AT-4

解决方案集群 4.1.3

包容性和可持续粮食系统的性别变革方法

解决方案集群:包容性和可持续粮食系统的性别变革方法,推动将性别变革方法 (GTA) 系统整合到粮食系统计划和政策中。 GTA 挑战粮食系统中的所有参与者,以改变延续和加剧不平等的权力动态、规范和结构。当应用于粮食系统时,整个粮食系统有很大的潜力在规模上发生积极变化,使其公正、公平和变革。

关于此解决方案集群

这组解决方案解决的问题是粮食系统中普遍存在的性别不平等。尽管妇女在确保各级粮食安全和营养方面承担并被赋予的角色和责任通常是无偿的,但她们在获取和控制生产资源和服务以及影响系统和政策方面面临系统性劣势。有压倒性的证据表明,基于性别的歧视以及随之而来的对妇女人权的侵犯,是造成贫困以及粮食和营养不安全的主要原因。[1]粮农组织,2019 年, 世界粮食安全和营养状况. 有害的社会和性别规范和做法塑造了有偿和无偿工作的性别分布;限制妇女获得和控制资产、生产资源和市场;并削弱女性的领导潜力。[2]粮安委,2017 年,粮食安全和营养背景下的妇女赋权论坛 它们还助长了剥削和暴力行为。通过正式和非正式机构和法律剥夺权利的做法在粮食系统内外也很普遍。在获得资源、服务和自由(例如土地、金融、教育、推广、就业、流动性、投入、社会保护、领导力等)方面,存在广泛和系统的制度和立法歧视和偏见。 COVID-19 加剧了这种有害的性别规范和剥夺妇女权利的双重问题,影响着全球妇女。此外,粮食系统中的妇女不是一个同质群体,可能面临多种复合形式的歧视,需要进行交叉分析和政策响应。这组解决方案势在必行,不仅因为女性面临挑战,还因为她们从生产和消费的角度在粮食系统中发挥的作用和关键作用。妇女拥有广泛的知识,随着关系和结构的变化,她们的能力可以为实现所有可持续发展目标做出贡献。有大量社会例子表明,母权制规范对粮食系统和营养有直接和积极的影响,当代政策可以借鉴。妇女也有权利,尊重这些特定权利是粮食系统平等的必要条件。

该集群将起作用,因为提议的解决方案已被证明是成功的。有大量令人信服的证据表明,全球贸易协定有助于改善粮食安全、营养、公平和其他成果,包括减少暴力。影响,例如收入增加以及获得资产和服务的机会;改善生态系统和人类健康、福祉和教育;加快减贫和 GDP 增长是与缩小性别差距和在粮食系统中实施 GTA 相关的其他社会、环境和经济利益。有大量证据表明,解决土地使用权问题的 GTA 会导致收入增长和妇女的更大议价能力、更好的儿童营养和女孩更高的教育程度。

GTA 会考虑每个环境的特殊性,并将性别解释为相关的。这些方法承认女性和男性经历不同程度的脆弱性和歧视,并解决支持和加强这种基于性别的不平等的关系和结构。 GTA 旨在建立包容性和可持续的粮食系统,让所有参与者无论性别如何都可以参与其中并从中受益。这意味着解决方案不能简单地针对女性而忽视支撑性别不平等的更复杂和亲密的关系、社会规范和社会政治动态。这组解决方案将通过整合解决社会关系、规范和结构构成的障碍的方法来发挥作用。在国家的领导下,多方利益相关者平台将联合起来设计、资助和实施国家计划,以将 GTA 纳入粮食系统结构、政策和计划。这些计划将包括围绕五个主要行动领域的行动,这些行动应该同时进行,并且是我们集群收到的解决方案的所在地。

