AT-4

解决方案集群 4.2.4

确保所有农业食品系统工人的社会保护权并提高生活收入和工资

解决方案集群 4.2.4 确保所有农业食品系统工人的社会保护权并提高生活收入和工资 促进扩大社会保护,包括缴费和非缴费计划,作为一项基本权利,并侧重于加速逐步实现国家定义的社会保护最低标准,至少保证基本医疗保健、安全和营养食品以及基本收入保障所有人,包括穷人、粮食不安全者和农业食品系统中的工人(包括移民工人)。它还促进社会保护和农业食品系统相关部门之间更紧密的一致性,以促进经济增长,提高农业食品系统的生产力,并支持贫困和弱势家庭实现收入来源多样化并增强抵御能力。此外,该解决方案集群旨在通过将更多的社会保护机会与广泛的行动联系起来,通过农业食品系统工人的生活收入、公平价格和公平工资来促进安全、可持续的生计。其中包括在农业食品系统中加强教育系统的行动,将更好的农业/渔业知识与小规模生产者和工人联系起来;加强劳工政策;完善风险管理机制;减少议价能力的结构性缺陷(尤其是小规模渔民和农民);提高小规模生产者的生产力;改善自然资源管理;并通过不同的方式(获得土地、资金和市场)以可持续的方式提高收入弹性。使用社会保护作为平台,该解决方案集群还促进了数以亿计的人在其工作场所获得和了解良好营养的机会。

关于此解决方案集群

目前,世界人口的大约一半——以及世界贫困人口的四分之三以上——生活在农村地区。城市和农村地区之间的不平等仍然很严重。虽然农业在大多数国家经济中的份额并不占主导地位(并且主要由小规模生产者组成),但它仍然是世界三分之一人口和四分之三生活在赤贫中的农村人口的重要生计来源,使其成为减贫的关键部门和生物多样性的基本要素。然而,农业和农业食品系统总体上也与劳动力市场的高度非正规性、对所有自然风险的更高暴露以及获得社会保护的机会有限有关。农村人口面临更高的贫困风险,包括工作贫困、营养不良和饥饿、健康状况不佳、工伤、自然灾害和气候变化,以及童工和社会边缘化等社会风险。由于收入低且不规律,缺乏社会支持,许多农村居民在生病时被迫继续工作,而且往往在不安全的条件下工作,从而使自己和家人面临额外的风险。此外,当遇到收入损失时,他们可能会采取有害的应对策略,例如出售资产、接受掠夺性贷款或从事童工劳动。此外,小规模生产商几乎无法控制全球市场价格,谈判能力弱,受价格波动的影响。数据向我们表明,持续的收入两极分化和工资停滞是不平等的主要驱动因素——此外还有基本服务成本上升、工作脆弱性和转型、持续的性别和种族差距以及安全网失效。

有证据表明,社会保护可以帮助实现其他经济、社会和文化权利,包括获得充足食物、健康饮食、衣着、住房、教育和健康的权利——所有这些权利对于实现人的尊严都是必不可少的(塞普尔韦达和Nyst 2012 年;Morlachetti 2016 年)。最近的证据还表明,社会保护是促进经济包容和改善自然资源管理的重要工具。此外,劳动力营养计划已经在包括跨国公司在内的许多环境中成功试行,并且正在实现其实施目标,包括改善饮食多样性、降低贫血率以及提高对工人健康和营养的认识。这些计划越来越多地得到私营部门的认可。

提供生活收入是农业食品系统组织、民间社会、创新私营公司以及捐助者和国家联盟大力支持的途径之一,旨在使我们的粮食系统更加公平和可持续。

该解决方案组与正在进行的现有国际承诺、倡议和合作平台相关联,例如国际劳工组织建议 202、全球伙伴关系 USP2030(全球社会保护 2030)、不同的相关粮安委和粮农组织自愿准则(粮食系统和营养,右食品、可持续小规模渔业等)、全球移民和难民契约、生活收入实践社区、世界可持续发展工商理事会 (WBCSD)、可持续贸易倡议的生活工资路线图(IDH)、ISEAL/GIZ 生活收入实践社区和全球生活工资联盟。此外,该解决方案集群符合《世界人权宣言》第 23 条和第 25 条。它还基于迄今为止的大量数据和行动以及不断增长的势头,例如当前的 COVID-19 大流行及其当前的应对措施。

