AT-4

كتلة الحل 4.2.4

ضمان الحق في الحماية الاجتماعية وتعزيز الدخل المعيشي والأجور لجميع العاملين في نظام الأغذية الزراعية

مجموعة الحلول 4.2.4 ضمان الحق في الحماية الاجتماعية وتعزيز الدخل المعيشي والأجور لجميع العاملين في نظام الأغذية الزراعية يشجع على توسيع نطاق الحماية الاجتماعية ، سواء المخططات القائمة على المساهمة أو غير القائمة على الاشتراكات ، كحق أساسي ويركز على تسريع التحقيق التدريجي لأرضيات الحماية الاجتماعية المحددة على المستوى الوطني والتي تضمن على الأقل الرعاية الصحية الأساسية والأغذية الآمنة والمغذية وأمن الدخل الأساسي الجميع ، بما في ذلك الفقراء ، والذين يعانون من انعدام الأمن الغذائي ، والعاملين في أنظمة الأغذية الزراعية (بما في ذلك العمال المهاجرون). كما أنه يعزز تماسكًا أقوى بين الحماية الاجتماعية والقطاعات المرتبطة بنظم الأغذية الزراعية لتعزيز النمو الاقتصادي ، وتعزيز الإنتاجية في نظم الأغذية الزراعية ودعم الأسر الفقيرة والضعيفة لتنويع مصادر دخلها وبناء قدرتها على الصمود. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تهدف مجموعة الحلول هذه إلى تعزيز سبل العيش الآمنة والمستدامة من خلال الدخل المعيشي والأسعار العادلة والأجور العادلة للعاملين في أنظمة الأغذية الزراعية من خلال ربط زيادة الوصول إلى الحماية الاجتماعية بنطاق واسع من الإجراءات. وتشمل تلك الإجراءات في نظم الأغذية الزراعية لتعزيز نظم التعليم التي تربط المعرفة الزراعية / السمكية الأفضل بصغار المنتجين والعاملين ؛ تعزيز سياسات العمل ؛ تحسين آليات إدارة المخاطر ؛ الحد من أوجه القصور الهيكلية في القدرة على المساومة (خاصة لصغار الصيادين والمزارعين) ؛ زيادة إنتاجية صغار المنتجين ؛ تحسين إدارة الموارد الطبيعية ؛ وتعزيز مرونة الدخل بطريقة مستدامة من خلال وسائل مختلفة (الوصول إلى الأرض والتمويل والأسواق). باستخدام الحماية الاجتماعية كمنصة ، تعزز مجموعة الحلول هذه أيضًا الوصول إلى ومعرفة التغذية الجيدة لمئات الملايين من الأفراد في أماكن عملهم.

حول مجموعة الحلول هذه

يعيش ما يقرب من نصف سكان العالم - وأكثر من ثلاثة أرباع فقراء العالم - في المناطق الريفية. لا تزال أوجه عدم المساواة بين المناطق الحضرية والريفية كبيرة. في حين أن حصة الزراعة في معظم الاقتصادات الوطنية ليست هي السائدة (وتتكون إلى حد كبير من صغار المنتجين) ، فإنها لا تزال تمثل مصدرًا مهمًا لسبل العيش لثلث سكان العالم وحوالي ثلاثة أرباع سكان الريف يعيشون في فقر مدقع ، مما يجعله قطاعًا بالغ الأهمية للحد من الفقر ، وعنصرًا أساسيًا للتنوع البيولوجي. ومع ذلك ، فإن أنظمة الزراعة والأغذية الزراعية بشكل عام مرتبطة أيضًا بمستويات عالية من السمة غير الرسمية لسوق العمل ، وزيادة التعرض للمخاطر من جميع الطبيعة ، والوصول المحدود إلى الحماية الاجتماعية. يواجه سكان الريف مخاطر أعلى للفقر ، بما في ذلك فقر العمل وسوء التغذية والجوع وسوء الصحة والإصابات المرتبطة بالعمل والكوارث الطبيعية وتغير المناخ والمخاطر الاجتماعية مثل عمالة الأطفال والتهميش الاجتماعي ، من بين أمور أخرى. مع الدخل المنخفض وغير المنتظم والافتقار إلى الدعم الاجتماعي ، يتم تحفيز العديد من سكان الريف لمواصلة العمل عند المرض ، في كثير من الأحيان في ظروف غير آمنة ، مما يعرض أنفسهم وأسرهم لمخاطر إضافية. علاوة على ذلك ، عند تعرضهم لخسائر في الدخل ، قد يلجأون إلى استراتيجيات تكيف ضارة ، مثل البيع الضيق للأصول ، أو أخذ قروض جائرة ، أو الانخراط في عمالة الأطفال. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لا يملك صغار المنتجين أي سيطرة تقريبًا على أسعار السوق العالمية ، ولديهم قوة تفاوضية ضعيفة ، وهم تحت رحمة تقلب الأسعار. تُظهر لنا البيانات أن الاستقطاب المستمر في الدخل وركود الأجور هو محرك رئيسي لعدم المساواة - إلى جانب ارتفاع تكاليف الخدمات الأساسية وهشاشة العمل والانتقال ، واستمرار فجوات النوع الاجتماعي والعرق ، وفشل شبكات الأمان.

