AT-3

解决方案集群 3.1.1

Halting Deforestation & Conversion from Agricultural Commodities

在全球范围内,绝大多数(约 77%)森林砍伐和自然栖息地转化与农业扩张有关,无论是通过大规模商品生产,还是由于农业转移。牛肉、大豆、可可、棕榈油和纸/纸浆等农产品产量的持续扩大是自然生态系统丧失的主要驱动因素。自然生态系统或栖息地的丧失对全球生物多样性的丧失和二氧化碳排放产生了重大影响,而可持续管理的自然生态系统提供了大量且具有成本效益的碳排放减缓,同时还产生了更广泛的环境、社会和经济效益。如果农业和全球商品贸易继续推动进一步的森林砍伐和栖息地的破坏,就不会有对自然有益的农业、对全球粮食系统的长期复原力、农村贫困的持续缓解和对土著人民的有保障的保护转换,无论是在热带还是在所有其他纬度。相反,全球商品的生产和贸易需要明确地与保护和恢复自然生态系统的全球规模扩大努力挂钩,生产国致力于可持续生产,消费国和全球市场对这些努力给予适当奖励。

该集群旨在动员参与联合国粮食系统峰会的国家社区、民间社会组织和私营部门协会,以实现一个共同目标:在 2020 年代提供一种新的全球农产品生产模式,奖励农民的可持续做法,同时防止在这些商品的生产过程中进一步砍伐森林和改变生态系统。我们的目标是在 COP-26 的过程中为这一目标建立动力,与现有努力密切配合,特别是由英国政府作为 COP26 主席领导的森林、农业、商品贸易对话(FACT 对话),由印度尼西亚政府;以及由热带森林联盟 (TFA) 领导的平行多利益相关方对话。我们的解决方案集群是一个收获新想法的机会,以解决生产者和消费者之间的权衡和挑战以及传统叙事——我们如何优化粮食生产和农村生计,同时保护/改善所有人赖以生存的环境粮食生产取决于。

关于此解决方案集群

从概念上讲,正如科学委员会关于行动轨道 3 的报告所支持的那样,在粮食系统峰会上证明无森林砍伐和无转化的供应链对全球粮食系统的长期可持续性至关重要。峰会是一个重要的机会,可以在 FACT 对话的目标背后为 COP26 建立势头;不这样做将错失良机。

我们认为这会奏效,因为这是一项有时限的、“全员动手”的努力,涉及粮食系统峰会动员的主要参与者,与现有努力密切配合,共同合作以提供强有力的愿景和路线图成功会是什么样子,如何实现,然后到 2030 年实现。

该解决方案集群还将汇集现有的最佳实践来支持这一实施,例如,过去 4 年由良好增长伙伴关系 (GGP) 对巴西大豆、巴拉圭牛肉和印度尼西亚棕榈油进行试点的综合供应链方法和利比里亚,旨在实现与森林砍伐相关的关键供应链的转型。从中获得的关键经验以及其他努力将支持实现该解决方案集群下的愿景和路线图。

许多在全球商品贸易中发挥作用的成员国,作为生产者或消费者,已经参与了 FACT 对话。 FACT 对话将产生关于可持续土地利用和贸易的集体行动和联合路线图。因此,粮食系统峰会是一个向其添加可操作建议的机会——例如《天文法典》(提议为进入全球市场的食品生产制定最低环境标准)和多方利益相关者主导的愿景将可持续土地利用的原则变为现实。鉴于参与粮食系统峰会的一些成员国、非政府组织和联合国机构迄今尚未参与 FACT 政府对话或 FACT 多利益相关者对话,该集群提供了加强和加强这一进程的机会在前往 COP-26 的途中。

