AT-4

مجموعة الحلول 4.1.1

تمكين المجتمعات والشعوب الأصلية: الاعتراف بالحقوق والمعارف التقليدية

مجموعة الحلول 4.1.1. تمكين المجتمعات: الاعتراف بالحقوق والشعوب الأصلية والمعارف التقليدية يهتم بزيادة احترام الحقوق والمساواة وعدم التمييز داخل النظم الغذائية. تضع المجموعة حوكمة أكثر فاعلية على المستوى الإقليمي ، بما في ذلك الاعتراف بأنظمة الأغذية الأصلية باعتبارها إدارة فعالة للمناظر الطبيعية ، وحقوق الأراضي والموارد ، وتحسين القدرة على العمل والتعاون والمعارف التقليدية (TK) في مركز النظم الغذائية المستدامة. ويهدف على وجه التحديد إلى دمج منظور حقوق الإنسان في عمل النظم الغذائية لضمان أن تكون مكافحة عدم المساواة والجوع وسوء التغذية - التي تؤثر على الأشخاص المهمشين - فعالة ومستدامة وعادلة.

تركز المجموعة على مجموعة من الحلول لزيادة الإدماج وتقوية وكالة المجتمعات المهمشة. وهي تشمل: 1) تعزيز وتعزيز القدرات الموجودة وتسهيل تسخير المعارف التقليدية. 2) تنشيط الثقافة الغذائية والاعتراف بدور المرأة كوصي على المعرفة البيئية التقليدية المرتبطة بإدارة الموارد الطبيعية ؛ 3) الاعتراف بحقوق الحيازة والحق في الغذاء وحقوق الإنسان الأخرى ؛ 4) تعزيز المنظمات المحلية بالمشاركة العادلة للنساء والشباب - دون تهميش كبار السن وأصحاب المعرفة الآخرين. 

ستضمن هذه المجموعة أيضًا إمكانية الوصول إلى ابتكارات العمليات والمنتجات والحلول الرقمية ومتكاملة من خلال حلولها والبناء على الممارسات الجيدة القائمة على أساس المعرفة التقليدية. وتشمل هذه الممارسات التقليدية للحفاظ على التربة ؛ دور المجتمعات الأصلية كأوصياء على التنوع الجيني للبذور والنباتات والحيوانات المزروعة والبرية ؛ نظم الإنذار المبكر القائمة على المعرفة السلفية للتنبؤ بالطقس ، والتي تساهم في الحد من مخاطر الكوارث ؛ زراعة الأطعمة الغنية بالمغذيات والتي غالبًا ما تكون مهملة من أجل التنوع الغذائي وللتسويق. هذه الأنشطة والممارسات تعود بالفائدة على الجميع ، وقد أثبت الكثير منها أنها أساسية خلال جائحة COVID-19 الحالي ، الذي كشف نقاط الضعف في سلاسل الغذاء العالمية. وبالتالي يمكن أن يكون لمجموعة الحلول هذه تأثير كبير على حياة وسبل عيش الملايين من الناس وبيئاتهم الطبيعية وستساهم بشكل كبير في التخفيف من حدة المناخ والحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي.

