AT-2

解决方案集群 2.1.2

健康的食物环境

到 2030 年,食物环境将使健康和可持续的饮食模式变得“正常”且毫不费力

食品环境是消费者与食品系统其他部分之间的接口。他们强烈影响人们吃什么。在“健康食品环境”中,能够实现健康和可持续饮食模式的食品是最简单和正常的选择。它们是可持续粮食系统的先决条件,对于社会应对健康、环境和社会挑战至关重要。该解决方案组将根据 CFS 粮食系统和营养自愿准则支持选区[1]http://www.fao.org/fileadmin/templates/cfs/Docs2021/Documents/CFS_VGs_Food_Systems_and_Nutrition_Strategy_EN.pdf 创造健康的食物环境

  • 由制定或修订基于食物的膳食指南 (FBDG) 以纳入可持续性的国家联盟,将其转化为 人类与地球膳食指南 (DGPP),一种工具,用于提供对健康和可持续饮食模式的特定上下文和商定的理解。联盟伙伴使用 DGPP 作为连贯的一揽子政策和行动的基础,以创造健康的食品环境。
  • 发起一场食品环境行动者运动,设定远大抱负和目标,最终目标是为健康和可持续的饮食模式生产食品 最简单和正常的选择.
  • 为参与全球对话的联盟做出贡献,以推进支持和 加强全球能力 定义特定环境的健康和可持续饮食模式并创造健康的食物环境。

关于此解决方案集群

食物环境是“消费者与食物系统互动以做出有关获取、准备和消费食物的决定的物理、经济、政治和社会文化背景”[2]高专组,2017 年。  http://www.fao.org/3/i7846e/I7846E.pdf

目前,许多食物环境使人们更容易选择和购买营养贫乏、能量密集的食物,而不是更适合健康和可持续饮食模式的食物。今天,四分之一的人的收入不足以获得健康的饮食。[3]Hirvonen, K. 等。 2020..https://doi.org/10.1016/S2214-109X(19)30447- 4; SOFI 2020 http://www.fao.org/publications/sofi/2020/en/ 当前的食品系统还有其他缺陷,例如动物福利、公平、正义和不公平问题,这些问题因当今食品环境的形成方式而加剧。食物沙漠和沼泽以及对便利的需求推动了不健康和/或不可持续饮食的消费量增加。某些弱势群体,包括社会经济背景低下的人、儿童、老人或妇女和女童,也遭受粮食不安全和营养不足的困扰。即使在可持续和健康的选择可及且负担得起的地方,营销、广告和促销也偏爱难以融入人们日常生活的选择。因此,改变饮食模式不能被视为消费者的唯一责任。消费者行为受到无数复杂且相互关联的社会、环境和个人因素的影响,其中许多因素会自动甚至无意识地驱动行为。只有在健康的食物环境中才能实现人人享有健康和可持续饮食模式的食物,这需要在所有治理、透明度和问责制的一致政策的推动下,消费者是变革的积极推动者。

该解决方案集群将促进“健康食品环境”,使健康和可持续的消费模式变得“正常”和轻松。作为食品生产者和消费者之间的重要接口,健康的食品环境具有重要的影响力。它们可以帮助消费者采取对他们有利的行为。健康的食品环境也向上游发出重要信号——食品企业经营者、食品加工商、初级生产者、研究和创新人员致力于开发支持健康和可持续饮食模式的更实惠的产品。解决方案将起作用,因为 

