AT-4

解决方案集群 4.2.1

以人的尊严和权利为中心,使劳动和人权法规制度化和加强

解决剥夺和剥夺人权和劳工权利的问题是促进平等和改善粮食系统工人生计的核心组成部分。它涉及在跨国和国际层面将权利制度化,包括国家批准国际劳工组织和联合国人权公约及其有效实施以及国家间和组织间的协调。国家和地方层面的有效执法应确保食品系统工人不会被排除在权利和劳动保护之外;优先考虑边缘化工人类别,例如移民(外国)工人、临时工或日常工人,这些工人即使存在也可能无法受到相关立法的有效保护,以及食品系统的特定职业部门,例如渔业、初级农业生产和食品加工,通常是最危险、最不受保护且报酬最低的;并确保以最受排斥和受剥削者的需求为中心。该解决方案集群还侧重于促进体面工作,将其作为消除童工的主要方式之一,其中 70% 以上的童工出现在农业中。此外,该集群下的所有解决方案都将考虑性别和年龄,特别关注女性和青年,因为她们面临特定的挑战和需求。

关于此解决方案集群

联合国粮食安全框架以及由此产生的贸易和劳工政策长期以来一直缺乏强有力的法规来保护农业食品部门工人的权利、生计和尊严。联合国食物权问题特别报告员迈克尔·法赫里先生在提交联合国大会的第一份报告中承认,贸易制度未能充分承认和维护边缘化粮食工人(包括农业工人)的人权。食品工人的概念包括雇佣工人,因为他们的劳动对食品生产至关重要。绝大多数粮食生产是通过工人获得名义工资而几乎没有法律保护的;与此同时,财富和权力集中在少数私人实体中。缺乏法规、政策和执法机制造成的差距不仅降低了劳工在贸易体制中的可见度,而且还进一步边缘化了容易受到侵犯人权行为的食品工人。

负责与世界粮食安全委员会 (CFS) 建立关系的民间社会和土著人民机制 (CSM) 全球粮食治理工作组报告称,“全世界绝大多数在农业”一直是贫困和不平等危机的核心。食品系统部门通常被排除在向其他工人提供的人权和劳工权利之外。例如,农业部门,即使在已批准劳工和人权条约的国家,也经常免于加班工资、病假和社会福利。食品加工行业的工人,例如肉类加工行业的工人,其劳工和人权标准执行不力。在所有粮食系统部门,劳动力按种族/民族和性别划分,没有有效的反歧视保护措施,因为这些群体经常在社会、政治和经济上受到剥削。童工在粮食系统中普遍存在。由于食品系统中的健康和安全法规薄弱或不存在,工人的生命和健康权变得岌岌可危。雇用大量移民(外国)劳动力的渔业等部门需要跨国治理,生产和开采链上的所有国家都需要实施和执行权利法规,以免出现逐底竞争。工人没有代理权,因为没有权利组织和集体谈判而不害怕报复和失去生计,而且往往是丧生。全球各地的人民运动、国际组织和联合国食物权问题特别报告员以及各缔约国都承认这一点,正如每个解决方案中所述,一些正在进行的最佳实践证明了这一点。

该集群包括六个重点领域,其中第一个 涉及批准和有效执行粮食系统中的人权和劳工标准.通过批准和有效实施相关的国际劳工组织国际劳工标准和人权条约,维护和保护农业食品部门的劳工权利,不仅是一个重要目标,也是促进农业增长和包容性粮食系统的关键,具有潜力对其他行业产生显着的乘数效应。该解决方案还侧重于通过更好的人权监测、劳动行政管理和劳动监察系统,以及沿农业食品系统价值链的伙伴关系和多利益相关方监测来加强合规和执法系统;利用劳工标准对与农业和农村发展相关的自愿文书的贡献,特别是在劳动法并不总是保护农村工人的情况下,例如粮安委和粮食及农业组织(粮农组织)认可的标准,改善国家和跨界社会对话;促进政策一致性;加强国际伙伴关系并扩大发展合作计划的实施,以促进国际劳工组织在农业和相关部门的体面劳动议程;改善企业获得国际劳工组织资源和国际劳工标准指南的机会。