  1. 妇女的能动性、声音和愿望
    • 加强妇女的知识和声音,以倡导可获得、健康和可持续生产的食物
    • 增加妇女在社区、次国家和国家法律、政策和商业发展过程和机构中担任决策角色的机会
    • 通过各级妇女的参与,确保妇女的愿望成为粮食系统政策和计划的一部分
  2. 访问和控制资源
    • 根据人权和 CFS VGGT 等文书,确保妇女获得和控制自然和生产资源,如土地、水和森林。
    • 创建一个由 50 多个全球和国家金融机构组成的联盟,以实施性别变革金融机制,以设计和提供金融产品并支持粮食系统中女性主导的企业,目标是到 2030 年缩小金融包容性方面的性别差距。
  3. 获得技术、服务、市场和体面工作,以及对收入和福利的控制
    • 通过两用地块、菜园和营养教育加强当地营养食品的生产,确保妇女获得优质食品。
    • 开发包含性别变革方法和妇女决策重要性的推广系统,在各级(决策和实施)拥有 50% 名妇女,并响应妇女的需求和优先事项。
    • 开发和加强包容女性的市场,使她们能够在整个价值链中发挥关键作用,并开发满足女性需求的基础设施。
  4. 社会和性别规范、习俗和价值观
    • 在食品系统中制定政策和计划,挑战并消除有害的性别和社会规范以及限制妇女参与健康和多样化食品生产和消费的文化习俗。
    • 让男人、男孩、宗教和传统领袖参与扭转有害的社会和性别规范,承担积极的男性气质,并承担照顾负担的角色和家庭责任
    • 预防和消除粮食系统中所有形式的基于性别的暴力和剥削。
  5. 政策和治理结构
    • 采用要求 50% 女性在地方、次国家和国家粮食系统流程和机构中担任领导角色的政策。
    • 在分配与粮食安全和营养相关的国家和地方预算时采用促进性别平等的原则。
    • 包括衡量在粮食系统中实现性别平等和增强妇女权能的进展的指标和目标,并制定关于项目级妇女在农业中增强权能指数的能力加强计划。

一个解决塑造妇女生活的机构、结构和关系的框架是关键。通过建立能动性(信心、自尊、知识、技能和能力)、改变关系(人们通过亲密关系、社交网络、团体成员、激进主义和市场谈判来生活的权力关系)和转变结构(歧视性社会和性别规范、习俗、价值观和排斥做法、法律、政策、程序和服务),可以在实现性别平等方面取得进展。我们的变革理论要求超越将性别视为女性和男性之间的问题,而是将性别视为关系性的,因此是动态的和可以改变的东西。性别关系和支撑它们的结构可以根据以下方面的变化进行调整, 除其他外, 社会规范、政策背景、劳动力市场信号、家庭间和家庭内部动态以及家庭和社区层面的需求。至关重要的是,虽然这组解决方案涉及并提出了多个维度和方法,但它以食物权为基础——保护所有人过上有尊严的生活、免于饥饿、粮食不安全和营养不良的权利。证据表明,当妇女通过教育、经济机会、诉诸司法和政治参与获得赋权时,她们就能够更好地主张食物权。

 

 
 

 

 

加入工作组

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.1.3

Gender Transformative Approaches for Inclusive and Sustainable Food Systems

This Solution Cluster: Gender Transformative Approaches for Inclusive and Sustainable Food Systems, drives the systematic integration of gender-transformative approaches (GTAs) in food systems programmes and policies. GTAs challenge all actors in food systems to transform power dynamics, norms, and structures that perpetuate and reinforce inequality. When applied to food systems, there is great potential for positive change at scale across the whole food system, making it just, equitable, and transformative.

About this Solution Cluster

The problem this cluster of solutions addresses is pervasive gender inequality in food systems. Despite the roles and responsibilities that women assume and are ascribed, often unpaid, in ensuring food security and nutrition at all levels, they face systemic disadvantage in accessing and controlling productive resources and services, and in influencing systems and policies. There is overwhelming evidence that gender-based discrimination, and the ensuing violation of women’s human rights, is a major cause of poverty and food and nutrition insecurity.[1]FAO, 2019, The State of Food Security and Nutrition in the World. Harmful social and gender norms and practices shape the gendered distribution of paid and unpaid work; limit women’s access to and control of assets, productive resources, and markets; and undermine women’s leadership potential.[2]CFS, 2017, Forum on Women’s Empowerment in the context of Food Security and Nutrition They also facilitate exploitation and violence. The denial of rights, through formal and informal institutions and laws, is also prevalent across food systems and beyond. There is widespread and systematic institutional and legislative discrimination and bias against women in access to resources, services, and freedoms – such as – land, finance, education, extension, employment, mobility, inputs, social protection, leadership, and more. This dual problem of harmful gender norms and the denial of women’s rights, which has been exacerbated by COVID-19, affects women across the globe. Further, women in food systems are not a homogenous group and can face multiple and compounding forms of discrimination, requiring an intersectional analysis and policy response. This cluster of solutions is imperative not only because of the challenges women face, but also because of the agency and key roles that they play in food systems from both production and consumption perspectives. Women have extensive knowledge and, with changes in relations and structures, their capacities can contribute to the attainment of all SDGs. There are extensive examples of societies where matriarchal norms have direct and positive influence on food systems and nutrition and which contemporary policy can draw from. Women also have rights and respecting these specific rights is an imperative for equality in food systems.