因此,该集群提供了一个机会,将迄今为止参与粮食系统峰会的国家与已经参与 FACT 对话的国家联系起来:澳大利亚、日本、巴西、摩洛哥、加拿大、荷兰、中国、新西兰、智利、挪威、丹麦、塞内加尔、埃及、西班牙、欧盟、瑞士、芬兰、阿联酋、德国、英国、法国、美国、墨西哥、乌拉圭。虽然成员国将无法通过参与该解决方案集群直接参与 FACT 对话,并且需要将他们的政策建议直接引入政府对话,但他们对我们工作的贡献可以为多利益相关方对话提供信息。与 FACT 政府对话/多方利益相关者对话相比,联合国机构(例如粮农组织)和其他合作伙伴(例如 TNC)同样适用于包容性原则,迄今为止,它们更多地参与了粮食系统峰会。

我们还将确保粮食系统峰会和 COP-26 之前的进程都纳入现有的最佳做法,以实现无森林砍伐和无转化的食品供应链,并将其推进到 2020 年代兑现承诺中。这将包括通过诸如由开发署牵头的良好增长伙伴关系 (GGP) 试点的综合供应链方法等方法调整激励措施(政策、经济、金融等)以改变行为,包括保护国际、世界银行的国际金融公司、环境署和世界自然基金会。这种方法是多尺度的,依赖于多方利益相关者的协作来实现系统性变革。它处理商品供应链固有的复杂性,并努力让所有利益相关者参与进来,从小规模生产者和跨国公司到国家和次国家政府,以及地方社区和金融机构,以打破相互关联层的孤岛全球商品供应链:生产、需求和金融。它还将建立在十多年的REDD+之上;在联合国 REDD 计划的支持下,通过多方利益相关者进程制定和实施国家 REDD+ 战略,提高了各国对森林-农业动态的理解,并成为获取公共和私人资金以及直接投资于森林积极农业的干预措施。

我们还希望确保,在联合国粮食系统峰会本身,峰会的全球观众清楚,如果全球粮食系统继续推动森林砍伐和生态系统转变,那么全球粮食系统就没有长期可持续性——并且是一条通往农民和生态系统更美好未来的道路。

FACT 政府对话和 FACT 多利益相关方对话是正在进行的关键进程,涉及政府的大力支持以及公司、土著人民和公民社会组织的大力支持。

该小组的工作通过从目前未参与任何一个 FACT 对话进程的更广泛的跨部门参与者那里收集额外的观点和见解来增加价值。

加入工作组

AT-3

Solution Cluster 3.1.1

Deforestation-free and conversion-free food supply chains

Globally, the vast majority (approximately 77% ) of deforestation and natural habitat conversion is linked to agricultural expansion, either through large-scale commodity production, or as a result of shifting agriculture. The continuing expansion of production of agricultural commodities such as beef, soy, cocoa, palm oil and paper/pulp are major drivers of natural ecosystem loss. This loss of natural ecosystems or habitat contributes significantly to global biodiversity loss and CO2 emissions, while sustainably managed natural ecosystems provide substantial and cost-effective carbon emission mitigation, while also generating broader environmental, social and economic benefits. There can be no nature-positive agriculture, no long-term resilience to the global food system, no sustained alleviation of rural poverty, and no guaranteed protection for indigenous peoples, if agriculture and the trade in global commodities continues to drive further deforestation and habitat conversion, both in the tropics as well as in all other latitudes. Instead, the production and trade of global commodities needs to be tied explicitly to a scaled-up global effort to protect and restore natural ecosystems, with producer countries committed to sustainable production appropriately rewarded by consumer countries and global markets for these efforts.

This cluster will aim to mobilize the community of nations, civil society organizations and private sector associations involved in the UN Food Systems Summit behind a shared objective: to deliver in the 2020s a new global model of agricultural commodity production which rewards farmers for sustainable practices, while preventing further deforestation and conversion of ecosystems in the production of those commodities. We will aim to build momentum behind this goal en route to COP-26, aligning closely with existing efforts, in particular the Forests, Agriculture, Commodity Trade Dialogue (the FACT Dialogue) led by the UK Government as COP26 Presidency with co-chairing by the Government of Indonesia; as well as in the parallel Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue led by the Tropical Forest Alliance (TFA). Our solution cluster is an opportunity to harvest fresh ideas to address the trade-offs and challenges between producers and consumers and the conventional narrative – how do we optimise food production and rural livelihoods, at the same time as protecting/enhancing the environment on which all food production depends.

