AT-4

解决方案集群 4.1.1

赋予社区和土著人民权力:承认权利和传统知识

解决方案集群 4.1.1。赋予社区权力:承认权利、土著人民和传统知识 关注在粮食系统内增加对权利、平等和非歧视的尊重。该集群将更有效的领土级治理包括承认土著粮食系统作为有效的景观管理、土地和资源的权利、提高行动能力、合作和传统知识 (TK) 处于可持续粮食系统的中心。它特别旨在将人权观点纳入粮食系统工作,以确保消除影响边缘化人群的不平等、饥饿和营养不良的斗争是有效、可持续和公正的。

该集群侧重于一系列解决方案,以增加包容性并加强边缘化社区的能动性。它们包括: 1) 加强和促进现有能力并促进利用传统知识; 2) 饮食文化的振兴,并承认妇女作为与自然资源管理相关的传统生态知识的保管人的作用; 3) 承认权属权利、食物权和其他人权; 4) 加强地方组织,让妇女和青年公平参与——不要边缘化老年人和其他知识持有者。 

该集群还将确保流程和产品创新以及数字解决方案在其解决方案中可访问和集成,并以基于传统知识的现有良好实践为基础。这些包括传统的土壤保持实践;土著社区作为种子、栽培和野生动植物遗传多样性监护人的作用;基于祖先知识的预警系统用于天气预报,有助于减少灾害风险;种植营养丰富但经常被忽视的食物,以实现膳食多样性和营销。这些活动和做法对所有人都有好处,在当前的 COVID-19 大流行期间,许多活动和做法已被证明是关键,这暴露了全球食物链的脆弱性。因此,该解决方案集群可以对数百万人的生活和生计及其自然环境产生重大影响,并将极大地促进气候减缓和生物多样性保护。

关于此解决方案集群

农村和城市地区的多维贫困和不安全的生计是我们许多粮食系统的特征。需要新的解决方案来保护和保护环境、管理和恢复生物多样性、适应和缓解气候变化,同时防止暴力冲突和被迫流离失所。实现这一目标的关键行为者和资产是当地社区、小规模粮食生产者、家庭农民、牧民和土著人民,他们经常生活在偏远地区、森林、山区、沙漠和沿海地区并管理自己的食物系统。[1]通过“关键行为者”,该群组考虑:土著人民和当地社区、小农、家庭农民、畜牧业者、小规模渔民和渔业工人,如联合国大会第 A/RES/74/242 号决议所规定2019 年 12 月 19 日批准的关于农业发展、粮食安全和营养的决议。 他们的传统知识对于保护生物和文化多样性、可持续利用自然资源、保护生态系统的完整性以及通过生产营养丰富的食物为国家粮食安全和营养做出贡献至关重要。需要这个集群来保护和增强这些知识,以平衡当代对食品商品化的关注。土著人民的力量、实践和知识的集体网络已被侵蚀和边缘化,减少了他们对饮食的控制,减少了他们获得传统食物来源的机会,因此剥夺了他们的食物权。

土著人民对生物多样性的保护得到 4000 多种土著语言的支持,这些语言丰富的词汇描述了广泛的知识和与自然环境的联系。因此,生物文化多样性是一个重要的概念,因为它超越了当代科学话语,后者明确地解决了生物多样性和文化问题。特使呼吁在峰会背景下采取大胆的解决方案,这需要打破纪律,尊重多样性并采取真正的多学科方法。土著粮食系统是复杂和多功能的,因为一些社区在对生态系统(狩猎采集者、渔民、牧民、牧民)的人类干预最少的情况下生产食物,而其他社区则进行耕作,还有一些社区将食物生产和食物生产结合起来。因此,需要确保尊重土著人民的自治权和自主权,以管理他们自己的习惯土地和领土,并行使与自然和谐相处的权利。