تشير الدلائل إلى أن الحماية الاجتماعية يمكن أن تساعد في إعمال الحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية الأخرى ، بما في ذلك الحق في الغذاء الكافي ، والنظم الغذائية الصحية ، والملبس ، والسكن ، والتعليم ، والصحة - وكلها ضرورية لتحقيق الكرامة الإنسانية (Sepúlveda and نيست 2012 ؛ مورلاتشيتي 2016). تظهر الأدلة الحديثة أيضًا أن الحماية الاجتماعية هي أداة أساسية لتعزيز الإدماج الاقتصادي وتحسين إدارة الموارد الطبيعية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تم بالفعل تجربة برامج تغذية القوى العاملة بنجاح في العديد من السياقات ، بما في ذلك من قبل الشركات العالمية ، وهي تحقق أهدافها التنفيذية ، بما في ذلك تحسين التنوع الغذائي ، وتقليل معدلات فقر الدم ، وزيادة الوعي بصحة العمال وتغذيتهم. وقد تم اعتماد هذه البرامج بشكل متزايد من قبل القطاع الخاص.

يعد توفير الدخل المعيشي أحد المسارات التي تدعمها بقوة منظمات أنظمة الأغذية الزراعية ، والمجتمع المدني ، والشركات الخاصة المبتكرة ، وائتلاف من المانحين والبلدان لجعل أنظمتنا الغذائية أكثر إنصافًا واستدامة.

ترتبط مجموعة الحلول هذه بالالتزامات الدولية القائمة والمبادرات ومنصات التعاون ، مثل توصية منظمة العمل الدولية 202 ، والشراكة العالمية USP2030 (الحماية الاجتماعية العالمية 2030) ، والمبادئ التوجيهية الطوعية المختلفة ذات الصلة للجنة الأمن الغذائي العالمي ومنظمة الأغذية والزراعة (أنظمة الغذاء والتغذية ، الحق إلى الغذاء ، ومصايد الأسماك الصغيرة المستدامة ، وغيرها) ، والميثاق العالمي للهجرة واللاجئين ، ومجتمع ممارسة الدخل الحي ، ومجلس الأعمال العالمي للتنمية المستدامة (WBCSD) ، وخارطة الطريق بشأن الأجور المعيشية لمبادرة التجارة المستدامة (IDH) ، و ISEAL / GIZ Community of Practice حول الدخل الحي والتحالف العالمي للأجور الحية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تتماشى مجموعة الحلول هذه مع الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان ، المادتين 23 و 25. وهي تستند أيضًا إلى بيانات وإجراءات مكثفة حتى الآن بالإضافة إلى الزخم المتزايد ، مثل جائحة COVID-19 الحالي واستجابته الحالية.