该集群的第二个目标是特别关注 承认和促进食品系统中的职业安全和健康是一项基本劳动和人权.就死亡、受伤和职业病而言,农业以及捕捞业被公认为三大最危险的职业之一。据估计,每年有 170,000 名从事农作物、牲畜和水产养殖业的农民和农业工人在工作中丧生。该解决方案要求所有联合国组织、国际机构和国家将职业安全与健康作为一项基本劳工和人权纳入其创始治理章程、宪法、立法框架和规则,并制定和实施政策、计划和活动改善食品系统工作场所的安全和健康。它要求各国建立并维持运作良好的劳动监察机构,作为确保有效执行劳动立法和保护工人以及提高工作生产力的关键机制。此外,它还要求整个食品系统的企业有义务保证其工人的安全和健康。

该集群还涉及在行使权利时面临特别严重障碍或受到高度剥削的工人类别,以及通常以体面劳动严重不足为特征的特定部门。一种解决方案专注于 粮食系统中的移民(外国)工人.考虑到农业的季节性和劳动密集度以及食品系统中的大规模生产机制压低了劳动力工资,移民在大多数国家的食品部门中是一个现实。这导致数以百万计的工人(包括妇女、生计生产者和原住民)跨越国界到其他国家工作以谋生。虽然移民工人为农业和其他粮食系统部门的发展做出了重大贡献,但他们也特别容易受到恶劣的劳动法规、缺乏机会、认可和社会保护、贩卖人口、仇外心理和种族主义的影响,尤其是对于移徙女工——遭受性别暴力和歧视。解决移民(外国)食品工人诉诸司法的挑战的第一步是在跨国管辖范围内增加获得权利的机会。由于权利和权利通常以公民身份为中介,具有外国身份的人无法有意义地获得,因此解决方案包括为农业和食物链沿线的移民(外国)工人提供更多的开放工作许可证和永久居留权。其次,必须将反种族主义和反歧视以及对移民工人的特殊保护纳入所有食品部门政策的主流,以确保就业和职业方面的机会均等和待遇平等,而不受基于种族、肤色、性别、宗教的歧视、政治观点、民族血统或社会出身。第三,必须启动特别计划,为移民前和移民后的本国工人提供劳工权利和社会保护支持。最后,必须为农民工加强和重新构想集体组织。实现这一目标后,将加强对劳工和其他人权的保护,并实现总体粮食安全,同时考虑到粮食部门中最边缘化的人群,包括自给生产者、妇女、土著人民以及社会和文化上的种族歧视者人。

此外,该集群强调了承认高度剥削的重要性 渔船上的工作和生活条件 国际海事组织(IMO)、粮农组织和国际劳工组织等国际机构在提高渔业劳工标准方面加强合作;国家渔业机构;国家渔业(雇主)组织;和代表渔民的工会。在渔业部门就业的妇女和男子一样多,但妇女在渔业中的作用仍然埋藏在数据贫乏的兼职就业和收获后活动分部门中。渔民的死亡率和受伤率远高于许多国家所有工人的全国平均水平。提议的解决方案是系统地扩展船旗国检查和港口国检查渔船上的工作和生活条件系统,如国际劳工组织第 188 号渔业工作公约(2007 年)所规定并由成套工具补充的国际劳工组织关于船旗国检查和港口国控制的指南。为确保渔民的体面工作和生活条件而建立和配置检查系统也将有助于解决其他问题,例如非法、未报告和无管制的捕捞、强迫劳动和人口贩运以及童工。国际海事组织、国际劳工组织和粮农组织已经为负责任的渔业、渔船和渔民的安全以及渔业中的体面工作和生活条件制定了具有法律约束力的国际渔业文书。该集群打算继续推动这一框架,以鼓励更多的批准,以确保改善安全、工作和生活条件,并减少该部门的事故和死亡人数。