  • 人类与地球的饮食指南将根据国家和次国家的情况量身定制,但基于科学证据
  • 连贯、一致和包容的政策将共同为健康的食品环境创造条件
  • 透明度将确保企业的公平竞争环境,以及人们的信任和确定性
  1. 制定和实施国家膳食指南 考虑到世界各地的不同现实,将人类和地球作为连贯的食品系统政策的支柱,以创造健康的食品环境。
  2. DGPP 将为在国家背景和当地现实中构成健康和可持续饮食的内容提供循证建议1。它们可以成为一套综合政策的核心,指导粮食系统向健康、可持续和公平的粮食环境转型。 DGPP 不仅可以指导营养和教育计划或宣传活动,还可以为整个粮食系统的政策、计划和利益相关者行动提供信息,例如:
    • 机构或 公共采购、绿色投资规则或社会保护举措
    • 贸易 协议和 财政措施 比如政府 补贴税收
    • 投资于 研究与创新, 城市规划 或者 私营部门的行动.
    如果通过以下方式实施此类需求干预措施最有效 正确的一揽子政策,涵盖从食品生产到消费的政策,广泛共识和公众参与,确保不落网,人人受益。
  3. 食物环境参与者使健康和可持续的饮食成为最简单、最容易获得、最容易获得、负担得起和理想的选择
  4. 食物权延伸到支持健康和可持续饮食模式的正确食物。当人们在市场、小吃摊、餐馆或食堂等处获取食物时,他们首先看到的信息和食物以及他们能够负担得起的食物都符合健康和可持续发展建议(例如 DGPP),无论他们或他们的国家有多少收入。解决方案包括但不限于:
    • 当地食品市场, 非正式供应商, 超市、餐厅、网上或其他供应商 – 所有地方都满足高健康和可持续性标准(环境、社会和经济),无论是长期还是 供应链短.
    • 食品商业协会和经营者制定了行为守则 负责任的食品商业和营销实践 并公开提供,在“无害”原则下运作。
    • 由智能法规支持的健康食品环境提供各种可持续采购的食品,使 充足的营养,避免不利的健康影响。
  5. 关于健康食品环境的全球对话,以提供清晰度、能力和转变规范
  6. 目前还没有在国家层面评估食品环境的健康和可持续性的综合或标准框架。没有关于如何解释世界其他地区的粮食影响或如何管理权衡的方法。该集群中的解决方案将:
    • 促进全球对话,为各国提供指导以定义健康和可持续的饮食模式和支持 社会规范的转变 包括更加重视可持续性、良好的动物福利标准,以及将食物视为维持生命的营养来源 20,19 。对有利于健康和可持续饮食模式的食物产生了需求。
    • 结成国家联盟,建立一个为决策者提供证据的机制, 培养问责制,赋予公民社会推动变革的能力。
    • 促进创建 国家粮食系统中心 提供支持政策选择的建议和指导方针、试点创新方法的资金,以及为不同国家背景下的变革建立支持的信息

我们的变革理论是,小规模农业和本地化的传统和土著人民的粮食系统可以促进公平的生计、营养福利、生态系统健康和对气候变化的适应能力。应用这些知识并使用它可以为全球可持续粮食系统的设计和管理做出贡献。我们的目标是通过多元文化学习和交流过程,将传统知识持有者与当代科学知识作为平等的伙伴联系起来,以发展公平的生计。变革理论基于数百年来土著人民的知识和学习,以及他们的粮食系统同时具有可持续性、公平性、生产力和弹性的证据。然后,它建立在尊重和维护食物权和人权的必要性之上,并利用传统和当代知识在确保所有人的有尊严的生计和粮食安全方面所能提供的最佳知识。

该集群采用“不让任何人掉队”的方法,并将特别有助于实现可持续发展目标 1、2、5、10、12 和 13,而其联盟建设方法则针对可持续发展目标 17。解决方案集群与正在进行的全球政策相关联由 CFS、生物多样性公约 (CBD)、联合国气候变化框架公约 (UNFCCC) 和联合国防治荒漠化公约 (UNCCD) 牵头的议程,并考虑了关于土著人民食物的 White/Wiphala 文件的建议系统。