يتطلب توسيع نطاق تغطية التأمين الاجتماعي ليشمل العاملين في أنظمة الأغذية الزراعية مجموعة من التدابير التي تركز على التغلب على الحواجز القانونية والمالية والإدارية والمؤسسية. يمكن القيام بذلك عن طريق تكييف الإطار القانوني وآليات التمويل والعمليات الإدارية والهيكل المؤسسي مع الاحتياجات المحددة وأوضاع العمال والسمة غير الرسمية في القطاعات ذات الصلة بالنظم الغذائية. وتشمل الممارسات الجيدة لتحقيق هذا الهدف مراعاة الموسمية ومستوى الدخل في تحصيل المساهمات في القطاعات الزراعية ، التي تدعمها الحكومات في بعض البلدان ؛ تسهيل الوصول إلى التسجيل من خلال المتاجر الشاملة والخدمات الرقمية واتفاقيات التسجيل الجماعي ؛ تعزيز الحوارات والشراكات الاجتماعية مع التعاونيات ومنظمات المنتجين لزيادة الوعي والثقة في النظام ؛ ودمج آليات ضمان الامتثال ووضع حوافز للمشاركة. عادة ما ترتبط مثل هذه الإستراتيجية لتوسيع التغطية باستراتيجية لإضفاء الطابع الرسمي على العمالة ، وبالتالي معالجة أوجه العجز الأوسع في العمل اللائق. بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لديهم قدرات مساهمة محدودة ، قد يكون من الضروري اتخاذ تدابير إضافية لتعبئة موارد إضافية من الميزانية الحكومية أو مصادر أخرى ، مثل تدابير دعم المساهمات على الأقل مؤقتًا. يساعد توسيع نطاق تغطية الحماية الاجتماعية من خلال المزايا غير القائمة على الاشتراكات إلى أولئك الذين تم الكشف عنهم سابقًا على ضمان مستوى أساسي على الأقل من أمن الدخل والوصول إلى الخدمات الصحية الأساسية للجميع. يمكن تحقيق ذلك إما من خلال المزايا الشاملة التي يتم توفيرها لفئات واسعة من السكان (مثل استحقاقات الأطفال الشاملة أو معاشات الشيخوخة أو الخدمة الصحية الوطنية) أو المزايا المستهدفة لمن يعيشون في فقر. بالنسبة لخطط المنافع المستهدفة ، يتطلب تمديد التغطية عادةً تخفيف معايير الأهلية.

عند تصميمها وتنفيذها بالاتساق مع القطاعات ذات الصلة ، تكون الحماية الاجتماعية منصة أساسية للوصول إلى نتائج إضافية مثل الأمن الغذائي والتغذوي ، والإدماج الاقتصادي ، والإدارة المستدامة للموارد الطبيعية ، والقضاء على عمالة الأطفال ، وتمكين المرأة ، وتوظيف الشباب والقدرة على الصمود ، كما هو موضح في مجموعات الحلول الأخرى (مسارات الإجراءات 1 و 2 و 3 و 4 و 5). وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا ، تعتبر الحماية الاجتماعية أساسية لدعم الدخل المعيشي والأسعار العادلة والأجور العادلة.