COVID-19 大流行暴露了许多国家食品加工工人面临的体面工作不足。因此,该集群中的另一个解决方案寻求在食品加工部门遵循综合体面劳动方法,以确保该部门大量劳动力(包括大量妇女和移民工人)中的优质工作、社会保护和工作中的权利得到尊重。 确保食品加工工人的体面工作 将有助于可持续、包容性的经济增长、减贫、粮食安全和营养。例如,2020 年,德国出台了一项法律,禁止将肉类加工核心业务的工人分包,在工资、加班费等方面建立更严格的规定,并解决该行业普遍存在的系统性体面劳动赤字。针对全球、国家和企业层面的综合体面劳动方法将包括 (i) 有效保护工作中的权利和执行劳工标准,(ii) 加强机构提高技能、生产力、获得市场、信息和技术等,(iii) 扩大社会保护覆盖面,以及 (iv) 加强工人和雇主组织有意义地参与社会对话的能力,以确保稳定的劳资关系并提高生产力和工作生活质量。国际劳工组织在发展合作伙伴的支持下并与其合作,可以支持其三方成员——政府、雇主和工人组织——确定在特定食品供应链的食品加工环节促进体面劳动的挑战和机遇。这将需要收集和分析有关选定供应链中就业和劳工问题的数据,并概述需要取得进展的领域;制定应对体面劳动挑战的战略/行动计划;并通过有针对性的计划将这些战略变为现实。这些计划的总体目标是改善工人获得权利和优质工作的机会,以此作为改善生计、收入和粮食安全的手段,并支持企业实施核心和其他相关国际劳工标准和国家劳工法,以改善供应链中的合规性和竞争力。

最后,该集群旨在 消除童工和促进青年就业. FSS 可以帮助消除童工的国际运动,其中 70% 以上存在于农业中,并帮助农民与他们的工人合作,将危险的童工转变为 14/15- 的体面青年农业就业。 17 岁,并从根本上改善农业企业、农场和种植园的健康和安全条件。

加入工作组

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.2.1

Institutionalise and Strengthen Labour and Human Rights Regulations by Placing People’s Dignity and Rights at the Centre

Addressing the deprivation and denial of human and labour rights is a central component of promoting equality and advancing the livelihood of workers in food systems. It involves institutionalising rights at the transnational and international level, including ratification of ILO and UN human rights conventions by states and their effective implementation as well as inter-state and inter-organisational coordination. The effective enforcement at the national and local levels should ensure that food system workers are not excluded from rights and labour protection; prioritising marginalised categories of workers such as migrant (foreign) workers, casual or daily workers, who may not be effectively protected under relevant legislation even when it exists, and particular occupational sectors of the food system, such as fisheries, primary agricultural production, and food processing, which are often among the most hazardous, unprotected, and poorly remunerated; and ensuring the demands of the most excluded and exploited are centred. This solution cluster also focuses on promoting decent work as one of the main ways to eliminate child labour, over 70 percent of which is found in agriculture. Also, all solutions under this cluster will be gender and age-sensitive, giving special attention to women and youth due to their specific challenges and needs.

About this Solution Cluster

The UN food security framework, and the trade and labour policy which stems from it, has long been lacking robust regulations to protect the rights, livelihoods, and dignity of workers in the agri-food sector. Mr. Michael Fakhri, UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food, in his first report to the UN General Assembly, acknowledged that the trade regime fails to adequately acknowledge and uphold the human rights of marginalised food workers (including agricultural workers). The conception of food workers includes wage workers, as their labour is essential to food production. The vast majority of food production is made possible through labourers who have nominal wages and little to no legal protections; meanwhile, wealth and power are centralised in a small number of private entities. The gap created by the lack of regulations, policies and enforcement mechanisms has not only reduced the visibility of labourers in the trade regime but has also further marginalised food workers who are vulnerable to human rights abuses.

