AT-1

مجموعة الحلول 1.1.3

أطلق تعهد "القضاء على الجوع ، أغذي المستقبل" للقطاع الخاص

"عالم خال من الجوع ممكن - وهو في متناول اليد."
الدكتورة أغنيس كاليباتا والدكتور جيرد مولر

تعهد من جانب الشركات وصناديق الاستثمار بمواءمة 5 مليارات دولار أمريكي من استثماراتها الجماعية مع الأدلة الجديدة والالتزامات الجديدة التي تعهدت بها الحكومات والجهات المانحة وبنوك التنمية لإنهاء الجوع وتغذية المستقبل بحلول عام 2030. سيتم التوقيع على التعهدات وإطلاقها في قمة الأمم المتحدة للأنظمة الغذائية في سبتمبر 2021.

حول مجموعة الحلول هذه

تم وضع الدليل على المجموعة المحددة من الاستثمارات اللازمة لتحقيق هدف القضاء على الجوع بحلول عام 2030 في سلسلة من التقارير الرسمية الجديدة.[1]يأتي الدليل من Ceres2030: حلول مستدامة للقضاء على الجوع (2020), ZEF-FAO-IISD-IFPRI-Cornell (2020), سوفي (2020), باري (2020). في أبسط المصطلحات ، تشير الأدلة إلى المعلومات المستندة إلى العلم حول ما يصلح وما لا يعمل. تشير الالتزامات إلى ما وعدت به المؤسسات أو الفاعلون المؤسسيون ، ولا سيما الحكومات. شارك في Ceres2030 86 باحثًا من 26 دولة و 53 منظمة ، مع نشر النتائج في Nature Research. يوضح تقرير Ceres2030 أنه إذا تم استثمار 33 مليار دولار أمريكي إضافية سنويًا في التدخلات عالية التأثير ، فسيؤدي ذلك إلى القضاء على الجوع ، ومضاعفة دخل 545 مليون من منتجي الأغذية وعائلاتهم في المتوسط ، والحد من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري للزراعة وفقًا للالتزامات صنع في اتفاقية باريس للمناخ. الأهم من ذلك ، أنها ستجمع 52 مليار دولار أمريكي من استثمارات القطاع الخاص المحلي سنويًا.

يجمع الجدول 1 الأدلة من التقارير الجديدة حول ثلاثة مجالات للاستثمار ، وعشرة أنواع من الاستثمار عالي التأثير ، وقائمة متكررة من أمثلة الاستثمارات المتوافقة مع الشركة لتوجيه القطاع الخاص في تعهده.

Examples of aligning company investments to new evidence
الجدول 1: أمثلة على مواءمة استثمارات الشركة مع الأدلة الجديدة

 

ستوقع الشركات وصناديق الاستثمار على تعهد في قمة نظم الغذاء التابعة للأمم المتحدة. سيتطلب التعهد التزامًا ماليًا في بلد أو منطقة معينة أو عبر مجموعة من الاستثمارات. سيتم تتبع التعهدات ومراقبتها من خلال الآليات القائمة ، مثل Grow Africa ، و Grow Asia ، وتحالف العمل الغذائي ، والتحالف العالمي المعياري. سيتم القيام بمزيد من العمل بشأن آليات التسليم التي يمكن أن تسهل وتدعم المواءمة الأفضل بين القطاعين العام والخاص لتحقيق التأثير. وسيشمل ذلك التنسيق الفعال مع المنظمات الدولية (منظمة الأغذية والزراعة ، والصندوق الدولي للتنمية الزراعية ، وصندوق النقد الدولي ، والبنك الدولي ، وبرنامج الأغذية العالمي ، ووكالات الأمم المتحدة الأخرى) بالإضافة إلى التشاور والتنفيذ على المستوى القطري ، والتي تعتبر أساسية للتنفيذ ، وسيتم تفصيلها وفقًا للظروف الوطنية ، بقيادة من قبل الحكومات.

وتشمل الحلول المقترحة آليات لمشاركة أكبر واستقلالية للشعوب الأصلية والمجتمعات المحلية في صنع القرار والدعوة للسياسات ؛ تمكين الأطر المعيارية ، والاعتراف بأنظمة الحكم المحلية والأصلية ، والاعتراف بالقدرات والمعارف القائمة واستخدامها ؛ والاعتراف بالحقوق الأساسية مثل الحق في الغذاء وضمان حيازة الأراضي. هذه الأمور بالغة الأهمية لإعادة التوازن بين الوكالات وتعزيز أنظمة غذائية أكثر إنصافًا واستدامة. تستند هذه المجموعة إلى برنامج له بصمة تشغيلية محتملة من أجل:

