AT-5

解决方案集群 5.1.2

增强粮食系统复原力的综合方法

“综合方法”被提议作为增强粮食系统复原力的有力手段。在本说明中,它们被定义为将相关部门的相关利益相关者整合到相关行政级别的粮食系统方法。 “整合”可以被认为是一个层次结构,即整合相对较低级别的行动以提供更高级别的结果。由此类方法的用户确定目标,从而根据相关背景和情况确定要包括的相关利益攸关方、部门和行政级别。总体而言,综合方法在实现可持续粮食系统转型方面发挥着至关重要的作用,但在本说明中,重点是它们在增强粮食系统复原力方面的作用。

在开发和应用综合方法时需要遵守一些关键原则。这些包括 (i) 从环境、社会和经济可持续的粮食系统中提供健康饮食; (ii) 以人为本,确保公平,不让任何人掉队; (iii) 旨在实现净零碳途径; (iv) 保持健康的土壤和其他自然资源; (v) 因地制宜; (v) 采取“系统方法”。

虽然普遍认识到提高粮食系统复原力的综合方法的好处,但实现这些方法所需的行动还不够明确,这阻碍了它们的大规模实施。因此,虽然原则上已经对综合方法提供了大量支持,但制定关于如何实现这些方法以及它们可以带来的好处的指导文件将进一步推动它们的推广。

关于此解决方案集群

目前粮食系统的运作方式正在产生一系列令人不满意的结果:超过 8.2 亿人挨饿,至少 20 亿人缺乏足够的营养;然而,矛盾的是,也有超过 20 亿人超重或肥胖。同样令人担忧的是环境对支撑粮食安全的自然资源基础的影响。这种环境变化,连同广泛的社会经济冲击和压力,将对更脆弱的人群产生不成比例的影响,尤其是发展中世界的小农,他们最没有能力应对他们将带来的额外压力。

增强粮食系统的复原力和自然资源的可持续管理需要全面的、基于背景的和以人为本的方法,既要满足短期需求,又要考虑长期愿景。它还需要采用综合方法,以适当考虑人类和环境系统之间的联系,以同时加强人类和环境健康、生计和自然资源治理。

综合方法可以大大有助于实现可持续发展目标和巴黎协定的具体目标,特别是可持续发展目标 2(零饥饿)、可持续发展目标 3(良好健康和福祉)、可持续发展目标 5(性别平等)、可持续发展目标 6(清洁水和卫生设施)、可持续发展目标 7(负担得起的清洁能源)、SDG12(可持续消费和生产)、SDG13(气候行动)、SDG14(水下生物)和 SDG15(陆地生物)。它们还可以支持 UNCBD、UNFCCC 和 UNCDD 等国际公约的目标和行动计划。综合方法还有助于通过多方利益相关者和参与者的伙伴关系以及协调一致的举措和投资来扩大社会技术创新包的规模。

在说明中(包括附件 1 中提出的变革理论),综合方法的概念通过三个例子来说明,即农业生态学沿着 13 项原则提出 高专组 (2019) 报告、水-能源-粮食联系和领土治理。这些都是综合方法可以为增强粮食系统的复原力带来好处的个别很好的例子,但如果它们本身被整合,则效果更佳。这是因为它们的整合将使我们能够通过多方利益相关者和行动者伙伴关系以及协调一致的举措和投资成功扩展社会技术创新包,从而同时增强人类和环境健康、生计和自然资源治理。

在综合方法的不同层面上还有几个正在进行的多利益相关方伙伴关系,这些将用于加速它们的升级。例子包括 农业生态之友, 食物的水和能源 (W4F) 联合国际倡议,以及 经合组织关于实现可持续发展目标的领土方法的计划.

制定和实施具有弹性的粮食系统的综合方法需要三个步骤:

步骤1 涉及回答四个关键问题以“构建”旨在增强粮食系统弹性的任何特定行动:(1)什么的弹性,(2)什么的弹性,(3)从谁的角度来看的弹性,以及(4)在什么时期的弹性?这个初始阶段为谁需要做什么来提供给定的“解决方案”(行动)提供了“框架”。

第2步 然后旨在开发一种综合方法,以增强粮食系统的复原力。这是通过认识到粮食系统参与者的利益和价值观如何推动他们的各种活动来实现的;然后导致感兴趣的粮食系统结果(粮食安全和其他社会经济和环境目标)。反过来,这些反馈会推动相关参与者进行所需的投资和行为改变。

