第1章

粮食系统峰会进程概览

食品系统峰会

在 18 个月的时间里,在史无前例的大流行中,秘书长的粮食系统峰会让来自世界各地的数十万人参与了一项雄心勃勃的努力,以加快转变粮食系统的行动,以实现2030 年可持续发展议程。

在行动十年的背景下,作为“人民峰会”和“解决方案峰会”,粮食系统峰会一直是全球公众动员和推动各利益相关方做出可行承诺的催化时刻。

作为峰会进程的一部分,超过 147 个联合国会员国领导 全国对话.他们的成果正在合并成 国家途径,这是各国政府以及各利益相关方对 2030 年粮食系统期望的清晰愿景。会员国以及广泛的专家和利益相关方为加快行动提出了 2200 多条建议。这 动作轨迹 以系统的方式将这些丰富的投入集中起来,以建立实践社区并培养新的伙伴关系。这 科学小组 广泛咨询并为支持峰会大部分工作的证据基础做出了强有力的贡献。这 联合国工作队 帮助动员 40 多个重要的全球机构带来知识和专业知识。通过 冠军网络、全球粮食系统峰会对话和 900 多次独立对话,世界各地的人们都提出了如何改造粮食系统的想法。

该过程围绕一个 重申 2030 年可持续发展议程,以及三个核心领域:人、地球和繁荣:

  • 人们, “滋养每个人的健康和福祉”:不断加剧的饥饿和营养不良,以及疾病的多重风险和负担,是我们目前粮食系统的结果。 COVID-19 的影响大大增加了饥饿和营养不良人口的数量。我们需要重申对消除一切形式和维度的贫困、饥饿和营养不良的承诺,并确保所有人都能在有尊严、平等和健康的环境中发挥他们的潜力。
  • 行星, ”为可持续发展的世界提供公正的转型”:粮食系统正在对地球的退化产生深远的影响。我们必须信守我们保护地球的承诺,包括通过可持续消费和恢复性生产、可持续管理其自然资源以及采取紧急行动使我们的粮食系统成为克服气候危机的关键,以便它能够支持当前和未来的子孙们。
  • 繁荣, “领导从 COVID-19 中进行包容和公平的复苏”:虽然代表全球经济的十分之一并支持超过 10 亿人的生计,但粮食系统是不平等的焦点。它们还有可能成为复苏的强大驱动力。我们需要加倍下定决心,确保所有人都能享有基本人权和繁荣充实的生活,并确保经济、社会和技术进步与自然和谐相处。

对于参与这一过程的人来说,鉴于 COVID-19 大流行的影响,2030 年议程的愿景与以往一样重要。紧迫性更大。

峰会成果

联合国粮食系统峰会将推出大胆的新行动、解决方案和战略,以在所有 17 项可持续发展目标上取得进展,每一项都在一定程度上依赖于更健康、更可持续和公平的粮食系统。峰会将使世界意识到,我们必须共同努力,改变世界生产、消费和思考食物的方式。为了实现这一点,整个过程都朝着 以下结果:

  • 重大行动和行动承诺,具有可衡量的成果和影响,使到 2030 年实现可持续发展目标成为可能。这将包括强调现有的解决方案和庆祝粮食系统转型的领导者,以及呼吁全球不同行为者(包括国家、城市、公司、民间社会)采取新的行动、公民和食品生产商。
  • 社区、国家、区域和全球层面的公共话语显着提升 关于转变粮食系统的紧迫性,并呼吁并赋予数十亿公民和广大公众的青年权力,以采取具体行动并支持必要的个人和机构行为转变。
  • 重要的会员国和多利益攸关方行动,能够在实现 2030 年可持续发展议程方面取得可衡量的进展。 将庆祝粮食系统转型的领导地位,并在全球合作伙伴和相关金融的坚定联盟的支持下开启新的行动。
  • 确保峰会成果在 2030 年之前保持势头的后续和审查行动系统。 它将在最佳可用数据和证据的基础上庆祝进展、识别和解决瓶颈,并允许分享经验和相互促进。

峰会支持结构和优先工作流程

联合国秘书长设立了若干结构来支持峰会进程。这些是: 咨询委员会, 科学组, 联合国工作队, 冠军网络, 和 首脑会议秘书处,由特使 Agnes Kalibata 博士领导。 这些结构将在以下部分详细说明。