持续努力的例子

    • “世界粮食安全委员会 (CFS) 已采取政策程序来制定粮食系统和营养自愿准则 (VGFSyN)。粮食安全和营养高级别专家小组 (HLPE)17 关于营养和粮食系统的报告、其他文献以及在 2019 年 5 月至 11 月期间进行的包容性协商过程为 VGFSyN 的准备工作提供了信息,该过程涉及粮安委利益相关者的参与。 VGFSyN 预计将......促进不同领域的政策一致性、协调和融合。它们提供科学和循证指导,帮助各国和其他相关利益相关者实施 ICN2 的行动框架建议,以支持在国家粮食安全和其他相关权利(如适用)的背景下逐步实现充足食物权,包括人人有权享有能达到的最高标准身心健康,并实现 2030 年可持续发展议程”。
    • 粮农组织正在修订制定、修订和实施以食物为基础的膳食指南的方法,以整合粮食系统方法并纳入可持续性考虑。粮农组织正在支持多个国家以更广泛的视角制定或修订其 FBDG。
    • 世卫组织健康食品环境相关指导文件和监测举措清单
    • INFORMAS(国际食品与肥胖/非传染性疾病(NCDs)研究、监测和行动支持网络)是一个由公益组织和研究人员组成的全球网络,旨在监测、衡量和支持公共和私营部门的行动,以增加健康食物环境,减少肥胖和非传染性疾病及其相关的不平等。
    • 由世界癌症研究基金会 (WCRF) 国际维护的 NOURISHING 和 MOVING 数据库收集了来自世界各地的、在国家层面实施且目前有效的政策行动。数据库中列出的所有政策行动均已由国内政府专家验证。在特定情况下,当地政策也被列为最佳实践示例。为了获取策略操作,使用了特定的搜索条件和验证过程。
      https://policydatabase.wcrf.org/level_one?page=nourishing-level-one 
    • 欧盟食品商业协会和运营商制定了关于负责任的食品商业和营销实践的自愿行为准则。该守则定义了实现可持续粮食系统的共同理想路径,解决环境、社会和经济可持续性问题,并涵盖食品消费模式、内部流程和价值链/初级生产者。该守则邀请活跃于食品生产、贸易、加工、促销、分销和服务的各种规模的企业,以及任何其他食品系统利益相关者,与守则的共同议程保持一致,并采取切实行动帮助实现其中规定的目标。此外,希望展示领导力并展示领先者雄心以实现理想目标和指标的个体企业被邀请就与其相关的可持续发展主题做出雄心勃勃的补充承诺。 
    • EIT Food 成立于 2017 年,正在投资创新解决方案,将消费者置于转型的中心并提高食品系统内的信任度。为此,EIT Food 建立了一个名为“FoodUnfolded®”的在线平台,向市民传达客观、科学、易于理解和相关的食品信息。了解更多关于我们的食物及其起源的信息。通过将事实和故事带入生活,FoodUnfolded 帮助市民通过知识了解日常食品决策。此外,EIT Food 还对超过 20,000 名消费者进行了一项多国年度调查,以跟踪食品系统内的信任度 (TrustTracker)。 TrustTracker 的调查结果用于为政策以及投资和创新决策提供信息。 2021 年 7 月,EIT Food 将为医疗专业人员推出免费教育模块,以增加他们对食品消费的健康和可持续性方面的知识,使医生成为向健康和可持续食品转变的变革推动者。
    • 粮农组织启动了一个项目,以开发最佳实践生命周期评估方法,以更准确地评估和比较世界各地常见食品的环境和营养影响。采用该工具可以帮助设计和推广强有力的政策,鼓励来自可持续粮食系统的健康饮食,并使人们能够做出更明智的食物选择。
    • 欧洲营养学会联合会启动了一个建立工作组的过程,并得出结论认为环境因素应包括在未来 FBDG 的概念框架中。现在还有几个国家正在制定或审查其纳入可持续性的饮食指南,包括北欧(8 个国家)、墨西哥和哥斯达黎加。 
    • 通过粮食基金会和世界基准联盟的合作倡议,已经为私营部门制定了一致的问责机制的工具包和方法。这包括涵盖营养、环境和社会包容主题的指标和方法,符合每个组织在全球层面(世界基准联盟)和国家层面(食品基金会)制定的现有基准以及其他特定基准,如获取营养倡议。独立对话进程已经开始,来自低收入、中等收入和高收入国家的代表热衷于参加会议,以进一步制定适合不同国情的一致方法。该工具包的第一个版本将于 2021 年开发,并于 2021 年第四季度发布。一个星球网络的可持续粮食系统计划有一项核心举措,重点关注可持续健康饮食,由粮农组织和环境署联合牵头,并得到其他机构的支持。核心倡议一直在开展可持续健康饮食指标方面的工作,以及在可持续粮食系统背景下支持可持续饮食的宣传活动。
    • 由 GALLUP 和哈佛与 GAIN 合作实施的全球饮食质量项目正在进行中,得到了 EU DEVCO/GIZ、Rockerfeller、美国国际开发署和 SDC 的支持。
    • 为了帮助会员国遏制和扭转超重和肥胖的高发率,委员会于 2020 年启动了 BestReMaP 联合行动,以实施营养领域的最佳做法。由参与国开展的联合行动下的工作包括多项举措,重点是食品重新配方、减少对儿童的高脂肪、高盐和高糖食品的积极营销以及公共机构食品的公共采购。其关键工作包之一的主要目标是通过开发采购工具(例如市场上可用的精选健康食品目录)和创建采购,为提高欧盟幼儿园和学校采购的食品质量做出贡献。模板,这将帮助机构起草更好的餐饮合同。 
  • 智利社会发展和家庭部已经实施了多项相关举措,其中包括: 1) Elige Vivir Sano 的健康环境基金 (Fondo Promoción de Entornos Saludables),帮助实施和维护农贸市场和健康售货亭。 2) Elige Vivir Sano 的 Healthy Delivery (Pedidos Sanos),这是一款手机应用程序,允许消费者从当地市场订购水果和蔬菜,并免费送货。  
  • 一些国家正在采取措施发展包装营养标签的解释性前沿,例如 Nutriscore,这已证明其在引导消费者选择更健康的食品方面的有效性,并鼓励食品行业重新配制其产品。 此外,长期使用包装正面营养标签(例如 Keyhole)的国家的经验表明,包装正面营养标签在不同层次的保健和教育饮食建议方面也具有有益效果,从而不仅作为食品标签。
  • 此外,法国、澳大利亚和智利在 2016-2025 年联合国营养行动十年的保护伞下于 2019 年启动了全球营养标签行动网络。

