AT-3

解决方案集群 3.3.1

草原和大草原

通过广泛的以牲畜为基础的粮食系统恢复草原、灌木丛和热带草原

我们的想法是通过可持续的、广泛的以牲畜为基础的食物系统来恢复和振兴草原、灌木丛和热带草原。随着有关草原、灌木地和稀树草原的数据的改进,将有可能使 更明智的决定 关于它们,包括投资,特别是恢复投资机会。  复制和推广良好实践举措 将有可能通过良好做法的开发和记录。 全球战略和框架将更加关注草原、灌木丛和热带稀树草原,例如气候议程中的 CBD 目标、土地退化中立 (LDN) 目标和国家自主贡献 (NDC)。将宣布并成功实施国际牧场和牧民年。 私人投资者将更愿意投资于可持续草原、灌木丛和热带草原的恢复和管理s 与对环境和自然有积极贡献的畜牧生产相结合,一旦对这些投资的潜力和此类投资的有利环境有了更好的了解。 

关于此解决方案集群

草原、灌木林和热带稀树草原为广泛的以牲畜为基础的粮食系统提供了资源,包括为全球数十亿人提供食物的畜牧业。然而,它们是被忽视的生态系统,与森林、湿地和海洋等其他系统相比,它们受到的关注(包括政策支持和投资)要少得多。因此,许多草原、灌木丛和稀树草原已经退化,随着即将发生的气候变化,这些地区中的很大一部分将经历重要的气候驱动的生态系统临界点,这将进一步挑战它们。通过多方利益相关者的合作,该解决方案集群寻求对草原、灌木丛和热带稀树草原的适当关注,以扭转和缓解这些趋势,恢复和恢复这些土地。如果管理得当,牲畜可以在恢复和振兴方面发挥重要作用,同时还生产食品和其他产品。尽管存在这方面的好例子,但通常存在重大的治理挑战以及需要改进证据基础,以通过可持续的广泛的以畜牧为基础的粮食系统促进对更大规模恢复的更多投资。

所有会员国都面临着减少碳足迹和生物多样性丧失的压力,包括广泛的畜牧系统。如何做到这一点,同时维持依赖这些系统的数百万人的生计,同时继续从这些生产力不同的边缘土地生产粮食和产品,对所有人来说都是一个挑战。这种恢复草原、灌木丛和热带稀树草原的解决方案,包括它们的碳储存和封存能力,将有助于减少此类碳足迹,同时还可以提高粮食安全、环境和生物多样性效益。坚信所有会员国都会支持这一点。例如,蒙古政府带头呼吁国际牧场和牧民年(包括埃塞俄比亚、澳大利亚、阿富汗、布基纳法索、芬兰、约旦、吉尔吉斯斯坦、塔吉克斯坦政府的书面支持),成员国参加最近举行的讨论国际自然保护联盟和世界自然基金会组织的《荒漠化公约》目标,以及领导联合国环境署关于“防治荒漠化和土地退化并确保牧场可持续管理”的决议(UNEP/EA2/L24)的苏丹、纳米比亚和埃塞俄比亚政府。 

此外,这种改变游戏规则的解决方案是有道理的:当运行良好且高效时,基于畜牧业的广泛系统具有成本效益、文化适宜性、羊毛、羊绒和皮革等非食品产品的增值潜力,以及旅游业提供替代收入,同时也更好地促进生物多样性、生态系统服务的支付、自然和健康的环境。由于这种投资于粗放式畜牧生产而不是集约型畜牧生产对人、畜牧业和环境来说是双赢的。为实现包括计划放牧在内的生态成果而妥善管理的牲畜,可以通过刺激草原植物在土壤中固碳,从而在减缓气候变化方面发挥重要作用,[1]正如 Soil4Climate 的放牧研究纲要中所详述的“希望在我们脚下,”已发现适当管理的放牧可以将土壤中的碳固定在以下水平:1.2 tC/ac/yr (蒂格 2016), 1.5 tC/ac/yr (斯坦利 2018) 和 0.93 tC/ac/yr (朗特里 2020)。 Teague (2016) 建议北美 AMP 放牧的下降潜力为 0.79 GtC/年。 以及增加氮库存,[2]莫西尔等人 2021 土壤湿度和良好的垫料覆盖,[3]Dowhower, SL 2020 和饲料生物量。[4]Hillenbrand, M., 2019