此外,峰会支持结构的工作通过以下方式进行 优先事项
工作流
:

  • 动作轨迹变革杠杆 为多方利益相关者提供一个分享和学习的空间,以期通过促进新的行动和伙伴关系以及扩大现有举措来加速他们的进步。行动路线与峰会的目标保持一致,变革杠杆探索关键的交叉问题:人权、创新、金融、性别平等和妇女赋权。
  • 食品系统峰会对话 (FSSD)汇集各种利益相关者,包括很少听到的声音,并为参与者提供一个重要的机会来辩论、合作和采取行动以创造更美好的未来。对话在三个层面进行:全球、成员国和独立。
  • 宣传、沟通和动员 吸引主要支持者——包括土著人民、青年、私营部门、民间社会、妇女和生产者——来提高认识、塑造叙事并激发支持可持续发展目标的粮食系统行动。这将包括强大的在线和媒体影响力,以及推动全球运动走向和超越峰会的战略联盟.
  • 强大的数字平台 提供一个可访问的、动态的和包容性的平台来参与峰会进程。它将支持所有工作流中的知识管理,促进不同利益相关者群体的外展、动员和协调,并跟踪支持峰会的贡献和行动。

峰会进程和准备

“人民峰会”和“解决方案峰会”

超过 900 独立对话, 超过 550 次成员国对话, 和 11 次全球对话 被召集。

93 国家途径 9 月 22 日前提交。

超过 2,200 个想法 由广泛的选区提交给 Action Tracks,从而形成了一个包含 59 个解决方案集群的改变游戏规则的解决方案菜单。

谁参与了这个过程?

  • 多于 115,953 粮食系统峰会对话参与者 报道
  • 147位国家召集人.
  • 超过 400 人,包括 200 名政府代表通过行动轨道
  • 超过 9,000 青年.
  • 超过 3,000 名农民、渔民、牧民和其他生产者 来自世界各地的
  • 超过 137 个国家的 3,000 家中小企业
  • 超过 来自 218 个土著人民组织的 1,200 人 参与对话;在代表的土著组织中进行的在线协商500万人
  • 109位领导 在冠军网络中
  • 几乎 6,000 foodsystems.community 成员
  • 来自 188 个国家的 8,847 名食品系统峰会英雄

食品系统峰会进程概览

峰会进程分六个阶段展开,峰会前和峰会是两大里程碑。

1. 2020 年年中至 2021 年 1 月:让利益相关者参与并巩固支持结构

首脑会议进程的早期工作包括组建 行动跟踪组,冠军网络, 和 联合国工作队.的工作 科学小组对话计划 正式开始,广泛的选区参与了所有工作流程。

2. 2021 年 1 月至 3 月:确定关键想法

通过有针对性和广泛的开放参与努力,“第一波” 超过 1200 个想法和提议来自选区团体。 对峰会愿景的提议进行了审议,并整合了各种想法,以确定新出现的机会、差距以及需要在哪些方面更加努力以在 2030 年之前实现可持续发展目标。

3. 2021 年 4 月至 6 月:实施关键思想

通过所有工作流程产生的丰富投入被整合为具体的、基于证据的、有希望的主张,在大规模应用时有可能积极改变粮食系统。所有支持结构和工作流程都致力于以有意义和透明的方式让各个层面的参与者围绕这些新兴想法——从地方到全球以及跨主题和选区——进行互动。一种 第二波 的想法产生浮出水面 956 个额外的命题。

4. 2021 年 7 月:汇聚思想,为峰会前夕而努力

罗马会前 在 18 个月的过程中充当了汇聚点,汇集了所有工作流程的工作,并帮助确定了三个“汇聚领域”,作为未来工作的北极星。这三个领域反映了对 2030 年可持续发展议程的重申:人类、地球和繁荣。此外,作为这种趋同的一部分, 全国对话 开始合并为 国家途径,这是对政府以及不同利益相关者到 2030 年对粮食系统的期望的清晰愿景。

