الفصل 3

نظرة عامة على ما قبل القمة

على مدار الثمانية عشر شهرًا الماضية ، جمعت قمة الأمم المتحدة للأنظمة الغذائية جميع الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة والقطاعات المستهدفة في جميع أنحاء العالم - بما في ذلك الآلاف من الشباب ومنتجي الأغذية والشعوب الأصلية والمجتمع المدني والباحثين والقطاع الخاص ومنظومة الأمم المتحدة - حول تغييرات ملموسة وإيجابية في النظم الغذائية في العالم.

وشمل ذلك استضافة ما قبل مؤتمر نظم الغذاء للأمم المتحدة، الذي عقد من 26 - 28ذ يوليو 2021، في منظمة الأغذية والزراعة في روما والحضور عبر الإنترنت. اجتمعت أكثر من 100 دولة على مدار ثلاثة أيام لمناقشة كيفية تغيير نظمها الغذائية الوطنية لدفع التقدم نحو أهداف التنمية المستدامة بحلول عام 2030.

تضمن البرنامج الرسمي السابق للقمة جلسات مخصصة لأربع "روافع للتغيير" الحاسمة ، بما في ذلك تمكين المرأة وحقوق الإنسان.

وتناول المتحدثون القضايا التي تنطوي على الحاجة إلى مزيد من الاعتراف بحقوق حيازة الأراضي ، وحقوق الشعوب الأصلية ، والروابط بين القطاعات الإنسانية والإنمائية ، والنظم الغذائية المراعية للمنظور الجنساني.

اشترى الحدث معًا الآلاف من الحاضرين. لعب جميعهم دورًا في المناقشات حول تنفيذ التغيير من أجل أنظمة غذائية أكثر استدامة وإنصافًا ومرونة ومغذية من خلال المشاركة التفاعلية والحوارات ، مع التركيز الوحيد على إيجاد أفكار جديدة وحلول قائمة على الأدلة.

بعد ثلاثة أيام من المناقشات المكثفة ، قام نائبة الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أمينة ج. محمد أدلت بالبيان التالي خلال ملاحظاتها الختامية:

"يجب أن يشمل أي شيء نقوم به دائمًا أولئك الذين هم في قلب أنظمتنا الغذائية: المزارعون أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة ، والشعوب الأصلية ، وخاصة النساء والشباب. مثلما يجمعنا الطعام معًا كثقافات ومجتمعات ، يمكن أن يجمعنا معًا حول الحلول. لكن ما هو واضح هو أنه لا يوجد حل واحد يناسب الجميع. تنوعنا هو مصدر قوتنا ويعكس مدى تعقيد عالمنا ".

على حد تعبير معالي ميريام المهيري ، وزيرة الدولة للأمن الغذائي والمائي ، الإمارات العربية المتحدة - "لقد أظهرت الأيام الثلاثة الماضية أننا جميعًا ملتزمون ومستعدون لمشاركة المعرفة والتواصل وتسريع جهودنا لتحويل طعامنا أنظمة إلى أنظمة أكثر استدامة. لقد أثبتت الحوارات الوطنية أنها أداة أساسية في جهودنا المتسارعة ، ولا يسعني إلا أن أشجع على الاستمرار في القيام بذلك. بصفتي منظمًا وطنيًا لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ، أقول إن لديك دعم الإمارات الكامل في هذا الجهد العالمي لتحويل أنظمتنا الغذائية. نحن ملتزمون ونحن هنا للمساعدة ".

خلال ملاحظاتها الختامية ، أعلنت أغنيس كاليباتا ، المبعوثة الخاصة للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة إلى قمة أنظمة الغذاء لعام 2021 ، والقوة الدافعة وراء الحوارات ، أن 145 دولة تشارك الآن في حوارات حول كيفية تحقيق ذلك بطريقة النظم الغذائية في بلدانهم. SDG ، وأكثر من 2500 فكرة مختلفة لتغيير اللعبة في 5 مجالات رئيسية ، ظهرت أنظمة الغذاء من الألف إلى الياء.

