AT-4

كتلة الحل 4.2.2

تحسين حوكمة أسواق العمل في النظم الغذائية

أسواق العمل الزراعية التي تعمل بشكل جيد ضرورية للحد من الفقر لكل من المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة والعمال الزراعيين بأجر. الفكرة هي تحسين إدارة العمل والمؤسسات في النظم الغذائية لضمان حقوق العمل (مثل حقوق الإنسان) للعمال.

يلزم تحديث حوكمة سوق العمل والأطر المؤسسية التقليدية وتكييفها لمعالجة إخفاقات سوق العمل ؛ الاستجابة للتغيرات في هياكل سوق العمل وتنظيم العمل ؛ تحسين أنظمة العمل والوصول إلى سوق العمل والتفتيش والمراقبة والامتثال من قبل الكيانات الخاصة والعامة التي تعتمد على عمال النظم الغذائية ؛ ومعالجة قضايا أخرى مثل عدم المساواة في الملكية بين الأسر الريفية ؛ الهجرة من الريف إلى الحضر والهجرة الأجنبية ؛ الموسمية. العزلة الجغرافية والسياسية لفقراء الريف؛ العمل المؤقت أو غير الآمن ؛ عمل الأطفال في الزراعة؛ ومشاركة العمال في إصلاحات السياسات.

يمكن أن يؤدي التركيز المتزايد على وكالة العمال وعلى الاستدامة كأبعاد أساسية للأمن الغذائي والتغذية إلى تسهيل تأطير أهمية حقوق العمل في النظم الغذائية.

حول مجموعة الحلول هذه

غالبًا ما تتميز أسواق العمل في النظم الغذائية باحتكار العمالة (المشتري الوحيد) للشركات الكبيرة ؛ الفقر في المناطق الريفية؛ عدم المساواة في الملكية بين الأسر الريفية ؛ الموسمية والدقة وانعدام الأمن في التوظيف ؛ انخفاض الدخل والمديونية ؛ طبيعة العمل الزراعي شديدة الخطورة والخطيرة ؛ وارتفاع الطلب على مدخلات العمالة في الزراعة المروية وغير المروية ، ومصايد الأسماك وعبر السلسلة الغذائية لضمان الأمن الغذائي والقدرة التنافسية في تجارة الأغذية الدولية. كما يُستبعد العمال الزراعيون بشكل عام من تدابير حماية العمال ، لا سيما أولئك الذين يتمتعون بالحد الأدنى للأجور والحماية الاجتماعية والحق في المفاوضة الجماعية وظروف العمل الآمنة والصحية. يؤدي ضعف إدارة ومؤسسات سوق العمل والافتقار إلى مراقبة حقوق الإنسان إلى تفاقم الهشاشة بين العمال الزراعيين غير القادرين على ممارسة حقوقهم ، وبالتالي يستمرون في العمل في ظروف عمل غير ملائمة ، ويخاطرون بصحتهم ورفاههم وسبل عيشهم وحتى حياتهم.

يسمح التصميم الحالي لتدفقات التجارة ورأس المال بتوازن القوى لصالح المزارع والشركات الكبيرة التي يمكن أن تربح في هذا القطاع كثيف المدخلات (على سبيل المثال عن طريق خفض الأجور ، والدخول في ترتيبات الزراعة التعاقدية التي تضر أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة ، وما إلى ذلك) من خلال اتخاذ الاستفادة من عوامل اجتماعية اقتصادية وسياسية وثقافية محددة (مثل التهميش المجتمعي والفقر الريفي والحقوق المحدودة في حرية تكوين الجمعيات والمفاوضة الجماعية وضعف مجموعات مثل العمال المهاجرين) لهيكلة سوق العمل المحلي.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن إنفاذ القانون وتفتيش العمل والامتثال لمعايير العمل الدولية ، من بين أمور أخرى ، غير متوفرة حاليًا في سوق عمل أنظمة الغذاء الدولية. فقد اتسم العديد من أسواق العمل الريفية ، على سبيل المثال ، باستبعاد منظمات المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة ونقابات العمال الزراعيين المأجورين في وضع قواعد الحوكمة وتنفيذها. يجب أن تضمن الحكومات - المركزية والمحلية - مشاركتها النشطة في الحكم. في كثير من الحالات ، نادرًا ما يعمل العمال الزراعيون لدى صاحب عمل واحد ، لذا يجب أن تكون هناك قواعد وإجراءات واضحة تحكم توظيفهم.