5. 2021 年 7 月至 9 月:建立承诺 峰会

峰会前,该进程的重点集中在两个关键领域,1. 支持会员国参与 进一步阐明其国家途径 和相关承诺,以及 2. 支持建设 倡议 所有利益相关者团体的承诺,以支持加快实现可持续发展目标的行动。同时,根据会前会议成果,并与咨询委员会和利益相关方进一步协商,进一步完善了秘书长的行动声明。

联合国粮食系统峰会将于 9 月 23 日在纽约举行 在联合国大会高级别周期间。峰会将是听取国家元首和政府首脑、区域集团和领导人关于在整个行动十年推进这一议程的承诺的时刻。

6. 2021 年 10 月及以后:峰会后跟进和实施

首脑会议是寻求激励未来十年采取行动的时刻。这项工作将在首脑会议之后继续进行,特别是在国家层面,因为途径得到进一步完善,承诺转化为行动。峰会上发起的多利益相关方倡议将致力于大规模采取系统性行动。行动轨道、变革杠杆和科学小组的工作将过渡到全球和国家层面粮食系统峰会的后续行动和审查。这将得到驻罗马机构(粮农组织、粮食计划署、农发基金)和更广泛的联合国全球系统以及国家级驻地协调员和联合国国家工作队的支持。在首脑会议之后的几个月里,还有几次政府间会议,这将提供一个机会,进一步加深对粮食系统在这些优先议程中的作用的认识。在通往 2030 年的道路上,将确定其他分享经验和评估进展的机会。这可能包括对自 2023 年粮食系统峰会以来取得的进展进行盘点。

峰会成果

  • 秘书长的行动声明 – 一个乐观和鼓舞人心的愿景,其中粮食系统在未来 10 年在建设一个更公平、更可持续的世界方面发挥核心作用。
  • 纲要 其中记录了所有峰会筹备过程。知识产生和成果,由秘书处汇编。
  • 新的和高级的行动、金融和投资 – 改变游戏规则的解决方案和机制,通过多方利益相关者合作,包括通过公共和私人融资来推动它们 国家途径行动领域.
  • 跟进和审查的方法 – 宣布明确的跟进和审查方法,这将推动新的行动和结果,并允许分享经验、教训和知识。
  • 公众参与和交流的巅峰时刻— 通过多个渠道的协调运动和虚拟参与,峰会将吸引全球数百万人参与。

第 1 章 – 粮食系统峰会进程概述

在 18 个月的时间里,在史无前例的大流行中,秘书长的粮食系统峰会让来自世界各地的数十万人参与了一项雄心勃勃的努力,以加快转变粮食系统的行动,以实现2030 年可持续发展议程。

在行动十年的背景下,作为“人民峰会”和“解决方案峰会”,粮食系统峰会一直是全球公众动员和推动各利益相关方做出可行承诺的催化时刻。

第 2 章 – 来自峰会工作流的关键输入

作为峰会进程的一部分,超过 147 个联合国会员国领导了全国对话。他们的成果正在被整合到国家路径中,这些路径清晰地表明了政府以及各利益相关者对 2030 年粮食系统的期望。会员国以及广泛的专家和利益相关者为加快行动提出了 2200 多条建议。 Action Tracks 以系统的方式聚集了这些丰富的输入,以建立实践社区并促进新的伙伴关系。科学小组进行了广泛的咨询,并为支持峰会大部分工作的证据基础做出了有力的贡献。联合国工作队帮助动员了 40 多个重要的全球机构带来知识和专业知识。通过冠军网络、全球粮食系统峰会对话和 900 多次独立对话,世界各地的人们就如何改造粮食系统提出了想法。

第 3 章——会前概述

联合国粮食系统预峰会于 26-28 日举行 2021 年 7 月,在罗马粮农组织和在线出席。 100 多个国家在三天的时间里聚集在一起,讨论他们将如何转变国家粮食系统,以推动到 2030 年实现可持续发展目标的进展。

正式的峰会前计划以四个决定性的“变革杠杆”为特色,包括妇女赋权和人权。

第 4 章 - 峰会

占位符

联合国粮食系统峰会将推出大胆的新行动、解决方案和战略,以在所有 17 项可持续发展目标上取得进展,每一项都在一定程度上依赖于更健康、更可持续和公平的粮食系统。峰会将使世界意识到,我们必须共同努力,改变世界生产、消费和思考食物的方式。

Chapter 1

Overview of the Food Systems Summit Process

THE FOOD SYSTEMS SUMMIT

Over the course of 18 months, and in the midst of an unprecedented pandemic, the Secretary-General’s Food Systems Summit has engaged hundreds of thousands of people from around the world in an ambitious effort to accelerate action to transform food systems to realize the vision of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

In the context of the Decade of Action, as both a “People’s Summit” and a “Solutions Summit”, the Food Systems Summit has been a catalytic moment for global public mobilization and motivating actionable commitments by various stakeholders.