将社会保险覆盖范围扩大到农业食品系统的工人需要一系列措施,重点是克服法律、财务、行政和制度障碍。这可以通过使法律框架、融资机制、行政程序和机构设置适应工人的具体需求和情况以及粮食系统相关部门的非正规性来实现。实现这一目标的良好做法包括在一些国家政府补贴的农业部门收集捐款时考虑季节性和收入水平;通过一站式服务、数字服务和集体注册协议促进注册;促进与合作社和生产者组织的社会对话和伙伴关系,以提高对该系统的认识和信任;并整合确保合规性和设置参与激励的机制。这种扩大覆盖面的战略通常与正规化就业战略相关联,从而解决更广泛的体面劳动赤字。对于那些缴费能力有限的人,可能需要采取额外措施从政府预算或其他来源筹集额外资源,例如至少暂时补贴缴费的措施。通过向以前未发现的人提供非缴费型福利来扩大社会保护覆盖面,有助于保证至少基本水平的收入保障和所有人获得基本卫生服务的机会。这可以通过向广泛类别的人口提供普遍福利(例如普遍儿童福利、养老金或国家医疗服务)或为生活贫困者提供有针对性的福利来实现。对于有针对性的福利计划,扩大覆盖范围通常需要放宽资格标准。

在与相关部门一致设计和实施时,社会保护是实现其他成果的重要平台,例如粮食和营养安全、经济包容、自然资源的可持续管理、消除童工、妇女赋权、青年就业和复原力,正如其他解决方案集群所反映的那样(行动轨道 1、2、3、4 和 5)。更具体地说,社会保护是支持生活收入、公平价格和公平工资的关键。

为了促进生活收入、公平价格和公平工资,该解决方案集群促进了其他措施,主要是建立可持续的定价/收入机制或在公平贸易条件下增加销售额,这有助于改善附加值在供应链中的分配.这些措施包括地方/国家/国际层面的行为者之间的协议;政府倡议或国家担保协议(见咖啡和哥斯达黎加的案例);和国家之间的贸易协定(小农的市场准入、标准、质量、价格等)。收入机制包括对融资来源多样化的具体支持、农业投入价格行动和环境服务支付——参见欧盟共同农业政策、哥斯达黎加在国家林业融资基金 (Fonafifo) 方面的经验等。这需要组织加强小生产者的能力和能力。通过更强大的生产者组织,小规模生产者和农业企业家可以参与集体营销、实现规模经济、学习成功的农业技术和技能、成为高效的商业伙伴、分担风险并提高议价能力。这将允许农场价格上涨并帮助增加进入公平市场的机会,包括通过公共采购措施。公共投资与生态农业等可持续农业实践的采用相结合,也有助于提高农业产量、收入弹性和风险管理机制。与社会保护措施相关,一种具有成本效益的方法是以学校为基础的农业教育——一种以青年为中心、性别包容的系统,通过当地学校为未来的农民做好准备,同时将改进的农业实践和技术传播给当前的农民。最后,这个解决方案集群旨在通过保证获得公共服务(教育、卫生和社会保护)、金融、土地和市场(投入、产出和资本)的机会来解决生活收入和工资的更广泛的结构性限制。贫困的代际恶性循环以及农民/渔民和工人对价格波动的脆弱性(气候变化、供应链分散、市场不完善和信息不对称、非正规性以及农民组织普遍未能集中资源和集体谈判)。根据每种商品和地区的特点将这些机制结合起来,将有助于提高小规模生产者和农业工人的收入和工资。该解决方案集群还将通过建立更广泛、更深入的私营部门参与和行动来实现其目标,以带来必要的参与、承诺、见解、经验和资源(IDH 路线图和生活收入实践社区),这些对于重新- 制定产生多重结果的社会保护和劳工政策,加强私营部门的人权(重点关注土地保有权和集体谈判权),促进市场准入和融资,并重新平衡谈判能力。

在政府层面,实现这些不同目标的综合政策,尤其是将社会保护和劳动力与农业措施联系起来,不是自然发生的,需要有目的地推动。为实现这一目标,需要调整政策架构、建立协调和融资安排、发展人员能力以及可以促进协同作用并帮助管理权衡(设计、实施程序、监测和评估)的业务安排。同样,在“工作场所”层面,将扩大社会保护与提供系统框架、工具和技术支持联系起来,还可以帮助启动或改进工作场所营养计划,例如由劳动力营养计划推动的计划。联盟——不仅可以包括工作中的营养和安全食品,还可以包括营养教育运动,告知工人健康饮食的重要性和增加他们生产的营养食品的自身消费,以及保护女工的权利并适当地母乳喂养他们的幼儿。

加入工作组

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.2.4

Ensuring the Right to Social Protection and Promoting Living Income and Wages of All Agri-Food System Workers