将通过以下解决方案采取行动:

  • 在现有网络的基础上加强草原、灌木林和热带草原的多方利益相关者平台,以提高对其价值的认识,并倡导保护、可持续利用和恢复,包括通过以牲畜为基础的粮食系统。
  • 开发关于草地、灌木丛和热带稀树草原的全球数据平台,包括整合现有的全球数据集并收集新数据以改进这些数据并创建新数据。将包括监测设施,包括土地变化遥感和数据众包。牧场的恢复潜力也将被确定。
  • 通过广泛的有益于自然的畜牧生产/粮食系统,制定和记录可持续管理和恢复草原、灌木林和热带草原的良好做法。 
  • 在全球、国家和地方层面提高对粗放式畜牧生产/粮食系统的价值及其在保护和恢复草原、灌木丛和热带稀树草原方面的作用(实际和潜在)的认识。将草原、灌木丛和热带草原纳入新的 CBD 目标,加强《荒漠化公约》下的 LDN 目标,并纳入《巴黎协定》下的国家自主贡献,并将这些生态系统纳入联合国生态系统恢复十年和宣言的重点国际牧场和牧民年。
  • 通过国家和全球对话,改善草原、灌木丛和热带草原恢复的投资和创业机会,包括公共、商业和私人融资以及改善有利环境,以确保可持续性。 
  • 提高全世界消费者对源自粗放畜牧业和草原、灌木林和热带稀树草原可持续管理的畜产品和价值链的环境价值的认识。
  • 已经在进行哪些努力?

此外,在全球范围内,多个利益相关者对这一解决方案表示大力支持,对国际牧场和牧民年(有 50 多个国际和当地组织的支持)和联合国生态系统恢复十年提供了全球支持,其中草地、灌木地和大草原被确定为需要特别和紧急关注的六个生态系统之一。这些生态系统也将在即将举行的里约公约缔约方会议上受到关注。此外,该解决方案集群将有助于加强 WWF 牵头的多利益相关方全球草原和大草原平台,并有助于开发全球牧场数据平台和最近推出的全球牧场地图集和牧民地图集 http://www.pastoralpeoples.org/

 

加入工作组

AT-3

Solution Cluster 3.3.1

Grasslands and savannahs

Restoration of grasslands, shrublands and savannahs through extensive livestock-based food systems

Our idea is to restore and revitalise grasslands, shrublands and savannahs through sustainable extensive livestock-based food systems. With improved data on grasslands, shrublands and savannahs it will be possible to make more informed decisions about them including investments and particularly restoration investment opportunities.  Replication and upscaling of good practice initiatives will be possible through the development and documentation of good practices. Grasslands, shrublands and savannahs will be given greater attention in global strategies and frameworks, such as CBD targets, Land Degradation Neutrality (LDN) Targets and national determined contributions (NDC) in the Climate agendas.    An International Year of Rangelands and Pastoralists will be declared and successfully implemented. Private investors will be more willing to invest in the restoration and management of sustainable grasslands, shrublands and savannahs combined with livestock production that contributes positively to the environment and nature, once understanding of the potential of these investments and the enabling environment for such investments has been improved. 

About this Solution Cluster

Grasslands, shrublands and savannahs provide the resources for extensive livestock-based food systems including pastoralism that feed billions of people around the world. However, they are neglected ecosystems that have received significantly less attention including policy support and investment than other systems such as forests, wetlands and marine. As a result, many grasslands, shrublands and savannahs have degraded, and with impending climate change a significant amount of these areas are going to experience important climate-driven ecosystem tipping points that will further challenge them. Through a multi-stakeholder collaboration, this solution cluster seeks to bring the right attention to grasslands, shrublands and savannahs that is needed to reverse and mitigate these trends, restoring and reviving these lands. Livestock, when well-managed, can play an important role in this restoration and revitalisation, whilst also producing food and other products. Though good examples of this exist, there are often significant governance challenges as well as a need to improve the evidence base to foster greater investment in larger-scale restoration through sustainable extensive livestock-based food systems.

