AT-4

解决方案集群 4.2.2

改善粮食系统劳动力市场的治理

运转良好的农业劳动力市场对于小农和有薪农业工人的减贫至关重要。其想法是改善粮食系统中的劳工和机构治理,以保障工人的劳工权利(作为人权)。

需要更新和调整传统的劳动力市场治理和体制框架,以解决劳动力市场失灵问题;应对劳动力市场结构和工作组织的变化;改善依赖粮食系统工作人员的私营和公共实体的劳动法规、劳动力市场准入、检查、监督和遵守情况;解决农村家庭财产不平等等其他问题;城乡移民和外国移民;季节性;农村贫困人口的地理和政治孤立;临时或不安全的工作;农业童工;和工人参与政策改革。

更加关注工人的能动性和可持续性作为粮食安全和营养的核心维度,可以促进确定劳工权利在粮食系统中的重要性。

关于此解决方案集群

粮食系统劳动力市场的特点通常是大公司的劳动力垄断(单一买家);农村贫困;农村家庭的财产不平等;就业的季节性、不稳定和不安全;低收入和负债;农业劳动力的高风险/危险和繁重的性质;灌溉和非灌溉农业、渔业和整个食物链对劳动力投入的高需求,以确保粮食安全和国际粮食贸易中的竞争力。农业工人通常也被排除在劳动保护之外,特别是最低工资、社会保护、集体谈判权利和安全和健康的工作条件方面的保护。劳动力市场治理和机构薄弱以及缺乏人权监测加剧了农业工人的不稳定,他们无法行使自己的权利,因此继续在不适当的劳动条件下工作,冒着健康、福祉、生计甚至生命的风险。

目前的贸易和资本流动设计允许权力平衡有利于大型农场和公司,这些农场和公司可以在这个投入密集型部门获利(例如通过压低工资、签订对小农不利的合同农业安排等),通过采取利用特定的社会经济、政治和文化因素(例如社会边缘化、农村贫困、有限的结社自由和集体谈判权利以及移民工人等群体的脆弱性)来构建当地劳动力市场。

此外,目前国际粮食系统劳动力市场缺乏执法、劳动监察和遵守国际劳工标准等问题。例如,许多农村劳动力市场的特点是在制定和实施治理规则时排斥小农组织和带薪农业工人工会。中央和地方政府必须确保积极参与治理。在许多情况下,农业劳动者很少为单一雇主工作,因此需要有明确的规则和程序来管理他们的就业。

加强私营部门的作用很重要。例如,如果跨国公司从大型小农或他们设立的种植者计划采购农产品,则需要有透明的规则和程序来管理此类计划,这也有助于确保农民的价格公平和公平。他们工人的工资。许多农业劳动力市场的另一个趋势是越来越多地使用合同工。许多较大的农场和种植园越来越依赖由劳务承包商雇用和提供的劳工团伙来提供除草、农药喷洒和收割等服务。劳动力市场治理必须确保承包商提供的工人(其中许多是移民)不受剥削并拥有体面的工作条件。

需要改进劳动力市场服务的范围和提供,包括使用新的数字技术。

改善劳动力市场的治理只能通过政策和体制改革来实现,重点是让粮食系统工人有发言权,并赋予他们集体组织和行使人权的权力。建议采用自下而上的方法,以确保粮食系统治理真正抓住并响应粮食系统工人的各种利益和关切。为此,UNFSS 应与相关国家部委、议员和国际机构合作,促进加强劳动力市场治理和机构的工作。在适当的情况下,管理农业/食品部门的劳动法应现代化,包括纳入关于确定雇佣关系和劳动力市场的条款,以包括工人和农民获得就业咨询服务的机会。

此外,劳动力市场治理应包括通过体面就业机会(受劳动法监管)增加劳动力市场准入和提高收入,包括通过最低工资,特别是对包括妇女在内的弱势群体;消除农业中的童工;公平招聘和规范劳务承包商和雇佣条件,以防止工人受到剥削;将工人纳入政策改革进程;通过支持工人组织的建立、发展和运作并保障所有工人的结社自由和集体谈判权,赋予工人权力。

通过缩短生产者和消费者之间的距离(和相关的交易成本)、加强当地市场和促进当地创造就业机会,加强当地经济的政策也将有助于改善劳动力市场治理。它们还有助于改善妇女的机会并解决对边缘化群体的歧视。

加入工作组

此解决方案集群中的改变游戏规则的提议

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.2.2

Improve Governance of Labour Markets in Food Systems

Well-functioning agricultural labour markets are essential for poverty reduction for both smallholder farmers and waged agricultural workers. The idea is to improve governance of labour and institutions in food systems to guarantee the labour rights (as human rights) of workers.