حول مجموعة الحلول هذه

يتسم العديد من نظمنا الغذائية بالفقر متعدد الأبعاد وسبل العيش غير الآمنة في المناطق الريفية والحضرية. هناك حاجة إلى حلول جديدة للحفاظ على البيئة وحمايتها ، وإدارة واستعادة التنوع البيولوجي ، والتكيف مع تغير المناخ والتخفيف من حدته ، مع منع النزاعات العنيفة والتهجير القسري. الجهات الفاعلة والأصول الحاسمة في السعي لتحقيق هذا الهدف هي المجتمعات المحلية ، وصغار منتجي الأغذية ، والمزارعين الأسريين ، والرعاة ، والشعوب الأصلية ، الذين يعيشون غالبًا في المناطق النائية والغابات والجبال والصحاري والمناطق الساحلية ويديرون طعامهم. الأنظمة.[1]من خلال "الفاعل الحاسم" تنظر هذه المجموعة في: الشعوب الأصلية والمجتمعات المحلية ، وصغار المزارعين ، والمزارعين الأسريين ، ومربي الماشية ، وصغار الصيادين ، وعمال الأسماك ، على النحو المنصوص عليه في قرار الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة A / RES / 74/242 بشأن التنمية الزراعية والأمن الغذائي والتغذية ، تمت الموافقة عليها في 19 ديسمبر 2019. كانت معارفهم التقليدية حاسمة في الحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي والثقافي ، والاستخدام المستدام للموارد الطبيعية ، وحماية سلامة النظم الإيكولوجية ، فضلاً عن المساهمة في الأمن الغذائي الوطني والتغذية من خلال إنتاج أغذية غنية بالمغذيات. هذه المجموعة ضرورية لحماية تلك المعرفة وتعزيزها لتحقيق التوازن بين التركيز المعاصر على تحويل الغذاء إلى سلعة. لقد تآكلت نقاط القوة لدى الشعوب الأصلية وشبكات الممارسات والمعارف الجماعية وتهميشها ، مما قلل من سيطرتهم على أنظمتهم الغذائية ، وقلل من وصولهم إلى المصادر التقليدية للغذاء ، وبالتالي حرمانهم من حقهم في الغذاء.

يتم دعم الوصاية على التنوع البيولوجي من قبل الشعوب الأصلية من قبل أكثر من 4000 لغة أصلية تصور مفرداتها الغنية المعرفة الواسعة والارتباط بالبيئة الطبيعية. وبالتالي فإن التنوع البيولوجي الثقافي هو مفهوم حاسم لأنه يتجاوز الخطاب العلمي المعاصر الذي يتناول التنوع البيولوجي والثقافة بشكل واضح. ودعا المبعوث الخاص إلى حلول جريئة في سياق القمة وهذا يتطلب الخروج عن الضوابط واحترام التنوع والعمل مع التنوع واعتماد مناهج متعددة التخصصات بحق. تعد أنظمة الغذاء الخاصة بالسكان الأصليين معقدة ومتعددة الوظائف لأن بعض المجتمعات تولد الغذاء بأقل قدر من التدخل البشري على النظام البيئي (الصيادون - الجامعون ، الصيادون ، الرعاة ، الرعاة) بينما يقوم البعض الآخر بالزراعة ، ولا يزال البعض الآخر يجمع بين إنتاج الغذاء وإنتاج الغذاء. ولهذا السبب ، هناك حاجة إلى ضمان احترام الاستقلال الذاتي للشعوب الأصلية وقدرتها على إدارة أراضيها وأقاليمها العرفية وممارسة حقوقها في العيش في وئام مع الطبيعة.

علاوة على ذلك ، يلعب المزارعون الصغار / الأسريون دورًا حاسمًا في أنظمة استهلاك الغذاء البشري ، وينتجون 70 في المائة من الناتج العالمي ، وتتطلب حقوقهم الحماية. يعاني الكثير منهم من حيازة غير آمنة للأراضي ، ونادرًا ما يتم الاعتراف بمساهمتهم ويتعرضون للتهديدات ومواطن الضعف ، بما في ذلك تدهور البيئة وتأثيرات تغير المناخ. أدى جائحة كوفيد -19 إلى زيادة نقاط الضعف الحالية وتفاقم عدم المساواة الهيكلية الكامنة والتهميش الاجتماعي والاقتصادي والتمييز المتفشي. كما أثر بشكل غير متناسب على صغار منتجي الأغذية ، والمزارعين الأسريين ، والرعاة ، والمجتمعات المحلية والشعوب الأصلية ، مما شكل مخاطر على سبل عيشهم ووجودهم المادي والثقافي. لقد كان الوباء بمثابة تذكير بأن التحكم في إنتاج الغذاء والحصول عليه هو أحد أهم مصادر الطاقة في العالم. تقوم العديد من النظم الغذائية على اختلالات شديدة في هيكل السلطة هذا ، مما يعزز التفاوتات التي تهدف UNFSS إلى حلها.