此外,小规模/家庭农民在人类粮食消费系统中发挥着至关重要的作用,生产了全球 70% 的产量,他们的权利需要保护。许多人的土地保有权没有保障,他们的贡献很少得到认可,并受到威胁和脆弱性的影响,包括环境退化和气候变化影响。 COVID-19 大流行增加了现有的脆弱性,并加剧了潜在的结构性不平等、社会经济边缘化和普遍歧视。它还对小规模粮食生产者、家庭农民、牧民以及当地和土著人民社区造成了不成比例的影响,给他们的生计、物质和文化生存带来了风险。这场大流行提醒人们,对粮食生产和获取的控制是世界上最基本的权力来源之一。许多粮食系统都以这种权力结构的极端失衡为前提,这加剧了 UNFSS 旨在解决的不平等问题。

土地不平等直接威胁着约 25 亿从事小规模农业的人的生计,以及世界上最贫困的 14 亿人的生计,其中大部分人的生计主要依赖农业(包括森林和渔业)。 10% 的农村人口控制着 60% 的农业土地价值,而最底层的 50% 控制着 3%。[2]不平坦的土地:不平等社会核心的土地不平等,2020 年,国际土地联盟。 土著人民有权和/或管理至少 28% 的世界土地面积。[3]Garnett, Stephen T. 等人, 土著土地对保护的全球重要性的空间概览,自然可持续性 1(7),2018 年 7 月。 这片土地的很大一部分与地球的关键生态系统重叠,包含地球生物多样性的 80% 以上。[4]研究保护和土著人民的人权,2018 年,为联合国土著问题常设论坛准备的研究报告。 他们对这些生态系统和土地的知识和理解是所有人的重要资源,必须受到保护。应加强已证明有能力确保其人民的福祉和粮食安全的土著人民的治理体系。然而,大规模的资源开采、土地掠夺和冲突威胁着小规模粮食生产者、牧民、当地社区和土著人民的生计和福祉。因此,重申土著人民对其土地和领地的权利并确保公平获得土地和土地保有权以及其他自然资源,是确保粮食系统安全的关键组成部分。

证据表明,确保土地权利;以跨文化的方式将传统知识与科学技术相结合;通过财政援助支持小规模粮食生产者、家庭农民、牧民、当地和土著人民社区,可以促进创新和可持续的粮食系统解决方案,造福所有人。此外,承认当地现有的能力和权利有助于在当地社区和土著人民之间建立机构。

提议的解决方案包括提高土著人民和当地社区在决策和政策宣传中的参与度和自主权的机制;支持规范框架,承认地方和土著治理体系,承认和使用现有能力和知识;并承认基本权利,例如食物权和有保障的土地使用权。这些对于重新平衡机构和促进更公平和可持续的粮食系统至关重要。该集群以具有潜在运营足迹的计划为前提,以:

  • 建立信托基金和其他机制,以促进资产、能力、技能和信息的获取和加强 促进公平的生计,并确保土地所有权、使用权和其他权利。
  • 促进社区和土著人民的农业生态方法 如水土保持;再生或保护性农业;本土种子和品种保护和推广;农林业或可持续渔业;通过在跨文化方法下共同创造知识,包括社会、经济和文化方面。
  • 改善弱势群体的生活环境 通过创建各种用于减少灾害风险的社区资产,以及处于风险中的社区。
  • 促进透明和负责任的土地治理和资源管理流程 如世界粮食安全委员会 (CFS)、食物权准则 (RTFG) 和土地、森林和渔业权属负责任治理自愿准则 (VGGT) 所述。
  • 促进足够的投资和获取资源(金融、人力资源、数字等) 根据粮安委 RTFG 和农业和粮食系统负责任投资原则(原则 5:尊重土地、渔业、森林和水的权属),主要利益相关者认识到安全土地权属在建设可持续粮食系统中的重要性。
  • 维护妇女的平等土地权 根据 CFS RTFG 和 VGGT,促进他们平等获得和控制生产性土地、自然资源、可持续投入和技术,以及获得教育、培训、市场和信息的机会。
  • 承认和尊重所有合法的权属权利人 及其权利,包括酌情并根据国家立法,土著人民和当地社区的合法权属权利,这些社区拥有对土地、渔业和森林实行自治的习惯权属制度,特别注意提供公平的获取对于女性,符合 CFS VGGT。
  • 可持续管理所有陆地和海洋农业生态系统 营养、健康的生态系统、农村生计和有弹性的食物链,并鼓励低投入的牧区系统生产有助于减少贫困和饥饿的健康动物源食物。
  • 支持创新和催化资金 用于研究和学习平台、领导能力建设和种子资金,以复制和推广正在进行的解决全球气候变化适应和生计的计划和项目。