  • إنشاء صناديق استئمانية وآليات أخرى لتسهيل الوصول إلى الأصول والقدرات والمهارات والمعلومات وتعزيزها للنهوض بسبل العيش العادلة وتأمين حقوق ملكية الأراضي وحقوق الحيازة وغيرها من الحقوق.
  • تعزيز النهج الزراعية الإيكولوجية للمجتمعات والشعوب الأصلية مثل الحفاظ على التربة والمياه ؛ الزراعة المتجددة أو المحافظة على الموارد ؛ حماية وتعزيز البذور المحلية والسلالات ؛ الحراجة الزراعية ، أو مصايد الأسماك المستدامة ؛ بما في ذلك الجوانب الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والثقافية من خلال المشاركة في خلق المعرفة في إطار نهج متعدد الثقافات.
  • تحسين البيئة المعيشية للأشخاص في المواقف الضعيفة والمجتمعات المعرضة للخطر من خلال إنشاء أصول مجتمعية متنوعة للحد من مخاطر الكوارث.
  • تسهيل عمليات إدارة الأراضي وإدارة الموارد التي تتسم بالشفافية والمساءلة كما ورد في لجنة الأمن الغذائي العالمي (CFS) والمبادئ التوجيهية للحق في الغذاء (RTFG) والمبادئ التوجيهية الطوعية للحوكمة المسؤولة لحيازة الأراضي والغابات ومصايد الأسماك (VGGT).
  • تعزيز الاستثمار الكافي والوصول إلى الموارد (المالية ، والموارد البشرية ، والرقمية ، وما إلى ذلك) من قبل أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين الذين يدركون أهمية ضمان حيازة الأراضي في بناء نظم غذائية مستدامة ، وفقًا لـ CFS RTFG ومبادئ الاستثمار المسؤول في الزراعة وأنظمة الغذاء (المبدأ 5: احترام حيازة الأراضي ومصايد الأسماك والغابات والمياه).
  • دعم حقوق الحيازة المتساوية للمرأة وتعزيز وصولهم المتكافئ إلى الأراضي المنتجة ، والموارد الطبيعية ، والمدخلات والتقنيات المستدامة ، والتحكم فيها ، والوصول إلى التعليم والتدريب والأسواق والمعلومات بما يتماشى مع CFS RTFG و VGGT.
  • الاعتراف والاحترام لجميع أصحاب حقوق الحيازة المشروعة وحقوقهم بما في ذلك ، حسب الاقتضاء وبما يتماشى مع التشريعات الوطنية ، حقوق الحيازة المشروعة للشعوب الأصلية والمجتمعات المحلية ذات أنظمة الحيازة العرفية التي تمارس الحكم الذاتي للأراضي ومصايد الأسماك والغابات ، مع إيلاء اهتمام خاص لتوفير الوصول العادل للنساء ، تمشيا مع CFS VGGT.
  • الإدارة المستدامة لجميع النظم الإيكولوجية الزراعية البرية والبحرية للتغذية والنظم البيئية الصحية وسبل العيش الريفية وسلاسل الغذاء المرنة وكذلك تشجيع النظم الرعوية منخفضة المدخلات لإنتاج أغذية حيوانية صحية تسهم في الحد من الفقر والجوع.
  • دعم التمويل المبتكر والحفاز لمنصات البحث والتعلم ، وبناء القدرات القيادية ، والتمويل الأولي لتكرار وتوسيع نطاق البرامج والمشاريع الجارية التي تعالج التكيف مع تغير المناخ وسبل العيش على الصعيد العالمي.

تستلزم مجموعة الحلول هذه تحديد الحلول والنماذج التي 1) تساعد المجتمعات في المواقف الضعيفة والمهمشة بالمهارات ومجموعة واسعة من الشركاء لدفع المبادرات إلى الأمام ، و 2) تمكين العمليات لجميع أصحاب المصلحة وأصحاب الحقوق للعمل معًا لتشجيع الابتكار وتحسين أوجه التكامل والتآزر من أجل المرونة.

في أبريل 2021 ، التزمت البلدان الأفريقية بمضاعفة الإنتاجية الزراعية كما تعهد بنك التنمية الآسيوي ومؤسسات أخرى 17 مليار دولار أمريكي على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة للقضاء على الجوع. أعلنت الإمارات العربية المتحدة والولايات المتحدة ، بدعم من المملكة المتحدة والبرازيل والدنمارك وإسرائيل وسنغافورة وأستراليا وأوروغواي ، عن مهمة الابتكار الزراعي للمناخ (الهدف من أجل المناخ). في مايو 2021 ، أ بيان مجموعة السبع أعاد التأكيد على التزام إلماو لانتشال 500 مليون شخص من الجوع المزمن وسوء التغذية ، بما في ذلك "دعوة القطاع الخاص والمؤسسات لزيادة مساهماتهم" ، وتعهدت مجموعة الدول السبع بتقديم 8.5 مليار دولار أمريكي للاستجابات الإنسانية والاستجابات ذات الصلة لتعزيز القدرة على الصمود.

انضم إلى مجموعة العمل

AT-1

Solution Cluster 1.1.3

Launch a “Zero Hunger, Nourish the Future” Pledge for the Private Sector​

“A world without hunger is possible – and it is within reach.”
Dr. Agnes Kalibata and Dr. Gerd Müller

A pledge by companies and investment funds to align USD 5 billion of their collective investments with new evidence and new commitments being made by governments, donors, and development banks to end hunger and nourish the future by 2030. Pledges to be signed and launched at the UN Food Systems Summit in September 2021.