قالت أغنيس: "أنا سعيد للغاية لأننا وصلنا إلى هذه اللحظة بالعديد من الأفكار والفرص العديدة لنكون قادرين على تغيير أنظمتنا الغذائية". "آمل أن يبدأ كل واحد منا في النظر في كيفية تقديمنا."

الإحصائيات - ما قبل القمة بالأرقام

20,500+ الحاضرين

  • حضر 500 مندوب من 108 دول شخصياً ، بما في ذلك 62 وزيراً
  • انضم أكثر من 20 ألف شخص تقريبًا من 19 دولة

400+ مكبرات الصوت
128 البيانات الوزارية
38 جلسات ما قبل الاجتماع
26 الجلسات التابعة
3 طاولات دائرية وزارية
2 برنامج حواري

الرؤى والاقتباسات البارزة

خلال الأيام الثلاثة السابقة للقمة ، اجتمعت المحادثات رفيعة المستوى بين ممثلين متنوعين من جميع أنحاء العالم. قدم الحدث أحدث قاعدة الأدلة والأساليب العلمية من جميع أنحاء العالم ؛ تعزيز ائتلافات العمل؛ وحشد التمويل والشراكات الجديدة. تماشياً مع هدف تسريع الجهود لتحويل النظم الغذائية ، تضمنت موضوعات المناقشة ، من بين أمور أخرى:

  • تحقيق القضاء على الجوع - بشكل مغذي ومستدام
  • تمويل أفضل ، غذاء أفضل - كيفية توسيع نطاق التمويل للنظم الغذائية المستدامة
  • حقوق الإنسان - إطار موحد لتحول النظم الغذائية
  • أولويات القطاع الخاص وأولويات الشباب وأولويات الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة
  • أنظمة الغذاء الخاصة بالشعوب الأصلية: حلول مغيرة لقواعد اللعبة في العالم

معالي فيل سكيناري ، وزير التعاون الإنمائي والتجارة الخارجية في فنلندا قدمت الملاحظات الافتتاحية للدورة بعنوان تحالف الوجبات المدرسية: التغذية والصحة والتعليم لكل طفل، وسلطت الضوء على حقيقة أن فنلندا تقدم وجبات مدرسية بالفعل منذ أكثر من 70 عامًا. كانت هذه البرامج من ركائز قصة نجاح التعليم وتطور الدولة بشكل عام. بصفته عضوًا مؤسسًا وبطلًا للتحالف ، دعا الدول إلى إعادة الوصول إلى هذه البرامج على وجه السرعة والانضمام إلى التحالف لتسريع العمل حتى عام 2030.

النتيجة الرئيسية ل تعبئة تريليونات: التمويل من أجل التأثير ، والاستفادة من الدور المحوري لبنوك التنمية العامة (PDB) جلسة، كان دعوة للعمل. دعا الصندوق الدولي للتنمية الزراعية والوكالة الفرنسية للتنمية وبرنامج التنمية المجتمعية الدول الأعضاء والحكومات ومنظمات القطاع الخاص والمؤسسات الأكاديمية والبحثية والمجتمع المدني والوطني والإقليمي والدولي ، بما في ذلك بنوك التنمية متعددة الأطراف ، للانضمام إلى تحالف العمل لإطلاق العنان لقوة الجمهور. بنوك التنمية (PDB) لتعبئة الاستثمارات الخضراء والشاملة التي يمكن أن تحول النظم الغذائية على نطاق واسع في جميع أنحاء العالم.