من المهم تعزيز دور القطاع الخاص. على سبيل المثال ، في الحالات التي تقوم فيها الشركات متعددة الجنسيات بتوريد سلعها الزراعية من المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة على نطاق واسع أو مخططات المزارعين التي أنشأوها ، يجب أن تكون هناك قواعد وإجراءات شفافة تحكم مثل هذه المخططات والتي يمكن أن تساعد أيضًا في ضمان أسعار عادلة للمزارعين وعادلة أجور عمالهم. هناك اتجاه آخر في العديد من أسواق العمل الزراعية وهو الاستخدام المتزايد للعمالة التعاقدية. تعتمد العديد من المزارع والمزارع الكبيرة بشكل متزايد على عصابات العمل التي يتم توظيفها وتوفيرها من قبل مقاولي العمل لخدمات مثل إزالة الأعشاب الضارة ورش المبيدات والحصاد. يجب أن تضمن حوكمة سوق العمل عدم تعرض العمال ، وكثير منهم مهاجرون ، الذين يوفرهم المقاولون للاستغلال وأن يتمتعوا بظروف عمل لائقة.

يجب تحسين نطاق وتوفير خدمات سوق العمل ، بما في ذلك استخدام التقنيات الرقمية الجديدة.

لا يمكن تحسين إدارة أسواق العمل إلا من خلال إصلاح السياسات والمؤسسات التي تركز على إعطاء صوت للعاملين في النظم الغذائية وتمكينهم من التنظيم الجماعي وممارسة حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بهم. يوصى باتباع نهج ينطلق من القاعدة لضمان أن حوكمة النظم الغذائية تلتقط وتستجيب حقًا للمصالح والشواغل المتنوعة للعاملين في النظم الغذائية. لهذا الغرض ، يجب أن تسهل UNFSS العمل على تعزيز إدارة ومؤسسات سوق العمل بالتعاون مع الوزارات الوطنية ذات الصلة والبرلمانيين والوكالات الدولية. عند الاقتضاء ، ينبغي تحديث قوانين العمل التي تحكم قطاعي الزراعة / الغذاء ، بما في ذلك إدراج بنود بشأن تحديد علاقة العمل وأسواق العمل ، لتشمل وصول العمال والمزارعين إلى الخدمات الاستشارية للتوظيف.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يجب أن تشمل حوكمة سوق العمل زيادة الوصول إلى سوق العمل من خلال فرص العمل اللائق (التي تنظمها قوانين العمل) وتحسين المكاسب بما في ذلك من خلال الحد الأدنى للأجور ، وخاصة للفئات الضعيفة بما في ذلك النساء القضاء على عمالة الأطفال في الزراعة ؛ التوظيف العادل وتنظيم مقاولي العمل وشروط التوظيف لمنع استغلال العمال ؛ إشراك العاملين في عمليات إصلاح السياسات ؛ وتمكين العمال من خلال دعم إنشاء ونمو وتشغيل المنظمات العمالية وضمان حقوق حرية تكوين الجمعيات والمفاوضة الجماعية لجميع العمال.

ومن شأن السياسات الهادفة إلى تعزيز الاقتصادات المحلية أن تساهم أيضًا في تحسين حوكمة سوق العمل عن طريق تقليل المسافة (وتكاليف المعاملات المرتبطة بها) بين المنتجين والمستهلكين ، وتقوية الأسواق المحلية ، وتشجيع خلق فرص العمل على المستوى المحلي. كما يمكنها المساهمة في تحسين الفرص المتاحة للمرأة والتصدي للتمييز ضد الفئات المهمشة.

انضم إلى مجموعة العمل

اقتراحات تغيير اللعبة في مجموعة الحلول هذه

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.2.2

Improve Governance of Labour Markets in Food Systems

Well-functioning agricultural labour markets are essential for poverty reduction for both smallholder farmers and waged agricultural workers. The idea is to improve governance of labour and institutions in food systems to guarantee the labour rights (as human rights) of workers.

