第3章

会前概述

在过去的 18 个月里,联合国粮食系统峰会汇集了世界各地的所有联合国会员国和选区——包括数千名青年、粮食生产者、土著人民、民间社会、研究人员、私营部门和联合国系统——关于世界粮食系统的切实、积极的变化。

这包括主办 联合国粮食系统峰会前,这是从 26 – 28 2021 年 7 月,在罗马的粮农组织和在线出席。 100 多个国家在三天的时间里聚集在一起,讨论他们将如何转变国家粮食系统,以推动到 2030 年实现可持续发展目标的进展。

正式的峰会前计划以四个决定性的“变革杠杆”为特色,包括妇女赋权和人权。

发言者讨论的问题涉及需要更多地承认土地保有权、土著人民的权利、人道主义和发展部门之间的联系以及促进性别平等的粮食系统。

该活动吸引了数千名与会者。所有这些人都通过互动参与和对话,在关于为更可持续、公平、有弹性和营养的粮食系统实施变革的讨论中发挥了作用,唯一的重点是寻找新的想法和基于证据的解决方案。

经过三天紧张的讨论, 联合国副秘书长阿米娜·J·穆罕默德 在她的闭幕词中发表了以下声明:

“我们所做的任何事情都必须始终包括处于我们粮食系统中心的人:小农、土著人民,尤其是妇女和青年。正如食物将我们作为文化和社区聚集在一起一样,它也可以围绕解决方案将我们聚集在一起。但很清楚的是,没有一刀切的解决方案。我们的多样性是我们的优势,反映了我们世界的复杂性。”

用阿拉伯联合酋长国粮食和水安全国务部长 Miriam Al-Mheiri 先生的话来说——“过去三天表明,我们都致力于并愿意分享知识、交流和加速我们改变粮食的努力系统到更可持续的系统。全国对话已被证明是我们加速努力的重要工具,我只能鼓励继续这样做。作为阿联酋的全国召集人,我在此表示,阿联酋将全力支持这项全球粮食系统转型努力。我们承诺,我们会在这里提供帮助。”

在闭幕词中,联合国秘书长 2021 年粮食系统峰会特使、对话背后的推动者艾格尼丝·卡利巴塔宣布,145 个国家现在正在就如何通过粮食系统方式实现其目标进行对话。 SDG,以及粮食系统 5 个主要领域的 2500 多个不同的改变游戏规则的想法。

“我非常高兴我们带着如此多的想法和如此多的机会来到这个时刻来改变我们的粮食系统,”艾格尼丝说。 “我希望我们每个人都开始考虑如何交付。”

统计数据——峰会前的人数

20,500+ 与会者

  • 来自108个国家的500名代表亲自出席,其中部长62人
  • 来自 19 个国家/地区的 20,000 多名与会者以虚拟方式参加

400+ 扬声器
128 部长声明
38 峰会前会议
26 附属会议
3 部长级圆桌会议
2 谈话节目

见解和著名引述

在为期三天的峰会前,高级别会谈汇聚了来自世界各地的不同参与者。该活动提供了来自世界各地的最新证据基础和科学方法;加强行动联盟;并动员新的资金和伙伴关系。根据加快转变粮食系统的努力的目标,讨论主题包括:

  • 实现零饥饿——营养和可持续
  • 更好的融资,更好的食物——如何为可持续粮食系统扩大融资规模
  • 人权——粮食系统转型的统一框架
  • 私营部门优先事项、青年优先事项和中小企业优先事项
  • 土著人民粮食系统:改变世界的游戏解决方案

芬兰发展合作和对外贸易部长 Ville Skinnari 为题为“ 学校供餐联盟:每个孩子的营养、健康和教育,并强调了芬兰提供学校供餐已有 70 多年的历史。这些计划一直是教育成功故事和整个国家发展的支柱之一。作为联盟的创始成员和拥护者,他呼吁各国紧急恢复对这些计划的访问,并加入联盟以加快行动,直到 2030 年。