كما لعب الشباب دورًا في المناقشات. أثناء ال تحويل النظم الغذائية معًا - إجراءات الشباب من أجل حاضرنا ومستقبلنا ، لانا ويدجينانت, شارك نائب رئيس مسار العمل ، قمة الأمم المتحدة للأنظمة الغذائية 2021 ، في أولوية رئيسية للشباب وهي غذاء آمن وصحي للجميع في كل مكان. وقد أوجزت التزامات الشباب وطالبت الحكومة بإجراءات سياسية تتضمن ولايات لوضع علامات شفافة ودقيقة تعكس المحتوى الغذائي الحقيقي والأثر البيئي للأغذية حتى يتمكن الشباب من اتخاذ خيارات استهلاك أكثر استنارة.

اقتباسات ملحوظة:

افتتاح الحدث عبر رسالة فيديو في 26 يوليو 2021 ، الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة أنطونيو غوتيريش قال إن النظام الغذائي الحالي هو جزء من "الحرب على الطبيعة" ، لأنه يولد ما يصل إلى ثلث جميع انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة (GHG) وهو مسؤول عن ما يصل إلى 801 تيرا بايت 1 تيرابايت من فقدان التنوع البيولوجي. نفس النظام الغذائي مسؤول عن ما يصل إلى 80% من فقدان التنوع الحيوي. ومع ذلك ، هناك أمل. منذ دعوتي الأولى لعقد هذه القمة ، استجبتم (الدول الأعضاء والكيانات الأخرى) بالطاقة والأفكار والاستعداد لإقامة شراكات جديدة ".

الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة انتهى بتوجيه الشكر لجميع اللاعبين على جعل الحدث قمة شعبية وقمة حل.

بالنظر إلى أوجه التشابه بين جائحة COVID-19 وأزمة الجوع العالمية ، رئيس الوزراء دراجي دعا المندوبين إلى الالتزام بالقضاء على الجوع لـ 811 مليون شخص وسط مناخ متغير. وتابع قائلاً: "نحن بحاجة إلى مزيد من التمويل من الحكومة وبنوك التنمية لتقليل المخاطر على المستثمرين والقطاع الزراعي ، وتحسين الوصول إلى الائتمان ، وخاصة للمزارعين الصغار".

صاحب السمو الملكي أمير ويلز بمناسبة القمة التمهيدية لقمة الأمم المتحدة لنظم الأغذية

دق صاحب السمو الملكي أمير ويلز جرس الإنذار بشأن تأثير النظم الغذائية الفاشلة على صحتنا وكوكبنا. وقال "إنه يعطيني الأمل في أن الضغط من أجل التغيير يتم مواجهته الآن من خلال استجابة عالمية كبيرة وحاسمة". لكن هذا الرد ، وتنفيذها العملي على الأرض ، يجب التعجيل به حيث أن نافذة الفرصة التي تُترك لنا تنغلق بسرعة. يعتمد أمن وقدرة أنظمة دعم الحياة على كوكبنا بالكامل على ذلك ، وإذا عملنا جميعًا مع هذه المسؤولية الأساسية في المقدمة ، فلن نفيد الطبيعة فحسب ، بل سنفيد الناس والكوكب أيضًا ".

في رسالة إلى الأمين العام سلمها بول غالاغر ، البابا فرانسيس قال هذا الاجتماع المهم "يسلط الضوء على أن أحد أكبر التحديات التي نواجهها اليوم هو التغلب على الجوع وانعدام الأمن الغذائي وسوء التغذية في عصر COVID-19".

رئيس رواندا بول كاغامي ذكر أن "الزراعة والأعمال الزراعية ، خاصة في إفريقيا ، ستقودنا إلى تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة. هذا صحيح بشكل خاص لأننا نعمل على تعويض الوقت الضائع في جائحة Covid-19. يجب على كل دولة ومنطقة رسم مسارها الخاص نحو التحول ، ولكن هذا أيضًا يمثل تحديًا عالميًا يجب أن نتصدى له معًا ".الرئيس كاغامي كما قال (ذلك): "بالنسبة لأفريقيا ، الهدف الرئيسي هو وقف اعتماد قارتنا المفرط على واردات الغذاء ، وإنهاء سوء التغذية ، وخلق ملايين من فرص العمل الجديدة في الاقتصاد الغذائي. من خلال القيام بذلك ، سنحقق التوازن الصحيح بين الناس والكوكب ".

