AT-3

解决方案集群 3.2.6

土著人民的粮食系统

几个世纪以来,土著人民的粮食系统一直具有弹性和可持续性;它们是在文化背景下设计、管理和运作的,涉及社会、技术、生态、经济(贸易和营销)、治理、土地使用权、横向决策的复杂安排,以及反映他们处理信息的方式作为建设,并将知识传递给新一代。这种生物文化的复杂性解释了土著人民粮食系统在保护和增强生物多样性、减缓气候变化、控制土壤侵蚀和维持有益于地球的全球生态过程方面的作用。然而,支持土著人民粮食系统的复原力和知识正在迅速消失。因此,需要立即采取政策干预,以防止它们的全部损失。

土著人民粮食系统仍处于为设计和管理适合特定条件的可持续粮食系统提供巨大潜力的位置。在这方面,必须考虑两个重要因素:1) 通过现场教育和培训以及基础设施为跨文化研究和能力建设提供财政支持; 2) 有效承认领导力、治理、认识方式,管理其领土、土地、资源并积极参与要素 1 的决策。

关于此解决方案集群

外部和内部驱动因素的结合,加上气候变化、移民、土壤侵蚀、生物多样性丧失等全球挑战,所有这些都威胁着全世界的粮食系统,为传统和土著粮食系统创造了不可持续的条件。因此,迫切需要针对不同的环境和文化背景创建创新的粮食系统设计和管理;新兴的可持续系统必须考虑文化因素,而不仅仅是一种主导范式。

传统做法被引入传统系统,增加了对环境、人类的负面影响以及知识和社会结构的侵蚀。近年来,这种情况解释了土著人民粮食系统中碳固存减少、有效治理丧失、移民和人类疾病增加的原因。因此,不仅对于官方的 4.76 亿原住民,而且对于全人类来说,创造可行的替代方案是紧迫的。

尽管传统和传统粮食系统依赖于不同的文化价值观并受其驱动,但土著知识与科学在跨文化过程中可以提供所需的概念和方法论手段,以从不可持续的粮食系统过渡到可持续的粮食系统。

之所以会奏效,是因为在可持续粮食系统的设计和管理中,文化驱动价值将得到承认和理解,包括生态、技术、社会、经济等因素。因为会有跨文化的方式进行,而不仅仅是多元文化。因为特设食品系统的设计和管理将产生于共同创造知识的过程,将土著/地方与科学相结合。它会奏效,因为这项工作将由多学科/跨学科团队执行。它之所以会奏效,是因为在受益的农民数量和足以对环境和文化退化产生重大影响方面,全球战略从未被系统地、大规模地实施过。它会起作用,因为它有意义并且是游戏规则的改变者。它将起作用,因为要继续当前的趋势,粮食系统将随着社会、文化和经济而崩溃。

假设有一个国际信托基金来资助研究、培训和推广以创建可持续的粮食系统,在一个在决策过程中将土著人民及其价值观置于首位的治理体系下,这个想法首先进行试点经验在每个大陆至少有一个地点或机构选择了显着的传统和传统食品系统。一个多学科/跨学科科学家团队将与当地知识渊博的土著人民合作。共同开发基于系统诊断的研究计划,与当地大学或公民组织合作,将学生、教职员工、社区纳入其中并使用他们的设施。三到五年后,随着不断的报告,将准备第二阶段,旨在培训农民和未来的研究人员,并扩大调查结果的影响。第三阶段是将一个国际研究和培训中心网络制度化,这些中心要么插入当地大学,要么独立。

在不同地区有几个例子。例如,在 Mātauranga Māori(毛利传统知识和科学)下,毛利人开发了一项成功的国际农业综合企业计划,并获得了世界上第一个土著有机认证。 Yucatec Maya 人在文化原则的基础上发展了成功的商业,这是由 Universidad Interculture Maya de Quintana Roo 以跨文化商业的名义记录的一个过程,以扩大农业生态。墨西哥有一个跨文化大学系统,其课程专门针对土著领土的粮食系统;由于科学家和当地知识渊博的人之间的互动,许多土著社区不仅恢复和重新评估了他们的知识,而且还进行了创新。在 1980 年代,当农药甲基溴被禁止时,加利福尼亚的农业生态学极大地帮助了许多土著移民工作的草莓小农场系统从传统转变为有机。

这些成功的例子只是这个集群中提出的想法可以成为巨大潜力的一个小证明。传统农业和传统农业都非常需要创新;设计和管理可持续粮食系统所需的创新也应该是创新思维的结果。这就是通过跨文化方法为知识的共同创造提供资金的潜力。跨文化性是一个过程的结果,在这个过程中,不同的处理信息和构建知识的方式,其中文化的宇宙起源发挥着关键作用(例如科学和本土方式)可以在安全的环境下共存,为新的、创新的知识创造条件出现;这种新的共同创造的知识是跨文化的,不仅有益于一种文化,而且有益于人类。