的主要结果 动员万亿资金:为影响力融资,利用公共开发银行 (PDB) 的关键作用会议,是一个行动呼吁。 IFAD、AFD 和 CDP 呼吁成员国和政府、私营部门组织、学术界和研究机构、民间社会以及国家、区域和国际,包括多边开发银行 (MDB),加入行动联盟以释放公共权力开发银行 (PDB) 动员绿色和包容性投资,以在全球范围内大规模改变粮食系统。

青年也参与了讨论。在此期间 共同改变粮食系统——为我们现在和未来而采取的青年行动, 拉娜·魏德根特(Lana Weidgenant), 2021 年联合国粮食系统峰会行动轨道副主席分享了青年的一个关键优先事项,即为世界各地的每个人提供安全健康的食物。她概述了青年承诺,并要求政府采取政策行动,其中包括要求透明和准确的标签反映食物的真实营养成分和环境影响,以便青年能够做出更明智的消费选择。

值得注意的引述:

2021 年 7 月 26 日通过视频消息开启活动, 联合国秘书长安东尼奥·古特雷斯 说当前的食物系统是“对自然的战争”的一部分,因为它产生多达三分之一的温室气体 (GHG) 排放量,并造成高达 80% 的生物多样性丧失。同一个食物系统造成高达 80% 的生物多样性损失。 “然而,还有希望。自从我最初呼吁召开这次峰会以来,你们(成员国和其他实体)已经以活力、想法和建立新伙伴关系的意愿做出了回应,”他说。

联合国秘书长 最后感谢所有参与者使该活动既是一次人员峰会又是一次解决方案峰会。

考虑到 COVID-19 大流行与全球饥饿危机之间的相似之处, 德拉吉总理 呼吁代表们致力于在气候变化中消除 8.11 亿人的饥饿。他接着说:“我们需要政府和开发银行提供更多资金,以降低投资者和农业部门的风险,并改善获得信贷的机会,尤其是小农户。”

威尔士亲王殿下在联合国粮食系统峰会前峰会上

威尔士亲王殿下对失败的食品系统对我们的健康和地球的影响发出了警报。他说:“这给了我希望,变革的压力现在正在通过实质性的、坚定的全球反应得到满足。” “但是,由于留给我们的机会之窗正在迅速关闭,因此必须加快这种反应及其在实地的实际实施。我们星球上整个生命支持系统的安全性和能力都依赖于它,如果我们所有人都肩负起首要责任,我们不仅会造福自然,也会造福人类和地球。”

在保罗·加拉格尔致秘书长的一封信中, 方济各 说这次重要的会议“强调了我们今天最大的挑战之一是如何克服 COVID-19 时代的饥饿、粮食不安全和营养不良。”

卢旺达总统保罗·卡加梅 指出“农业和农业企业,特别是在非洲,将推动我们实现可持续发展目标。在我们努力弥补因 Covid-19 大流行而损失的时间时尤其如此。每个国家和地区都必须制定自己的转型之路,但这也是我们必须共同应对的全球挑战。”卡加梅总统 还说(那)“对于非洲来说,中心目标是制止我们大陆对粮食进口的过度依赖,结束营养不良,并在粮食经济中创造数百万个新工作岗位。通过这样做,我们将在人类与地球之间取得适当的平衡。”

其他亮点

安德烈·波切利 (Andrea Bocelli) 进行了一场特别的电视转播活动

该活动在 Circus Maximus 举行,包括 的参与 安德烈·波切利 以及一些国家和国际机构人物。这位意大利男高音在联合国 FSS 峰会前第一天结束时进行了现场表演。 

“全民美食”比赛

来自 135 个国家的 2000 多份申请获得了与联合国粮食系统峰会同时举办的“人人享有美食”竞赛的最佳小型企业奖。 50 名获奖者在峰会前宣布,突出了小企业在持续推动可持续粮食系统方面的作用。这些举措鼓舞人心,影响深远。  

US$100,000 的奖金由来自欧洲和中亚(10 个)在内的 42 个国家/地区的获奖者共同分享;非洲和中东 (13);东亚及太平洋地区(10);南亚(8);以及北美和拉丁美洲 (9)。