The Working Group on Global Food Governance of the Civil Society and Indigenous Peoples’ Mechanism (CSM) for relations with the Committee on World Food Security (CFS) reports that “the absence of decent work for the vast majority of those around the world working in agriculture” has been at the heart of the poverty and inequality crisis. Food system sectors are often excluded from human and labour rights that are provided to other workers. For example, the agricultural sector, even in countries that have ratified labour and human rights treaties, is often exempt from overtime wages, sick days, and social welfare. Workers in the food-processing industry, such as in meatpacking, suffer from poor enforcement of labour and human rights standards. Across all food system sectors, labour is segmented along racial/ethnic and gender lines, with no effective anti-discrimination protections because these groups are often socially, politically, and economically exploited. Child labour is widely prevalent in food systems. The right to life and health of workers is made precarious because of weak or non-existent health and safety regulations in food systems. Sectors such as fisheries which employ large numbers of migrant (foreign) labour require transnational governance where all states across the production and extraction chain need to implement and enforce rights regulations so that there is no race to the bottom. Workers are left without agency, as there is no right to organise and bargain collectively without fear of reprisal and loss of livelihood, and often, loss of lives. This has been acknowledged by peoples’ movements across the globe, international organisations, and the UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food, as well as state parties, evidenced by several best practices that are ongoing, as described under each solution.

The cluster includes six focus areas, the first of which involves ratification and effective enforcement of human rights and labour standards in food systems. Upholding and protecting labour rights in the agri-food sector, through the ratification and effective implementation of relevant ILO international labour standards and human rights treaties, in addition to being an important objective, is key to facilitating agricultural growth and inclusive food systems, with potential significant multiplier effects on other sectors. The solution also focuses on strengthening compliance and enforcement systems through better human rights monitoring, labour administration, and labour inspection systems, as well as partnerships and multi-stakeholder monitoring along agri-food system value chains; harnessing the labour standards’ contribution to voluntary instruments relevant to agriculture and rural development, especially in contexts where labour laws do not always protect rural workers, such as the standards endorsed by the CFS and the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), improving national and cross-border social dialogue; promoting policy coherence; strengthening international partnerships and scaling up the implementation of development cooperation programmes on the promotion of the ILO’s Decent Work Agenda in agriculture and related sectors; and improving enterprises’ access to ILO resources and guidance on international labour standards.

The second goal of the cluster is to bring specific attention to the recognition and promotion of occupational safety and health in food systems as a fundamental labour and human right. In terms of fatalities, injuries, and occupational disease, agriculture – along with capture fishing – is acknowledged as one of the three most dangerous occupations. An estimated 170,000 farmers and agricultural workers in crop, livestock, and aquacultural production are killed at work each year. The solution obligates all UN organisations, international agencies, and states to incorporate occupational safety and health as a fundamental labour and human right in their founding governance charters, constitutions, legislative frameworks, and rules, and to develop and implement policies, programmes, and activities to improve safety and health in food systems workplaces. It requires states to establish and maintain well-functioning institutions of labour inspection as a key mechanism for ensuring the effective enforcement of labour legislation and the protection of workers, and for promoting productivity at work. In addition, it obligates businesses across the food systems to guarantee the safety and health of their workers.

The cluster also addresses categories of workers, who face particularly significant barriers in exercising their rights or are subject to high degrees of exploitation, and specific sectors that are often characterised by significant decent work deficits. One solution focuses on migrant (foreign) workers in food systems. Migration is a reality in the food sector in most countries, given the seasonality and labour intensiveness in agriculture and the mass production mechanisms in food systems that push labour wages down. This results in millions of workers (including women, subsistence producers, and Indigenous Peoples) crossing borders to work in other countries to earn their livelihoods. While migrant workers contribute significantly to the growth of the agricultural and other food system sectors, they are also especially vulnerable to poor labour regulations, to lack of opportunities, recognition, and social protection, to trafficking, xenophobia, and racism, and – especially for migrant women workers – to gender violence and discriminatory treatment. The first step to address the challenge of access to justice for migrant (foreign) food workers is to increase access to rights and entitlements across the transnational jurisdictional space. Since rights and entitlements are often mediated by citizenship status and cannot be meaningfully accessed by those with foreign status, the solution includes greater access to open work permits and permanent residency for migrant (foreign) workers in agriculture and along the food chain. Secondly, anti-racism and anti-discrimination, with special protections for migrant workers, must be mainstreamed across all food sector policies to ensure equitable opportunity and equal treatment in employment and occupation, without discrimination based on race, colour, s*x, religion, political opinion, national extraction, or social origin. Third, special programmes must be initiated to provide labour rights and social protection support to the workers, pre- and post- migration, in their home countries. Lastly, collective organisations must be strengthened and reimagined for migrant workers. When this is accomplished, labour, and other human rights protections will be strengthened, and food security overall will be achieved, taking into account the most marginalised persons in the food sector, including subsistence producers, women, indigenous peoples, and socially and culturally racialised persons.

