الفصل 2

المدخلات الرئيسية من مسارات عمل القمة

مسارات العمل: مجالات العمل والنهج المتبع في المبادرات المتعددة أصحاب المصلحة ، والالتزامات بالعمل

مجموعة أعمال القمة الشاملة

أدى مؤتمر القمة إلى ظهور مجموعة العمل التالية التي يمكن أن تستمر في السنوات المقبلة لدفع التقدم المستمر في جدول أعمال النظم الغذائية:

حافظة أعمال قمة النظم الغذائية

يؤدي كل جزء من حافظة أعمال القمة دورًا خاصًا في تسريع العمل وتحقيق النتائج في خطة عام 2030 ، لا سيما على المستوى القطري.

ال بيان عمل الأمين العام سيضع رؤية متفائلة ومشجعة تلعب فيها النظم الغذائية دورًا رئيسيًا في تحقيق رؤية خطة عام 2030 وفي خدمة بناء عالم أكثر عدلاً واستدامة. سيشجع هذا البيان وطموحاته الخاصة بالنظم الغذائية العمل في وقت انعقاد القمة ، وكذلك في السنوات المقبلة حيث تواصل الدول الأعضاء والجهات المعنية اتخاذ إجراءات تتماشى مع جدول الأعمال هذا.

في ظل تأثيرات جائحة COVID-19 ، أكدت عملية مشاركة الدول الأعضاء وأصحاب المصلحة في القمة أن رؤية خطة عام 2030 وثيقة الصلة كما كانت دائمًا. تم تحديد ثلاثة مجالات أساسية للتقارب للمساعدة في توجيه العمل: الناس والكوكب والازدهار. تعكس هذه المجالات الثلاثة النتائج الناشئة للحوارات الوطنية في 147 دولة والحوارات الإقليمية في جميع أنحاء العالم. لقد عكست العملية حتى الآن اتفاقًا على أنه في حين أن السياق المحلي والنهج ووجهات النظر قد تختلف ، يمكن ويجب أن تتحول النظم الغذائية من أجل تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة (SDGs).

من خلال حوارات قمة النظم الغذائية الوطنية هذه ، توفر العملية أيضًا الفرصة للحكومات الوطنية وأصحاب المصلحة للنظر إلى الغذاء كنظام ، وتحديد الأولويات وتشكيل المسارات الاستراتيجية لمستقبل الغذاء ، وتوليد التزامات من أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين. ونتيجة لذلك ، ستكون إحدى النتائج ذات الأولوية للقمة هي تطوير المسارات الوطنية لتحول النظم الغذائية هي رؤى واضحة لما تتوقعه الحكومات ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع مختلف أصحاب المصلحة ، من النظم الغذائية بحلول عام 2030. المسارات الوطنية هي فرصة للدول الأعضاء لتوضيح الكيفية التي ستسعى بها لتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة في سياقها المحدد حيث لا يوجد نهج واحد يناسب الجميع. ستأخذ هذه المسارات في الاعتبار تعدد القطاعات والمصالح وجميع الفئات المجتمعية التي تشارك في النظم الغذائية وتتأثر بها ، وستتطلب عمل جميع الفئات المستهدفة على جميع المستويات لتقديم أنظمة غذائية عادلة وشاملة ومستدامة .

كما تشهد القمة تطور المسارات الإقليمية لتحول النظم الغذائية التي تتحدث عن مجالات التركيز والأولوية المشتركة عبر العديد من البلدان والمسارات الوطنية أو لا يمكن معالجتها إلا من خلال الجهود المشتركة لهذه البلدان عبر الحدود الوطنية.