Traditional labour market governance and institutional frameworks need to be updated and adapted to address labour market failures; respond to the changes in labour market structures and organisation of work; improve labour regulations, labour market access, inspection, monitoring of and compliance by private and public entities relying on food systems workers; and address other issues such as property inequality among rural households; rural-urban and foreign migration; seasonality; the geographical and political isolation of the rural poor; temporary or unsecure employment; child labour in agriculture; and workers’ participation in policy reforms.

An increased focus on agency of workers and on sustainability as core dimensions of food security and nutrition can facilitate framing the importance of labour rights in food systems.

About this Solution Cluster

Labour markets in food systems are often characterised by the labour monopsony (single buyer) of large corporations; rural poverty; property inequality among rural households; seasonality, precarity, and insecurity in employment; low income and indebtedness; high-risk/hazardous and backbreaking nature of agricultural labour; and the high demand for labour input in irrigated and unirrigated agriculture, fisheries and across the food chain for ensuring food security and competitiveness in international food trade. Agricultural workers are also commonly excluded from labour protections, especially those on minimum wages, social protection, and rights to collective bargaining and safe and healthy working conditions. Weak labour market governance and institutions and the lack of human rights monitoring exacerbate the precarity amongst agricultural workers who are unable to exercise their rights and therefore continue to work in inadequate labour conditions, risking their health, well-being, livelihoods, and even lives.

The present design of trade and capital flows allows for power balance in favour of large farms and corporations that can profit in this input-intensive sector (e.g. by depressing wages, entering into contract farming arrangements that are disadvantageous to smallholders, etc.) by taking advantage of specific socio-economic, political, and cultural factors (e.g. societal marginalisation, rural poverty, limited rights to freedom of association and collective bargaining, and the vulnerability of groups such as migrant workers) to structure the local labour market.

In addition, law enforcement, labour inspection, and compliance with international labour standards, among other issues, are currently lacking in the international food systems labour market. Many rural labour markets, for example, have been characterised by exclusion of smallholder farmer organisations and waged agricultural workers trade unions in creating and implementing the rules of governance. Governments – central and local – must ensure their active participation in governance. In many instances, agricultural labourers rarely work for a single employer so there need to be clear rules and procedures governing their employment.

Enhancing the role of the private sector is important. For example, in cases where multinational companies are sourcing their agricultural commodities from large-scale smallholder farmers or grower schemes that they have set up, there need to be transparent rules and procedures governing such schemes which can also help ensure fair prices for farmers and fair wages for their workers. Another trend in many agricultural labour markets is the growing use of contract labour. Many larger farms and plantations increasingly rely on labour gangs employed and supplied by labour contractors for services such as weeding, pesticide spraying, and harvesting. Labour market governance must ensure that workers, many of them migrants, supplied by contractors are not exploited and have decent conditions of work.

The scope and provision of labour market services needs to be improved, including the use of new digital technologies.

Improving the governance of labour markets can only be accomplished with policy and institutional reform that focuses on giving a voice to food systems workers and empowering them to collectively organise and exercise their human rights. A bottom-up approach is recommended to ensure that governance of food systems truly captures and responds to the diverse interests and concerns of workers in food systems. To this effect, the UNFSS should facilitate working to strengthen labour market governance and institutions in association with relevant national ministries, parliamentarians, and international agencies. Where appropriate, labour laws governing the agricultural/food sectors should be modernised, including inclusion of clauses on determining the employment relationship and labour markets, to include access for workers and farmers to employment advisory services.

In addition, labour market governance should include increased labour market access through decent employment opportunities (regulated by labour laws) and improved earnings including through minimum wages, especially for vulnerable groups including women; elimination of child labour in agriculture; fair recruitment and regulation of labour contractors and conditions of employment to prevent workers’ exploitation; inclusion of workers in policy reform processes; and empowering workers by supporting the establishment, growth, and functioning of workers’ organisations and guaranteeing the rights of freedom of association and collective bargaining of all workers.

Policies towards strengthening local economies would also contribute to improving labour market governance by reducing the distance (and associated transaction costs) between producers and consumers, strengthening local markets, and promoting local-level job creation. They could also contribute to improving opportunities for women and addressing discrimination against marginalised groups.

Join Working Group

Game Changing Propositions in this Solution Cluster