مميزات إضافية

أجرى أندريا بوتشيلي حدثًا متلفزًا خاصًا

وقع الحدث في سيرك ماكسيموس وشمل مشاركة اندريا بوتشيلي وبعض الشخصيات المؤسسية الوطنية والدولية. أداها التينور الإيطالي مباشرة في نهاية اليوم الأول للقمة التمهيدية للأمم المتحدة FSS. 

مسابقة "طعام جيد للجميع"

تم استلام أكثر من 2000 طلب من 135 دولة لأفضل الشركات الصغيرة في مسابقة "Good Food for All" التي أقيمت بالتزامن مع قمة أنظمة الأغذية للأمم المتحدة. تم الإعلان عن الفائزين الخمسين خلال فترة ما قبل القمة ، مما يسلط الضوء على الدور الذي تلعبه الشركات الصغيرة في السعي المستمر لأنظمة الغذاء المستدامة. كانت المبادرات ملهمة ومؤثرة.  

تم تقاسم أموال الجائزة البالغة $100000 بين الفائزين ، الذين يأتون من إجمالي 42 دولة ، بما في ذلك من أوروبا وآسيا الوسطى (10) ؛ إفريقيا والشرق الأوسط (13)؛ شرق آسيا والمحيط الهادئ (10)؛ جنوب آسيا (8) ؛ وأمريكا الشمالية واللاتينية (9).

كان اثنان من الفائزين هما Agrojusto (Agrofiar) ، الذين طوروا منصة تقنية سحابية للبرامج كخدمة (SaaS) تسهل التسويق المباشر للأغذية ، وربطها بكفاءة وذكاء وعدالة لجميع اللاعبين في إنتاج الغذاء و تهدف سلسلة التوريد ومجموعة YouKuai ، التي تأسست في عام 2019 ، إلى إنشاء نظام بيئي شامل للأغذية والمشروبات قائم على النباتات في الصين وإعادة تشكيل المشهد العالمي للمأكولات النباتية ، بدءًا من المستهلكين الصينيين محليًا وإقليميًا.

 

الفصل 1 - نظرة عامة على عملية قمة النظم الغذائية

على مدار 18 شهرًا ، وفي خضم جائحة غير مسبوق ، أشرك مؤتمر قمة النظم الغذائية الذي عقده الأمين العام مئات الآلاف من الأشخاص من جميع أنحاء العالم في جهد طموح لتسريع العمل على تحويل النظم الغذائية لتحقيق رؤية خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030.

في سياق عقد العمل ، بصفته "قمة الناس" و "قمة الحلول" على حد سواء ، كانت قمة نظم الأغذية لحظة تحفيزية للتعبئة العامة العالمية وتحفيز الالتزامات القابلة للتنفيذ من قبل مختلف أصحاب المصلحة.

الفصل 2 - المدخلات الرئيسية من مسارات عمل القمة

كجزء من عملية القمة ، قادت أكثر من 147 دولة عضو في الأمم المتحدة الحوارات الوطنية. يتم توحيد نتائجها في مسارات وطنية ، وهي رؤى واضحة لما تتوقعه الحكومات ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع مختلف أصحاب المصلحة ، من النظم الغذائية بحلول عام 2030. وقد ساهمت الدول الأعضاء ومجموعة واسعة من الخبراء وأصحاب المصلحة بأكثر من 2200 اقتراح للعمل السريع. جمعت مسارات العمل هذه المدخلات الغنية بطريقة منهجية لبناء مجتمعات الممارسة وتعزيز شراكات جديدة. تشاور الفريق العلمي على نطاق واسع وقدم مساهمة قوية في قاعدة الأدلة التي تدعم الكثير من أعمال القمة. ساعد فريق عمل الأمم المتحدة على حشد أكثر من 40 مؤسسة عالمية رئيسية لجلب المعرفة والخبرة. من خلال شبكة الأبطال ، وحوارات القمة العالمية لنظم الغذاء ، وأكثر من 900 حوار مستقل ، قدم الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم أفكارًا حول كيفية تحويل النظم الغذائية.

