الفصل 2

المدخلات الرئيسية من مسارات عمل القمة

قمة نظم الغذاء

ملخص

منذ البداية ، سعت قمة النظم الغذائية إلى تنشيط وتسريع رحلتنا الجماعية للقضاء على الجوع وتعزيز التغذية وإنشاء أنظمة غذائية أكثر شمولاً وصحة وحماية صحة كوكبنا. سيتوقف نجاح القمة على إعداد قوي وشامل ومتعدد أصحاب المصلحة يعتمد على أفضل الأدلة والأفكار والالتزامات من جميع أنحاء العالم. يتم الاعتراف بشكل متزايد بحوارات أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين كنهج قيم لإشراك مختلف الجهات الفاعلة واستخدام معارفهم المشتركة لتسليط الضوء على تحديات الأنظمة وحلها.

وعلى هذا النحو ، كانت حوارات قمة النظم الغذائية مكونًا أساسيًا في عملية التحضير للقمة وستظل مصدر قوة يمكن للحكومات الوطنية وجميع الحكومات الأخرى الاستفادة منها في المستقبل. الحوارات هي فرص لمشاركة واسعة من جميع الناس كأصحاب مصلحة في النظم الغذائية. يشجعون على اتباع نهج تعاوني في وقت يوجد فيه العديد من الحوافز للتجزئة. من خلال التقدم في الحوارات ، يمكن لأصحاب المصلحة الاتفاق على كيفية عملهم معًا لإنشاء أنظمة غذائية مستدامة ومنصفة ، ومتوافقة مع أهداف التنمية المستدامة ، ومناسبة لاحتياجات عالمنا في المستقبل وشعبها.

برنامج حوارات FSS بالأرقام

  • أكثر من 100،000 شخص شارك في جميع الحوارات.
  • 11 عالميًا جرت الحوارات.
  • أكثر من 900 حوارات مستقلة
  • أكثر من 550 حوارات الدول الأعضاء
  • 93 المسارات الوطنية تم تقديمها بحلول 22 سبتمبر.

ثلاثة أنواع من حوارات قمة النظم الغذائية

لإشراك أكبر عدد ممكن من أصحاب المصلحة ، يمكن عقد ثلاثة أنواع من حوارات قمة نظم الأغذية:

حوارات الدول الأعضاء

لدعم الدول الأعضاء في تطوير المسارات الوطنية نحو نظم غذائية مستدامة ، تم تشجيع الحكومات على بدء حوارات قمة نظم الغذاء لأصحاب المصلحة المتعددين. للقيام بذلك ، طلب نائب الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة من الدول الأعضاء تعيين منظمي الحوار ليكونوا مسؤولين عن تحديد وتنظيم برنامج حوارات الدول الأعضاء. تتم هذه الحوارات على ثلاث مراحل ، ضمن مختلف الأطر الوطنية الفرعية والوطنية:

  • المرحلة الأولى: بدء المشاركة الوطنية.
    يبادر بإشراك مجموعات أصحاب المصلحة على المستوى الوطني.
  • المرحلة 2: استكشافات واسعة النطاق في كل مكان.
    يشمل الحوارات دون الوطنية (في المدن أو البلدان أو الولايات أو المحافظات أو السلطات القضائية الأخرى).
  • المرحلة 3 التوحيد والنية والالتزام.
    يشكل المسار الوطني للنظم الغذائية المستدامة (بما يتماشى مع خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030). توحيد الالتزامات والإجراءات على المستوى القطري.

لتعزيز عملية حوارات الدول الأعضاء ، تعمل بعض الحكومات أيضًا معًا على عقد حوارات حكومية دولية تقدر وتستكشف جوانب النظم الغذائية التي تمتد خارج حدودها.