All Member States are under pressure to reduce their carbon footprint and biodiversity loss including extensive livestock-based systems. How to do this whilst also maintaining the millions of livelihoods that rely on these systems, whilst also continuing to produce food and products from these marginal lands, with variable productivity areas, is a challenge for all.  This solution of restoring grasslands, shrublands and savannahs including their carbon storage and sequestering capacity will help to reduce such carbon footprints whilst also increasing food security, environmental and biodiversity benefits. It is strongly believed that all Member States will support this. Examples are the Government of Mongolia leading the call for the International Year of Rangelands and Pastoralists (including written support from governments of Ethiopia,  Australia, Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Finland, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan), the members states attending a recently held discussion on UNCCD targets organised IUCN and WWF, and the Governments of Sudan, Namibia and Ethiopia who lead the UNEA Resolution on “Combating desertification and land degradation and ensuring the sustainable management of  rangelands” (UNEP/EA2/L24). 

Further, this game-changing solution makes sense: when functioning well and efficiently extensive livestock-based systems are cost-effective, culturally appropriate, have value-added potential for non-food products such as wool,  cashmere, and leather, and tourism providing alternative incomes whilst also better contributing to biodiversity, payments for ecosystem services, nature and a healthy environment. As such investments in extensive livestock production rather than intensive is a win-win-win for people, livestock and the environment. Livestock, when managed properly for ecological outcomes including planned grazing, can play a vital role in mitigating climate change by stimulating grassland plants to sequester carbon in soil,[1]As detailed in Soil4Climate’s grazing research compendium “Hope Below Our Feet,” properly-managed grazing has been found to sequester carbon in soil at the following levels: 1.2 tC/ac/yr (Teague 2016), 1.5 tC/ac/yr (Stanley 2018) and 0.93 tC/ac/yr (Rowntree 2020). Teague (2016) suggests the drawdown potential for AMP grazing in North America is 0.79 GtC/yr. as well as increase nitrogen stocks,[2]Mosier et al 2021 soil moisture, and fine litter cover,[3]Dowhower, S. L. 2020 and forage biomass.[4]Hillenbrand, M., 2019

Action will be delivered through the following solutions:

  • Strengthening a multi-stakeholder platform on grasslands, shrublands and savannahs building on existing networks to raise awareness on their value, and advocate for their protection, sustainable use and restoration including through livestock-based food systems.
  • The development of a global data platform on grasslands, shrublands and savannahs including consolidation of global data sets already existing and the collection of new data to improve these and create new ones. Facilities for monitoring including remote sensing of land changes and crowd-sourcing of data will be included. Restoration potentials of rangelands will also be identified.
  • Development and documentation of good practices in sustainable management and the restoration of grasslands, shrublands and savannahs through extensive nature-positive livestock production/food systems. 
  • Awareness raising at global, national and local levels of the value of extensive livestock production/food systems and their role (actual and potential) in protecting and restoring grasslands, shrublands and savannahs.  Including  grasslands, shrublands and savannahs in the new CBD targets, strengthen in the LDN targets under UNCCD and  integrate in the national determined contribution under the Paris Agreements as well as bringing these ecosystems in the focus of the UN Decade on Ecosystem Restoration,   and the declaration of an International Year of Rangelands and Pastoralists.
  • Improving investments and entrepreneurial opportunities for restoration of grasslands, shrublands and savannahs including public, commercial and private finance and improvements in the enabling environment through national and global dialogues to ensure sustainability. 
  • Increasing awareness of consumers worldwide about the  environmental value of livestock products and value chains originating from extensive livestock farming and the sustainable management of grasslands, shrublands and savannahs.
  • What efforts are already underway?

Further there is significant support for this solution globally amongst multiple stakeholders expressed in the global support given to the International Year of Rangelands and Pastoralists (with over 50 international and local organisations supporting) and the UN Decade of Ecosystem Restoration in which Grasslands, Shrublands and Savannahs have been identified as one of the six ecosystems requiring specific and urgent attention. These ecosystems will also be receiving attention in the upcoming Rio Convention COPs. Further this solution cluster will serve to strengthen the WWF-led multi-stakeholder global Platform on Grasslands and Savannahs, as well as contribute to developing the global Rangelands Data Platform and the recently launched global Rangelands Atlas and the Atlas on Pastoral Peoples http://www.pastoralpeoples.org/

 

Join Working Group