Solution Cluster 4.2.4 Ensuring the Right To Social Protection And Promoting Living Income and Wages of All Agri-Food System Workers promotes the expansion of social protection, both contributory and non-contributory schemes, as a fundamental right and focuses on accelerating the progressive realisation of nationally defined social protection floors that guarantee at least essential health care, safe and nutritious foods, and basic income security to all, including the poor, food-insecure, and workers in the agri-food systems (including migrant workers). It also promotes a stronger coherence between social protection and agri-food systems-related sectors to boost economic growth, enhancing the productivity in agri-food systems and supporting poor and vulnerable families to diversify their source of income and build their resilience. Additionally, this solution cluster aims at promoting secure, sustainable livelihoods through living incomes, fair prices, and fair wages of agri-food systems workers by linking greater access to social protection to a broad scope of actions. Those include actions in agri-food systems for enhancing education systems that connect better agricultural/fisheries knowledge to small scale producers and workers; reinforcing labour policies; improving risk management mechanisms; reducing structural deficiencies of bargaining power (especially of small-scale fishers and farmers); increasing productivity of small scale producers; improving natural resource management; and promoting income resilience in a sustainable manner through different means (access to land, finance, and markets). Using social protection as a platform, this solution cluster also promotes access to and knowledge about good nutrition to hundreds of millions of individuals at their workplace.

About this Solution Cluster

Currently about half of the world’s population – and more than three quarters of the world’s poor population – live in rural areas. Inequalities between urban and rural areas remain significant. While the share of agriculture in most national economies is not predominant (and largely composed by small-scale producers), it still represents an important source of livelihoods for one third of the world’s population and about three quarters of the rural population living in extreme poverty, making it a critical sector for poverty reduction, and an essential element for biodiversity. However, agriculture and agri-food systems in general are also associated with high levels of labour market informality, higher exposure to risks of all nature, and limited access to social protection. Rural populations face higher risks of poverty, including working poverty, malnutrition and hunger, poor health, work-related injuries, natural disasters and climate change, and social risks such as child labour and social marginalisation, among others. With low and irregular incomes and a lack of social support, many rural inhabitants are spurred to continue working when sick, often in unsafe conditions, thus exposing themselves and their families to additional risks. Further, when experiencing income losses, they may resort to harmful coping strategies, such as the distress sale of assets, taking on predatory loans, or engaging in child labour. Additionally, small-scale producers have virtually no control over global market prices, possess feeble negotiating power, and are at the mercy of price volatility. Data shows us that persistent income polarisation and wage stagnation is a key driver of inequality – alongside the rising costs of essential services, work fragility and transition, persistent gender, and race gaps, and failing safety nets.

Evidence suggests that social protection can help realise other economic, social, and cultural rights, including the rights to adequate food, healthy diets, clothing, housing, education, and health – all of which are essential to the realisation of human dignity (Sepúlveda and Nyst 2012; Morlachetti 2016). Recent evidence also shows that social protection is an essential tool for promoting economic inclusion and improving natural resource management. In addition, workforce nutrition programmes have already been successfully piloted in many contexts, including by global companies, and are meeting their implementation goals, including improving dietary diversity, reducing rates of anaemia, and increasing awareness of workers’ health and nutrition. These programmes have been increasingly endorsed by the private sector.

The provision of living incomes is one of the pathways strongly supported by agri-food systems’ organisations, civil society, innovative private firms, and a coalition of donors and countries to make our food systems more equitable and sustainable.

This solution cluster is associated with ongoing existing international commitments, initiatives, and cooperation platforms, such as the ILO Recommendation 202, the Global Partnership USP2030 (Universal Social Protection 2030), the different relevant CFS and FAO Voluntary Guidelines (Food Systems and Nutrition, Right to Food, Sustainable Small-Scale Fisheries, and others), the Global Compact for Migration and on Refugees, the Living Income Community of Practice, the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD), the Roadmap on Living Wages of the Sustainable Trade Initiative (IDH), the ISEAL/GIZ Community of Practice on Living Incomes and the Global Living Wage Coalition. Additionally, this solution cluster is aligned to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Articles 23 and 25. It is also based on extensive data and action to date as well as growing momentum, such as the current COVID-19 pandemic and its current response.