في الوقت نفسه ، تعمل عملية قمة النظم الغذائية على تعبئة المجتمع العالمي بطرق جديدة لدعم الدول الأعضاء في جهودها الرامية إلى متابعة الحلول المنهجية والتحويلية لتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة من خلال النظم الغذائية. من خلال عملية القمة ، ظهرت أكثر من 2200 فكرة للعمل السريع من الخبراء وأصحاب المصلحة ، والتي تم تجميعها في قائمة تضم 52 مجموعة حلول لتنظر فيها البلدان والجهات الفاعلة الأخرى استجابة لسياقها وأولوياتها الخاصة. ظهرت هذه الأفكار من خلال العمل الجماعي للمجموعة العلمية ومسارات العمل ودوافع التغيير وحوارات النظم الغذائية العالمية والمستقلة وشبكة الأبطال وفرقة عمل الأمم المتحدة. نتيجة لذلك ، هناك ثروة من المعرفة والخبرة والموارد (المالية والبشرية والتقنية ، إلخ ...) والقدرة في المجتمع العالمي على استعداد للتواصل مع المسارات الوطنية والإقليمية في خدمة جميع الناس وكوكبنا والازدهار المشترك.

مجالات العمل

من أجل الاستفادة بشكل أفضل من كل هذه الأفكار والاستعداد للعمل على مختلف المستويات ، برزت خمسة مجالات عمل من خلال العملية كمجالات أولية لتسريع العمل من أجل تنفيذ خطة عام 2030 من خلال النظم الغذائية. وستساعد مجالات العمل هذه في دعم بيان عمل الأمين العام ، وهي فرصة للربط الاستراتيجي بين أساليب الدعم الجديدة وأولويات البلد.

ستساعد مجالات العمل هذه في تنظيم وتوجيه طاقة ثروة المبادرات والموارد والالتزامات الناشئة عن عملية القمة نحو تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة:

  1. تغذي كل الناس

    (يمكن أن يساعد مجال العمل هذا البلدان على التواصل مع التحالفات والمبادرات والموارد حول 1. القضاء على الجوع ، 2. النظم الغذائية الصحية من النظم الغذائية المستدامة ، 3. الوجبات المدرسية العالمية ، 4. الغذاء لا يهدر أبدًا ، ضد التحالف الغذائي ، 6 . صحة واحدة وما بعدها)

  1. تعزيز حلول الإنتاج القائمة على الطبيعة

    (يمكن أن يساعد مجال العمل هذا البلدان على التواصل مع التحالفات والمبادرات والموارد حول 1. الإيكولوجيا الزراعية والزراعة المتجددة ، ثانيًا. الأغذية الزرقاء والمائية ، ثالثًا ، الثروة الحيوانية المستدامة ، رابعًا ، أهداف المناخ من أجل المناخ ، ضد مركز التربة العالمي ، السادس. الجهود المبذولة لوقف وعكس فقدان التنوع البيولوجي وما بعده)

  1. تعزيز سبل العيش العادلة والعمل اللائق والمجتمعات المُمَكَّنة

    (يمكن أن يساعد مجال العمل هذا البلدان على التواصل مع التحالفات والمبادرات والموارد حول 1. العمل اللائق و معيشة الدخل ، ثانيا. وظائف أكثر وأفضل للشباب ، ثالثا. جعل النظم الغذائية تعمل لصالح النساء والفتيات ، رابعا. النظم الغذائية للشعوب الأصلية وما بعدها)

  1. بناء المرونة في مواجهة نقاط الضعف والصدمات والضغوط

    (يمكن أن يساعد مجال العمل هذا البلدان على التواصل مع التحالفات والمبادرات والموارد حول: 1. سلاسل الإمداد الغذائي المحلية ، 2. مسارات التنمية المرنة للمناخ ، 3. العلاقة بين العمل الإنساني والتنمية والسلام (HDP) ، 4. شبكات الأمان ، وما بعدها )

  1. وسائل الدعم للتنفيذ

    (يمكن أن يساعد مجال العمل هذا البلدان على التواصل مع التحالفات والمبادرات والموارد حول 1. التمويل ، 2. الحوكمة ، 3. العلم والمعرفة (مثل القيمة الحقيقية للأغذية ؛ أنظمة الأغذية الأصلية) ، 4. الابتكار والتكنولوجيا والبيانات ، v. القدرات ، ضد حقوق الإنسان ، وما بعدها)