يهدد عدم المساواة في الأراضي بشكل مباشر سبل عيش ما يقدر بنحو 2.5 مليار شخص يشاركون في الزراعة الصغيرة ، وكذلك أفقر 1.4 مليار شخص في العالم ، يعتمد معظمهم إلى حد كبير على الزراعة (بما في ذلك الغابات ومصايد الأسماك) لكسب عيشهم. يسيطر 10 بالمائة من سكان الريف على 60 بالمائة من قيمة الأراضي الزراعية ، بينما يسيطر 50 بالمائة الأدنى على 3 بالمائة.[2]الأرض غير المستوية: عدم المساواة في الأرض في قلب المجتمعات غير المتكافئة، 2020 ، التحالف الدولي للأراضي. للشعوب الأصلية حقوق و / أو تدير ما لا يقل عن 28 في المائة من مساحة الأرض في العالم.[3]غارنيت ، ستيفن ت ، وآخرون ، نظرة عامة مكانية على الأهمية العالمية لأراضي السكان الأصليين للحفظ، استدامة الطبيعة 1 (7) ، يوليو 2018. يتداخل جزء كبير من مساحة الأرض هذه مع النظم البيئية الحيوية للأرض وتحتوي على أكثر من 80 في المائة من التنوع البيولوجي للكوكب.[4]دراسة لفحص الحفظ وحقوق الإنسان للشعوب الأصلية، 2018 ، دراسة أعدت لمنتدى الأمم المتحدة الدائم المعني بقضايا الشعوب الأصلية. إن معرفتهم وفهمهم لهذه النظم الإيكولوجية والأراضي مورد بالغ الأهمية للجميع ويجب حمايته. وينبغي تعزيز نظم الحكم الخاصة بالشعوب الأصلية التي أثبتت قدرتها على ضمان الرفاه والأمن الغذائي لشعوبها. ومع ذلك ، فإن استخراج الموارد على نطاق واسع والاستيلاء على الأراضي والنزاع يهدد صغار منتجي الأغذية والرعاة والمجتمعات المحلية وسبل عيش الشعوب الأصلية ورفاههم. وبالتالي ، فإن إعادة تأكيد حقوق الشعوب الأصلية في أراضيها وأقاليمها وضمان الوصول العادل إلى الأراضي وحقوق حيازة الأراضي ، وكذلك الموارد الطبيعية الأخرى ، هو عنصر أساسي لضمان نظم غذائية آمنة.

تظهر الأدلة أن تأمين حقوق الأرض ؛ تطبيق المعرفة التقليدية مع التكنولوجيا العلمية مع نهج متعدد الثقافات ؛ ودعم صغار منتجي الأغذية والمزارعين الأسريين والرعاة والمجتمعات المحلية والشعوب الأصلية بالمساعدة المالية يمكن أن يعزز الحلول المبتكرة والمستدامة للنظم الغذائية التي تعود بالفائدة على الجميع. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن الاعتراف بالقدرات والحقوق المحلية القائمة يسهم في بناء الوكالة بين المجتمعات المحلية والشعوب الأصلية.

وتشمل الحلول المقترحة آليات لمشاركة أكبر واستقلالية للشعوب الأصلية والمجتمعات المحلية في صنع القرار والدعوة للسياسات ؛ تمكين الأطر المعيارية ، والاعتراف بأنظمة الحكم المحلية والأصلية ، والاعتراف بالقدرات والمعارف القائمة واستخدامها ؛ والاعتراف بالحقوق الأساسية مثل الحق في الغذاء وضمان حيازة الأراضي. هذه الأمور بالغة الأهمية لإعادة التوازن بين الوكالات وتعزيز أنظمة غذائية أكثر إنصافًا واستدامة. تستند هذه المجموعة إلى برنامج له بصمة تشغيلية محتملة من أجل:

