AT-1

解决方案集群 1.1.3

为私营部门发起“零饥饿,滋养未来”承诺

“一个没有饥饿的世界是可能的——而且触手可及。”
Agnes Kalibata 博士和 Gerd Müller 博士

公司和投资基金承诺将其 50 亿美元的集体投资与政府、捐助者和开发银行为到 2030 年消除饥饿和滋养未来所做的新证据和新承诺保持一致。 2021 年 9 月联合国粮食系统峰会。

关于此解决方案集群

一系列新的权威报告列出了实现到 2030 年消除饥饿目标所需的一系列具体投资的证据。[1]证据来自 Ceres2030:消除饥饿的可持续解决方案(2020), ZEF-FAO-IISD-IFPRI-康奈尔大学(2020), 索菲 (2020), 巴黎 (2020).用最简单的术语来说,证据是指关于什么有效,什么无效的基于科学的信息。承诺是指机构或机构参与者,特别是政府,已承诺要做的事情。 Ceres2030 涉及来自 26 个国家和 53 个组织的 86 名研究人员,研究结果发表在 Nature Research 上。 Ceres2030 报告显示,如果每年向高影响干预措施额外投资 330 亿美元,这将消除饥饿,使 5.45 亿粮食生产者及其家庭的平均收入增加一倍,并将农业温室气体排放量限制在承诺范围内巴黎气候协议中制定的。重要的是,它将每年吸引 520 亿美元的当地私营部门投资。

表 1 将新报告中的证据围绕三个投资领域、十种高影响类型的投资,以及与公司一致的投资示例迭代清单,以指导私营部门履行其承诺。

Examples of aligning company investments to new evidence
表 1:使公司投资与新证据保持一致的示例

 

公司和投资基金将在联合国粮食系统峰会上签署承诺。承诺将需要在特定国家或地区或一系列投资中做出财务承诺。承诺将通过现有机制进行跟踪和监测,例如 Grow Africa、Grow Asia、粮食行动联盟和世界基准联盟。将在交付机制方面开展进一步工作,以促进和支持更好的公私合作以实现影响。这将包括与国际组织(粮农组织、农发基金、国际货币基金组织、世界银行、粮食计划署和其他联合国机构)的有效协调以及国家层面的协商和实施,这是交付的基础,这将根据国情量身定制,领导由政府。

提议的解决方案包括提高土著人民和当地社区在决策和政策宣传中的参与度和自主权的机制;支持规范框架,承认地方和土著治理体系,承认和使用现有能力和知识;并承认基本权利,例如食物权和有保障的土地使用权。这些对于重新平衡机构和促进更公平和可持续的粮食系统至关重要。该集群以具有潜在运营足迹的计划为前提,以:

  • 建立信托基金和其他机制,以促进资产、能力、技能和信息的获取和加强 促进公平的生计,并确保土地所有权、使用权和其他权利。
  • 促进社区和土著人民的农业生态方法 如水土保持;再生或保护性农业;本土种子和品种保护和推广;农林业或可持续渔业;通过在跨文化方法下共同创造知识,包括社会、经济和文化方面。
  • 改善弱势群体的生活环境 通过创建各种用于减少灾害风险的社区资产,以及处于风险中的社区。
  • 促进透明和负责任的土地治理和资源管理流程 如世界粮食安全委员会 (CFS)、食物权准则 (RTFG) 和土地、森林和渔业权属负责任治理自愿准则 (VGGT) 所述。
  • 促进足够的投资和获取资源(金融、人力资源、数字等) 根据粮安委 RTFG 和农业和粮食系统负责任投资原则(原则 5:尊重土地、渔业、森林和水的权属),主要利益相关者认识到安全土地权属在建设可持续粮食系统中的重要性。
  • 维护妇女的平等土地权 根据 CFS RTFG 和 VGGT,促进他们平等获得和控制生产性土地、自然资源、可持续投入和技术,以及获得教育、培训、市场和信息的机会。
  • 承认和尊重所有合法的权属权利人 及其权利,包括酌情并根据国家立法,土著人民和当地社区的合法权属权利,这些社区拥有对土地、渔业和森林实行自治的习惯权属制度,特别注意提供公平的获取对于女性,符合 CFS VGGT。
  • 可持续管理所有陆地和海洋农业生态系统 营养、健康的生态系统、农村生计和有弹性的食物链,并鼓励低投入的牧区系统生产有助于减少贫困和饥饿的健康动物源食物。
  • 支持创新和催化资金 用于研究和学习平台、领导能力建设和种子资金,以复制和推广正在进行的解决全球气候变化适应和生计的计划和项目。

该解决方案集群需要确定解决方案和模型,以 1) 以技能和基础广泛的合作伙伴帮助处于弱势和边缘化境况的社区,以推动举措向前推进,以及 2) 使所有利益相关者和权利持有人能够共同努力鼓励创新,并改善弹性的互补性和协同作用。

2021 年 4 月,非洲国家承诺按照亚行和其他机构的承诺将农业生产力提高一倍 170亿美元 在未来 5 年内消除饥饿。阿联酋和美国在英国、巴西、丹麦、以色列、新加坡、澳大利亚和乌拉圭的支持下,宣布了气候农业创新使命(气候目标)。 2021 年 5 月, 七国集团公报 重申了 埃尔毛承诺 使 5 亿人摆脱长期饥饿和营养不良,包括“呼吁私营部门和基金会增加他们的贡献”,G7 承诺额外提供 85亿美元 用于人道主义和相关的增强复原力的响应。

加入工作组

AT-1

Solution Cluster 1.1.3

Launch a “Zero Hunger, Nourish the Future” Pledge for the Private Sector​

“A world without hunger is possible – and it is within reach.”
Dr. Agnes Kalibata and Dr. Gerd Müller

A pledge by companies and investment funds to align USD 5 billion of their collective investments with new evidence and new commitments being made by governments, donors, and development banks to end hunger and nourish the future by 2030. Pledges to be signed and launched at the UN Food Systems Summit in September 2021.