 منطقة العملأولوية أهداف التنمية المستدامة
1تغذي كل الناس أهداف التنمية المستدامة 1 ، 2 ، 3 ، 4 ، 5 ، 6 ، 8 ، 10 ، 12 ، 13 ، 14 ، 15 ، 17
2تعزيز حلول الإنتاج القائمة على الطبيعة أهداف التنمية المستدامة 2 و 6 و 7 و 8 و 9 و 13 و 14 و 15 و 17
3النهوض بسبل العيش العادلة والعمل اللائق والمجتمعات المُمَكَّنةأهداف التنمية المستدامة 1 و 2 و 5 و 8 و 9 و 10 و 11 و 16 و 17
4بناء المرونة في مواجهة نقاط الضعف والصدمات والضغوطأهداف التنمية المستدامة 1 ، 2 ، 3 ، 5 ، 9 ، 13 ، 14 ، 15 ، 16 ، 17
5وسائل التنفيذ (المالية ، الحوكمة ، العلم والمعرفة ، الابتكار والتكنولوجيا والبيانات ، القدرات ، حقوق الإنسان)جميع أهداف التنمية المستدامة

هؤلاء خمسة مجالات عمل تمثل معًا نهجًا منهجيًا لتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة من خلال النظم الغذائية وتأخذ في الاعتبار الموضوعات الثمانية الناشئة من القمة السابقة للقمة في يوليو. وقد تم تنقيحها لتأخذ في الاعتبار ردود الفعل الاستراتيجية الواردة من اللجنة الاستشارية للقمة ، فضلاً عن العديد من الدول الأعضاء وأصحاب المصلحة. عبر 193 دولة عضوًا وجميع المناطق ، هناك مساحة كبيرة وحاجة جميع أصحاب المصلحة للالتقاء حول خطة عام 2030. يقر هذا النهج بأن جهودنا يجب أن تستجيب لأولويات الدولة ، مع تسهيل تأثير الأنظمة على نطاق واسع ، بما في ذلك من خلال مبادرات أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين ، على المستويات المحلية والوطنية والعالمية. في الوقت نفسه ، عندما يتم جمعها معًا ، يمكن لمجالات العمل هذه إظهار الشكل الذي يبدو عليه العمل المنهجي والمتكامل ، على النحو المتصور في خطة عام 2030. لكي تكون فعالة في السياقات الوطنية ، يجب أن ترتكز الإجراءات ذات الأولوية على العلم والأدلة والمعرفة التي ظهرت في عملية القمة.

دور مجالات العمل

 تخدم مجالات العمل عدة أغراض لمواصلة النهوض بجدول أعمال النظم الغذائية:

  1. الشبكات المحلية إلى العالمية - يمكن أن تكون بمثابة قناة للربط بين المجتمعات المحلية والوطنية والعالمية والمجتمعات والبلدان والجماهير حول الأولويات القصوى.
  2. تعزيز التوافق والتماسك - يمكن أن توفر آلية لمزيد من المواءمة والاتساق للجهود ، والحد من تشتت الجهود والاستثمار.
  3. تحفيز الاستثمار المنسق والعمل الجماعي - يمكن أن تحفز الاستثمارات المنسقة على رأس الأولويات على المستوى القطري وفي المنافع العامة الإقليمية والعالمية.
  4. حشد الموارد - يمكن أن تساعد في إعادة توظيف الأموال الموجودة أو حشد الأموال والشراكات الجديدة للأولويات العليا.
  5. حشد الطاقة والإرادة السياسية - يمكنهم جذب الانتباه إلى الأولويات القصوى والحفاظ عليه وتعبئة أصوات مختلف الجهات الفاعلة لتوليد الإرادة السياسية المطلوبة واللاعبين على الطاولة. 6. نقل الدروس وأفضل الممارسات والقدرات - يمكن أن تسهل نقل المعرفة والقدرات على رأس الأولويات لتسريع العمل والتأثير.