  • إنشاء صناديق استئمانية وآليات أخرى لتسهيل الوصول إلى الأصول والقدرات والمهارات والمعلومات وتعزيزها للنهوض بسبل العيش العادلة وتأمين حقوق ملكية الأراضي وحقوق الحيازة وغيرها من الحقوق.
  • تعزيز النهج الزراعية الإيكولوجية للمجتمعات والشعوب الأصلية مثل الحفاظ على التربة والمياه ؛ الزراعة المتجددة أو المحافظة على الموارد ؛ حماية وتعزيز البذور المحلية والسلالات ؛ الحراجة الزراعية ، أو مصايد الأسماك المستدامة ؛ بما في ذلك الجوانب الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والثقافية من خلال المشاركة في خلق المعرفة في إطار نهج متعدد الثقافات.
  • تحسين البيئة المعيشية للأشخاص في المواقف الضعيفة والمجتمعات المعرضة للخطر من خلال إنشاء أصول مجتمعية متنوعة للحد من مخاطر الكوارث.
  • تسهيل عمليات إدارة الأراضي وإدارة الموارد التي تتسم بالشفافية والمساءلة كما ورد في لجنة الأمن الغذائي العالمي (CFS) والمبادئ التوجيهية للحق في الغذاء (RTFG) والمبادئ التوجيهية الطوعية للحوكمة المسؤولة لحيازة الأراضي والغابات ومصايد الأسماك (VGGT).
  • تعزيز الاستثمار الكافي والوصول إلى الموارد (المالية ، والموارد البشرية ، والرقمية ، وما إلى ذلك) من قبل أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين الذين يدركون أهمية ضمان حيازة الأراضي في بناء نظم غذائية مستدامة ، وفقًا لـ CFS RTFG ومبادئ الاستثمار المسؤول في الزراعة وأنظمة الغذاء (المبدأ 5: احترام حيازة الأراضي ومصايد الأسماك والغابات والمياه).
  • دعم حقوق الحيازة المتساوية للمرأة وتعزيز وصولهم المتكافئ إلى الأراضي المنتجة ، والموارد الطبيعية ، والمدخلات والتقنيات المستدامة ، والتحكم فيها ، والوصول إلى التعليم والتدريب والأسواق والمعلومات بما يتماشى مع CFS RTFG و VGGT.
  • الاعتراف والاحترام لجميع أصحاب حقوق الحيازة المشروعة وحقوقهم بما في ذلك ، حسب الاقتضاء وبما يتماشى مع التشريعات الوطنية ، حقوق الحيازة المشروعة للشعوب الأصلية والمجتمعات المحلية ذات أنظمة الحيازة العرفية التي تمارس الحكم الذاتي للأراضي ومصايد الأسماك والغابات ، مع إيلاء اهتمام خاص لتوفير الوصول العادل للنساء ، تمشيا مع CFS VGGT.
  • الإدارة المستدامة لجميع النظم الإيكولوجية الزراعية البرية والبحرية للتغذية والنظم البيئية الصحية وسبل العيش الريفية وسلاسل الغذاء المرنة وكذلك تشجيع النظم الرعوية منخفضة المدخلات لإنتاج أغذية حيوانية صحية تسهم في الحد من الفقر والجوع.
  • دعم التمويل المبتكر والحفاز لمنصات البحث والتعلم ، وبناء القدرات القيادية ، والتمويل الأولي لتكرار وتوسيع نطاق البرامج والمشاريع الجارية التي تعالج التكيف مع تغير المناخ وسبل العيش على الصعيد العالمي.

تستلزم مجموعة الحلول هذه تحديد الحلول والنماذج التي 1) تساعد المجتمعات في المواقف الضعيفة والمهمشة بالمهارات ومجموعة واسعة من الشركاء لدفع المبادرات إلى الأمام ، و 2) تمكين العمليات لجميع أصحاب المصلحة وأصحاب الحقوق للعمل معًا لتشجيع الابتكار وتحسين أوجه التكامل والتآزر من أجل المرونة.