حوارات القمة العالمية

الغرض من الحوارات العالمية كانت تهدف إلى جذب الانتباه السياسي إلى النظم الغذائية في الاجتماعات والعمليات المواضيعية والقطاعية رفيعة المستوى والتعبئة لدعم الإجراءات ذات الأولوية التي تتماشى مع تحول النظم الغذائية. عقد حوارات القمة العالمية بالاشتراك مع المبعوث الخاص لمنتدى الأمن الفيدرالي وغطت المجالات التالية: الاستهلاك والإنتاج المستدامان طاقة; ماء; شباب; المحيطات والأنهار والبحيرات (طعام مائي); النظم الغذائية الإيجابية للطبيعة; تمويل; المدن والحكومات المحلية; تجارة; المزارعون والصيادون والرعاة والمنتجون الآخرون؛ و إيمان.

تقرير الحوارات العالمية متاح هنا.

حوارات مستقلة

وهي مدفوعة محليًا وقابلة للتكيف مع السياقات المختلفة ، والتي يعقدها الأفراد أو المنظمات بشكل مستقل عن السلطات الوطنية ولكن مع فرصة للتواصل رسميًا مع عملية القمة من خلال آلية ردود الفعل الرسمية. حوارات مستقلة توفير فرص لجميع المواطنين للمشاركة بشكل مباشر في اقتراح مسارات نحو أنظمة غذائية مستدامة ، واستكشاف طرق جديدة للعمل معًا وتشجيع العمل التعاوني.

عملية الحوار

تعد حوارات قمة النظم الغذائية أحداثًا هادفة ومنظمة حيث تلتقي مجموعة واسعة ومتنوعة من أصحاب المصلحة معًا ويتبادلون خبراتهم في النظم الغذائية ، ويفكرون في كيفية تأثير أدوارهم على أدوار الآخرين ، ويبحثون عن طرق لتحسين أو تحويل النظم الغذائية حتى يتمكنوا من ذلك. هي مناسبة لكل من الناس والكوكب. توفر الحوارات مكانًا شاملاً وداعمًا للنقاش والتعاون وبناء توافق الآراء وصنع الالتزام المشترك. إنهم يشجعون على استكشاف التحديات التي تواجه النظم الغذائية ، ويعكسون موضوعات القمة ، ويتعلمون من منظور الآخرين الذين يشاركون من أجل إحداث التغيير.

تستخدم الحوارات نهج موحد لعقد الحوارات وتنظيمها وتيسيرها. هذا التوحيد يجعل من السهل تجميع نتائج الحوارات والمساهمة في التحضير لقمة نظم الأغذية. ضمن هذا النهج ، يتمتع المنظمون بحرية تأطير الحوارات بالطرق التي يرونها مناسبة.

لكي يتم اعتباره حوار قمة نظم الأغذية ، هناك ثلاثة متطلبات أساسية:

  1. مبادئ الاشتباك. على وجه الخصوص: التعرف على التعقيد ، احتضان شمولية أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين
  2. يتم الإعلان عنه في بوابة الحوارات.
  3. شارك النتائج باستخدام نموذج الملاحظات الرسمي.

يتم إعداد الحوارات وعقدها بحيث ترحب بجميع المشاركين من جميع أنحاء الحكومة والجهات الفاعلة المتنوعة من جميع أنظمة الغذاء وتمكين الجميع من المشاركة بشكل هادف في التبادلات المفتوحة. في نهاية المطاف ، تساهم الحوارات في تشكيل المسارات التي ستؤدي إلى أنظمة غذائية عادلة ومستدامة بحلول عام 2030.

هناك العديد من الموارد المتاحة لدعم منظمي الحوار بما في ذلك بوابة الحوار, تدريبات افتراضية, مجموعات الأدوات, كتيبات مرجعية، وأصول الاتصالات لكليهما مستقل و حوارات الدول الأعضاء. أتيحت المواد المرجعية ، بما في ذلك الملخص التنفيذي لكل تقرير تجميعي ، بجميع اللغات الرسمية للأمم المتحدة.