About this Solution Cluster

The evidence for the specific set of investments needed to achieve the goal of ending hunger by 2030 is laid out in a series of new authoritative reports.[1]The evidence comes from Ceres2030: Sustainable Solutions to End Hunger (2020), ZEF-FAO-IISD-IFPRI-Cornell (2020), SOFI (2020), PARI (2020). In the simplest terms, evidence refers to science-based information about what works and what does not work. Commitments refer to what institutions or institutional players, in particular governments, have promised to do. Ceres2030 involved 86 researchers from 26 countries and 53 organizations, with the findings published in Nature Research. The Ceres2030 report shows that if an additional USD 33 billion per year is invested in high-impact interventions, this will end hunger, double the incomes of 545 million food producers and their families on average, and limit greenhouse gas emissions for agriculture to the commitments made in the Paris climate agreement. Importantly, it will crowd in USD 52 billion of local private-sector investment per year.

Table 1 groups the evidence from the new reports around three areas of investment, ten high-impact types of investment, and an iterative list of examples of company-aligned investments to guide the private sector in their pledge.

Examples of aligning company investments to new evidence
Table 1: Examples of aligning company investments to new evidence

 

Companies and investment funds will sign a pledge at the UN Food Systems Summit. The pledge will require a financial commitment in a specific country or region or across a set of investments. The pledges will be tracked and monitored through existing mechanisms, such as Grow Africa, Grow Asia, the Food Action Alliance, and the World Benchmarking Alliance. Further work will be done on the mechanisms for delivery that can facilitate and support better public-private alignment to achieve impact. This will include effective coordination with international organisations (FAO, IFAD, IMF, WB, WFP, and other UN agencies) as well as country-level consultation and implementation, which are fundamental to delivery, and this will be tailored to national circumstances, led by governments.

The solutions proposed include mechanisms for greater participation and autonomy of Indigenous Peoples and local communities in decision making and policy advocacy; enabling normative frameworks, recognition of local and indigenous governance systems, and recognition and use of existing capacity and knowledge; and recognising basic rights such as the right to food and secure land tenure. These are critical for rebalancing agency and promoting more equitable and sustainable food systems. This cluster is premised on a programme with a potential operational footprint to:

  • establish trust funds and other mechanisms to facilitate access to and strengthening of assets, capacities, skills, and information to advance equitable livelihoods, and secure land titling, tenure rights, and other rights.
  • promote communities’ and indigenous peoples’ agro-ecological approaches such as soil and water conservation; regenerative or conservation agriculture; indigenous seed and breed protection and promotion; agro-forestry, or sustainable fisheries; and including social, economic, and cultural aspects through co-creation of knowledge under an intercultural approach.
  • improve the living environment of people in vulnerable situations and communities at risk through the creation of various community assets for disaster risk reduction.
  • facilitate transparent and accountable land governance and resource management processes as stated in the Committee on World Food Security (CFS), Right to Food Guidelines (RTFG) and Voluntary Guidelines for the Responsible Governance of Tenure of Land, Forests and Fisheries (VGGT).
  • foster adequate investment and access to resources (financial, human resources, digital, etc.) by key stakeholders recognising the importance of secure land tenure in building sustainable food systems, in accordance with the CFS RTFG and Principles for Responsible Investment in Agriculture and Food Systems (Principle 5: Respect tenure of land, fisheries, forests and water).
  • uphold women’s equal tenure rights and promote their equal access to and control over productive land, natural resources, sustainable inputs and technologies, and access to education, training, markets, and information in line with the CFS RTFG and VGGT.
  • recognise and respect all legitimate tenure right holders and their rights including, as appropriate and in line with national legislation, the legitimate tenure rights of indigenous peoples and local communities with customary tenure systems that exercise self-governance of land, fisheries, and forests, with special attention to the provision of equitable access for women, in line with the CFS VGGT.
  • sustainably manage all terrestrial and marine agroecological systems for nutrition, healthy ecosystems, rural livelihoods, and resilient food chains as well as encourage low input pastoral systems to produce healthy animal source food that contribute to reducing poverty and hunger.
  • support innovative and catalytic funding for research and learning platforms, leadership capacity building, and seed funding to replicate and bring to scale ongoing programmes and projects addressing climate change adaptation and livelihoods globally.

This solution cluster entails identifying solutions and models that 1) assist communities in vulnerable and marginalised situations with the skills and a broad-based set of partners to drive the initiatives forward, and 2) enable processes for all stakeholders and rights-holders to work together to encourage innovation and improve complementarities and synergies for resilience.

In April 2021, African countries committed to double agricultural productivity as the ADB and other institutions pledged USD 17 billion over the next 5 years to end hunger. The UAE and the US, with support from the UK, Brazil, Denmark, Israel, Singapore, Australia, and Uruguay, announced the Agriculture Innovation Mission for Climate (AIM for Climate). In May 2021, the G7 communiqué reaffirmed the Elmau commitment to lift 500 million people from chronic hunger and malnutrition, including a ‘call on the private sector and foundations to increase their contributions,’ and the G7 pledged an additional USD 8.5 billion for humanitarian and related resilience-strengthening responses.

Join Working Group