نظرية التغيير لدينا هي أن الزراعة الصغيرة والنظم الغذائية المحلية التقليدية والشعوب الأصلية يمكن أن تعزز سبل العيش العادلة ، والرفاهية التغذوية ، وصحة النظام الإيكولوجي ، والقدرة على التكيف مع تغير المناخ. يمكن أن يساهم تطبيق هذه المعرفة واستخدامها في تصميم وإدارة أنظمة غذائية مستدامة في جميع أنحاء العالم. هدفنا هو ربط أصحاب المعارف التقليدية بالمعرفة العلمية المعاصرة كشركاء متساوين من خلال التعلم متعدد الثقافات وعمليات التبادل من أجل تطوير سبل عيش عادلة. تستند نظرية التغيير إلى قرون من المعرفة والتعلم من الشعوب الأصلية والأدلة على أن نظمهم الغذائية مستدامة ومنصفة ومنتجة ومرنة في نفس الوقت. ومن ثم فهي تبني حتمية احترام ودعم الحق في الغذاء وحقوق الإنسان ، وتعتمد على أفضل ما يمكن أن تقدمه المعارف التقليدية والمعاصرة في ضمان سبل العيش الكريمة والأمن الغذائي للجميع.

تتبنى هذه المجموعة نهج "عدم ترك أي شخص يتخلف عن الركب" وستساهم ، على وجه التحديد ، في تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة 1 و 2 و 5 و 10 و 12 و 13 بينما يتناول نهج بناء التحالفات هدف التنمية المستدامة 17. ترتبط مجموعة الحلول بالسياسة العالمية المستمرة جداول الأعمال التي تقودها لجنة الأمن الغذائي العالمي ، والتقليدية بشأن التنوع البيولوجي (CBD) ، واتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ (UNFCCC) ، واتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة التصحر (UNCCD) وتنظر في التوصيات الواردة في ورقة White / Wiphala بشأن أغذية الشعوب الأصلية الأنظمة.[5]الفاو ، 2021 ، الورقة البيضاء / Wiphala حول النظم الغذائية للشعوب الأصلية. روما.

انضم إلى مجموعة العمل

AT-4

Solution Cluster 4.1.1

Empowering Communities and Indigenous Peoples: Recognising Rights and Traditional Knowledge

Solution Cluster 4.1.1. Empowering Communities: Recognising Rights, Indigenous Peoples, and Traditional Knowledge is concerned with increasing respect for rights, equality, and non-discrimination within food systems. The cluster places more effective territorial-level governance including recognition of indigenous food systems as effective landscape management, rights over land and resources, improved capacity for action, cooperation, and traditional knowledge (TK) at the centre of sustainable food systems. It aims specifically at integrating a human rights perspective in food systems work to ensure that the fight against inequality, hunger, and malnutrition – affecting people who are marginalised – is effective, sustainable, and just.

The cluster focuses on a collection of solutions to increase the inclusion and strengthen the agency of marginalised communities. They include: 1) the enhancement and promotion of existing capacity and facilitating the harnessing of traditional knowledge; 2) the revitalisation of food culture and recognising the role of women as custodians of traditional ecological knowledge linked to natural resource management; 3) the recognition of tenure rights, the right to food and other human rights; and, 4) strengthening local organisations with equitable participation of women and youth – without marginalising elders and other knowledge holders. 

This cluster will also ensure that process and product innovation and digital solutions will be accessible and integrated throughout its solutions and build on existing good practices based on traditional knowledge. These include traditional soil conservation practices; the role of indigenous communities as custodians of genetic diversity of seeds, cultivated and wild plants and animals; early warning systems based on ancestral knowledge for weather forecasting, which contribute to disaster risk reduction; the cultivation of nutrient-rich and often neglected foods for dietary diversity and for marketing. These activities and practices are a benefit for all, and many have proven key during the current COVID-19 pandemic, which has exposed the vulnerabilities of global food chains. This solution cluster can thus have a significant impact on lives and the livelihoods of millions of people and their natural environments and will greatly contribute to climate mitigation and biodiversity conservation.