该解决方案集群需要确定解决方案和模型,以 1) 以技能和基础广泛的合作伙伴帮助处于弱势和边缘化境况的社区,以推动举措向前推进,以及 2) 使所有利益相关者和权利持有人能够共同努力鼓励创新,并改善弹性的互补性和协同作用。

我们的变革理论是,小规模农业和本地化的传统和土著人民的粮食系统可以促进公平的生计、营养福利、生态系统健康和对气候变化的适应能力。应用这些知识并使用它可以为全球可持续粮食系统的设计和管理做出贡献。我们的目标是通过多元文化学习和交流过程,将传统知识持有者与当代科学知识作为平等的伙伴联系起来,以发展公平的生计。变革理论基于数百年来土著人民的知识和学习,以及他们的粮食系统同时具有可持续性、公平性、生产力和弹性的证据。然后,它建立在尊重和维护食物权和人权的必要性之上,并利用传统和当代知识在确保所有人的有尊严的生计和粮食安全方面所能提供的最佳知识。

该集群采用“不让任何人掉队”的方法,并将特别有助于实现可持续发展目标 1、2、5、10、12 和 13,而其联盟建设方法则针对可持续发展目标 17。解决方案集群与正在进行的全球政策相关联由 CFS、生物多样性公约 (CBD)、联合国气候变化框架公约 (UNFCCC) 和联合国防治荒漠化公约 (UNCCD) 牵头的议程,并考虑了关于土著人民食物的 White/Wiphala 文件的建议系统。[5]粮农组织,2021 年, 关于土著人民粮食系统的 White/Wiphala 文件.罗马。

加入工作组

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.1.1

Empowering Communities and Indigenous Peoples: Recognising Rights and Traditional Knowledge

Solution Cluster 4.1.1. Empowering Communities: Recognising Rights, Indigenous Peoples, and Traditional Knowledge is concerned with increasing respect for rights, equality, and non-discrimination within food systems. The cluster places more effective territorial-level governance including recognition of indigenous food systems as effective landscape management, rights over land and resources, improved capacity for action, cooperation, and traditional knowledge (TK) at the centre of sustainable food systems. It aims specifically at integrating a human rights perspective in food systems work to ensure that the fight against inequality, hunger, and malnutrition – affecting people who are marginalised – is effective, sustainable, and just.

The cluster focuses on a collection of solutions to increase the inclusion and strengthen the agency of marginalised communities. They include: 1) the enhancement and promotion of existing capacity and facilitating the harnessing of traditional knowledge; 2) the revitalisation of food culture and recognising the role of women as custodians of traditional ecological knowledge linked to natural resource management; 3) the recognition of tenure rights, the right to food and other human rights; and, 4) strengthening local organisations with equitable participation of women and youth – without marginalising elders and other knowledge holders. 

This cluster will also ensure that process and product innovation and digital solutions will be accessible and integrated throughout its solutions and build on existing good practices based on traditional knowledge. These include traditional soil conservation practices; the role of indigenous communities as custodians of genetic diversity of seeds, cultivated and wild plants and animals; early warning systems based on ancestral knowledge for weather forecasting, which contribute to disaster risk reduction; the cultivation of nutrient-rich and often neglected foods for dietary diversity and for marketing. These activities and practices are a benefit for all, and many have proven key during the current COVID-19 pandemic, which has exposed the vulnerabilities of global food chains. This solution cluster can thus have a significant impact on lives and the livelihoods of millions of people and their natural environments and will greatly contribute to climate mitigation and biodiversity conservation.