其中两位获奖者是 Agrojusto (Agrofiar),他开发了一个软件即服务 (SaaS) 技术云平台,可促进直接食品营销,有效、智能和公平地与食品生产和销售领域的所有参与者建立联系。供应链和优快集团成立于 2019 年,旨在从中国本地和区域消费者开始,在中国创建一个完整的植物性食品和饮料生态系统,并重塑全球植物性美食格局。

 

第 1 章 – 粮食系统峰会进程概述

在 18 个月的时间里,在史无前例的大流行中,秘书长的粮食系统峰会让来自世界各地的数十万人参与了一项雄心勃勃的努力,以加快转变粮食系统的行动,以实现2030 年可持续发展议程。

在行动十年的背景下,作为“人民峰会”和“解决方案峰会”,粮食系统峰会一直是全球公众动员和推动各利益相关方做出可行承诺的催化时刻。

第 2 章 – 来自峰会工作流的关键输入

作为峰会进程的一部分,超过 147 个联合国会员国领导了全国对话。他们的成果正在被整合到国家路径中,这些路径清晰地表明了政府以及各利益相关者对 2030 年粮食系统的期望。会员国以及广泛的专家和利益相关者为加快行动提出了 2200 多条建议。 Action Tracks 以系统的方式聚集了这些丰富的输入,以建立实践社区并促进新的伙伴关系。科学小组进行了广泛的咨询,并为支持峰会大部分工作的证据基础做出了有力的贡献。联合国工作队帮助动员了 40 多个重要的全球机构带来知识和专业知识。通过冠军网络、全球粮食系统峰会对话和 900 多次独立对话,世界各地的人们就如何改造粮食系统提出了想法。

第 3 章——会前概述

联合国粮食系统预峰会于 26-28 日举行 2021 年 7 月,在罗马粮农组织和在线出席。 100 多个国家在三天的时间里聚集在一起,讨论他们将如何转变国家粮食系统,以推动到 2030 年实现可持续发展目标的进展。

正式的峰会前计划以四个决定性的“变革杠杆”为特色,包括妇女赋权和人权。

第 4 章 - 峰会

占位符

联合国粮食系统峰会将推出大胆的新行动、解决方案和战略,以在所有 17 项可持续发展目标上取得进展,每一项都在一定程度上依赖于更健康、更可持续和公平的粮食系统。峰会将使世界意识到,我们必须共同努力,改变世界生产、消费和思考食物的方式。

Chapter 3

Overview of the Pre-Summit

Over the past 18 months, the UN Food Systems Summit has brought together all UN Member States and constituencies around the world – including thousands of youth, food producers, Indigenous Peoples, civil society, researchers, private sector, and the UN system – to bring about tangible, positive changes to the world’s food systems.

This included the hosting of the UN Food Systems Pre-Summit, which was held from the 26 – 28th July 2021, at the FAO in Rome and on-line attendance.  More than 100 countries came together over the course of three-days to discuss how they will transform their national food systems to drive progress against the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030.

The official pre-summit programme featured sessions dedicated to four decisive “levers of change”, including women’s empowerment, and human rights.

Speakers tackled issues involving the need for greater recognition of land tenure rights, the right of Indigenous Peoples, the links between humanitarian and development sectors, and gender-responsive food systems.

The event bought together thousands of attendees.  All of whom played a role in the discussions on implementing change for more sustainable, equitable, resilient, and nutritious food systems through interactive engagement and dialogues, with the sole focus of finding new ideas and evidence-based solutions.

After an intensive three days of discussions, the UN Deputy Secretary General Amina J. Mohammed made the following statement during her closing remarks:

“Anything we do must always include those at the center of our food systems: smallholder farmers, indigenous peoples and especially women and youth. Just as food brings us together as cultures and communities, it can bring us together around solutions. But what is clear is there is no one-size fits all solution. Our diversity is our strength and reflects the complexity of our world.”

In the words of H.E. Miriam Al-Mheiri, Minister of State for Food and Water Security, United Arab Emirates – “The last three days have shown that we are all committed and willing to share knowledge, communicate and accelerate our efforts to transform our food systems to more sustainable ones.  The national dialogues have proven to be an essential tool in our accelerated efforts, and I can only encourage to continue doing these.  As a national convenor for the UAE, I hereby say that you have the UAE’s full support in this global effort to transform our food systems.  We are committed and we are here to help.”