Additionally, the cluster has emphasised the importance of recognition of the high degree of exploitative working and living conditions on board fishing vessels and growing cooperation on improving labour standards in fishing between international agencies such as the International Maritime Organisation (IMO), FAO, and ILO; national fisheries agencies; national fisheries (employers) organisations; and trade unions representing fishers. As many women as men are employed in the fisheries sector, but women’s role in fisheries has remained buried in the data-poor sub-sectors of part-time employment and post-harvest activities. Fishers’ fatality and injury rates are much higher than national averages for all workers in many countries. The solution proposed is the systematic scale out of systems of Flag State inspection and Port State inspection of working and living conditions on board fishing vessels, as are laid down in the ILO Work in Fishing Convention, No. 188 (2007) and supplemented by sets of ILO Guidelines on Flag State inspection and Port State control, respectively. Establishing and resourcing inspection systems to ensure decent working and living conditions for fishers will also contribute to addressing other issues such as illegal, unreported, and unregulated fishing, forced labour and human trafficking, and child labour. The IMO, ILO, and FAO have already created legally binding international fisheries instruments for responsible fisheries, the safety of fishing vessels and fishers, and decent working and living conditions in fisheries. This cluster intends to continue to promote this framework to encourage increased ratification to ensure improved safety, working, and living conditions and reduced accidents and fatalities in the sector.

The COVID-19 pandemic has exposed the decent work deficits faced by food processing workers in many countries. Another solution in this cluster therefore seeks to follow an integrated decent work approach in the food processing sector to ensure quality jobs, social protection, and respect for rights at work within the sector’s large workforce, which comprises a significant number of women and migrant workers. Ensuring decent work for workers in food processing will contribute to sustainable, inclusive economic growth, poverty reduction, food security, and nutrition. For instance, in 2020, Germany introduced a law prohibiting subcontracting of workers for core businesses in meat processing, establishing stricter regulations on wages, overtime pay, and other aspects, and addressing the systemic decent work deficits prevalent in the sector. An integrated decent work approach, tailored to the global, country, and enterprise levels, would comprise of (i) effective protection of rights at work and enforcement of labour standards, (ii) strengthened capacity of institutions to improve skills, productivity, access to markets, information and technology, etc., (iii) improved social protection coverage, and (iv) strengthened capacity of workers’ and employers’ organisation to meaningfully participate in social dialogue to ensure stable labour relations and boost productivity and quality of work life. The ILO, with support from, and in collaboration with development cooperation partners, can support its constituents – governments, employers, and workers’ organisations – in identifying challenges and opportunities for the promotion of decent work in food processing segments of specific food supply chains. This would entail collecting and analysing data on employment and labour issues in selected supply chains and outlining areas where progress is needed; developing strategies/action plans to address decent work challenges; and bringing the strategies to life through targeted programmes. The overall objective of such programmes is to improve workers’ access to rights and quality jobs as a means to improve livelihoods, incomes, and food security, and to support enterprises in implementing core and other relevant international labour standards and national labour laws aimed at improving both compliance and competitiveness in their supply chains.

Lastly, the cluster aims to eliminate child labour and promoting youth employment. The FSS can help the international campaign to eliminate child labour, over 70 per cent of which is found in agriculture, and to help farmers, in cooperation with their workers, to transform hazardous child labour into decent youth employment in agriculture for 14/15- to 17-year-olds, and radically improving health and safety conditions on agricultural undertakings, farms, and plantations.

Join Working Group