加入工作组

AT-2

Solution Cluster 2.1.2

Healthy Food Environments

In 2030, food environments make healthy and sustainable dietary patterns ‘normal’ and effortless

Food environments are the interface between consumers and the rest of the food system. They strongly influence what people eat. In ‘healthy food environments’ the foods that enable healthy and sustainable dietary patterns are the easiest and normal choices. They are a precondition for sustainable food systems and are critical for societies to address health, environmental and social challenges. This solution cluster will support constituencies, in line with the CFS Voluntary Guidelines on Food Systems and Nutrition[1]http://www.fao.org/fileadmin/templates/cfs/Docs2021/Documents/CFS_VGs_Food_Systems_and_Nutrition_Strategy_EN.pdf to create healthy food environments by

  • Having a coalition of countries that develop or revise Food-Based Dietary Guidelines (FBDGs) to incorporate sustainability, turning them into Dietary Guidelines for People and Planet (DGPPs), a tool to provide context-specific and agreed understanding of healthy and sustainable dietary patterns. Coalition partners use DGPPs as the basis for coherent policy packages and actions to enable the creation of healthy food environments.
  • Creating a movement of food environment actors setting high ambition and targets with the ultimate objective to make foods for healthy and sustainable dietary patterns the easiest and normal choice.
  • Contributing to a coalition engaging in a global conversation to advance the methodological and conceptual basis needed to support and strengthen worldwide capacities towards defining context-specific healthy and sustainable dietary patterns and creating healthy food environments.