النتائج وردود الفعل الرسمية من الحوارات

بالإضافة إلى قيمة الحوار للمشاركين فيه ، فإن نتائج الحوارات تساهم في التحضير لقمة نظم الأغذية.

بمجرد عقد الحوار ، يقدم المنظمون نموذج الملاحظات الرسمي إلى بوابة الحوار ، حيث تكون متاحة للجمهور. توفر بوابة الحوارات وصولاً مفتوحًا إلى كافة تعليقات الحوار. إنه مورد مهم لجميع الذين يسعون بنشاط إلى خيارات لتحويل النظم الغذائية المستدامة في العقد المقبل. يتم أيضًا تجميع التعليقات في تقارير تحدد الاتجاهات والموضوعات المشتركة عبر الحوارات. كما أن التوليفات وكذلك استمارات التغذية الراجعة الحوارية الفردية أفادت عمل العملية برمتها.

يتولى فريق دعم حوارات قمة النظم الغذائية إعداد التقرير التجميعي لحوارات الدول الأعضاء. استنادًا إلى نماذج الملاحظات الرسمية المقدمة من المنسقين الوطنيين ، توفر التوليفات تحليلاً للتقدم والاتجاهات عبر البلدان. توليف الحوارات المستقلة من إعداد الشبكة العالمية لتقييم الرخام الأزرق. استنادًا إلى نماذج الملاحظات الرسمية التي قدمها المنظمون المستقلون ، تقدم التوليفات مجموعة إنتاجية وتوضيحية من الموضوعات الناشئة.

جميع التقارير التجميعية متاحة على حد سواء بوابة الحوار و ال وثائق وتقارير قمة النظم الغذائية صفحة.

حوارات في القمة وما بعدها

من خلال حوارات قمة النظم الغذائية ، توفر عملية القمة أيضًا الفرصة للحكومات الوطنية وأصحاب المصلحة من جميع أنحاء العالم للنظر إلى النظم الغذائية بشكل مختلف ، وتحديد الأولويات ، وتشكيل المسارات الاستراتيجية لمستقبل النظم الغذائية ، وتوليد الالتزامات من العديد من أصحاب المصلحة. ونتيجة لذلك ، ستكون إحدى النتائج ذات الأولوية للقمة هي تطوير المسارات الوطنية لتحول النظم الغذائية التي تحدد كيف ستسعى البلدان إلى تحقيق أهداف خطة عام 2030 في سياقها الخاص. لا يوجد نهج واحد يناسب الجميع. ستأخذ هذه المسارات في الاعتبار تعدد القطاعات والمصالح والجماعات المجتمعية التي تشارك في النظم الغذائية وتتأثر بها ، وستتطلب عمل جميع الفئات المستهدفة على جميع المستويات لتقديمها في المستقبل. كما تشهد القمة تطور المسارات الإقليمية لتحول النظم الغذائية التي تتحدث عن مجالات التركيز والأولوية المشتركة عبر العديد من البلدان والمسارات الوطنية أو لا يمكن معالجتها إلا من خلال الجهود المشتركة لهذه البلدان عبر الحدود الوطنية.

لا يزال يتم تشجيع الناس في كل مكان على عقد حوارات مستقلة. سيستمر تحليل نماذج التعليقات الواردة من الحوارات المستقلة وإبلاغ العمل التجميعي المستقبلي بعد القمة. ستكون التقارير متاحة للجمهور أيضًا في قاعدة بيانات قابلة للبحث حيث يمكن أن تكون بمثابة مصدر قيم للبحث حول تصورات تحول النظم الغذائية ، والتحليل الأعمق ، والأطروحات الجامعية ، والأطروحات ، والاستفسارات العلمية ، من بين استخدامات أخرى.

حوارات الدول الأعضاء

التقارير التوليفية

مذكرة إرشادية حول المسارات الوطنية يمكن الاطلاع على المذكرة التوجيهية بشأن المسارات الوطنية هنا.

بوابة المسارات يمكن ايجاده هنا.