Extending social insurance coverage to workers in agri-food systems requires a set of measures that focuses on overcoming legal, financial, administrative, and institutional barriers. This can be done by adapting the legal framework, financing mechanisms, administrative processes and institutional set-up to the specific needs and situation of workers and the informality in food systems related sectors. Good practices to achieve this goal include taking into account the seasonality and level of income in the collection of contributions in the agricultural sectors, subsidised by governments in some countries; facilitating access to registration through one-stop shops, digital services, and collective registration agreements; promoting social dialogues and partnerships with cooperatives and organisations of producers for raising awareness and trust in the system; and integrating mechanisms for ensuring compliance and setting incentives for participation. Such a strategy to extend coverage is usually associated with a strategy to formalise employment, thereby addressing broader decent work deficits. For those with limited contributory capacities, additional measures may be necessary to mobilise additional resources from the government budget or other sources, such as measures to subsidise contributions at least temporarily. Extending social protection coverage through non-contributory benefits to those who were previously uncovered helps to guarantee at least a basic level of income security and access to essential health services for all. This can be achieved either through universal benefits that are provided to broad categories of the population (such as universal child benefits, old age pensions or a national health service) or targeted benefits for those living in poverty. For targeted benefit schemes, extending coverage typically requires relaxing eligibility criteria.

When designed and implemented in coherence with relevant sectors, social protection is an essential platform to reach additional outcomes such as food and nutrition security, economic inclusion, sustainable management of natural resources, elimination of child labour, women’s empowerment, and youth employment and resilience, as reflected in other solution clusters (Action Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5). More specifically, social protection is key to support living incomes, fair prices, and fair wages.

To promote living incomes, fair prices, and fair wages, this solution cluster promotes additional measures, essentially the establishment of sustainable pricing/revenue mechanisms or increased sales on fair trade terms, which can help ameliorate the distribution of the value added along the supply chains. Those measures include agreements between actors at the local/national/international level; government initiatives or state-guaranteed agreements (see the case of coffee and Costa Rica); and trade agreements between countries (market access for smallholder farmers, standards, quality, prices, etc.). Revenue mechanisms include specific support for diversification of financing sources, actions on prices of agricultural inputs and payments for environmental services – see the E.U. Common Agricultural Policy, Costa Rica’s experiences with the National Fund for Forestry Financing (Fonafifo), etc. This requires the organisations of small-scale producers to be reinforced and their capacity strengthened. Through stronger producers’ organisations, small-scale producers and agripreneurs can engage in collective marketing, achieve economies of scale, learn successful farming techniques and skills, be efficient business partners, share risks, and improve their bargaining power. This will allow farmgate prices to increase and help increase access to fair markets, including through public procurement measures. Public investments combined with the adoption of sustainable agriculture practices such as agroecology can also help increase farm yields, income resilience, and risk management mechanisms. Associated to social protection measures, one cost-effective approach is school-based agricultural education – a youth-centred, gender inclusive system to prepare future farmers while diffusing improved agricultural practices and technologies to current farmers, through local schools. Finally, this solution cluster aims at fixing broader structural constraints of living income and wages, by guaranteeing access to public services (education, health, and social protection), finance, land, and markets (for input, output, and capital) to break the intergenerational vicious circle of poverty and vulnerabilities of farmers/fishers and workers to price volatility (climate change, supply chain fragmentation, market imperfections and asymmetrical information, informality and a general failure of farmers’ organisations to pool resources and bargain collectively). A combination of these mechanisms, adapted to the particularities of each commodity and region, will allow improvement of small-scale producers and agricultural workers’ incomes and wages. This solution cluster will also reach its objectives by building on a wider and deeper private sector engagement and action to bring the necessary involvement, commitments, insights, experience and resources (IDH Roadmap and the Living Income Community of Practice), that are essential for re-shaping social protection and labour policies reaching multiple outcomes, strengthening human rights in private sector (with a spotlight on land tenure and rights to collective bargaining), facilitating access to markets and finance, and re-balancing bargaining power.

At the governmental level, integrated policies to reach those different multiple objectives, especially associating social protection and labour to agricultural measures, do not happen naturally, and they need to be purposely promoted. To achieve this goal requires an adjusted policy architecture, the establishment of coordination and financing arrangements, the development of human capacities, and operational arrangements that can facilitate synergies and help manage trade-offs (design, implementation procedures, monitoring, and evaluation). Similarly and at the “workplace” level, associating the expansion of social protection to the provision of a systemic framework, tools, and technical support can help, additionally, to start or improve workplace nutrition programmes, such as the one promoted by the Workforce Nutrition Alliance – which can include not only nutritious and safe food at work, but also nutrition education campaigns informing workers of the importance of healthy diets and increasing own-consumption of nutritious foods they produce, as well as protection of the rights of female workers to adequately and appropriately breastfeed their young children.

Join Working Group