As part of the Summit process, over 147 UN Member States led National Dialogues. Their outcomes are being consolidated into national pathways, which are clear visions of what governments, together with various stakeholders, expect of food systems by 2030. Member States and a wide range of experts and stakeholders have contributed more than 2200 suggestions for accelerated action. The Action Tracks have clustered this rich input in a systemic way to build communities of practice and foster new partnerships. The Scientific Group consulted broadly and made a robust contribution to the evidence base underpinning much of the Summit’s work. The UN Task Force helped to mobilize over 40 key global institutions to bring knowledge and expertise. Through the Champions Network, Global Food Systems Summit Dialogues, and over 900 Independent Dialogues, people around the world have offered ideas on how to transform food systems.

The process has converged around a reaffirmation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, and three core areas: People, Planet and Prosperity:

  • People, “Nourishing Everyone for Health and Wellbeing”: Rising hunger and malnutrition, along with the multiple risks and burden of disease, are the outcomes of our present food systems. The impacts of COVID-19 have dramatically increased the numbers of those who are hungry and malnourished. We need to renew our commitment to end poverty, hunger, and malnutrition in all forms and dimensions and to ensure that all human beings can fulfil their potential in dignity, equality, and in a healthy environment.
  • Planet, “Delivering a Just Transition for a Sustainable World”: Food systems are profoundly contributing to the degradation of the planet. We must keep our promise to protect the planet, including through sustainable consumption and restorative production, sustainably managing its natural resources, and taking urgent action to make our food systems key in overcoming the climate crisis so that it can support the needs of the present and future generations.
  • Prosperity, “Leading an inclusive and equitable recovery from COVID-19”: While representing a tenth of the global economy and supporting the livelihoods of over one billion people, food systems are a focus of inequality. They also hold the potential to be a powerful driver for the recovery. We need to double-down on our determination to ensure that all human beings can enjoy their fundamental human rights and prosperous and fulfilling lives and that economic, social, and technological progress occurs in harmony with nature.

To those engaged in the process, and in light of the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, the vision of the 2030 Agenda is as relevant as ever. The urgency even greater.

SUMMIT OUTCOMES

The UN Food Systems Summit will launch bold new actions, solutions, and strategies to deliver progress on all 17 SDGs, each of which relies to some degree on healthier, more sustainable, and equitable food systems. The Summit will awaken the world to the fact that we all must work together to transform the way the world produces, consumes, and thinks about food. To achieve this, the entire process works towards the following outcomes:

  • Significant action and commitment to action, with measurable outcomes and impact that

enable achievement of the SDGs by 2030. This will include highlighting existing solutions and

celebrating leaders in food systems transformation, as well as calling for new actions worldwide by different actors, including countries, cities, companies, civil society, citizens, and food producers.

  • Dramatically elevated public discourses at community, national, regional, and global levels about the urgency to transform food systems, and that call and empower billions of citizens and youth among the broad public to take concrete actions and to support the necessary individual and institutional behavioural shifts.
  • Significant Member State and multi-stakeholder action that enable measurable progress on the achievement of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. Leadership in food systems transformation will be celebrated, and new actions unlocked with the support of committed coalitions of partners and associated finance worldwide.
  • A system of follow-up and review actions to ensure that the Summit’s outcomes sustain momentum until 2030. It will celebrate progress, identify and address bottlenecks on the basis of best available data and evidence, and allow for the sharing of experiences and cross-fertilization.

Summit Support Structures and Priority Work Streams

The UN Secretary-General put in place several structures to support the Summit process. These are: the Advisory Committee, the Scientific Group, the UN Task Force, the Champions Network, and the Summit Secretariat, led by the Special Envoy Dr. Agnes Kalibata. These structures are explained in detail in the following section.