الفصل 3 - نظرة عامة على ما قبل القمة

انعقدت القمة التمهيدية لقمة نظم الأغذية للأمم المتحدة في الفترة من 26 إلى 28ذ يوليو 2021 ، في منظمة الأغذية والزراعة في روما والحضور عبر الإنترنت. اجتمعت أكثر من 100 دولة على مدار ثلاثة أيام لمناقشة كيفية تغيير نظمها الغذائية الوطنية لدفع التقدم نحو أهداف التنمية المستدامة بحلول عام 2030.

تضمن البرنامج الرسمي السابق للقمة جلسات مخصصة لأربع "روافع للتغيير" الحاسمة ، بما في ذلك تمكين المرأة وحقوق الإنسان.

الفصل 4 - القمة

مساعد

ستطلق قمة الأمم المتحدة للأنظمة الغذائية إجراءات وحلول واستراتيجيات جريئة جديدة لإحراز تقدم في جميع أهداف التنمية المستدامة السبعة عشر ، وكل منها يعتمد إلى حد ما على أنظمة غذائية أكثر صحة واستدامة وإنصافًا. سوف توقظ القمة العالم على حقيقة أنه يجب علينا جميعًا العمل معًا لتغيير الطريقة التي ينتج بها العالم الغذاء ويستهلكه ويفكر فيه.

Chapter 3

Overview of the Pre-Summit

Over the past 18 months, the UN Food Systems Summit has brought together all UN Member States and constituencies around the world – including thousands of youth, food producers, Indigenous Peoples, civil society, researchers, private sector, and the UN system – to bring about tangible, positive changes to the world’s food systems.

This included the hosting of the UN Food Systems Pre-Summit, which was held from the 26 – 28th July 2021, at the FAO in Rome and on-line attendance.  More than 100 countries came together over the course of three-days to discuss how they will transform their national food systems to drive progress against the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030.

The official pre-summit programme featured sessions dedicated to four decisive “levers of change”, including women’s empowerment, and human rights.

Speakers tackled issues involving the need for greater recognition of land tenure rights, the right of Indigenous Peoples, the links between humanitarian and development sectors, and gender-responsive food systems.

The event bought together thousands of attendees.  All of whom played a role in the discussions on implementing change for more sustainable, equitable, resilient, and nutritious food systems through interactive engagement and dialogues, with the sole focus of finding new ideas and evidence-based solutions.

After an intensive three days of discussions, the UN Deputy Secretary General Amina J. Mohammed made the following statement during her closing remarks:

“Anything we do must always include those at the center of our food systems: smallholder farmers, indigenous peoples and especially women and youth. Just as food brings us together as cultures and communities, it can bring us together around solutions. But what is clear is there is no one-size fits all solution. Our diversity is our strength and reflects the complexity of our world.”

In the words of H.E. Miriam Al-Mheiri, Minister of State for Food and Water Security, United Arab Emirates – “The last three days have shown that we are all committed and willing to share knowledge, communicate and accelerate our efforts to transform our food systems to more sustainable ones.  The national dialogues have proven to be an essential tool in our accelerated efforts, and I can only encourage to continue doing these.  As a national convenor for the UAE, I hereby say that you have the UAE’s full support in this global effort to transform our food systems.  We are committed and we are here to help.”

During her closing remarks Agnes Kalibata, the UN Secretary General’s Special envoy to the 2021 Food Systems Summit, and a driving force behind the dialogues, announced that 145 countries are now engaged in dialogues on how they can come through in a food systems way on their SDG, and over 2500 different game changing ideas across 5 major areas the food systems have emerged from the ground up.