About this Solution Cluster

Multidimensional poverty and insecure livelihoods in rural and urban areas characterises many of our food systems. There is a need for new solutions to preserve and protect the environment, manage and restore biodiversity, and adapt to and mitigate climate change, while also preventing violent conflict and forced displacement. Critical actors and assets in the pursuit of this goal are local communities, small-scale food producers, family farmers, pastoralists, and Indigenous Peoples, who often live in remote areas, forests, mountains, deserts, and coastal areas and manage their own food systems.[1]By “critical actor” this cluster considers: indigenous peoples and local communities, small-scale farmers, family farmers, livestock farmers, small-scale fishers, and fish workers, as provided by the UN General Assembly Resolution A/RES/74/242 on Agriculture Development, Food Security and Nutrition, approved on 19 December 2019. Their traditional knowledge has been critical to the preservation of biological and cultural diversity, the sustainable use of natural resources, the protection of the integrity of ecosystems, as well as the contribution to national food security and nutrition through the production of nutrient-rich foods. This cluster is needed to protect and enhance that knowledge to balance contemporary focus on the commodification of food. Indigenous peoples’ strengths, collective networks of practices and knowledge have been eroded and marginalised, reducing their control over their diets, diminishing their access to traditional sources of food, and, therefore, denying their right to food.

The custodianship of biodiversity by indigenous peoples is supported by over 4000 indigenous languages whose rich vocabularies depict extensive knowledge and association with the natural environment. Biocultural diversity is thus a critical concept as it transcends contemporary scientific discourse which addresses biodiversity and culture distinctly. The special envoy called for bold solutions in the context of the summit and this requires breaking out of disciplines, respecting, and working with diversity and adopting truly multidisciplinary approaches. Indigenous food systems are complex and multifunctional because some communities generate food with minimum human intervention on the ecosystem (hunter-gatherers, fishers, herders, pastoralists) while others cultivate, and still others combine food generation and food production. Because of this, there is a need to ensure respect for indigenous peoples’ autonomy and agency to govern their own customary lands and territories and exercise their rights to live in harmony with nature.

Further, small-scale/family farmers play a crucial role in human food consumption systems, producing 70 percent of global output, and their rights require protection. Many have insecure land tenure, are rarely recognised for their contribution and are subject to threats and vulnerabilities, including environmental degradation and climate change impacts. The COVID-19 pandemic has increased existing vulnerabilities and exacerbated underlying structural inequalities, socio-economic marginalisation, and pervasive discrimination. It has also disproportionately affected small-scale food producers, family farmers, pastoralists, and local and indigenous peoples’ communities, posing risks to their livelihoods, physical and cultural existence. The pandemic has served as a reminder that control over the production of and access to food is one of the world’s most fundamental sources of power. Many food systems are premised on extreme imbalances in this power structure, which reinforces the inequalities the UNFSS aims to resolve.

Land inequality directly threatens the livelihoods of an estimated 2.5 billion people involved in small-scale agriculture, as well the world’s poorest 1.4 billion people, most of whom depend largely on agriculture (including forests and fisheries) for their livelihoods. Ten percent of the rural population controls 60 percent of agricultural land value, while the bottom 50 percent controls 3 percent.[2]Uneven Ground: Land Inequality at the Heart of Unequal Societies, 2020, International Land Coalition. Indigenous peoples have rights to and/or manage at least 28 percent of the world’s land area.[3]Garnett, Stephen T., et al., A spatial overview of the global importance of Indigenous lands for conservation, Nature Sustainability 1(7), July 2018. A significant portion of this land area overlaps with the Earth’s critical ecosystems and contain over 80 percent of the planet’s biodiversity.[4]Study to examine conservation and indigenous peoples’ human rights, 2018, study prepared for UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues. Their knowledge and understanding of these ecosystems and lands are a critical resource to all and must be protected. Indigenous peoples’ governance systems which have proven their capacity to ensure the well-being and food security of their people should be strengthened. However, large-scale resource extraction, land grabbing and conflict threaten small-scale food producers, pastoralists, local communities and indigenous peoples’ livelihoods and wellbeing. Reaffirming the rights of indigenous peoples to their lands and territories and ensuring equitable access to land and land tenure rights, as well as other natural resources, is thus a key component to ensure secure food systems.

Evidence shows that securing land rights; applying traditional knowledge with scientific technology with an intercultural approach; and supporting small-scale food producers, family farmers, pastoralists, local and indigenous peoples’ communities with financial assistance can promote innovative and sustainable solutions to food systems that benefit all. Moreover, recognising existing local capacity and rights contributes to building agency among local communities and indigenous peoples.