تمكّن مجالات العمل الأمم المتحدة من إبراز ودعم الطلب القطري حول أولويات التسليم سيواصل المنسقون المقيمون للأمم المتحدة وفرق الأمم المتحدة القطرية العمل مع البلدان حول حواراتها الوطنية والمسارات الوطنية لتحويل النظم الغذائية من خلال الهياكل الأكثر ملاءمة في على مستوى الدولة. مع تحديد الثغرات والاحتياجات في هذه المجالات ، سيكون المنسقون المقيمون وأفرقة الأمم المتحدة القطرية قادرة على ربط البلدان بمجموعة من الخبرات والقدرات والموارد في منظومة الأمم المتحدة ، أو مبادرات وتحالفات أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين ، أو مؤسسات الخبراء. 

الخطوات التالية في تسريع العمل على القمة

ومع اقترابنا من القمة ، سيحتاج جميع الفاعلين بالتالي إلى مواصلة تعميق وتسريع جهودهم لتحويل النظم الغذائية.  

  • الدول الأعضاء يتم تشجيعهم على مواصلة حواراتهم وصقل المسارات الوطنية ، وكذلك توضيح المكان الذي سينضمون إليه في قضية مشتركة مع الدول الأعضاء الأخرى والجهات الفاعلة من غير الدول في تحقيق الأولويات في خطة عام 2030 على المستوى الإقليمي و / أو العالمي. .
  • الدول الأعضاء وقادة الدوائر الأخرى المشاركة في تحالفات أصحاب المصلحة المتعددين و / أو المبادرات مدعوة لمواصلة تعزيز (1) كيف تبني جهودهم على الطلب على المستوى القطري والواقع التشغيلي الحالي على المستوى القطري ، (2) كيف وأين سيهبطون في البلدان ، (3) كيف لتحقيق تأثير مستدام على نطاق واسع لدعم خطة عام 2030 ، و (4) كيف تكون شاملاً ، و (5) كيفية معالجة فجوات القدرات.
  • جميع التحالفات / المبادرات الناشئة من خلال العملية يجب أن تنظر في كيفية إشراكها وترقيتها إلى الفئات المستهدفة ذات الأولوية ، ولا سيما النساء والشعوب الأصلية والشباب ومنتجي الأغذية والعاملين في مجال الأغذية. يجب إدراج هذه المجموعات ومراعاتها في جميع الإجراءات ، وينبغي اتخاذ تدابير خاصة للتصدي للتحديات المنهجية التي تواجه هذه الفئات المعينة ، لا سيما من خلال نهج قائم على حقوق الإنسان.

أدت عملية القمة إلى ظهور العديد من التحالفات / المبادرات متعددة أصحاب المصلحة التي ستكون الجهات الفاعلة على استعداد للالتزام بها بحلول وقت انعقاد القمة من أجل التوافق مع تحقيق المسارات الوطنية ، وسيكون من الأولويات التسجيل والاعتراف بأكبر عدد ممكن. قدر الإمكان خلال لحظة القمة في 23 سبتمبر. لذلك ، فإن القمة في طور تطوير سجل التزام عبر الإنترنت في foodystems.com مجتمع التوجّه إلى القمة وخلالها ، حيث سيتمكن جميع الفاعلين من تسجيل التزاماتهم الجماعية أو الفردية بالعمل ، لا سيما بما يتماشى مع أي من مكونات مجالات عمل القمة.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، فإن القمة ليست نقطة نهاية ، بل هي بالأحرى علامة فارقة مبكرة في تسريع العمل المركز على النظم الغذائية طوال عقد العمل. وبالتالي ، سيستمر تحسين الجهود الوليدة الأخرى خلال الأشهر والسنوات المقبلة ويمكن إضافتها إلى جدول الأعمال هذا كأولويات في المستقبل.

لهذا السبب ، فإن ستكون الخلاصة نتيجة للقاعدة المعرفية للقمة، والتي ستسعى إلى توثيق النطاق الكامل المتنوع للمدخلات المتلقاة خلال العملية. سيضمن ذلك عدم فقد أو تجاهل أي أفكار جيدة مثبتة في الأدلة ، ولكن يتم ملاحظة العمل المستمر ويمكن الاستفادة منها بمرور الوقت.