Traditional labour market governance and institutional frameworks need to be updated and adapted to address labour market failures; respond to the changes in labour market structures and organisation of work; improve labour regulations, labour market access, inspection, monitoring of and compliance by private and public entities relying on food systems workers; and address other issues such as property inequality among rural households; rural-urban and foreign migration; seasonality; the geographical and political isolation of the rural poor; temporary or unsecure employment; child labour in agriculture; and workers’ participation in policy reforms.

An increased focus on agency of workers and on sustainability as core dimensions of food security and nutrition can facilitate framing the importance of labour rights in food systems.

About this Solution Cluster

Labour markets in food systems are often characterised by the labour monopsony (single buyer) of large corporations; rural poverty; property inequality among rural households; seasonality, precarity, and insecurity in employment; low income and indebtedness; high-risk/hazardous and backbreaking nature of agricultural labour; and the high demand for labour input in irrigated and unirrigated agriculture, fisheries and across the food chain for ensuring food security and competitiveness in international food trade. Agricultural workers are also commonly excluded from labour protections, especially those on minimum wages, social protection, and rights to collective bargaining and safe and healthy working conditions. Weak labour market governance and institutions and the lack of human rights monitoring exacerbate the precarity amongst agricultural workers who are unable to exercise their rights and therefore continue to work in inadequate labour conditions, risking their health, well-being, livelihoods, and even lives.

The present design of trade and capital flows allows for power balance in favour of large farms and corporations that can profit in this input-intensive sector (e.g. by depressing wages, entering into contract farming arrangements that are disadvantageous to smallholders, etc.) by taking advantage of specific socio-economic, political, and cultural factors (e.g. societal marginalisation, rural poverty, limited rights to freedom of association and collective bargaining, and the vulnerability of groups such as migrant workers) to structure the local labour market.

In addition, law enforcement, labour inspection, and compliance with international labour standards, among other issues, are currently lacking in the international food systems labour market. Many rural labour markets, for example, have been characterised by exclusion of smallholder farmer organisations and waged agricultural workers trade unions in creating and implementing the rules of governance. Governments – central and local – must ensure their active participation in governance. In many instances, agricultural labourers rarely work for a single employer so there need to be clear rules and procedures governing their employment.

Enhancing the role of the private sector is important. For example, in cases where multinational companies are sourcing their agricultural commodities from large-scale smallholder farmers or grower schemes that they have set up, there need to be transparent rules and procedures governing such schemes which can also help ensure fair prices for farmers and fair wages for their workers. Another trend in many agricultural labour markets is the growing use of contract labour. Many larger farms and plantations increasingly rely on labour gangs employed and supplied by labour contractors for services such as weeding, pesticide spraying, and harvesting. Labour market governance must ensure that workers, many of them migrants, supplied by contractors are not exploited and have decent conditions of work.

The scope and provision of labour market services needs to be improved, including the use of new digital technologies.

Improving the governance of labour markets can only be accomplished with policy and institutional reform that focuses on giving a voice to food systems workers and empowering them to collectively organise and exercise their human rights. A bottom-up approach is recommended to ensure that governance of food systems truly captures and responds to the diverse interests and concerns of workers in food systems. To this effect, the UNFSS should facilitate working to strengthen labour market governance and institutions in association with relevant national ministries, parliamentarians, and international agencies. Where appropriate, labour laws governing the agricultural/food sectors should be modernised, including inclusion of clauses on determining the employment relationship and labour markets, to include access for workers and farmers to employment advisory services.

In addition, labour market governance should include increased labour market access through decent employment opportunities (regulated by labour laws) and improved earnings including through minimum wages, especially for vulnerable groups including women; elimination of child labour in agriculture; fair recruitment and regulation of labour contractors and conditions of employment to prevent workers’ exploitation; inclusion of workers in policy reform processes; and empowering workers by supporting the establishment, growth, and functioning of workers’ organisations and guaranteeing the rights of freedom of association and collective bargaining of all workers.

Policies towards strengthening local economies would also contribute to improving labour market governance by reducing the distance (and associated transaction costs) between producers and consumers, strengthening local markets, and promoting local-level job creation. They could also contribute to improving opportunities for women and addressing discrimination against marginalised groups.

Join Working Group

Game Changing Propositions in this Solution Cluster