About this Solution Cluster

The evidence for the specific set of investments needed to achieve the goal of ending hunger by 2030 is laid out in a series of new authoritative reports.[1]The evidence comes from Ceres2030: Sustainable Solutions to End Hunger (2020), ZEF-FAO-IISD-IFPRI-Cornell (2020), SOFI (2020), PARI (2020). In the simplest terms, evidence refers to science-based information about what works and what does not work. Commitments refer to what institutions or institutional players, in particular governments, have promised to do. Ceres2030 involved 86 researchers from 26 countries and 53 organizations, with the findings published in Nature Research. The Ceres2030 report shows that if an additional USD 33 billion per year is invested in high-impact interventions, this will end hunger, double the incomes of 545 million food producers and their families on average, and limit greenhouse gas emissions for agriculture to the commitments made in the Paris climate agreement. Importantly, it will crowd in USD 52 billion of local private-sector investment per year.

Table 1 groups the evidence from the new reports around three areas of investment, ten high-impact types of investment, and an iterative list of examples of company-aligned investments to guide the private sector in their pledge.

Examples of aligning company investments to new evidence
Table 1: Examples of aligning company investments to new evidence

 

Companies and investment funds will sign a pledge at the UN Food Systems Summit. The pledge will require a financial commitment in a specific country or region or across a set of investments. The pledges will be tracked and monitored through existing mechanisms, such as Grow Africa, Grow Asia, the Food Action Alliance, and the World Benchmarking Alliance. Further work will be done on the mechanisms for delivery that can facilitate and support better public-private alignment to achieve impact. This will include effective coordination with international organisations (FAO, IFAD, IMF, WB, WFP, and other UN agencies) as well as country-level consultation and implementation, which are fundamental to delivery, and this will be tailored to national circumstances, led by governments.

The solutions proposed include mechanisms for greater participation and autonomy of Indigenous Peoples and local communities in decision making and policy advocacy; enabling normative frameworks, recognition of local and indigenous governance systems, and recognition and use of existing capacity and knowledge; and recognising basic rights such as the right to food and secure land tenure. These are critical for rebalancing agency and promoting more equitable and sustainable food systems. This cluster is premised on a programme with a potential operational footprint to:

  • establish trust funds and other mechanisms to facilitate access to and strengthening of assets, capacities, skills, and information to advance equitable livelihoods, and secure land titling, tenure rights, and other rights.
  • promote communities’ and indigenous peoples’ agro-ecological approaches such as soil and water conservation; regenerative or conservation agriculture; indigenous seed and breed protection and promotion; agro-forestry, or sustainable fisheries; and including social, economic, and cultural aspects through co-creation of knowledge under an intercultural approach.
  • improve the living environment of people in vulnerable situations and communities at risk through the creation of various community assets for disaster risk reduction.
  • facilitate transparent and accountable land governance and resource management processes as stated in the Committee on World Food Security (CFS), Right to Food Guidelines (RTFG) and Voluntary Guidelines for the Responsible Governance of Tenure of Land, Forests and Fisheries (VGGT).
  • foster adequate investment and access to resources (financial, human resources, digital, etc.) by key stakeholders recognising the importance of secure land tenure in building sustainable food systems, in accordance with the CFS RTFG and Principles for Responsible Investment in Agriculture and Food Systems (Principle 5: Respect tenure of land, fisheries, forests and water).
  • uphold women’s equal tenure rights and promote their equal access to and control over productive land, natural resources, sustainable inputs and technologies, and access to education, training, markets, and information in line with the CFS RTFG and VGGT.
  • recognise and respect all legitimate tenure right holders and their rights including, as appropriate and in line with national legislation, the legitimate tenure rights of indigenous peoples and local communities with customary tenure systems that exercise self-governance of land, fisheries, and forests, with special attention to the provision of equitable access for women, in line with the CFS VGGT.
  • sustainably manage all terrestrial and marine agroecological systems for nutrition, healthy ecosystems, rural livelihoods, and resilient food chains as well as encourage low input pastoral systems to produce healthy animal source food that contribute to reducing poverty and hunger.
  • support innovative and catalytic funding for research and learning platforms, leadership capacity building, and seed funding to replicate and bring to scale ongoing programmes and projects addressing climate change adaptation and livelihoods globally.

This solution cluster entails identifying solutions and models that 1) assist communities in vulnerable and marginalised situations with the skills and a broad-based set of partners to drive the initiatives forward, and 2) enable processes for all stakeholders and rights-holders to work together to encourage innovation and improve complementarities and synergies for resilience.

In April 2021, African countries committed to double agricultural productivity as the ADB and other institutions pledged USD 17 billion over the next 5 years to end hunger. The UAE and the US, with support from the UK, Brazil, Denmark, Israel, Singapore, Australia, and Uruguay, announced the Agriculture Innovation Mission for Climate (AIM for Climate). In May 2021, the G7 communiqué reaffirmed the Elmau commitment to lift 500 million people from chronic hunger and malnutrition, including a ‘call on the private sector and foundations to increase their contributions,’ and the G7 pledged an additional USD 8.5 billion for humanitarian and related resilience-strengthening responses.

Join Working Group