About this Solution Cluster

Food environments are “the physical, economic, political and sociocultural context in which consumers engage with the food system to make their decisions about acquiring, preparing and consuming food”[2]HLPE, 2017.  http://www.fao.org/3/i7846e/I7846E.pdf

Currently, many food environments make it easier to prefer and purchase nutrient-poor, energy-dense foods rather than foods that fit better in healthy and sustainable dietary patterns. Today, every fourth person has an income insufficient for acquiring a healthy diet.[3]Hirvonen, K. et al. 2020..https://doi.org/10.1016/S2214-109X(19)30447- 4; SOFI 2020 http://www.fao.org/publications/sofi/2020/en/ Current food systems have other shortcomings such as issues of animal welfare, equity, justice and unfairness that are exacerbated by how food environments are shaped today. Food deserts and swamps, as well as the demand for convenience drive increasing consumption of unhealthy and/or unsustainable diets. Certain vulnerable populations, including people from low socio-economic backgrounds, children, elderly, or women and girls also disproportionately suffer from food insecurity and inadequate nutrition. Even where sustainable and healthy options are accessible and affordable, marketing, advertising and promotion favor options that are difficult to be integrated into the daily lives of people. Thus, changing dietary patterns can not be considered as sole responsibility of consumers. Consumer behaviour is influenced by a myriad of complex and inter-linked societal, environmental, and individual factors, many of which drive behaviour automatically, even unconsciously. Food for healthy and sustainable dietary patterns for all can only be achieved in healthy food environments, enabled by coherent policies at all scales of governance, transparency and accountability for consumers who are active agents of change.

This solution cluster will promote ‘healthy food environments’ that make healthy and sustainable consumption patterns ‘normal’ and effortless. Being the crucial interface between food producers and consumers, healthy food environments have significant leverage. They can help consumers adopt behaviours that are good for them. Healthy food environments also give important signals upstream – to food business operators, food processors, primary producers, research and innovation to work towards ever more affordable products supporting healthy and sustainable dietary patterns. The solutions will work because 

  • Dietary guidelines for People and Planet will be tailored to national and sub-national contexts but based on scientific evidence
  • Coherent, consistent and inclusive policies will work together creating conditions for healthy food environments
  • Transparency will ensure a level playing field for businesses, and trust and certainty for people
  1. Develop and implement national Dietary Guidelines for People and Planet as the backbone for coherent food-system policy to create healthy food environments, taking into account the different realities worldwide.
  2. DGPPs will provide evidence-based recommendations for what constitutes a healthy and sustainable diet in a national context and local realities1. They can become core to a suite of integrated policies to guide food system transformation towards healthy, sustainable and equitable food environments. DGPPs can guide not only nutrition and education programmes or communication campaigns, but go beyond to inform policies, programmes and stakeholder actions throughout food systems such as:
    • Institutional or public procurement, rules for green investment, or social protection initiatives
    • Trade agreements and fiscal measures such as government subsidies and taxes
    • Investment into research and innovation, urban planning or private sector actions.
    Such demand interventions are most effective if implemented through the right package of policies, covering policies from production to consumption of food, with broad consensus and participation by the public ensuring that nobody falls through the net and all can benefit.
  3. Food environment actors make healthy and sustainable diets the easiest and most available, accessible, affordable and desirable option
  4. The right for food extends to the right food supporting healthy and sustainable dietary patterns. When people get food e.g. in markets, food stalls, restaurants or canteens, the information and foods they see first and the foods they can afford are consistent with health and sustainability recommendations such as DGPPs, no matter what income they or their country have. Solutions include but are not limited to:
    • Local food markets, informal vendors, supermarkets, cantines, online or other vendors – all fulfill high health and sustainability criteria (environmental, social and economic), everywhere, from long or short supply chains.
    • Food business associations and operators have developed Codes of conduct on responsible food business and marketing practices and made publicly available, operating under the principle of ‘no harm.
    • Healthy food environments, supported by smart regulations, offer a variety of sustainably sourced foods that enable adequate nutrition, avoiding adverse health effects.
  5. Global conversation on healthy food environments to provide clarity, capacity and shift norms
  6. There is currently no comprehensive or standard framework for assessing food environments for both health and sustainability at the national level. There is no method on how to account for food impacts in other parts of the world, or how to manage trade-offs. The solutions in this cluster will:
    • Fostering a global dialogue to provide guidance to countries to define healthy and sustainable dietary patterns and support shifting of social norms including a greater appreciation for sustainability, good standards of animal welfare, as well as valuing food as a source of life-sustaining nutrients20,19 . Demand is generated21 for food conducive to healthy and sustainable dietary patterns.
    • Form a coalition of countries to create a mechanism providing evidence for decision makers, fostering accountability, empowering civil society to drive change.
    • Facilitate the creation of national food system hubs and provision of advice and guidelines to underpin policy options, funds to pilot innovative approaches, and information to build support for change in different country contexts