第 3 步 是我们可以创建激励措施和法规并让多个参与者参与该过程的实际行动或方式。

然而,明确食品系统的哪些方面的目标是加强(步骤 1),以及需要整合哪些方面来实现这一目标(步骤 2 和 3),这一点非常重要。

下面的变革理论图表使用农业生态学、世界经济论坛关系和领土治理作为方法示例,这些方法在整合后可以显着增强粮食系统的复原力。其他 AT 子集群提供了许多其他集成方法的示例,包括本地化粮食系统 (AT5)、通过生态农业/再生农业解决方案集群 (AT3) 进行转型以及社区冷却中心和清洁能源 (AT1)。

人们越来越认同综合方法在使粮食系统转型具有可持续性方面发挥的关键推动作用,因此也适用于所有行动轨道。因此,这些方法的好处已得到充分证明和认可,是实现 UNFSS 目标,更广泛地说,可持续发展目标以及《巴黎协定》目标的极具成本效益的改变游戏规则的方式。

在解决方案集群 1.2 下提交的命题分类汇总表。粮食系统复原力的综合方法——针对农业生态学和 WEF Nexus 方法。

 

注意:虽然没有特别提出关于领土治理的解决方案,但这种方法对于所有提议的成功都至关重要 

 

解决方案 

农业生态学

世界经济论坛

可持续土壤管理的综合方法

X

 

支持和利用基因库进行长期食物多样性保护

X

 

循环可持续利用食品系统残留物和废水

 

X

弹性和可持续的牧区系统  

X

 

在粮食系统中使用清洁能源 (FAO)

 

X

以人为本的适应性方法来实现弹性和可持续的水资源管理 

 

X

竞相扩大积极农业以提高恢复力

X

 

尼泊尔的弹性粮食系统 

X

 

意大利竹子生产的循环经济

 

X

伯利兹农民通过世界经济论坛方法适应气候变化

 

X

加强非洲国家和大学部署可再生能源的技术和创业能力 

 

X

扩大保护性农业以提高津巴布韦小农的复原力

X

 

加拿大农民应对气候和 COVID 19 冲击的韧性 

X

 

牙买加的流域管理

X

 

普遍获得清洁(现代)烹饪解决方案 

 

X

农业用水管理以及相关法规和政策,以激励农业食品系统的低碳和水途径

 

X

推动在农场和牧场内广泛采用生态农业

X

 



加入工作组

AT-5

Solution Cluster 5.1.2

Integrated Approaches to Enhancing Food System Resilience

‘Integrated approaches’ are proposed as a powerful means to enhance food system resilience. In this note, they are defined as food systems approaches that integrate relevant stakeholders in relevant sectors across relevant administrative levels. ‘Integration’ can be thought of as a hierarchy, that is, integrating relatively lower-level actions to deliver a higher-level outcome. It is up to the users of such approaches to define the aim and hence identify the relevant stakeholders, sectors and administrative levels to be included according to relevant context and circumstances. Integrated approaches have a crucial role in achieving sustainable food system transformation in general but, in this note, the emphasis is on their role in enhancing the resilience of food systems.

Some key principles need to be adhered to in developing and applying integrated approaches. These include (i) delivering healthy diets from environmentally-, socially- and economically-sustainable food systems; (ii) being people-centred, and ensuring equity and leaving no-one behind; (iii) aiming towards a net zero carbon pathway; (iv) maintaining healthy soil and other natural resources; (v) being context-specific; and (v) taking a ‘systems approach’.

Whilst the benefits of integrated approaches for enhancing food system resilience are generally recognised, actions needed to deliver them are not sufficiently clear, which hampers their implementation on a large scale. Therefore, while there is already significant support for integrated approaches in principle, developing a guidance document on how to achieve them, and the benefits they can bring, will give a further boost to their scaling up.

About this Solution Cluster

The way in which food systems currently operate are giving rise to a range of unsatisfactory outcomes: more than 820 million people are hungry and at least 2 billion more lack sufficient nutrients; yet, paradoxically, there are also more than 2 billion people who are overweight or obese. Equally worrying is the environmental impact on the natural resource base that underpins food security. This environmental change, together with a wide range of socioeconomic shocks and stresses will disproportionately affect the more vulnerable people, and notably smallholders in the developing world who are least well equipped to cope with the additional stresses they will bring.

Enhancing the resilience of the food systems and sustainable management of natural resources requires holistic, context-based and people-centred approaches that both address short-term needs and embrace a long-term vision. It also requires adopting an integrated approach(es) that allows for proper consideration of the linkages between human and environmental systems to simultaneously enhance human and environmental health, livelihoods and natural resource governance.

