AT-3

كتلة الحل 3.2.6

نظم الغذاء للشعوب الأصلية

كانت النظم الغذائية للشعوب الأصلية مرنة ومستدامة لعدة قرون ؛ لقد تم تصميمها وإدارتها وتشغيلها ضمن سياق ثقافي يتضمن ترتيبًا معقدًا من الجوانب الاجتماعية والتكنولوجية والبيئية والاقتصادية (التجارة والتسويق) والحوكمة وحيازة الأراضي واتخاذ القرارات الأفقية وتعكس طرق معالجة المعلومات أيضًا كبناء ونقل المعرفة إلى الأجيال الجديدة. يشرح هذا التعقيد الثقافي الحيوي دور النظم الغذائية للشعوب الأصلية في الحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي وتعزيزه ، وتخفيف تغير المناخ ، والسيطرة على تآكل التربة ، واستدامة العمليات البيئية العالمية التي تفيد الكوكب. ومع ذلك ، فإن المرونة والمعرفة التي تدعم النظم الغذائية للشعوب الأصلية تضيع بسرعة. وبالتالي ، هناك حاجة إلى تدخلات سياسية فورية للحيلولة دون فقدانها بالكامل.

لا تزال أنظمة الأغذية الخاصة بالشعوب الأصلية في وضع يمكنها من تقديم إمكانات كبيرة لتصميم وإدارة أنظمة غذائية مستدامة ، ومناسبة للظروف الخاصة. في هذا الصدد ، يجب النظر في عنصرين هامين: 1) الدعم المالي للبحوث بين الثقافات وبناء القدرات من خلال التعليم والتدريب في الموقع ، إلى جانب البنية التحتية. 2) الاعتراف الفعال بالقيادة والحكم وطرق المعرفة وإدارة أراضيهم وأراضيهم ومواردهم والمشاركة بشكل كبير في صنع القرار للعنصر 1.

حول مجموعة الحلول هذه

تضافرت العوامل الخارجية والداخلية مع التحديات العالمية مثل تغير المناخ ، والهجرة ، وتآكل التربة ، وفقدان التنوع البيولوجي ، وما إلى ذلك ، وكلها تهدد النظم الغذائية في جميع أنحاء العالم ، وأوجدت ظروفًا لنظم غذائية غير مستدامة لكل من التقليدية والشعوب الأصلية. لذلك ، هناك حاجة ملحة لإنشاء تصميمات مبتكرة وإدارة نظم غذائية مخصصة لمختلف السياقات البيئية والثقافية ؛ يجب أن تراعي النظم المستدامة الناشئة العوامل الثقافية ، وليس فقط النموذج السائد.

تم إدخال الممارسات التقليدية في النظم التقليدية ، مما أدى إلى زيادة الآثار السلبية على البيئة والناس وتآكل المعرفة والنسيج الاجتماعي. يوضح هذا السيناريو في السنوات الأخيرة الحد من عزل الكربون ، وفقدان الحوكمة الفعالة ، وزيادة الهجرة والأمراض البشرية ، في أنظمة الغذاء الخاصة بالشعوب الأصلية. وبالتالي ، فإن إيجاد بدائل قابلة للتطبيق أمر ملح ، ليس فقط بالنسبة للرسميين البالغ عددهم 476 مليون نسمة ولكن أيضًا للبشرية جمعاء.

على الرغم من أن النظم الغذائية التقليدية والتقليدية تعتمد على قيم ثقافية مختلفة وتحركها ، فإن المعرفة الأصلية جنبًا إلى جنب مع العلم ، في عملية متعددة الثقافات ، يمكن أن توفر الوسائل المفاهيمية والمنهجية اللازمة للانتقال من النظم الغذائية غير المستدامة إلى النظم الغذائية المستدامة.

ستنجح لأنه سيكون هناك اعتراف وفهم لقيم القيادة الثقافية في تصميم وإدارة النظم الغذائية المستدامة ، بما في ذلك العوامل البيئية ، والتكنولوجية ، والاجتماعية ، والاقتصادية ، وما إلى ذلك. لأنه سيجري في إطار نهج متعدد الثقافات ، ليس فقط متعدد الثقافات. لأن تصميم وإدارة نظام غذائي مخصص ، سينتج عن عملية المشاركة في خلق المعرفة ، والجمع بين السكان الأصليين والمحليين والعلم. ستنجح لأن العمل سيتم تنفيذه بواسطة فرق متعددة / متعددة التخصصات. ستنجح لأنه لم يتم تنفيذ أي استراتيجية عالمية على نطاق منتظم وواسع النطاق من قبل ، من حيث عدد المزارعين المستفيدين وما يكفي لإحداث تأثير كبير على التدهور البيئي والثقافي. ستعمل لأنها منطقية وتغير قواعد اللعبة. ستنجح لأنه لمواصلة الاتجاه الحالي ، ستنهار النظم الغذائية مع المجتمعات والثقافات والاقتصادات.