حوارات مستقلة

التقارير التوليفية

مشاركة مجموعة الدوائر مع الحوارات المستقلة

المجتمع المدني

تهدف قمة النظم الغذائية إلى أن تكون مساحة شاملة وتشاركية للمجتمع المدني ، وبالتالي ، كان من الأساسي أن ينضم المجتمع المدني بشكل استباقي إلى جدول أعمال القمة ويساهم فيه. شارك المجتمع المدني على جميع مستويات القمة ، بما في ذلك الحوارات على المستويين الإقليمي والقطري.

  • جلسة ما قبل القمة حول تجربة المجتمع المدني في الحوارات المستقلة FSS (ما يقرب من 2000 مشارك افتراضي من المجتمع المدني في ما قبل القمة)

منتجي الغذاء

شارك منتجو الأغذية في عملية القمة لبناء الوعي بالدور الرئيسي للمزارعين والصيادين والرعاة وجميع أنواع منتجي الأغذية في بناء نظم غذائية مستدامة وعادلة ، لتحديد طلب الدعم الرئيسي من المنتجين تجاه أصحاب المصلحة الآخرين وإثبات أهمية الالتزام بتحويل النظم الغذائية.

  • أكثر من 50 حوارًا مستقلًا بقيادة المنتجين (مايو - يوليو 2021) شارك فيها أكثر من 2500 من منتجي الأغذية ؛
  • تم عقد حوار عالمي واحد (متعدد أصحاب المصلحة) وحوار مستقل واحد على نطاق عالمي (منتج فقط) في يوليو 2021 بمشاركة حوالي 500 مزارع.
  • قام تقرير تجميعي خاص "عميق" حول صغار المزارعين وغيرهم من صغار منتجي الأغذية بفحص التعليقات الواردة من الحوارات المستقلة ذات الصلة.

القطاع الخاص

لقد شارك القطاع الخاص طوال عملية القمة لإبراز أدوار ومسؤوليات كل من الشركات متعددة الجنسيات والمؤسسات الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم (SMEs) في تحويل النظم الغذائية على الصعيد العالمي وتوجيه وإثبات الالتزام الرئيسي من قبل الجمهور في التعجيل. تحول النظم الغذائية.

  • تم تنظيم العديد من الحوارات التي تركز على الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة (11 إقليمية و 1 عالمية) لتأمين 945 مساهمًا نشطًا من الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة وتؤدي إلى أجندة الأعمال التجارية الصغيرة أبلغ عن مع توصيات بشأن مشاركة الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة.

شباب

أهداف القمة مع الشباب هي حشد الشباب في جميع أنحاء العالم للتواصل والمشاركة بنشاط في العملية ، لتوفير منصة لرفع أصوات الشباب وأفكارهم ، وتعزيز قيادتهم ، وإنشاء شبكة قوية من المجموعات ذاتية التنظيم لقيادة سبب تحول النظم الغذائية. من خلال الاتصالات مع المؤثرين الشباب والنشطاء والمؤسسات القائمة على الشباب ، وصلت القمة إلى آلاف الشباب الذين شاركوا في عمليات مختلفة كمناقشات حول مسارات العمل والحوارات والمشاورات.

  • ما يقرب من 100 حوار شبابي مستقل نظمها الشباب وواحد حوار الشباب العالمي - غذاء جيد للجميع (مايو 2021) تم تنظيم مشاورة شبابية عبر الإنترنت بقيادة القمة ومنتدى الغذاء العالمي.
  • قام تقرير تجميعي خاص "عميق" حول الشباب بفحص الملاحظات الواردة من الحوارات المستقلة ذات الصلة.

السكان الأصليين

شاركت الشعوب الأصلية في عملية القمة لتسليط الضوء على أهمية معارف السكان الأصليين والممارسات التقليدية والتقنيات المتعلقة بنظم الغذاء للجمهور العالمي وضمان استفادة العالم من هذه المعرفة والحكمة والقيم.