About this Solution Cluster

Multidimensional poverty and insecure livelihoods in rural and urban areas characterises many of our food systems. There is a need for new solutions to preserve and protect the environment, manage and restore biodiversity, and adapt to and mitigate climate change, while also preventing violent conflict and forced displacement. Critical actors and assets in the pursuit of this goal are local communities, small-scale food producers, family farmers, pastoralists, and Indigenous Peoples, who often live in remote areas, forests, mountains, deserts, and coastal areas and manage their own food systems.[1]By “critical actor” this cluster considers: indigenous peoples and local communities, small-scale farmers, family farmers, livestock farmers, small-scale fishers, and fish workers, as provided by the UN General Assembly Resolution A/RES/74/242 on Agriculture Development, Food Security and Nutrition, approved on 19 December 2019. Their traditional knowledge has been critical to the preservation of biological and cultural diversity, the sustainable use of natural resources, the protection of the integrity of ecosystems, as well as the contribution to national food security and nutrition through the production of nutrient-rich foods. This cluster is needed to protect and enhance that knowledge to balance contemporary focus on the commodification of food. Indigenous peoples’ strengths, collective networks of practices and knowledge have been eroded and marginalised, reducing their control over their diets, diminishing their access to traditional sources of food, and, therefore, denying their right to food.

The custodianship of biodiversity by indigenous peoples is supported by over 4000 indigenous languages whose rich vocabularies depict extensive knowledge and association with the natural environment. Biocultural diversity is thus a critical concept as it transcends contemporary scientific discourse which addresses biodiversity and culture distinctly. The special envoy called for bold solutions in the context of the summit and this requires breaking out of disciplines, respecting, and working with diversity and adopting truly multidisciplinary approaches. Indigenous food systems are complex and multifunctional because some communities generate food with minimum human intervention on the ecosystem (hunter-gatherers, fishers, herders, pastoralists) while others cultivate, and still others combine food generation and food production. Because of this, there is a need to ensure respect for indigenous peoples’ autonomy and agency to govern their own customary lands and territories and exercise their rights to live in harmony with nature.

Further, small-scale/family farmers play a crucial role in human food consumption systems, producing 70 percent of global output, and their rights require protection. Many have insecure land tenure, are rarely recognised for their contribution and are subject to threats and vulnerabilities, including environmental degradation and climate change impacts. The COVID-19 pandemic has increased existing vulnerabilities and exacerbated underlying structural inequalities, socio-economic marginalisation, and pervasive discrimination. It has also disproportionately affected small-scale food producers, family farmers, pastoralists, and local and indigenous peoples’ communities, posing risks to their livelihoods, physical and cultural existence. The pandemic has served as a reminder that control over the production of and access to food is one of the world’s most fundamental sources of power. Many food systems are premised on extreme imbalances in this power structure, which reinforces the inequalities the UNFSS aims to resolve.

Land inequality directly threatens the livelihoods of an estimated 2.5 billion people involved in small-scale agriculture, as well the world’s poorest 1.4 billion people, most of whom depend largely on agriculture (including forests and fisheries) for their livelihoods. Ten percent of the rural population controls 60 percent of agricultural land value, while the bottom 50 percent controls 3 percent.[2]Uneven Ground: Land Inequality at the Heart of Unequal Societies, 2020, International Land Coalition. Indigenous peoples have rights to and/or manage at least 28 percent of the world’s land area.[3]Garnett, Stephen T., et al., A spatial overview of the global importance of Indigenous lands for conservation, Nature Sustainability 1(7), July 2018. A significant portion of this land area overlaps with the Earth’s critical ecosystems and contain over 80 percent of the planet’s biodiversity.[4]Study to examine conservation and indigenous peoples’ human rights, 2018, study prepared for UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues. Their knowledge and understanding of these ecosystems and lands are a critical resource to all and must be protected. Indigenous peoples’ governance systems which have proven their capacity to ensure the well-being and food security of their people should be strengthened. However, large-scale resource extraction, land grabbing and conflict threaten small-scale food producers, pastoralists, local communities and indigenous peoples’ livelihoods and wellbeing. Reaffirming the rights of indigenous peoples to their lands and territories and ensuring equitable access to land and land tenure rights, as well as other natural resources, is thus a key component to ensure secure food systems.

Evidence shows that securing land rights; applying traditional knowledge with scientific technology with an intercultural approach; and supporting small-scale food producers, family farmers, pastoralists, local and indigenous peoples’ communities with financial assistance can promote innovative and sustainable solutions to food systems that benefit all. Moreover, recognising existing local capacity and rights contributes to building agency among local communities and indigenous peoples.