“I am extremely happy that we have come to this moment with so many ideas and so many opportunities to be able to change our food systems”, Agnes said.  “I hope each of us starts looking at how we can deliver.”

Statistics – Pre-Summit in Numbers

20,500+ ATTENDEES

  • 500 delegates from 108 countries attended in person, including 62 Ministers
  • More than 20,000 attendees joined virtually, from 19 countries

400+ SPEAKERS
128 MINISTERIAL STATEMENTS
38 PRE-SUMMIT SESSIONS
26 AFFILIATED SESSIONS
3 MINISTERIAL ROUNDTABLES
2 TALK SHOWS

Insights and notable quotes

During the three-day pre-summit, high level talks bought together diverse actors from around the world.  The event delivered the latest evidence base and scientific approaches from around the world; strengthened coalitions of action; and mobilized new financing and partnerships.  In line with the goal to accelerate efforts to transform food systems, discussion topics included, amongst others:

  • Achieving Zero Hunger – Nutritiously and Sustainably
  • Better finance, better food – How to scale finance for sustainable food systems
  • Human Rights – A unified framework for food systems transformation
  • Private Sector priorities, youth priorities and SME priorities
  • Indigenous Peoples Food systems: Game changing solutions for the world

H.E. Ville Skinnari, Minister for Development Cooperation and Foreign Trade of Finland provided the opening remarks for the session entitled School Meals Coalition: Nutrition, Health and Education for Every Child, and highlighted the fact that Finland has been providing school meals already for more than 70 years. These programmes have been one of the pillars of the education success story and the development of the country in general. As a founding member and champion of the Coalition he called countries to urgently restore access to these programmes and to join the Coalition to accelerate action until 2030.

The main outcome of Mobilizing Trillions: Financing for Impact, Leveraging the Pivotal Role of Public Development Banks (PDB) session, was a Call for Action. IFAD, AFD and CDP called on Member States and governments, private sector organizations, academia and research institutions, civil society and national, regional and international, including Multilateral Development Banks (MDBs), to join a Coalition of Action to unlock the Power of Public Development Banks (PDB) to mobilize green and inclusive investments that can transform food systems at scale across the world.

Youth also played a part in the discussions.  During the Transforming Food Systems together – Youth actions for our present and future, Lana Weidgenant, Action Track Vice Chair, UN Food Systems Summit 2021 shared a key priority of youth which is safe and healthy food for everyone, everywhere. She outlined youth commitments and demanded policy actions from the Government which includes mandates for transparent and accurate labelling that reflects the true nutrition content and environmental impact of food so youth can make more informed consumption choices.

Notable quotes:

Opening the event via video message on 26 July 2021, UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said the current food system is part of a “war on nature,” as it generates up to one third of all greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and is responsible for up to 80% of biodiversity loss.  The same food system is responsible for up to 80% of bio diversity loss.  “Yet, there is hope.  Since my initial call for this summit, you (the member states and other entities) have responded with energy, ideas, and a willingness to forge new partnerships,” he said.

The UN Secretary General finished off by thanking all players for making the event both a people summit and a solution summit.

Considering the parallels between the COVID-19 pandemic and global hunger crisis, Prime Minister Draghi called on delegates  to commit to ending hunger for 811 million people amidst a changing climate.  He went on to say, “We need more funding from government and development banks to reduce the risk for investors and the agricultural sector, and improve access to credit, especially for the smaller farmers.”

His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales on the occasion of the UN Food Systems Summit Pre-Summit

HRH Prince of Wales raised the alarm on the impact of failed food systems on our health and planet. “It gives me hope that the pressure for change is now being met by a substantial, determined global response,” he said. “But that response, and its practical implementation on the ground, must be expedited as the window of opportunity left to us is rapidly closing. The security and capacity of our planet’s entire life-support systems are banking on it, and if we all work with that primary responsibility to the fore, not only will we benefit nature, we will benefit people and the planet too.”