  • تم تنظيم 17 حوارًا مستقلًا في سبع مناطق اجتماعية وثقافية و 3 حوارات عالمية للمنتجين والنساء والشباب من السكان الأصليين ، بمشاركة أكثر من 1200 شخص من 218 منظمة للشعوب الأصلية.

الفصل 1 - نظرة عامة على عملية قمة النظم الغذائية

على مدار 18 شهرًا ، وفي خضم جائحة غير مسبوق ، أشرك مؤتمر قمة النظم الغذائية الذي عقده الأمين العام مئات الآلاف من الأشخاص من جميع أنحاء العالم في جهد طموح لتسريع العمل على تحويل النظم الغذائية لتحقيق رؤية خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030.

في سياق عقد العمل ، بصفته "قمة الناس" و "قمة الحلول" على حد سواء ، كانت قمة نظم الأغذية لحظة تحفيزية للتعبئة العامة العالمية وتحفيز الالتزامات القابلة للتنفيذ من قبل مختلف أصحاب المصلحة.

الفصل 2 - المدخلات الرئيسية من مسارات عمل القمة

كجزء من عملية القمة ، قادت أكثر من 147 دولة عضو في الأمم المتحدة الحوارات الوطنية. يتم توحيد نتائجها في مسارات وطنية ، وهي رؤى واضحة لما تتوقعه الحكومات ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع مختلف أصحاب المصلحة ، من النظم الغذائية بحلول عام 2030. وقد ساهمت الدول الأعضاء ومجموعة واسعة من الخبراء وأصحاب المصلحة بأكثر من 2200 اقتراح للعمل السريع. جمعت مسارات العمل هذه المدخلات الغنية بطريقة منهجية لبناء مجتمعات الممارسة وتعزيز شراكات جديدة. تشاور الفريق العلمي على نطاق واسع وقدم مساهمة قوية في قاعدة الأدلة التي تدعم الكثير من أعمال القمة. ساعد فريق عمل الأمم المتحدة على حشد أكثر من 40 مؤسسة عالمية رئيسية لجلب المعرفة والخبرة. من خلال شبكة الأبطال ، وحوارات القمة العالمية لنظم الغذاء ، وأكثر من 900 حوار مستقل ، قدم الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم أفكارًا حول كيفية تحويل النظم الغذائية.

الفصل 3 - نظرة عامة على ما قبل القمة

انعقدت القمة التمهيدية لقمة نظم الأغذية للأمم المتحدة في الفترة من 26 إلى 28ذ يوليو 2021 ، في منظمة الأغذية والزراعة في روما والحضور عبر الإنترنت. اجتمعت أكثر من 100 دولة على مدار ثلاثة أيام لمناقشة كيفية تغيير نظمها الغذائية الوطنية لدفع التقدم نحو أهداف التنمية المستدامة بحلول عام 2030.

تضمن البرنامج الرسمي السابق للقمة جلسات مخصصة لأربع "روافع للتغيير" الحاسمة ، بما في ذلك تمكين المرأة وحقوق الإنسان.

الفصل 4 - القمة

مساعد

ستطلق قمة الأمم المتحدة للأنظمة الغذائية إجراءات وحلول واستراتيجيات جريئة جديدة لإحراز تقدم في جميع أهداف التنمية المستدامة السبعة عشر ، وكل منها يعتمد إلى حد ما على أنظمة غذائية أكثر صحة واستدامة وإنصافًا. سوف توقظ القمة العالم على حقيقة أنه يجب علينا جميعًا العمل معًا لتغيير الطريقة التي ينتج بها العالم الغذاء ويستهلكه ويفكر فيه.

Chapter 2

Key Inputs from Summit Workstreams

FOOD SYSTEMS SUMMIT DIALOGUES

Summary

From the outset, the Food Systems Summit sought to energize and accelerate our collective journey to eliminate hunger, boost nutrition, create more inclusive and healthier food systems and safeguard the health of our planet. Success of the Summit will hinge on robust, inclusive, and multi-stakeholder preparation which draws on the best evidence, ideas, and commitments from around the world. Multi-stakeholder Dialogues are increasingly recognized as a valuable approach for engaging various actors and using their combined knowledge to highlight and resolve systems challenges.