سيستمر المبعوث الخاص والأمانة العامة في الترحيب بالتعليقات لتحسين هذا النهج وتعزيزه ، حتى عندما يوفر إطارًا لجميع الدول الأعضاء والجهات الفاعلة لاستخدام الأسابيع الأخيرة التي تسبق القمة على أفضل وجه لتسريع التزاماتها بالعمل.

مع بقاء 9 سنوات فقط لتحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة ، يجب علينا الحفاظ على الطاقة التي أوجدتها قمة النظم الغذائية والبناء عليها. يجب تعزيزه واستخدامه كوقود لتحقيق مزيد من التقدم ، حيث إننا نستفيد بشكل جماعي من قوة الأنظمة الغذائية للتعافي من COVID-19 والعودة إلى المسار الصحيح لتحقيق خطة عام 2030.

الفصل 1 - نظرة عامة على عملية قمة النظم الغذائية

على مدار 18 شهرًا ، وفي خضم جائحة غير مسبوق ، أشرك مؤتمر قمة النظم الغذائية الذي عقده الأمين العام مئات الآلاف من الأشخاص من جميع أنحاء العالم في جهد طموح لتسريع العمل على تحويل النظم الغذائية لتحقيق رؤية خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030.

في سياق عقد العمل ، بصفته "قمة الناس" و "قمة الحلول" على حد سواء ، كانت قمة نظم الأغذية لحظة تحفيزية للتعبئة العامة العالمية وتحفيز الالتزامات القابلة للتنفيذ من قبل مختلف أصحاب المصلحة.

الفصل 2 - المدخلات الرئيسية من مسارات عمل القمة

كجزء من عملية القمة ، قادت أكثر من 147 دولة عضو في الأمم المتحدة الحوارات الوطنية. يتم توحيد نتائجها في مسارات وطنية ، وهي رؤى واضحة لما تتوقعه الحكومات ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع مختلف أصحاب المصلحة ، من النظم الغذائية بحلول عام 2030. وقد ساهمت الدول الأعضاء ومجموعة واسعة من الخبراء وأصحاب المصلحة بأكثر من 2200 اقتراح للعمل السريع. جمعت مسارات العمل هذه المدخلات الغنية بطريقة منهجية لبناء مجتمعات الممارسة وتعزيز شراكات جديدة. تشاور الفريق العلمي على نطاق واسع وقدم مساهمة قوية في قاعدة الأدلة التي تدعم الكثير من أعمال القمة. ساعد فريق عمل الأمم المتحدة على حشد أكثر من 40 مؤسسة عالمية رئيسية لجلب المعرفة والخبرة. من خلال شبكة الأبطال ، وحوارات القمة العالمية لنظم الغذاء ، وأكثر من 900 حوار مستقل ، قدم الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم أفكارًا حول كيفية تحويل النظم الغذائية.

الفصل 3 - نظرة عامة على ما قبل القمة

انعقدت القمة التمهيدية لقمة نظم الأغذية للأمم المتحدة في الفترة من 26 إلى 28ذ يوليو 2021 ، في منظمة الأغذية والزراعة في روما والحضور عبر الإنترنت. اجتمعت أكثر من 100 دولة على مدار ثلاثة أيام لمناقشة كيفية تغيير نظمها الغذائية الوطنية لدفع التقدم نحو أهداف التنمية المستدامة بحلول عام 2030.

تضمن البرنامج الرسمي السابق للقمة جلسات مخصصة لأربع "روافع للتغيير" الحاسمة ، بما في ذلك تمكين المرأة وحقوق الإنسان.

الفصل 4 - القمة

مساعد

ستطلق قمة الأمم المتحدة للأنظمة الغذائية إجراءات وحلول واستراتيجيات جريئة جديدة لإحراز تقدم في جميع أهداف التنمية المستدامة السبعة عشر ، وكل منها يعتمد إلى حد ما على أنظمة غذائية أكثر صحة واستدامة وإنصافًا. سوف توقظ القمة العالم على حقيقة أنه يجب علينا جميعًا العمل معًا لتغيير الطريقة التي ينتج بها العالم الغذاء ويستهلكه ويفكر فيه.