بافتراض وجود صندوق استئماني دولي لتمويل البحث والتدريب والإرشاد لإنشاء أنظمة غذائية مستدامة ، في ظل نظام حوكمة يعطي الأولوية للشعوب الأصلية وقيمها في عملية صنع القرار ، فإن الفكرة هي أولاً إجراء تجارب تجريبية في موقع أو مؤسسة واحدة على الأقل في كل قارة حيث يتم اختيار نظام غذائي تقليدي وتقليدي واضح. سيعمل فريق من العلماء متعددي التخصصات مع السكان الأصليين ذوي المعرفة المحلية. سيطورون معًا برنامجًا بحثيًا يعتمد على تشخيص الأنظمة ، بالتحالف مع جامعة محلية أو منظمات مدنية لدمج الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس والمجتمعات واستخدام مرافقهم. بعد فترة من ثلاث إلى خمس سنوات ، مع التقارير المستمرة ، سيتم إعداد مرحلة ثانية تهدف إلى تدريب المزارعين والباحثين المستقبليين وتصعيد تأثير النتائج. ستكون المرحلة الثالثة هي إضفاء الطابع المؤسسي على شبكة من المراكز الدولية للبحث والتدريب في الموقع ، سواء تم إدراجها في جامعة محلية أو مستقلة.

هناك العديد من الأمثلة في مناطق مختلفة. على سبيل المثال ، في إطار ماتورانجا ماوري (المعرفة والعلوم التقليدية للماوري) ، طور شعب الماوري برنامجًا دوليًا ناجحًا للأعمال التجارية الزراعية مع أول شهادة عضوية في العالم للسكان الأصليين. لقد طور شعب يوكاتيك مايا أعمالًا ناجحة على أساس المبادئ الثقافية ، وهي عملية موثقة من قبل جامعة مايا دي كوينتانا رو بين الثقافات تحت اسم الأعمال متعددة الثقافات لتوسيع نطاق الإيكولوجيا الزراعية. المكسيك لديها نظام جامعات متعددة الثقافات مع برامج مخصصة للنظم الغذائية في أراضي الشعوب الأصلية ؛ نظرًا للتفاعل بين العلماء والأشخاص ذوي المعرفة المحلية ، فإن العديد من المجتمعات الأصلية لم تسترد معارفها وتعيد تقييمها فحسب ، بل طورت أيضًا ابتكارات. ساعدت الإيكولوجيا الزراعية في كاليفورنيا بشكل كبير في نظام المزارع الصغيرة للفراولة ، حيث يعمل العديد من المهاجرين الأصليين ، على التحول من التقليدية إلى العضوية في الأوقات التي كان فيها مبيد بروميد الميثيل محظورًا في الثمانينيات.

أمثلة النجاح هذه ليست سوى دليل صغير على الإمكانات العظيمة التي يمكن أن تصبح عليها الأفكار المقدمة في هذه المجموعة. هناك حاجة ماسة إلى الابتكار في كل من الزراعة التقليدية والتقليدية ؛ يجب أن يكون الابتكار اللازم لتصميم وإدارة النظم الغذائية المستدامة نتيجة للتفكير الإبداعي. هذه هي إمكانية تمويل الإبداع المشترك للمعرفة من خلال نهج متعدد الثقافات. تعد التعددية الثقافية نتيجة لعملية يمكن أن تتعايش فيها طرق مختلفة لمعالجة المعلومات وبناء المعرفة ، حيث تلعب ثقافة نشأة الكون دورًا حاسمًا (مثل الطرق العلمية والطرق الأصلية) في ظل بيئة آمنة ، مما يسمح بظروف جديدة ومبتكرة ومعرفة يظهر؛ هذه المعرفة الجديدة التي تم إنشاؤها بشكل مشترك متعددة الثقافات ، ولا تفيد ثقافة واحدة فحسب ، بل الإنسانية.

انضم إلى مجموعة العمل

اقتراحات تغيير اللعبة في مجموعة الحلول هذه

AT-3

Solution Cluster 3.2.6

Indigenous Peoples’ food systems

Indigenous Peoples Food Systems have been resilient and sustainable for centuries; they have been designed, managed, and functioning within a cultural context that involves a complex arrangement of social, technological, ecological, economic (trade & marketing), governance, land tenure, horizontal decision making, and reflecting their ways of processing information as well as constructing, and passing on knowledge to new generations. This biocultural complexity explains the role of Indigenous Peoples’ Food Systems in preserving and enhancing biodiversity, mitigating climate change, controlling soil erosion, and sustaining global ecological processes that benefit the planet. Nevertheless, the resilience and the knowledge that supports Indigenous Peoples’ Food Systems are being lost rapidly. Immediate policy interventions are thus needed to prevent their total loss.