Our theory of change is that small-scale farming and localised traditional and indigenous peoples’ food systems can advance equitable livelihoods, nutritional wellbeing, ecosystem health and resilience to climate change. Applying this knowledge and using it can contribute to the design and management of sustainable food systems worldwide. Our aim is to connect traditional knowledge holders with contemporary scientific knowledge as equal partners through multicultural learning and exchange processes for the development of equitable livelihoods. The theory of change is based on centuries of knowledge and learning from indigenous peoples and the evidence that their food systems are sustainable, equitable, productive, and resilient at the same time. It then builds in the imperative of respecting and upholding the right to food and human rights and draws on the best that traditional and contemporary knowledge has to offer in ensuring dignified livelihoods and food security for all.

This cluster embraces a “leave no-one behind” approach and will contribute, specifically, to achieving SDGs 1, 2, 5, 10, 12 and 13 while its coalition building approach addresses SDG 17. The solution cluster is linked to ongoing global policy agendas led by the CFS, Conventional on Biological Diversity (CBD), United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), and the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD) and considers recommendations from the White/Wiphala Paper on Indigenous Peoples’ Food Systems.

Examples of ongoing efforts

    • “The Committee on World Food Security (CFS) has undertaken a policy process to produce Voluntary Guidelines on Food Systems and Nutrition (VGFSyN). The preparation of the VGFSyN is informed by the High Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition’s (HLPE)17 Report on Nutrition and Food Systems, additional literature as well as an inclusive consultation process that took place between May and November 2019 which involved the participation of CFS stakeholders. The VGFSyN are expected to …. promote policy coherence, coordination and convergence across different domains. They provide science and evidence-based guidance to help countries and other relevant stakeholders operationalize ICN2’s Framework for Action recommendations in support of the progressive realization of the right to adequate food in the context of national food security, and other relevant rights, as applicable, including the right of everyone of the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of physical and mental health, and to achieve the 2030 Agenda on Sustainable Development”.
    • FAO is revising the methodology to develop, revise and implement Food-based dietary guidelines to integrate a food systems approach and include sustainability considerations. FAO is supporting several countries in developing or revising their FBDGs with a broader perspective..
    • WHO list of healthy food environment related guidance documents and monitoring initiatives
    • INFORMAS (International Network for Food and Obesity / Non-communicable Diseases (NCDs) Research, Monitoring and Action Support) is a global network of public-interest organisations and researchers that aims to monitor, benchmark and support public and private sector actions to increase healthy food environments and reduce obesity and NCDs and their related inequalities.
    • The NOURISHING and MOVING databases, maintained by the World Cancer Research Fund (WCRF) International, collect policy actions from around the world which are implemented on a national level, and which are currently in effect. All policy actions listed on the database have been verified by an in-country government expert. In select cases local policies have also been included as best practice examples. To source the policy actions, a specific search criteria and verification process is used.
      See https://policydatabase.wcrf.org/level_one?page=nourishing-level-one 
    • EU food business associations and operators have developed a voluntary Code of conduct on responsible food business and marketing practices. The Code defines a common aspirational path towards sustainable food systems addressing environmental, social, and economic sustainability, and covering food consumption patterns, internal processes and value chain/primary producers. The code invites businesses of all sizes active in production, trade, processing, promotion, distribution and serving of food, as well as any other food system stakeholders, to align with the common agenda of the code and to contribute with tangible actions to help achieve the objectives set out therein. Furthermore, individual businesses that want to show leadership and demonstrate front-runner ambitions to contribute to the aspirational objectives and targets are invited to make ambitious complementary commitments on sustainability topics that are relevant for them. 