Chapter 2

Key Inputs from Summit Workstreams

ACTION TRACKS: AREAS OF ACTION AND APPROACH TO MULTI-STAKEHOLDER INITIATIVES, AND COMMITMENTS TO ACTION

Overall Summit Portfolio of Actions

The Summit is giving rise to the following Portfolio of Action that can continue on in the years ahead to drive continuous progress on the food systems agenda:

The Food Systems Summit’s Portfolio of Action

Each of the pieces of the Summit’s Portfolio of Action serves a particular role in accelerating action and delivering results on the 2030 Agenda, particularly at country level.

The Secretary-General’s Statement of Action will set an optimistic and encouraging vision in which food systems play a central role in realizing the vision of the 2030 Agenda and in service of building a fairer, more sustainable world. This Statement and its ambitions for food systems will encourage action at the time of the Summit, as well as into the years ahead as Member States and constituencies continue to take action aligned with this agenda.

In the shadow of the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, the process of engagement by Member States and stakeholders in the Summit has reaffirmed that the vision of the 2030 Agenda is as relevant as ever. Three essential areas of convergence were identified to help guide action: People, Planet and Prosperity. These three areas reflect the emerging outcomes of National Dialogues in 147 countries and Regional Dialogues in all parts of the world. The process has so far reflected an agreement that while local context, approaches and perspectives may differ, food systems can and must transform in order to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Through these National Food Systems Summit Dialogues, the process is also providing the opportunity for national governments and stakeholders to look at food as a system, to identify priorities and shape strategic pathways for the future of food, and to generate commitments from multiple stakeholders. As a result, a priority outcome of the Summit will be the development of National Pathways for Food Systems Transformation that are clear visions of what governments, together with different stakeholders, expect of food systems by 2030. National Pathways are an opportunity for Member States to articulate how they will seek to achieve the SDGs in their specific context as there is no one-size-fits-all approach. These pathways will take account of the multiplicity of sectors, interests, and all societal groups that are involved in, and influenced by, food systems, and it will take the work of all constituencies at all levels to deliver fair, inclusive and sustainable food systems.

The Summit is also seeing the development of Regional Pathways for Food Systems Transformation that speak to areas of common focus and priority across many countries and national pathways or can only be addressed through the joint effort of these countries across national borders.

At the same time, the Food Systems Summit process is mobilizing the global community in new ways to support Member States in their efforts to pursue systemic and transformative solutions to achieve the SDGs through food systems. Through the Summit process, more than 2,200 ideas for accelerated action have surfaced from experts and stakeholders, which have been clustered into a menu of 52 solution clusters for consideration by countries and other actors in response to their own particular context and priorities. These ideas emerged through the collective work of the Scientific Group, Action Tracks, Levers of Change, Global and Independent Food Systems Dialogues, Champions Network, and UN Task Force. As a result, there is a wealth of knowledge, expertise, resources (financial, human, technical, etc…) and capacity in the global community ready to connect with national and regional pathways in service of all People, our Planet and shared Prosperity.

Action Areas

In order to best leverage all of these ideas and the readiness for action at various levels, five action areas have emerged through the process as the primary areas to accelerate action in order to deliver on the 2030 Agenda through food systems. These action areas will help underpin the Secretary-General’s Statement of Action and are an opportunity to strategically link new methods of support to country priorities.

These Action Areas will help to organize and direct the energy of the wealth of initiatives, resources, and commitments emerging from the Summit process towards SDG achievement:

  1. Nourish All People

    (This Action Area could help countries connect to coalitions, initiatives, and resources around i. Zero Hunger, ii. Healthy Diets from Sustainable Food Systems, iii. Universal School Meals, iv. Food Is Never Waste, v. The Food Coalition, vi. One Health, and beyond)

  1. Boost Nature-Based Solutions of Production

    (This Action Area could help countries connect to coalitions, initiatives, and resources around i. Agroecology and Regenerative Agriculture, ii. Blue & Aquatic Foods, iii. Sustainable Livestock, iv.  AIMs for Climate, v. a Global Soil Hub, vi. Efforts to Stop and Reverse Biodiversity Loss, and beyond)