加入工作组

此解决方案集群中的改变游戏规则的提议

AT-3

Solution Cluster 3.2.6

Indigenous Peoples’ food systems

Indigenous Peoples Food Systems have been resilient and sustainable for centuries; they have been designed, managed, and functioning within a cultural context that involves a complex arrangement of social, technological, ecological, economic (trade & marketing), governance, land tenure, horizontal decision making, and reflecting their ways of processing information as well as constructing, and passing on knowledge to new generations. This biocultural complexity explains the role of Indigenous Peoples’ Food Systems in preserving and enhancing biodiversity, mitigating climate change, controlling soil erosion, and sustaining global ecological processes that benefit the planet. Nevertheless, the resilience and the knowledge that supports Indigenous Peoples’ Food Systems are being lost rapidly. Immediate policy interventions are thus needed to prevent their total loss.

Indigenous Peoples Food Systems are still in the position of offering a great potential for the design and management of sustainable food systems, suitable for ad hoc conditions. In this regard, two important elements must be considered: 1) Financial support for intercultural research and capacity building through education and training on site, along with infrastructure; 2) Effective recognition of the leadership, governance, ways of knowing, to manage their territories, lands, resources and to significantly participate in the decision making for element 1.

About this Solution Cluster

The combination of external and internal drivers compounded with global challenges such as climate change, migration, soil erosion, loss of biodiversity, etc., all of them threatening food systems worldwide, have created conditions of unsustainable food systems to both conventional and Indigenous. Therefore, there is an urgent need to create innovative designs and management of food systems ad hoc for different environmental and cultural contexts; the emerging sustainable systems must consider cultural factors, not only a dominant paradigm.

Conventional practices have been introduced into traditional systems, increasing negative effects on the environment, people, and erosion of knowledge and social fabric. In recent years this scenario explains the reduction of Carbon sequestration, loss of effective governance, increase in migration and human diseases, in Indigenous People’s Food Systems. Creating viable alternatives is thus urgent, not only for the official 476 million Indigenous Peoples’ but also for all humanity.

Although conventional and traditional food systems rest on and are driven by different cultural values, Indigenous knowledge together with science, in an intercultural process, can provide the needed conceptual and methodological means to transition from non-sustainable to sustainable food systems.

It will work because there will be acknowledgment and understanding of the cultural driving values in the design and management of sustainable food systems, including ecological, technological, social, economic, etc., factors. Because there will be carried under an intercultural approach, not only multicultural. Because the design and management of an ad hoc food system, will result from a process of co-creating knowledge, combining Indigenous/local with science. It will work because the work will be performed by multi/inter disciplinary teams. It will work because no before a global strategy had been implemented in a systematic and large scale, in terms of number of farmers benefited and enough to have a significant impact on environmental and cultural degradation. It will work because makes sense and is a game changer. It will work because to continue the present trend, food systems will collapse along with societies, cultures, and economies.

Assuming that there is an international trust fund to finance research, training, and extension to create sustainable food systems, under a governance system that gives primacy to Indigenous Peoples and their values in the decision-making process, the idea is first to conduct pilot experiences in at least one site or institution per continent where a conspicuous conventional and traditional food system are selected. A team of multi/inter disciplinary scientists would work with local knowledgeable Indigenous People. Together would develop a research program based on a diagnosis of the systems, in alliance with a local university or civic organizations for incorporating students, faculty, communities and using their facilities. After a period of three to five years, with continuous reports, a second phase would be prepared aiming at training farmers and future researchers and to escalate the impact of the findings. A third phase will be to institutionalize a network of international centres for research and training on site, either inserted in a local university or independent.

There are several examples in different regions. For instance, under the Mātauranga Māori (Māori traditional knowledge and science), the Māori People has developed a successful International Agribusiness Program with the world’s first Indigenous organic certification. The Yucatec Maya people has developed successful business based on cultural principles, this is a process documented by the Universidad Intercultural Maya de Quintana Roo under the name of intercultural business to scale up agroecology. Mexico has a system of intercultural universities with programs dedicated to food systems in indigenous territories; because of the interaction between scientists and local knowledgeable people, many indigenous communities have not only recuperated and revalue their knowledge but also developed innovations. Agroecology in California helped significantly the strawberry small farm system, where many indigenous immigrants work, to convert from conventional to organic in times when the pesticide methyl bromide was forbidden back in the 1980’s.

Those examples of success are only a small proof of the great potential that the ideas presented in this cluster can become. Innovation is much needed in both conventional and traditional agriculture; the innovation needed to design and manage sustainable food systems should also be the result of innovative thinking. This is the potential of financing the co-creation of knowledge with an intercultural approach. Interculturality is the result of a process in which different ways of processing information and constructing knowledge, where cosmogony of a culture plays a critical role (e.g. scientific and Indigenous ways) can coexist under a safe environment, allowing conditions for new, innovative, knowledge to emerge; this new co-created knowledge is intercultural, benefiting not only one culture, but humanity.

Join Working Group

Game Changing Propositions in this Solution Cluster