لتعزيز الدخل المعيشي والأسعار العادلة والأجور العادلة ، تعزز مجموعة الحلول هذه تدابير إضافية ، بشكل أساسي إنشاء آليات تسعير / إيرادات مستدامة أو زيادة المبيعات بشروط التجارة العادلة ، والتي يمكن أن تساعد في تحسين توزيع القيمة المضافة على طول سلاسل التوريد . وتشمل هذه التدابير الاتفاقات بين الجهات الفاعلة على المستوى المحلي / الوطني / الدولي ؛ المبادرات الحكومية أو الاتفاقات التي تضمنها الدولة (انظر حالة البن وكوستاريكا) ؛ والاتفاقيات التجارية بين البلدان (وصول المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة إلى الأسواق ، والمعايير ، والجودة ، والأسعار ، وما إلى ذلك). تشمل آليات الإيرادات دعمًا محددًا لتنويع مصادر التمويل ، والإجراءات المتعلقة بأسعار المدخلات الزراعية والمدفوعات مقابل الخدمات البيئية - انظر السياسة الزراعية المشتركة للاتحاد الأوروبي ، وتجارب كوستاريكا مع الصندوق الوطني لتمويل الغابات (Fonafifo) ، وما إلى ذلك. وهذا يتطلب المنظمات من صغار المنتجين لتقوية وتعزيز قدراتهم. من خلال منظمات المنتجين الأقوى ، يمكن لصغار المنتجين ورجال الأعمال الزراعيين الانخراط في التسويق الجماعي ، وتحقيق وفورات الحجم ، وتعلم التقنيات والمهارات الزراعية الناجحة ، وأن يكونوا شركاء أعمال فعالين ، ويتقاسموا المخاطر ، ويحسنوا قدرتهم التفاوضية. سيسمح ذلك بزيادة أسعار المزرعة والمساعدة في زيادة الوصول إلى الأسواق العادلة ، بما في ذلك من خلال تدابير المشتريات العامة. يمكن للاستثمارات العامة جنبًا إلى جنب مع اعتماد ممارسات الزراعة المستدامة مثل الزراعة الإيكولوجية أن تساعد أيضًا في زيادة غلة المزارع ، ومرونة الدخل ، وآليات إدارة المخاطر. يرتبط أحد الأساليب الفعالة من حيث التكلفة بتدابير الحماية الاجتماعية ، وهو التعليم الزراعي القائم على المدرسة - وهو نظام يركز على الشباب وشامل للجنسين لإعداد المزارعين في المستقبل مع نشر الممارسات والتقنيات الزراعية المحسّنة للمزارعين الحاليين من خلال المدارس المحلية. أخيرًا ، تهدف مجموعة الحلول هذه إلى إصلاح القيود الهيكلية الأوسع نطاقًا على الدخل والأجور المعيشية ، من خلال ضمان الوصول إلى الخدمات العامة (التعليم والصحة والحماية الاجتماعية) والتمويل والأراضي والأسواق (للمدخلات والمخرجات ورأس المال) لكسر الحلقة المفرغة بين الأجيال المتمثلة في الفقر ونقاط ضعف المزارعين / الصيادين والعاملين أمام تقلب الأسعار (تغير المناخ ، وتجزئة سلسلة التوريد ، وعيوب السوق والمعلومات غير المتكافئة ، والسمة غير الرسمية ، والفشل العام لمنظمات المزارعين في تجميع الموارد والمفاوضة بشكل جماعي). مزيج من هذه الآليات ، التي تم تكييفها مع خصوصيات كل سلعة ومنطقة ، سيسمح بتحسين صغار المنتجين ودخل وأجور العمال الزراعيين. ستصل مجموعة الحلول هذه أيضًا إلى أهدافها من خلال البناء على مشاركة أوسع وأعمق للقطاع الخاص لتحقيق المشاركة والالتزامات والأفكار والخبرات والموارد اللازمة (خارطة طريق IDH ومجتمع ممارسة الدخل الحي) ، والتي تعتبر ضرورية لإعادة - تشكيل سياسات الحماية الاجتماعية والعمل للوصول إلى نتائج متعددة ، وتعزيز حقوق الإنسان في القطاع الخاص (مع تسليط الضوء على حيازة الأراضي والحق في المفاوضة الجماعية) ، وتسهيل الوصول إلى الأسواق والتمويل ، وإعادة موازنة القوة التفاوضية.

على المستوى الحكومي ، فإن السياسات المتكاملة للوصول إلى تلك الأهداف المتعددة المختلفة ، وخاصة ربط الحماية الاجتماعية والعمل بالتدابير الزراعية ، لا تحدث بشكل طبيعي ، ويجب تعزيزها عن قصد. يتطلب تحقيق هذا الهدف بنية سياسة معدلة ، وإنشاء ترتيبات للتنسيق والتمويل ، وتطوير القدرات البشرية ، والترتيبات التشغيلية التي يمكن أن تسهل التآزر وتساعد في إدارة المفاضلات (التصميم ، وإجراءات التنفيذ ، والرصد ، والتقييم). وبالمثل وعلى مستوى "مكان العمل" ، فإن ربط توسيع الحماية الاجتماعية بتوفير إطار عمل منهجي وأدوات ودعم تقني يمكن أن يساعد ، بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، في بدء أو تحسين برامج التغذية في مكان العمل ، مثل البرنامج الذي تروج له تغذية القوى العاملة التحالف - الذي يمكن أن يشمل ليس فقط طعامًا مغذيًا وآمنًا في العمل ، ولكن أيضًا حملات التوعية التغذوية لإعلام العمال بأهمية النظم الغذائية الصحية وزيادة استهلاكهم للأطعمة المغذية التي ينتجونها ، فضلاً عن حماية حقوق العاملات في الحصول على الغذاء الكافي. وإرضاع أطفالهم الصغار بشكل مناسب.