  1. Advance Equitable Livelihoods, Decent Work, & Empowered Communities

    (This Action Area could help countries connect to coalitions, initiatives, and resources around i. Decent Work and Living Incomes, ii. More and Better Jobs for Youth, iii. Making Food Systems Work for Women and Girls, iv. Indigenous Peoples Food Systems, and beyond)

  1. Build Resilience to Vulnerabilities, Shocks, and Stresses

    (This Action Area could help countries connect to coalitions, initiatives, and resources around i. Local Food Supply Chains, ii. Climate resilient development pathways, iii. The Humanitarian-Development-Peace (HDP) Nexus, iv. Safety nets, and beyond)

  1. Support Means of Implementation

    (This Action Area could help countries connect to coalitions, initiatives, and resources around i. Finance, ii. Governance, iii. Science and Knowledge (e.g. True Value of Food; Indigenous Food Systems), iv. Innovation, Technology, & Data, v. Capacity, v. Human Rights, and beyond)

 Action AreaPriority SDGs
1Nourish All People SDG 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17
2Boost Nature-Based Solutions  of Production SDG 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 13, 14, 15, 17
3Advance Equitable Livelihoods, Decent Work, and Empowered CommunitiesSDG 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 16, 17
4Build Resilience to Vulnerabilities, Shocks, and StressesSDG 1, 2, 3, 5, 9, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17
5Means of Implementation (Finance; Governance; Science and Knowledge; Innovation, Technology, & Data; Capacity; Human Rights)All SDGs

These five Action Areas together represent a systemic approach to the fulfillment of the SDGs through food systems and take into account the eight emerging themes from the Pre-Summit in July. They have been refined to account for strategic feedback received from the Summit’s Advisory Committee, as well as many Member States and stakeholders. Across 193 Member States and all regions, there is significant space and need for all stakeholders to come together around the 2030 Agenda. This approach recognizes that our efforts must be responsive to country priorities, while facilitating systems impact at scale, including through multi-stakeholder initiatives, at local, national, and global levels. At the same time, when taken together, these Action Areas can demonstrate what systemic, integrated action, as envisioned in the 2030 Agenda, looks like. To be effective in national contexts, priority actions need to be anchored in the science, evidence, and knowledge that has emerged in the Summit process.

The Role of Action Areas

 Action Areas serve a few purposes in continuing to advance the food systems agenda:

  1. Networking local to global – They can serve as a conduit to stitch together local, national, and global, communities, countries, and constituencies around top priorities.
  2. Fostering alignment and coherence – They can provide a mechanism for greater alignment and coherence of efforts, reducing fragmentation of effort and investment.
  3. Catalyzing coordinated investment and collective action – They can catalyze coordinated investments on top priorities at country level and in regional and global public goods.
  4. Mobilize resources – They can help to repurpose existing funds or galvanize new funds and partnerships to top priorities.
  5. Mobilize energy and political will – They can draw and maintain attention to top priorities and mobilize the voice of various actors to generate the required political will and players at the table. 6. Transferring lessons, best practices, and capacities – They can facilitate the transfer of knowledge and capacities on top priorities to accelerate action and impact.

Action Areas enable the UN to surface and support country demand around delivery priorities UN Resident Coordinators (RCs) and UN Country Teams (UNCTs) will continue to work with countries around their national dialogues and national pathways for food systems transformation through the most appropriate structures at country-level. As gaps and needs are identified in these areas, the RCs and UNCTs will be able connect countries with a range of expertise, capacity, and resources in the UN system, multistakeholder initiatives and coalitions, or expert institutions. 

Next Steps in Accelerating Action to the Summit

As we approach the Summit, all actors will therefore need to continue to deepen and accelerate their efforts for food systems transformation.  