During her closing remarks Agnes Kalibata, the UN Secretary General’s Special envoy to the 2021 Food Systems Summit, and a driving force behind the dialogues, announced that 145 countries are now engaged in dialogues on how they can come through in a food systems way on their SDG, and over 2500 different game changing ideas across 5 major areas the food systems have emerged from the ground up.

“I am extremely happy that we have come to this moment with so many ideas and so many opportunities to be able to change our food systems”, Agnes said.  “I hope each of us starts looking at how we can deliver.”

Statistics – Pre-Summit in Numbers

20,500+ ATTENDEES

  • 500 delegates from 108 countries attended in person, including 62 Ministers
  • More than 20,000 attendees joined virtually, from 19 countries

400+ SPEAKERS
128 MINISTERIAL STATEMENTS
38 PRE-SUMMIT SESSIONS
26 AFFILIATED SESSIONS
3 MINISTERIAL ROUNDTABLES
2 TALK SHOWS

Insights and notable quotes

During the three-day pre-summit, high level talks bought together diverse actors from around the world.  The event delivered the latest evidence base and scientific approaches from around the world; strengthened coalitions of action; and mobilized new financing and partnerships.  In line with the goal to accelerate efforts to transform food systems, discussion topics included, amongst others:

  • Achieving Zero Hunger – Nutritiously and Sustainably
  • Better finance, better food – How to scale finance for sustainable food systems
  • Human Rights – A unified framework for food systems transformation
  • Private Sector priorities, youth priorities and SME priorities
  • Indigenous Peoples Food systems: Game changing solutions for the world

H.E. Ville Skinnari, Minister for Development Cooperation and Foreign Trade of Finland provided the opening remarks for the session entitled School Meals Coalition: Nutrition, Health and Education for Every Child, and highlighted the fact that Finland has been providing school meals already for more than 70 years. These programmes have been one of the pillars of the education success story and the development of the country in general. As a founding member and champion of the Coalition he called countries to urgently restore access to these programmes and to join the Coalition to accelerate action until 2030.

The main outcome of Mobilizing Trillions: Financing for Impact, Leveraging the Pivotal Role of Public Development Banks (PDB) session, was a Call for Action. IFAD, AFD and CDP called on Member States and governments, private sector organizations, academia and research institutions, civil society and national, regional and international, including Multilateral Development Banks (MDBs), to join a Coalition of Action to unlock the Power of Public Development Banks (PDB) to mobilize green and inclusive investments that can transform food systems at scale across the world.

Youth also played a part in the discussions.  During the Transforming Food Systems together – Youth actions for our present and future, Lana Weidgenant, Action Track Vice Chair, UN Food Systems Summit 2021 shared a key priority of youth which is safe and healthy food for everyone, everywhere. She outlined youth commitments and demanded policy actions from the Government which includes mandates for transparent and accurate labelling that reflects the true nutrition content and environmental impact of food so youth can make more informed consumption choices.

Notable quotes:

Opening the event via video message on 26 July 2021, UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said the current food system is part of a “war on nature,” as it generates up to one third of all greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and is responsible for up to 80% of biodiversity loss.  The same food system is responsible for up to 80% of bio diversity loss.  “Yet, there is hope.  Since my initial call for this summit, you (the member states and other entities) have responded with energy, ideas, and a willingness to forge new partnerships,” he said.

The UN Secretary General finished off by thanking all players for making the event both a people summit and a solution summit.

Considering the parallels between the COVID-19 pandemic and global hunger crisis, Prime Minister Draghi called on delegates  to commit to ending hunger for 811 million people amidst a changing climate.  He went on to say, “We need more funding from government and development banks to reduce the risk for investors and the agricultural sector, and improve access to credit, especially for the smaller farmers.”

His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales on the occasion of the UN Food Systems Summit Pre-Summit

HRH Prince of Wales raised the alarm on the impact of failed food systems on our health and planet. “It gives me hope that the pressure for change is now being met by a substantial, determined global response,” he said. “But that response, and its practical implementation on the ground, must be expedited as the window of opportunity left to us is rapidly closing. The security and capacity of our planet’s entire life-support systems are banking on it, and if we all work with that primary responsibility to the fore, not only will we benefit nature, we will benefit people and the planet too.”

