planning process.
  • Engaging multi-stakeholders in priority setting, food action planning, policies, and monitoring and evaluation mechanisms. Urban, local, and sub-national food governance mechanisms could become a result of initial planning and a key entry point for initiating the process of coordination between various administrative entities and sectoral policies.
  • Integrating food systems in urban and territorial planning, developing holistic strategies for strengthening the role of urban, local, and subnational stakeholders in food systems transformation, and fostering inter-connection with other systems (such as transport, health, and infrastructure).
  • Promoting decentralisation processes, to ensure further legitimation of local authorities and the devolution of some responsibilities for planning, financing, managing, and supporting economic and social development.
  • Integrating urban and territorial priorities and perspectives into the overall management of food systems transformation (e.g., incorporating territorial approaches (including rights-based) into revised national food security and nutrition strategies).
  • Establishing local food environments where healthy, culturally appropriate, and sustainably produced food become the default by strengthening incentives and capacities of consumers and producers alike (through zoning regulations, local taxes, public procurement, etc.). Local food councils can play a crucial role in this effort.
  • Using public food procurement as an important tool and a driver to demand systemic changes by incorporating the SDGs into the contracts in a measurable way, so that it is possible to report on progress. Getting the full effect of public procurement depends on the existence of a coherent and coordinated multi-level governance architecture to integrate existing efforts and to build institutional capacity for territorial approaches at all levels (e.g., a food procurement officer network coordinated by regional procurement ambassadors as in Denmark).
  • Identifying ongoing territorial processes in different contexts to broaden and build upon existing experiences and resources. This will also require strengthening knowledge and raising awareness to harmonise existing activities, discuss local challenges and set up ad hoc networks/working group(s)/communities of practice on sustainable food systems to enhance synergies and share lessons learned.
  • Strengthening and articulating relevant horizontal networks in similar agroecological and socioeconomic contexts to identify guiding principles for adaptation at local level in similar territories. Transversal exchanges of knowledge, experience and data through inclusive processes and innovative tools across contexts are key for good governance from territorial to global level and can inform sectoral policies and programmes within a common framework.
  • Offering low/subsidised rents to young farmers or market holders and providing/leasing public or market locations in and around the city to support local food production and consumption.

Join Working Group