The solutions proposed include mechanisms for greater participation and autonomy of Indigenous Peoples and local communities in decision making and policy advocacy; enabling normative frameworks, recognition of local and indigenous governance systems, and recognition and use of existing capacity and knowledge; and recognising basic rights such as the right to food and secure land tenure. These are critical for rebalancing agency and promoting more equitable and sustainable food systems. This cluster is premised on a programme with a potential operational footprint to:

  • establish trust funds and other mechanisms to facilitate access to and strengthening of assets, capacities, skills, and information to advance equitable livelihoods, and secure land titling, tenure rights, and other rights.
  • promote communities’ and indigenous peoples’ agro-ecological approaches such as soil and water conservation; regenerative or conservation agriculture; indigenous seed and breed protection and promotion; agro-forestry, or sustainable fisheries; and including social, economic, and cultural aspects through co-creation of knowledge under an intercultural approach.
  • improve the living environment of people in vulnerable situations and communities at risk through the creation of various community assets for disaster risk reduction.
  • facilitate transparent and accountable land governance and resource management processes as stated in the Committee on World Food Security (CFS), Right to Food Guidelines (RTFG) and Voluntary Guidelines for the Responsible Governance of Tenure of Land, Forests and Fisheries (VGGT).
  • foster adequate investment and access to resources (financial, human resources, digital, etc.) by key stakeholders recognising the importance of secure land tenure in building sustainable food systems, in accordance with the CFS RTFG and Principles for Responsible Investment in Agriculture and Food Systems (Principle 5: Respect tenure of land, fisheries, forests and water).
  • uphold women’s equal tenure rights and promote their equal access to and control over productive land, natural resources, sustainable inputs and technologies, and access to education, training, markets, and information in line with the CFS RTFG and VGGT.
  • recognise and respect all legitimate tenure right holders and their rights including, as appropriate and in line with national legislation, the legitimate tenure rights of indigenous peoples and local communities with customary tenure systems that exercise self-governance of land, fisheries, and forests, with special attention to the provision of equitable access for women, in line with the CFS VGGT.
  • sustainably manage all terrestrial and marine agroecological systems for nutrition, healthy ecosystems, rural livelihoods, and resilient food chains as well as encourage low input pastoral systems to produce healthy animal source food that contribute to reducing poverty and hunger.
  • support innovative and catalytic funding for research and learning platforms, leadership capacity building, and seed funding to replicate and bring to scale ongoing programmes and projects addressing climate change adaptation and livelihoods globally.

This solution cluster entails identifying solutions and models that 1) assist communities in vulnerable and marginalised situations with the skills and a broad-based set of partners to drive the initiatives forward, and 2) enable processes for all stakeholders and rights-holders to work together to encourage innovation and improve complementarities and synergies for resilience.

Our theory of change is that small-scale farming and localised traditional and indigenous peoples’ food systems can advance equitable livelihoods, nutritional wellbeing, ecosystem health and resilience to climate change. Applying this knowledge and using it can contribute to the design and management of sustainable food systems worldwide. Our aim is to connect traditional knowledge holders with contemporary scientific knowledge as equal partners through multicultural learning and exchange processes for the development of equitable livelihoods. The theory of change is based on centuries of knowledge and learning from indigenous peoples and the evidence that their food systems are sustainable, equitable, productive, and resilient at the same time. It then builds in the imperative of respecting and upholding the right to food and human rights and draws on the best that traditional and contemporary knowledge has to offer in ensuring dignified livelihoods and food security for all.

This cluster embraces a “leave no-one behind” approach and will contribute, specifically, to achieving SDGs 1, 2, 5, 10, 12 and 13 while its coalition building approach addresses SDG 17. The solution cluster is linked to ongoing global policy agendas led by the CFS, Conventional on Biological Diversity (CBD), United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), and the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD) and considers recommendations from the White/Wiphala Paper on Indigenous Peoples’ Food Systems.[5]FAO, 2021, The White/Wiphala Paper on Indigenous Peoples’ food systems. Rome.

Join Working Group