انضم إلى مجموعة العمل

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.2.4

Ensuring the Right to Social Protection and Promoting Living Income and Wages of All Agri-Food System Workers

Solution Cluster 4.2.4 Ensuring the Right To Social Protection And Promoting Living Income and Wages of All Agri-Food System Workers promotes the expansion of social protection, both contributory and non-contributory schemes, as a fundamental right and focuses on accelerating the progressive realisation of nationally defined social protection floors that guarantee at least essential health care, safe and nutritious foods, and basic income security to all, including the poor, food-insecure, and workers in the agri-food systems (including migrant workers). It also promotes a stronger coherence between social protection and agri-food systems-related sectors to boost economic growth, enhancing the productivity in agri-food systems and supporting poor and vulnerable families to diversify their source of income and build their resilience. Additionally, this solution cluster aims at promoting secure, sustainable livelihoods through living incomes, fair prices, and fair wages of agri-food systems workers by linking greater access to social protection to a broad scope of actions. Those include actions in agri-food systems for enhancing education systems that connect better agricultural/fisheries knowledge to small scale producers and workers; reinforcing labour policies; improving risk management mechanisms; reducing structural deficiencies of bargaining power (especially of small-scale fishers and farmers); increasing productivity of small scale producers; improving natural resource management; and promoting income resilience in a sustainable manner through different means (access to land, finance, and markets). Using social protection as a platform, this solution cluster also promotes access to and knowledge about good nutrition to hundreds of millions of individuals at their workplace.

About this Solution Cluster

Currently about half of the world’s population – and more than three quarters of the world’s poor population – live in rural areas. Inequalities between urban and rural areas remain significant. While the share of agriculture in most national economies is not predominant (and largely composed by small-scale producers), it still represents an important source of livelihoods for one third of the world’s population and about three quarters of the rural population living in extreme poverty, making it a critical sector for poverty reduction, and an essential element for biodiversity. However, agriculture and agri-food systems in general are also associated with high levels of labour market informality, higher exposure to risks of all nature, and limited access to social protection. Rural populations face higher risks of poverty, including working poverty, malnutrition and hunger, poor health, work-related injuries, natural disasters and climate change, and social risks such as child labour and social marginalisation, among others. With low and irregular incomes and a lack of social support, many rural inhabitants are spurred to continue working when sick, often in unsafe conditions, thus exposing themselves and their families to additional risks. Further, when experiencing income losses, they may resort to harmful coping strategies, such as the distress sale of assets, taking on predatory loans, or engaging in child labour. Additionally, small-scale producers have virtually no control over global market prices, possess feeble negotiating power, and are at the mercy of price volatility. Data shows us that persistent income polarisation and wage stagnation is a key driver of inequality – alongside the rising costs of essential services, work fragility and transition, persistent gender, and race gaps, and failing safety nets.

Evidence suggests that social protection can help realise other economic, social, and cultural rights, including the rights to adequate food, healthy diets, clothing, housing, education, and health – all of which are essential to the realisation of human dignity (Sepúlveda and Nyst 2012; Morlachetti 2016). Recent evidence also shows that social protection is an essential tool for promoting economic inclusion and improving natural resource management. In addition, workforce nutrition programmes have already been successfully piloted in many contexts, including by global companies, and are meeting their implementation goals, including improving dietary diversity, reducing rates of anaemia, and increasing awareness of workers’ health and nutrition. These programmes have been increasingly endorsed by the private sector.

The provision of living incomes is one of the pathways strongly supported by agri-food systems’ organisations, civil society, innovative private firms, and a coalition of donors and countries to make our food systems more equitable and sustainable.

This solution cluster is associated with ongoing existing international commitments, initiatives, and cooperation platforms, such as the ILO Recommendation 202, the Global Partnership USP2030 (Universal Social Protection 2030), the different relevant CFS and FAO Voluntary Guidelines (Food Systems and Nutrition, Right to Food, Sustainable Small-Scale Fisheries, and others), the Global Compact for Migration and on Refugees, the Living Income Community of Practice, the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD), the Roadmap on Living Wages of the Sustainable Trade Initiative (IDH), the ISEAL/GIZ Community of Practice on Living Incomes and the Global Living Wage Coalition. Additionally, this solution cluster is aligned to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Articles 23 and 25. It is also based on extensive data and action to date as well as growing momentum, such as the current COVID-19 pandemic and its current response.