  • Member States are encouraged to continue their dialogues and refinement of national pathways, as well as be clear on where they will join in common cause with other Member States and non-state actors in delivering on priorities in the 2030 Agenda at a regional and/or global level.
  • Member States and other constituency leaders involved in multi-stakeholder coalitions and or initiatives are encouraged to continue strengthening (i) how their efforts build on country-level demand and existing country-level operational realities, (ii) how and where they will land in countries, (iii) how to achieve sustainable impact at scale in support of the 2030 Agenda, (iv) how to be inclusive, and (v) how to address capacity gaps.
  • All coalitions/initiatives emerging through the process must look at how they include and elevate priority constituencies, particularly women, Indigenous Peoples, youth, and food producers and food workers. These groups should be included and accounted for in all actions, and special measures should be taken to address systemic challenges that face these particular constituencies, particularly through a human rights-based approach.

The Summit process has given rise to several multi-stakeholder coalitions/initiatives that actors will be ready to commit to by the time of the Summit in order to align behind delivering on national pathways, and it will be a priority to register and recognize as many of these as possible through the Summit moment on 23 September. The Summit is therefore in the process of developing an online commitment register in the foodsystems.community heading into and during the Summit, where all actors will be able to register their collective or individual commitments to action, particularly in alignment with any of the components of the Summit’s action areas.

At the same time, the Summit is not an endpoint, but rather an early milestone in accelerating focused action on food systems throughout the Decade of Action. Other more nascent efforts will therefore continue to be refined over the months and years ahead and can be added into this agenda as priorities in the future.

For this reason, the Compendium will be an outcome at the knowledge base of the Summit, which will seek to document the full diverse range of inputs received throughout the process. This will ensure that no good ideas anchored in evidence are lost or discarded, but are noted for continued work and can be drawn on over time.

The Special Envoy and Secretariat will continue to welcome feedback to refine and strengthen this approach, even as it provides a framework for all Member States and actors to best use the final weeks leading up to the Summit to accelerate their commitments to action.

With only 9 years left to achieve the SDGs, we must maintain and build on the energy created by the Food Systems Summit. It must be consolidated and used as fuel for further progress, as we collectively leverage the power of food systems to recover from COVID-19 and get back on track to achieve the 2030 Agenda.

Chapter 1 – Overview of the Food Systems Summit Process

Over the course of 18 months, and in the midst of an unprecedented pandemic, the Secretary-General’s Food Systems Summit has engaged hundreds of thousands of people from around the world in an ambitious effort to accelerate action to transform food systems to realize the vision of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

In the context of the Decade of Action, as both a “People’s Summit” and a “Solutions Summit”, the Food Systems Summit has been a catalytic moment for global public mobilization and motivating actionable commitments by various stakeholders.

Chapter 2 – Key Inputs from Summit Workstreams

As part of the Summit process, over 147 UN Member States led National Dialogues. Their outcomes are being consolidated into national pathways, which are clear visions of what governments, together with various stakeholders, expect of food systems by 2030. Member States and a wide range of experts and stakeholders have contributed more than 2200 suggestions for accelerated action. The Action Tracks have clustered this rich input in a systemic way to build communities of practice and foster new partnerships. The Scientific Group consulted broadly and made a robust contribution to the evidence base underpinning much of the Summit’s work. The UN Task Force helped to mobilize over 40 key global institutions to bring knowledge and expertise. Through the Champions Network, Global Food Systems Summit Dialogues, and over 900 Independent Dialogues, people around the world have offered ideas on how to transform food systems.

Chapter 3 – Overview of the Pre-Summit

UN Food Systems Pre-Summit was held from the 26 – 28th July 2021, at the FAO in Rome and on-line attendance.  More than 100 countries came together over the course of three-days to discuss how they will transform their national food systems to drive progress against the Sustainable Development Goals by 2030.

The official pre-summit programme featured sessions dedicated to four decisive “levers of change”, including women’s empowerment, and human rights.

Chapter 4- Summit

PLACEHOLDER

The UN Food Systems Summit will launch bold new actions, solutions, and strategies to deliver progress on all 17 SDGs, each of which relies to some degree on healthier, more sustainable, and equitable food systems. The Summit will awaken the world to the fact that we all must work together to transform the way the world produces, consumes, and thinks about food.