As such, the Food Systems Summit Dialogues were a core component of the preparations process of the Summit and will remain an asset that national governments and all other can draw on in future. The Dialogues are opportunities for the widespread engagement of all people as stakeholders in food systems. They encourage a collaborative approach at a time when there are many incentives for fragmentation. Through a progression of Dialogues, stakeholders are able to agree on how they will work together to create food systems that are both sustainable and equitable, aligned with the SDGs, and suited to the needs of our future world and her people.

The FSS Dialogues Program by Numbers

  • Over 100,000 people participated in all Dialogues.
  • 11 Global Dialogues took place.
  • Over 900 Independent Dialogues
  • Over 550 Member State Dialogues
  • 93 National Pathways were submitted by 22 September.

Three Types of Food Systems Summit Dialogues

To engage as many stakeholders as possible, three types of Food Systems Summit Dialogues can be convened:

Member State Dialogues

To support Member States in developing national pathways towards sustainable food systems, governments were encouraged to initiate multi-stakeholder Food Systems Summit Dialogues. To do so, the UN Deputy Secretary-General requested that Member States appoint Dialogue Convenors to be responsible for defining and organizing the Member State Dialogues programme. These Dialogues take place in three stages, within different sub-national and national settings:

  • Stage 1: Initiating National Engagement.
    Initiates the engagement of a stakeholder groups at national level.
  • Stage 2: Extensive Explorations Everywhere.
    Includes sub-national Dialogues (in cities, countries, states, prefectorates, or other jurisdictions).
  • Stage 3 Consolidation, Intention and Commitment.
    Shapes the national pathway for sustainable food systems (in line with the 2030 Agenda for sustainable development). Consolidates country level commitments and actions.

To reinforce the Member State Dialogues process, some governments are also working together on convening Inter-governmental Dialogues that appreciate and explore aspects of food systems spanning beyond their borders.

Global Summit Dialogues

The purpose of the Global Dialogues was to bring political attention to food systems in high-level thematic and sectorial meetings and processes and mobilize to support towards priority actions that are aligned with food systems transformation. The Global Summit Dialogues were co-convened by the FSS Special Envoy and have covered the following areas: Sustainable Consumption and Production Energy; Water; Youth; Oceans, Rivers, and Lakes (Aquatic food); Nature-Positive Food Systems; Finance; Cities and Local Governments; Trade; Farmers, Fishers, Pastoralists, and Other Producers; and Faith.

The report on the Global Dialogues is available here.

Independent Dialogues

These are locally driven and adaptable to various contexts, convened by individuals or organizations independently of national authorities but with the opportunity to formally connect into the Summit process through an official feedback mechanism. Independent Dialogues offer opportunities for all citizens to engage directly in proposing pathways towards sustainable food systems, exploring new ways of working together and encouraging collaborative action.

The Dialogue Process

The Food Systems Summit Dialogues are purposeful and organized events where a broad and diverse range of stakeholders come together and share their experiences of food systems, consider how their roles impact on those of others, and seek out ways to improve or transform food systems so they are suitable both for people and planet. The Dialogues provide an inclusive and supportive venue for debate, collaboration, consensus-building, and shared commitment making. They encourage the exploration of challenges faced in food systems, reflection the Summit themes, and learn from the perspective of others who participate in order to make change happen.

The Dialogues use a standardized approach for the convening, curation, and facilitation of Dialogues. This standardization makes it easier to synthesise the outcomes of the Dialogues and contribute to the preparation of the Food Systems Summit. Within this approach, Convenors are free to frame Dialogues in ways they best see fit.