Extending social insurance coverage to workers in agri-food systems requires a set of measures that focuses on overcoming legal, financial, administrative, and institutional barriers. This can be done by adapting the legal framework, financing mechanisms, administrative processes and institutional set-up to the specific needs and situation of workers and the informality in food systems related sectors. Good practices to achieve this goal include taking into account the seasonality and level of income in the collection of contributions in the agricultural sectors, subsidised by governments in some countries; facilitating access to registration through one-stop shops, digital services, and collective registration agreements; promoting social dialogues and partnerships with cooperatives and organisations of producers for raising awareness and trust in the system; and integrating mechanisms for ensuring compliance and setting incentives for participation. Such a strategy to extend coverage is usually associated with a strategy to formalise employment, thereby addressing broader decent work deficits. For those with limited contributory capacities, additional measures may be necessary to mobilise additional resources from the government budget or other sources, such as measures to subsidise contributions at least temporarily. Extending social protection coverage through non-contributory benefits to those who were previously uncovered helps to guarantee at least a basic level of income security and access to essential health services for all. This can be achieved either through universal benefits that are provided to broad categories of the population (such as universal child benefits, old age pensions or a national health service) or targeted benefits for those living in poverty. For targeted benefit schemes, extending coverage typically requires relaxing eligibility criteria.

When designed and implemented in coherence with relevant sectors, social protection is an essential platform to reach additional outcomes such as food and nutrition security, economic inclusion, sustainable management of natural resources, elimination of child labour, women’s empowerment, and youth employment and resilience, as reflected in other solution clusters (Action Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5). More specifically, social protection is key to support living incomes, fair prices, and fair wages.

To promote living incomes, fair prices, and fair wages, this solution cluster promotes additional measures, essentially the establishment of sustainable pricing/revenue mechanisms or increased sales on fair trade terms, which can help ameliorate the distribution of the value added along the supply chains. Those measures include agreements between actors at the local/national/international level; government initiatives or state-guaranteed agreements (see the case of coffee and Costa Rica); and trade agreements between countries (market access for smallholder farmers, standards, quality, prices, etc.). Revenue mechanisms include specific support for diversification of financing sources, actions on prices of agricultural inputs and payments for environmental services – see the E.U. Common Agricultural Policy, Costa Rica’s experiences with the National Fund for Forestry Financing (Fonafifo), etc. This requires the organisations of small-scale producers to be reinforced and their capacity strengthened. Through stronger producers’ organisations, small-scale producers and agripreneurs can engage in collective marketing, achieve economies of scale, learn successful farming techniques and skills, be efficient business partners, share risks, and improve their bargaining power. This will allow farmgate prices to increase and help increase access to fair markets, including through public procurement measures. Public investments combined with the adoption of sustainable agriculture practices such as agroecology can also help increase farm yields, income resilience, and risk management mechanisms. Associated to social protection measures, one cost-effective approach is school-based agricultural education – a youth-centred, gender inclusive system to prepare future farmers while diffusing improved agricultural practices and technologies to current farmers, through local schools. Finally, this solution cluster aims at fixing broader structural constraints of living income and wages, by guaranteeing access to public services (education, health, and social protection), finance, land, and markets (for input, output, and capital) to break the intergenerational vicious circle of poverty and vulnerabilities of farmers/fishers and workers to price volatility (climate change, supply chain fragmentation, market imperfections and asymmetrical information, informality and a general failure of farmers’ organisations to pool resources and bargain collectively). A combination of these mechanisms, adapted to the particularities of each commodity and region, will allow improvement of small-scale producers and agricultural workers’ incomes and wages. This solution cluster will also reach its objectives by building on a wider and deeper private sector engagement and action to bring the necessary involvement, commitments, insights, experience and resources (IDH Roadmap and the Living Income Community of Practice), that are essential for re-shaping social protection and labour policies reaching multiple outcomes, strengthening human rights in private sector (with a spotlight on land tenure and rights to collective bargaining), facilitating access to markets and finance, and re-balancing bargaining power.

At the governmental level, integrated policies to reach those different multiple objectives, especially associating social protection and labour to agricultural measures, do not happen naturally, and they need to be purposely promoted. To achieve this goal requires an adjusted policy architecture, the establishment of coordination and financing arrangements, the development of human capacities, and operational arrangements that can facilitate synergies and help manage trade-offs (design, implementation procedures, monitoring, and evaluation). Similarly and at the “workplace” level, associating the expansion of social protection to the provision of a systemic framework, tools, and technical support can help, additionally, to start or improve workplace nutrition programmes, such as the one promoted by the Workforce Nutrition Alliance – which can include not only nutritious and safe food at work, but also nutrition education campaigns informing workers of the importance of healthy diets and increasing own-consumption of nutritious foods they produce, as well as protection of the rights of female workers to adequately and appropriately breastfeed their young children.

Join Working Group