Additionally, the work of the Summit support structures takes place through the following priority
work streams
:

  • Action Tracks and Levers of Change offer multi-stakeholder constituencies a space to share and learn, with a view to supercharging their progress by fostering new actions and partnerships and by amplifying existing initiatives. The Action Tracks are aligned with the Summit’s objectives and the Levers of Change explore key cross-cutting issues: human rights, innovation, finance, and gender equality and women’s empowerment.
  • Food Systems Summit Dialogues (FSSDs)bring together a diversity of stakeholders, including voices that are seldom heard, and provide an important opportunity for participants to debate, collaborate, and take action towards a better future. Dialogues take place at three levels: global, Member State, and independent.
  • Advocacy, communications, and mobilization engages key constituencies—including Indigenous Peoples, youth, the private sector, civil society, women, and producers—to raise awareness, shape the narrative, and inspire action on food systems in support of the SDGs. This will include a robust online and media presence, as well as strategic coalitions to drive a global movement toward and beyond the Summit.
  • A powerful digital platform provides an accessible, dynamic, and inclusive platform to engage in the Summit process. It will support knowledge management across all work streams, enable outreach, mobilization, and coordination of different stakeholder groups, and track contributions and actions to support the Summit.

THE SUMMIT PROCESS AND PREPARATIONS

“People’s Summit” & “Solutions Summit”

Over 900 Independent Dialogues, over 550 Member State Dialogues, and 11 Global Dialogues were convened.

93 National Pathways submitted by 22 September.

Over 2,200 ideas were submitted to the Action Tracks by a wide range of constituencies resulting into a menu of game-changing solutions grouped in 59 solution clusters.

Who was part of the process?

  • More than 115,953 Food Systems Summit Dialogue participants reported
  • 147 national Convenors.
  • Over 400 people including 200 representatives of governments through the Action Tracks
  • Over 9,000 youth.
  • Over 3,000 farmers, fishers, pastoralists and other producers from around the world
  • Over 3,000 SMEs in 137 countries
  • Over 1,200 people from 218 Indigenous Peoples’organizations participated in dialogues; An online consultation carried out among indigenous organizations represented5 million people
  • 109 leaders in the Champions Network
  • Nearly 6,000 foodsystems.community members
  • 8,847 Food Systems Summit Heroes from 188 countries

OVERVIEW OF THE FOOD SYSTEMS SUMMIT PROCESS

The Summit process unfolds through six periods of work, with the Pre-Summit and Summit as the two major milestones.

1. Mid-2020-January 2021: Engaging Stakeholders & Solidifying Support Structures

The early work of the Summit process included forming the Action Track groups, Champions Network, and UN Task Force. The work of the Scientific Group and Dialogues Programme officially began and a wide range of constituencies were engaged in all work streams.

2. January-March 2021: Identifying Key Ideas

Through both targeted and broad open engagement efforts a ‘first wave’ of more than 1200 ideas and propositions were generated from constituency groups. Propositions were considered against the Summit vision, and ideas were consolidated to identify emerging opportunities, gaps, and where ambition needs to be pressed higher to achieve the SDGs by 2030.

3. April-June 2021: Operationalizing Key Ideas

The rich input generated through all workstreams is consolidated into concrete, evidence-based, and promising propositions with the potential to positively transform food systems when applied at scale. All support structures and workstreams work to meaningfully and transparently engage actors at all levels around these emerging ideas—from local to global and across themes and constituencies. A second wave of idea generation surfaced 956 additional propositions.

4. July 2021: Converging ideas and working towards the Pre-Summit

The Pre-Summit in Rome acted as a convergence point in the 18-month process, bringing together the work of all workstreams and helping to identify three “areas of convergence” to serve as a north star for future work. These three areas reflect a reaffirmation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development: People, Planet, and Prosperity. Additionally, as part of this convergence, the outcomes of National Dialogues begin to be consolidated into national pathways, which are clear visions of what governments, together with different stakeholders, expect of food systems by 2030.