In a message to the Secretary General, delivered by Paul Gallagher, Pope Francis said this important meeting “highlights how one of our greatest challenges today is to overcome hunger, food insecurity, and malnutrition in the era of COVID-19.”

The President of Rwanda, Paul Kagame stated that “Agriculture and agri-business, especially in Africa, will drive our attainment of the Sustainable Development Goals. This is especially true as we work to make up for the time lost to the Covid-19 pandemic. Each country and region must chart its own pathway to transformation, but this is also a global challenge that we must address together.”President Kagame also said (that) “For Africa, the central goal is to halt our continent’s over-reliance on food imports, end malnutrition, and create millions of new jobs in the food economy. In doing so, we will strike the right balance between people and planet.”

Additional highlights

Andrea Bocelli performed a special televised event

The event took place at the Circus Maximus and included the participation of Andrea Bocelli and some national and international institutional figures.   The Italian tenor performed live at the end of the first day of the UN FSS Pre Summit. 

“Good Food for All” Competition

Over 2000 applications from 135 countries were received for the Best Small Businesses of the “Good Food for All” competition held in conjunction with the UN Food Systems Summit.  The 50 winners were announced during the Pre-summit, highlighting the role that small businesses play in the continued drive for sustainable food systems.  The initiatives were inspiring and impactful.  

The prize money of US$100,000 was shared amongst the winners, that come from a total of 42 countries, including from Europe & Central Asia (10); Africa & Middle East (13); East Asia & Pacific (10); South Asia (8); and North and Latin America (9).

Two of the winners were Agrojusto (Agrofiar), who have developed a software-as-a-service (SaaS) cloud platform of technology that facilitates direct food marketing, linking efficiently, intelligently and fairly, to all the players in the food production and supply chain, and YouKuai Group, which was founded in 2019, aims to create a holistic plant-based food and beverage ecosystem in China and to reshape the global plant-based cuisine landscape, starting with Chinese consumers both locally and regionally.

 

Chapter 1 – Overview of the Food Systems Summit Process

Over the course of 18 months, and in the midst of an unprecedented pandemic, the Secretary-General’s Food Systems Summit has engaged hundreds of thousands of people from around the world in an ambitious effort to accelerate action to transform food systems to realize the vision of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

In the context of the Decade of Action, as both a “People’s Summit” and a “Solutions Summit”, the Food Systems Summit has been a catalytic moment for global public mobilization and motivating actionable commitments by various stakeholders.

Chapter 2 – Key Inputs from Summit Workstreams

As part of the Summit process, over 147 UN Member States led National Dialogues. Their outcomes are being consolidated into national pathways, which are clear visions of what governments, together with various stakeholders, expect of food systems by 2030. Member States and a wide range of experts and stakeholders have contributed more than 2200 suggestions for accelerated action. The Action Tracks have clustered this rich input in a systemic way to build communities of practice and foster new partnerships. The Scientific Group consulted broadly and made a robust contribution to the evidence base underpinning much of the Summit’s work. The UN Task Force helped to mobilize over 40 key global institutions to bring knowledge and expertise. Through the Champions Network, Global Food Systems Summit Dialogues, and over 900 Independent Dialogues, people around the world have offered ideas on how to transform food systems.

Chapter 3 – Overview of the Pre-Summit

UN Food Systems Pre-Summit was held from the 26 – 28th July 2021, at the FAO in Rome and on-line attendance.  More than 100 countries came together over the course of three-days to discuss how they will transform their national food systems to drive progress against the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030.

The official pre-summit programme featured sessions dedicated to four decisive “levers of change”, including women’s empowerment, and human rights.

Chapter 4- Summit

PLACEHOLDER

The UN Food Systems Summit will launch bold new actions, solutions, and strategies to deliver progress on all 17 SDGs, each of which relies to some degree on healthier, more sustainable, and equitable food systems. The Summit will awaken the world to the fact that we all must work together to transform the way the world produces, consumes, and thinks about food.