The solutions proposed include mechanisms for greater participation and autonomy of Indigenous Peoples and local communities in decision making and policy advocacy; enabling normative frameworks, recognition of local and indigenous governance systems, and recognition and use of existing capacity and knowledge; and recognising basic rights such as the right to food and secure land tenure. These are critical for rebalancing agency and promoting more equitable and sustainable food systems. This cluster is premised on a programme with a potential operational footprint to:

  • establish trust funds and other mechanisms to facilitate access to and strengthening of assets, capacities, skills, and information to advance equitable livelihoods, and secure land titling, tenure rights, and other rights.
  • promote communities’ and indigenous peoples’ agro-ecological approaches such as soil and water conservation; regenerative or conservation agriculture; indigenous seed and breed protection and promotion; agro-forestry, or sustainable fisheries; and including social, economic, and cultural aspects through co-creation of knowledge under an intercultural approach.
  • improve the living environment of people in vulnerable situations and communities at risk through the creation of various community assets for disaster risk reduction.
  • facilitate transparent and accountable land governance and resource management processes as stated in the Committee on World Food Security (CFS), Right to Food Guidelines (RTFG) and Voluntary Guidelines for the Responsible Governance of Tenure of Land, Forests and Fisheries (VGGT).
  • foster adequate investment and access to resources (financial, human resources, digital, etc.) by key stakeholders recognising the importance of secure land tenure in building sustainable food systems, in accordance with the CFS RTFG and Principles for Responsible Investment in Agriculture and Food Systems (Principle 5: Respect tenure of land, fisheries, forests and water).
  • uphold women’s equal tenure rights and promote their equal access to and control over productive land, natural resources, sustainable inputs and technologies, and access to education, training, markets, and information in line with the CFS RTFG and VGGT.
  • recognise and respect all legitimate tenure right holders and their rights including, as appropriate and in line with national legislation, the legitimate tenure rights of indigenous peoples and local communities with customary tenure systems that exercise self-governance of land, fisheries, and forests, with special attention to the provision of equitable access for women, in line with the CFS VGGT.
  • sustainably manage all terrestrial and marine agroecological systems for nutrition, healthy ecosystems, rural livelihoods, and resilient food chains as well as encourage low input pastoral systems to produce healthy animal source food that contribute to reducing poverty and hunger.
  • support innovative and catalytic funding for research and learning platforms, leadership capacity building, and seed funding to replicate and bring to scale ongoing programmes and projects addressing climate change adaptation and livelihoods globally.

This solution cluster entails identifying solutions and models that 1) assist communities in vulnerable and marginalised situations with the skills and a broad-based set of partners to drive the initiatives forward, and 2) enable processes for all stakeholders and rights-holders to work together to encourage innovation and improve complementarities and synergies for resilience.

Our theory of change is that small-scale farming and localised traditional and indigenous peoples’ food systems can advance equitable livelihoods, nutritional wellbeing, ecosystem health and resilience to climate change. Applying this knowledge and using it can contribute to the design and management of sustainable food systems worldwide. Our aim is to connect traditional knowledge holders with contemporary scientific knowledge as equal partners through multicultural learning and exchange processes for the development of equitable livelihoods. The theory of change is based on centuries of knowledge and learning from indigenous peoples and the evidence that their food systems are sustainable, equitable, productive, and resilient at the same time. It then builds in the imperative of respecting and upholding the right to food and human rights and draws on the best that traditional and contemporary knowledge has to offer in ensuring dignified livelihoods and food security for all.

This cluster embraces a “leave no-one behind” approach and will contribute, specifically, to achieving SDGs 1, 2, 5, 10, 12 and 13 while its coalition building approach addresses SDG 17. The solution cluster is linked to ongoing global policy agendas led by the CFS, Conventional on Biological Diversity (CBD), United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), and the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD) and considers recommendations from the White/Wiphala Paper on Indigenous Peoples’ Food Systems.[5]FAO, 2021, The White/Wiphala Paper on Indigenous Peoples’ food systems. Rome.

Join Working Group