5. July-September 2021: Building commitments at the Summit

Following the Pre-Summit, the focus of the process coalesced around two key areas, 1. Supporting Member States in the further articulation of their national pathways and relevant commitments, and 2. Support the building of initiatives and commitments by all stakeholder groups that support accelerated action on the SDGs. At the same time, the Statement of Action by the Secretary-General was further refined based on the outcomes of the Pre-Summit and further consultation with the Advisory Committee and stakeholders.

The UN Food Systems Summit will be held in New York on 23 September during the UN General Assembly High-level week. The Summit will be a moment to hear from Heads of State and Government, regional groups, and leaders on their commitments to take this agenda forward throughout the Decade of Action.

6. October 2021 and beyond: Post-Summit follow up and implementation

The Summit is one moment that will seek to inspire action over the coming decade. The work will continue well beyond the Summit, particularly at national level as pathways are further refined and commitments translate into action. Multistakeholder initiatives launched at the Summit will work to take systemic action at scale. The work of the Action Tracks, Levers of Change, and Scientific Group will transition to the follow-up and review of the Food Systems Summit at global and country-level. This will be supported by the Rome-Based Agencies (FAO, WFP, IFAD) and the broader UN system at global level and Resident Coordinators and UN Country-teams at country-level. There are also several inter-governmental meetings in the months directly after the Summit which will provide an opportunity further deepen the recognition of the role of food systems in these priority agendas. On the way to 2030, other opportunities for sharing experiences and assessing progress will be identified. This is likely to include a stocktaking of progress since the Food Systems Summit in 2023.

Summit Deliverables

  • Secretary-General’s Statement of Action –an optimistic and encouraging vision in which food systems play a central role in building a fairer, more sustainable world over the coming 10 years.
  • A Compendium which documents all Summit preparatory processes. Knowledge generated and outcomes, compiled by the Secretariat.
  • New and Advanced Actions, Finance, and Investments –game-changing solutions and mechanisms for driving them with public and private finance through multi-stakeholder collaboration, including through National Pathways and Action Areas.
  • Approach to Follow-up and Review – the announcement of a clear approach to follow-up and review that will drive new actions and results, and allow for sharing of experiences, lessons, and knowledge.
  • A pinnacle public engagement and communications moment— with a coordinated campaign and virtual engagement through several channels, the Summit will engage millions of people around the world.

Chapter 1 – Overview of the Food Systems Summit Process

Over the course of 18 months, and in the midst of an unprecedented pandemic, the Secretary-General’s Food Systems Summit has engaged hundreds of thousands of people from around the world in an ambitious effort to accelerate action to transform food systems to realize the vision of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

In the context of the Decade of Action, as both a “People’s Summit” and a “Solutions Summit”, the Food Systems Summit has been a catalytic moment for global public mobilization and motivating actionable commitments by various stakeholders.

Chapter 2 – Key Inputs from Summit Workstreams

As part of the Summit process, over 147 UN Member States led National Dialogues. Their outcomes are being consolidated into national pathways, which are clear visions of what governments, together with various stakeholders, expect of food systems by 2030. Member States and a wide range of experts and stakeholders have contributed more than 2200 suggestions for accelerated action. The Action Tracks have clustered this rich input in a systemic way to build communities of practice and foster new partnerships. The Scientific Group consulted broadly and made a robust contribution to the evidence base underpinning much of the Summit’s work. The UN Task Force helped to mobilize over 40 key global institutions to bring knowledge and expertise. Through the Champions Network, Global Food Systems Summit Dialogues, and over 900 Independent Dialogues, people around the world have offered ideas on how to transform food systems.

Chapter 3 – Overview of the Pre-Summit

UN Food Systems Pre-Summit was held from the 26 – 28th July 2021, at the FAO in Rome and on-line attendance.  More than 100 countries came together over the course of three-days to discuss how they will transform their national food systems to drive progress against the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030.

The official pre-summit programme featured sessions dedicated to four decisive “levers of change”, including women’s empowerment, and human rights.

Chapter 4- Summit

PLACEHOLDER

The UN Food Systems Summit will launch bold new actions, solutions, and strategies to deliver progress on all 17 SDGs, each of which relies to some degree on healthier, more sustainable, and equitable food systems. The Summit will awaken the world to the fact that we all must work together to transform the way the world produces, consumes, and thinks about food.