Integrated approaches can significantly contribute towards achieving the SDGs and the Paris Agreement targets, in particular SDG2 (Zero Hunger), SDG3 (Good Health and Well-Being), SDG 5 (gender equality), SDG6 (Clean Water & Sanitation), SDG7 (Affordable and Clean Energy), SDG12 (Sustainable consumption and production), SDG13 (Climate Action), SDG14 (Life below Water) and SDG15 (Life on Land). They can also support the goals and action plans of international conventions such as UNCBD, UNFCCC and UNCDD. Integrated approaches also help scaling of socio-technical innovation bundles through multi-stakeholder and actor partnerships and aligned initiatives and investments.

In the note (and including the Theory of Change presented in Annex1), the concept of integrated approaches is illustrated by three examples, i.e. Agroecology along the 13 principles set out in the HLPE (2019) report, Water-Energy–Food Nexus and Territorial Governance.  These are individually good examples of the benefits integrated approaches could bring to enhancing the resilience of food systems, but even more so if they themselves are integrated. This is because their integration will enable us to enhance simultaneously human and environmental health, livelihoods and natural resource governance through successful scaling of socio-technical innovation bundles through multi-stakeholder and actor partnerships and aligned initiatives and investments.

There are also several ongoing multi-stakeholder partnerships at different levels on integrated approaches, and these would be used to speed up their upscaling. Examples include the Friends of Agroecology, The Water and Energy for Food (W4F) joint international initiative, and the OECD Programme on a Territorial Approach to the SDGs.

Developing and implementing integrated approaches to resilient food systems require three steps:

Step 1 involves answering four key questions to ‘frame’ any given Action aimed at enhancing food system resilience: (1) resilience of what, (2) resilience to what, (3) resilience from whose perspective, and (4) resilience over what period? This initial stage gives the ‘frame’ for who needs to do what to deliver a given ‘solution’ (Action).

Step 2 then aims to develop an integrated approach that enhances food system resilience. This is achieved by recognizing how food system actors’ interests and values drive their varied activities; which then lead to food system outcome(s) of interest (food security, and other socioeconomic and environmental goals). These in turn feed back to drive needed investments and behavioral change of the actors involved.

Step 3 is the actual action or ways we can create incentives and regulations and engage multiple actors in the process.

It is however very important to be clear about what aspect(s) of the food system one is aiming to enhance (Step 1), and hence what needs to be integrated to achieve it (Steps 2 and 3).

The Theory of Change diagram below uses Agroecology, WEF Nexus and Territorial Governance as examples of approaches that, when integrated, can significantly enhance food systems resilience. Other AT subclusters provide many other examples of integrated approaches, including those on localising food systems (AT5), Transformation through Agroecology/Regenerative Agriculture Solution Cluster (AT3), and Community Cool Hubs and Clean Energy (AT1).

There is increasing agreement on the key enabling role integrated approaches play in making food system transformation sustainable, hence to all Action Tracks. As such, these approaches, whose benefits are well proven and agreed, constitute a very cost-effective game-changing way to achieve the goals of the UNFSS and, more broadly, the SDGs, as well as the targets of the Paris Agreement.

Summary Table on categorization of propositions submitted under solution cluster 1.2. Integrated approaches to food system resilience – against agro-ecology and WEF Nexus approaches.

 

Note: While no solutions were specifically proposed regarding territorial governance, this approach is crucial for the success of all of the proposed ones 

 

Solutions 

Agroecology

WEF Nexus

Integrated approaches to sustainable soil management

X

 

Support and utilization of gene banks for long-term food diversity conservation

X

 

Circular sustainable use of food system residues and waste water

 

X

Resilient and sustainable pastoral systems  

x

 

Use of clean energy in food systems (FAO)

 

X

Adaptive human-centric approach to resilient and sustainable water management 

 

X

Race to scale positive farming for resilience

x

 

Resilient food systems in Nepal 

x

 

Circular economy of bamboo production in Italy

 

x

Farmers adapting to climate change through a WEF approach in Belize

 

x

Strengthening technical & entrepreneurial capacities in African countries & universities to deploy renewable energy 

 

x

Scaling up conservation agriculture to improve smallholder farmers’ resilience in Zimbabwe

x

 

Farmers’ resilience to cope with climate and COVID 19 shocks in Canada 

X

 

Watershed management in Jamaica

x

 

Universal access to clean (modern) cooking solutions 

 

x

Agricultural water stewardship and accompanying regulations and policies to incentivise low carbon & water pathways of agri-food systems

 

x

Advance wide-scale adoption of agroecology within farms and rangelands

x

 



Join Working Group