To be considered a Food Systems Summit Dialogue, there are three basic requirements:

  1. The principles of Engagement. In particular: Recognize complexity, Embrace multi-stakeholder inclusivity
  2. Be announced on the Dialogues Gateway.
  3. Share outcomes using the Official Feedback Form.

The Dialogues are prepared and convened so that they welcome all participants from across government and diverse actors from the entirety of food systems and enable everyone to engage purposefully with open exchanges. Ultimately, Dialogues contribute to shaping the pathways, which will lead to equitable and sustainable food systems by 2030.

There are many resources available to support Dialogue Convenors including the Dialogue Gateway, virtual trainings, toolkits, reference manuals, and communication assets for both Independent and Member State Dialogues. Resource materials, including the executive summary of each Synthesis Report, were made available in all official UN languages.

Outcomes and Official Feedback from Dialogues

Beyond the value of a Dialogue to its Participants, the outcomes of Dialogues feed into the preparation of the Food Systems Summit.

Once a Dialogue has been convened, the organizers submit the Official Feedback Form to the Dialogue Gateway, where it is publicly available. The Dialogues Gateway provides open-access to all Dialogue Feedback. It is an important resource for all who are actively pursuing options for the transformation of sustainable food systems in the coming decade. Feedback is also synthesized into reports which identify common trends and themes across the Dialogues. The syntheses as well as individual Dialogue Feedback forms also informed the work of the entire process.

Synthesis for Member State Dialogues is prepared by the Food Systems Summit Dialogues Support Team. Based on the Official Feedback Forms submitted by national Convenors, the syntheses provide an analysis of progressions and trends across countries. Synthesis of Independent Dialogues is prepared by the Blue Marble Evaluation global network. Based on the Official Feedback Forms submitted by Independent Convenors, the syntheses present a generative and illustrative set of emerging themes.

All Synthesis Reports are available both on the Dialogue Gateway and the Food Systems Summit Documents and Reports page.

Dialogues at the Summit and Beyond

Through the Food Systems Summit Dialogues, the Summit process is also providing the opportunity for national governments and stakeholders from around the world to look at food systems differently, to identify priorities, shape strategic pathways for the future of food systems, and to generate commitments from multiple stakeholders. As a result, a priority outcome of the Summit will be the development of National Pathways for Food Systems Transformation that lay out how countries will seek to achieve the goals of the 2030 Agenda in their own context. There is no one-size-fits-all approach. These pathways will take account of the multiplicity of sectors, interests, and societal groups that are involved in, and influenced by, food systems, and it will take the work of all constituencies at all levels to deliver on them going forward. The Summit is also seeing the development of Regional Pathways for Food Systems Transformation that speak to areas of common focus and priority across many countries and national pathways or can only be addressed through the joint effort of these countries across national borders.

People everywhere are still encouraged to convene Independent Dialogues. Feedback forms from Independent Dialogues will continue to be analyzed and inform future synthesis work following the Summit. Reports will also be publicly available in a searchable database where they can serve as a valuable resource for research on perceptions of food systems transformation, deeper analysis, university theses, dissertations, and scholarly inquiries, among other uses.

Member State Dialogues

Synthesis Reports

Guidance Note on National Pathways The guidance note on national pathways can be found here.

Gateway for Pathways can be found here.

Independent Dialogues

Synthesis Reports

Constituency Group engagement with Independent Dialogues

Civil Society

The Food Systems Summit aims to be an inclusive and participatory space for civil society, thus, it has been fundamental that civil society proactively joined and contributed to the Summit agenda. Civil society has engaged at all levels of the Summit, including in Dialogues at both regional and country levels.

  • Pre-Summit session on the civil society experience in the FSS Independent Dialogues (approximately 2,000 civil society virtual participants in the Pre-Summit)

Food Producers

Food producers have been engaged in the Summit process to build awareness about the key role of farmers, fishers, pastoralists, and all types of food producers in building sustainable and equitable food systems, to identify key support request of producers towards other stakeholders and demonstrate key commitment in transforming the food systems.