Indigenous Peoples Food Systems are still in the position of offering a great potential for the design and management of sustainable food systems, suitable for ad hoc conditions. In this regard, two important elements must be considered: 1) Financial support for intercultural research and capacity building through education and training on site, along with infrastructure; 2) Effective recognition of the leadership, governance, ways of knowing, to manage their territories, lands, resources and to significantly participate in the decision making for element 1.

About this Solution Cluster

The combination of external and internal drivers compounded with global challenges such as climate change, migration, soil erosion, loss of biodiversity, etc., all of them threatening food systems worldwide, have created conditions of unsustainable food systems to both conventional and Indigenous. Therefore, there is an urgent need to create innovative designs and management of food systems ad hoc for different environmental and cultural contexts; the emerging sustainable systems must consider cultural factors, not only a dominant paradigm.

Conventional practices have been introduced into traditional systems, increasing negative effects on the environment, people, and erosion of knowledge and social fabric. In recent years this scenario explains the reduction of Carbon sequestration, loss of effective governance, increase in migration and human diseases, in Indigenous People’s Food Systems. Creating viable alternatives is thus urgent, not only for the official 476 million Indigenous Peoples’ but also for all humanity.

Although conventional and traditional food systems rest on and are driven by different cultural values, Indigenous knowledge together with science, in an intercultural process, can provide the needed conceptual and methodological means to transition from non-sustainable to sustainable food systems.

It will work because there will be acknowledgment and understanding of the cultural driving values in the design and management of sustainable food systems, including ecological, technological, social, economic, etc., factors. Because there will be carried under an intercultural approach, not only multicultural. Because the design and management of an ad hoc food system, will result from a process of co-creating knowledge, combining Indigenous/local with science. It will work because the work will be performed by multi/inter disciplinary teams. It will work because no before a global strategy had been implemented in a systematic and large scale, in terms of number of farmers benefited and enough to have a significant impact on environmental and cultural degradation. It will work because makes sense and is a game changer. It will work because to continue the present trend, food systems will collapse along with societies, cultures, and economies.

Assuming that there is an international trust fund to finance research, training, and extension to create sustainable food systems, under a governance system that gives primacy to Indigenous Peoples and their values in the decision-making process, the idea is first to conduct pilot experiences in at least one site or institution per continent where a conspicuous conventional and traditional food system are selected. A team of multi/inter disciplinary scientists would work with local knowledgeable Indigenous People. Together would develop a research program based on a diagnosis of the systems, in alliance with a local university or civic organizations for incorporating students, faculty, communities and using their facilities. After a period of three to five years, with continuous reports, a second phase would be prepared aiming at training farmers and future researchers and to escalate the impact of the findings. A third phase will be to institutionalize a network of international centres for research and training on site, either inserted in a local university or independent.

There are several examples in different regions. For instance, under the Mātauranga Māori (Māori traditional knowledge and science), the Māori People has developed a successful International Agribusiness Program with the world’s first Indigenous organic certification. The Yucatec Maya people has developed successful business based on cultural principles, this is a process documented by the Universidad Intercultural Maya de Quintana Roo under the name of intercultural business to scale up agroecology. Mexico has a system of intercultural universities with programs dedicated to food systems in indigenous territories; because of the interaction between scientists and local knowledgeable people, many indigenous communities have not only recuperated and revalue their knowledge but also developed innovations. Agroecology in California helped significantly the strawberry small farm system, where many indigenous immigrants work, to convert from conventional to organic in times when the pesticide methyl bromide was forbidden back in the 1980’s.

Those examples of success are only a small proof of the great potential that the ideas presented in this cluster can become. Innovation is much needed in both conventional and traditional agriculture; the innovation needed to design and manage sustainable food systems should also be the result of innovative thinking. This is the potential of financing the co-creation of knowledge with an intercultural approach. Interculturality is the result of a process in which different ways of processing information and constructing knowledge, where cosmogony of a culture plays a critical role (e.g. scientific and Indigenous ways) can coexist under a safe environment, allowing conditions for new, innovative, knowledge to emerge; this new co-created knowledge is intercultural, benefiting not only one culture, but humanity.

Join Working Group

Game Changing Propositions in this Solution Cluster