    • Established in 2017, EIT Food is investing in innovative solutions that put consumers at the center of the transformation and increase the level of trust within the food system. To this end, EIT Food established an online platform called “FoodUnfolded®” to convey objective, scientific, easy to understand and relevant information about food to citizens. Learning more about our food and its origins. By bringing facts and stories to life, FoodUnfolded helps citizens navigate everyday food decisions through knowledge. Furthermore, EIT Food also runs a multi-country annual survey with more than 20,000 consumers to track the level of trust within the food system (TrustTracker). Findings of the TrustTracker is used in informing policy as well as investment and innovation decisions. In July 2021, EIT Food will be launching its free-access education module for medical professionals to increase their knowledge about the health and sustainability aspects of food consumption, empowering medical doctors as change agents in shift towards healthy and sustainable food.
    • FAO has launched a project to develop a best-practice Life Cycle Assessment approach to more accurately assess and compare the environmental and nutritional impacts of food items common to diets across the world. Uptake of the tool can assist in the design and promotion of robust policies that encourage healthy diets from sustainable food systems and enabling people to make better-informed food choices.
    • The Federation of European Nutrition Societies started a process establishing working groups  and concluded that environmental aspects should be included in the future conceptual framework for FBDG. Several more countries are now in the process to develop or review their dietary guidelines integrating sustainability including The Nordics (8 countries), Mexico and Costa Rica. 
    • Toolkits and approaches for consistent accountability mechanisms for the private sector are already being developed through a collaborative initiative from the Food Foundation and World Benchmarking Alliance. This includes metrics and methodologies covering nutritional, environmental and social inclusion topics in line with the existing benchmarks each organisation has developed at a global level (World Benchmarking Alliance) and national level (Food Foundation) and other specific benchmarks such as Access To Nutrition Initiative. Independent dialogue processes have already begun with representatives from lower-, middle-, and high-income countries keen to participate in sessions to further develop a consistent methodology adaptable to different national contexts.  The first version of this toolkit is due to be developed during 2021 and released in Q4 2021. The One Planet Network’s Sustainable Food Systems Programme has a core initiative that focuses on sustainable healthy diets, jointly led by FAO and UNEP and supported by others. The core initiative has been doing work on indicators of sustainable healthy diets, as well as communication activities in support of sustainable diets in the context of sustainable food systems.
    • Global diet quality project implemented by GALLUP and Harvard in collaboration with GAIN is ongoing, supported by EU DEVCO/ GIZ, Rockerfeller, USAID and SDC.
    • In order to help Members States halt and reverse the high prevalence of overweight and obesity, the Commission launched in 2020 the BestReMaP joint action on implementation of best practices in the area of nutrition. The work under the joint action, which is carried out by participating countries, includes several initiatives focusing on food reformulation, reducing aggressive marketing to children of foods high in fat, salt and sugar and public procurement of food in public institutions. The main objective of one of its key work packages is to contribute to the higher quality of foods procured by kindergartens and schools in the EU through the development of procurement tools such as a catalogue of selected healthy food products available on the market and by creating procurement templates, which will help institutions draft better catering contracts. 
  • Chile has a number of relevant initiatives from the Ministry of Social Development and Family that are already underway, including: 1) Elige Vivir Sano’s Healthy Environments Fund (Fondo Promoción de Entornos Saludables) which helps implement and maintain farmers’ markets and healthy kiosks. 2) Elige Vivir Sano’s Healthy Deliveries (Pedidos Sanos), a mobile phone app which allows consumers to order fruits and vegetables from local markets with free delivery.  
  • Several countries are taking steps towards the development of interpretative front of pack nutrition labelling such as the Nutriscore, that has demonstrated its effectiveness to guide consumers towards healthier food choices, and encourage food industry to reformulate their products. In addition, experiences from countries with long term use of front of pack nutrition labelling, such as the Keyhole, show that front of pack nutrition labelling has beneficial effects also when it comes to dietary advice in health care and in education on different levels, thereby not only as food labelling.
  • In addtion there is the Global Action Network on Nutrition Labelling, launched by France, Australia and Chile in 2019, under the umbrella of the United Nation Decade of Action on Nutrition 2016-2025.

Join Working Group