This cluster will work because the proposed solutions have already proven successful. There is extensive and compelling evidence that GTAs contribute to improved food security, nutrition, equity, and other outcomes, including the reduction of violence. Impacts such as increases in incomes and access to assets and services; improvements in ecosystem and human health, wellbeing, and education; and accelerated poverty alleviation and GDP growth are other social, environmental, and economic benefits associated with closing the gender gap and implementing GTAs in food systems. There is extensive evidence that GTAs addressing land tenure, result in income growth and greater bargaining power for women, better child nutrition and higher educational attainment for girls.

GTAs consider the specificities of each context and interpret gender as relational. These approaches recognise that women and men experience different levels of vulnerability and discrimination and address the relations and structures that support and reinforce such gender-based inequality. GTAs aim at establishing inclusive and sustainable food systems, in which all actors can participate and benefit regardless of their gender. This implies that solutions cannot simply target women and ignore more complex and intimate relations, social norms, and socio-political dynamics that underpin gender inequality. This cluster of solutions will work by integrating approaches that tackle barriers that social relations, norms, and structures pose. Led by countries, multi-stakeholder platforms will unite to design, finance, and implement national plans to integrate GTAs in food systems structures, policies, and programmes. These plans will include actions aligned around five key main areas of action which should happen in tandem and, which are home to the solutions our cluster has received.

  1. Women’s agency, voice, and aspirations
    • Strengthen women’s knowledge and voice to advocate for accessible, healthy, and sustainably produced food
    • Increase women’s access to decision-making roles in community, sub-national and national legal, policy and business development processes and institutions
    • Ensure women’s aspirations are part of food systems policies and programmes through their engagement at all levels
  2. Access to and control over resources
    • Ensure women’s access to and control over natural and productive resources such as land, water, and forests according to human rights and instruments such as the CFS VGGT.
    • Create an alliance of 50+ global and national financial institutions to implement gender transformative finance mechanisms to design and deliver financial products and support women-led businesses in food systems with the aim of closing the gender gap in financial inclusion by 2030.
  3. Access to technologies, services, markets and decent work, and control over income and benefits
    • Ensure access and availability of quality food for women through enhancement of local production of nutritious foods through dual-purpose plots, kitchen gardens, nutrition education.
    • Develop extension systems that incorporate gender transformative approaches and the importance of women’s decision making, that have 50% women at all levels (decision making and implementation) and that are responsive to the needs and priorities of women.
    • Develop and enhance markets that are inclusive of women and enable them to play key roles across the value chains and develop infrastructure that meets the needs of women.
  4. Social and gender norms, customs, and values
    • Enact policies and programmes in food systems that challenge and eliminate harmful gender and social norms and cultural practices that limit women’s engagement in production and consumption of healthy and diverse foods.
    • Engage men, boys, and religious and traditional leaders in reversing harmful social and gender norms, assuming positive masculinities, and adopting care burden roles and household responsibilities
    • Prevent and eliminate all forms of gender-based violence and exploitation in food systems.
  5. Policies and governance structures
    • Adopt policies that require 50% women in leadership roles in local, sub-national and national food systems processes and institutions.
    • Adopt gender-responsive principles in the allocation of national and sub-national budgets related to food security and nutrition.
    • Include indicators and targets for measuring progress towards achievement of gender equality and the empowerment of women in food systems and establish a capacity strengthening programme of work on the project-level Women’s Empowerment in Agriculture Index.

A framework that addresses the agency, structures and relations that shape women’s lives is key. By building agency (confidence, self-esteem, knowledge, skills, and capabilities), changing relations (the power relations through which people live their lives through intimate relations, social networks, group membership, activism, and market negotiations), and transforming structures (discriminatory social and gender norms, customs, values and exclusionary practices, laws, policies, procedures, and services), progress towards gender equality can be made. Our theory of change requires a move beyond the treatment of gender as an issue between women and men, and instead to address gender as relational, and, therefore, dynamic and something that can be transformed. Gender relations and the structures that underpin them can adjust in response to changes in, inter alia, social norms, policy contexts, labour market signals, inter- and intra-household dynamics, and household- and community-level needs. Critically, while this cluster of solutions addresses and proposes multiple dimensions and approaches, it is underpinned by the right to food – which protects the right of all human beings to live in dignity, free from hunger, food insecurity and malnutrition. Evidence shows that when women are empowered through education, economic opportunities, access to justice and political participation, they are better able to claim this right to food.

 

 
 

 

 

Join Working Group