In a message to the Secretary General, delivered by Paul Gallagher, Pope Francis said this important meeting “highlights how one of our greatest challenges today is to overcome hunger, food insecurity, and malnutrition in the era of COVID-19.”

The President of Rwanda, Paul Kagame stated that “Agriculture and agri-business, especially in Africa, will drive our attainment of the Sustainable Development Goals. This is especially true as we work to make up for the time lost to the Covid-19 pandemic. Each country and region must chart its own pathway to transformation, but this is also a global challenge that we must address together.”President Kagame also said (that) “For Africa, the central goal is to halt our continent’s over-reliance on food imports, end malnutrition, and create millions of new jobs in the food economy. In doing so, we will strike the right balance between people and planet.”

Additional highlights

Andrea Bocelli performed a special televised event

The event took place at the Circus Maximus and included the participation of Andrea Bocelli and some national and international institutional figures.   The Italian tenor performed live at the end of the first day of the UN FSS Pre Summit. 

“Good Food for All” Competition

Over 2000 applications from 135 countries were received for the Best Small Businesses of the “Good Food for All” competition held in conjunction with the UN Food Systems Summit.  The 50 winners were announced during the Pre-summit, highlighting the role that small businesses play in the continued drive for sustainable food systems.  The initiatives were inspiring and impactful.  

The prize money of US$100,000 was shared amongst the winners, that come from a total of 42 countries, including from Europe & Central Asia (10); Africa & Middle East (13); East Asia & Pacific (10); South Asia (8); and North and Latin America (9).

Two of the winners were Agrojusto (Agrofiar), who have developed a software-as-a-service (SaaS) cloud platform of technology that facilitates direct food marketing, linking efficiently, intelligently and fairly, to all the players in the food production and supply chain, and YouKuai Group, which was founded in 2019, aims to create a holistic plant-based food and beverage ecosystem in China and to reshape the global plant-based cuisine landscape, starting with Chinese consumers both locally and regionally.

 

Chapter 1 – Overview of the Food Systems Summit Process

Over the course of 18 months, and in the midst of an unprecedented pandemic, the Secretary-General’s Food Systems Summit has engaged hundreds of thousands of people from around the world in an ambitious effort to accelerate action to transform food systems to realize the vision of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

In the context of the Decade of Action, as both a “People’s Summit” and a “Solutions Summit”, the Food Systems Summit has been a catalytic moment for global public mobilization and motivating actionable commitments by various stakeholders.

Chapter 2 – Key Inputs from Summit Workstreams

As part of the Summit process, over 147 UN Member States led National Dialogues. Their outcomes are being consolidated into national pathways, which are clear visions of what governments, together with various stakeholders, expect of food systems by 2030. Member States and a wide range of experts and stakeholders have contributed more than 2200 suggestions for accelerated action. The Action Tracks have clustered this rich input in a systemic way to build communities of practice and foster new partnerships. The Scientific Group consulted broadly and made a robust contribution to the evidence base underpinning much of the Summit’s work. The UN Task Force helped to mobilize over 40 key global institutions to bring knowledge and expertise. Through the Champions Network, Global Food Systems Summit Dialogues, and over 900 Independent Dialogues, people around the world have offered ideas on how to transform food systems.

Chapter 3 – Overview of the Pre-Summit

UN Food Systems Pre-Summit was held from the 26 – 28th July 2021, at the FAO in Rome and on-line attendance.  More than 100 countries came together over the course of three-days to discuss how they will transform their national food systems to drive progress against the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030.

The official pre-summit programme featured sessions dedicated to four decisive “levers of change”, including women’s empowerment, and human rights.

Chapter 4- Summit

PLACEHOLDER

The UN Food Systems Summit will launch bold new actions, solutions, and strategies to deliver progress on all 17 SDGs, each of which relies to some degree on healthier, more sustainable, and equitable food systems. The Summit will awaken the world to the fact that we all must work together to transform the way the world produces, consumes, and thinks about food.