  • Over 50 producer-led Independent Dialogues (May-July 2021) engaged over 2,500 food producers;
  • One Global Dialogue (multi-stakeholder) and one Independent Dialogue with a global scope (producer-only) took place in July 2021 engaging around 500 farmers.
  • A special ‘deep dive’ synthesis report on smallholder farmers and other small-scale food producers examined feedback from relevant Independent Dialogues.

Private Sector

The private sector has been engaged throughout the Summit process to showcase the roles and the responsibilities of both multi-national corporations and small and medium size enterprises (SMEs) in transforming the food systems globally and to guide and demonstrate key commitment from the constituency in accelerating food systems transformation.

  • Several SME-focused Dialogues organized (11 regional and 1 Global) securing 945 active SME contributors and leading to a Small Business Agenda report with recommendations on SME engagement.

Youth

The Summit engagement with the youth has the objectives of mobilizing young people worldwide to connect and actively participate in the process, of providing a platform to elevate youth voices and ideas, enhancing their leadership, creating a strong network of self-organizing groups to lead the cause for food systems transformation. Through connections with young influencers, activists and youth-based institutions, the Summit has reached thousands of youth engaging them in different processes as discussions around Action Tracks, dialogues and consultations.

  • Nearly 100 Independent Youth Dialogues organized by youth and one Global Youth Dialogue-Good Food for All (May 2021) an online youth consultation, led by the Summit and the World Food Forum organized.
  • A special ‘deep dive’ synthesis report on youth examined feedback from relevant Independent Dialogues.

Indigenous Peoples

Indigenous Peoples have been engaged in the Summit process to highlight the importance of indigenous knowledge, traditional practices and technologies on food systems to a global audience and ensure that the world benefits from this knowledge, wisdom and values.

  • 17 Independent Dialogues organized in the seven socio-cultural regions and 3 global ones for Indigenous producers, women, and youth, with over 1,200 peoples from 218 Indigenous Peoples’ organizations participating.

Chapter 1 – Overview of the Food Systems Summit Process

Over the course of 18 months, and in the midst of an unprecedented pandemic, the Secretary-General’s Food Systems Summit has engaged hundreds of thousands of people from around the world in an ambitious effort to accelerate action to transform food systems to realize the vision of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

In the context of the Decade of Action, as both a “People’s Summit” and a “Solutions Summit”, the Food Systems Summit has been a catalytic moment for global public mobilization and motivating actionable commitments by various stakeholders.

Chapter 2 – Key Inputs from Summit Workstreams

As part of the Summit process, over 147 UN Member States led National Dialogues. Their outcomes are being consolidated into national pathways, which are clear visions of what governments, together with various stakeholders, expect of food systems by 2030. Member States and a wide range of experts and stakeholders have contributed more than 2200 suggestions for accelerated action. The Action Tracks have clustered this rich input in a systemic way to build communities of practice and foster new partnerships. The Scientific Group consulted broadly and made a robust contribution to the evidence base underpinning much of the Summit’s work. The UN Task Force helped to mobilize over 40 key global institutions to bring knowledge and expertise. Through the Champions Network, Global Food Systems Summit Dialogues, and over 900 Independent Dialogues, people around the world have offered ideas on how to transform food systems.

Chapter 3 – Overview of the Pre-Summit

UN Food Systems Pre-Summit was held from the 26 – 28th July 2021, at the FAO in Rome and on-line attendance.  More than 100 countries came together over the course of three-days to discuss how they will transform their national food systems to drive progress against the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030.

The official pre-summit programme featured sessions dedicated to four decisive “levers of change”, including women’s empowerment, and human rights.

Chapter 4- Summit

PLACEHOLDER

The UN Food Systems Summit will launch bold new actions, solutions, and strategies to deliver progress on all 17 SDGs, each of which relies to some degree on healthier, more sustainable, and equitable food systems. The Summit will awaken the world to the fact that we all must work together to transform the way the world produces, consumes, and thinks about food.