About this Solution Cluster

Conceptually, and as backed up by the Scientific Committee report on Action Track 3, it is vital to demonstrate at the Food Systems Summit that deforestation-free and conversion-free supply chains are critical to the long-term sustainability of global food systems. The Summit is an important opportunity to build momentum en route to COP26 behind the objectives of the FACT Dialogues; not to do so would be a missed opportunity.

We think this will work because it is a time-bound, ‘all hands-on deck’ effort, involving key players mobilized by the Food Systems Summit, aligned closely with existing efforts, working together in partnership to deliver a strong vision and roadmap of what success would look like, and how to achieve it, and then to implement it by 2030.

This solution cluster will also bring together existing best practices to support this implementation, for example, the Integrated Supply Chain Approach piloted by the Good Growth Partnership (GGP) over the last 4 years on soy in Brazil, beef in Paraguay and palm oil in Indonesia and Liberia, aiming to achieve transformation in key supply chains linked to deforestation. Key learnings from this, and other efforts, will support the achievement of the vision and roadmap under this solution cluster.

Many member states with a role in global commodity trade, as producers or consumers, are already involved in the FACT Dialogues. The FACT Dialogues will produce collective action and a joint roadmap on sustainable land use and trade. The Food Systems Summit thereby is an opportunity to add actionable recommendations to them – such as the Codex Planetarius (which proposes to set minimum environmental standards for the production of foods that enter into the global market) and a multi-stakeholder led vision for how to turn the principles of sustainable land use into a reality. Given that a number of the member states, NGOs, and UN agencies involved in the Food Systems Summit have not been involved to date in the FACT Government Dialogue or the FACT Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue, this cluster presents an opportunity to strengthen and reinforce this process en route to COP-26.

As such, this cluster offers an opportunity to bring the countries involved so far in the Food Systems Summit with countries that are already engaged in the FACT Dialogue: Australia, Japan, Brazil, Morocco, Canada, Netherlands, China, New Zealand, Chile, Norway, Denmark, Senegal, Egypt, Spain, EU, Switzerland, Finland, UAE, Germany, UK, France, USA, Mexico, Uruguay. While member states will not be able to feed directly into the FACT Dialogue through engagement in this solution cluster, and would need to direct their policy recommendations directly into the Government Dialogue, their contributions to our workings can inform the Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue. The same principle of inclusivity applies for UN agencies – e.g. FAO – and other partners, e.g. TNC, hitherto more involved in the Food Systems Summit than the FACT Government Dialogue/Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue.

We will also ensure that both the processes leading up to the Food Systems Summit and COP-26  incorporate existing best practices towards achieving deforestation and conversion free food supply chains and take them forward into implementation of commitments over the 2020s. This would include aligning incentives (policies, economic, financial, etc.) towards behavior change through approaches such as the integrated supply chain approach piloted by the Good Growth Partnership (GGP), led by UNDP and including Conservation International, World Bank´s International Finance Corporation, UNEP and WWF. This approach is multi-scale and relies on multi-stakeholder collaboration to achieve systemic change. It works with the inherent complexity of commodity supply chains and strives to engage all stakeholders, from small-scale producers and global corporations to national and subnational governments, as well as local communities and finance institutions, in order to break the silos in the interconnected layers of the global commodity supply chain: production, demand and finance. It would also build upon more than a decade of REDD+; the development and implementation of national REDD+ strategies via multi-stakeholder processes, supported by the UN-REDD Programme, have advanced countries’ understanding forest-agriculture dynamics and served as a vehicle through which to access public and private finance, and to direct investment into interventions for forest positive agriculture.

We also wish to ensure that, at the UN Food Systems Summit itself, it is clear to the Summit’s global audience that there is no long-term sustainability of the global food system if it continues to drive deforestation and conversion of ecosystems – and that there is a path to a better future for farmers and ecosystems alike.

The FACT Government Dialogue and the FACT Multi-Stakeholder Dialogue are the key processes underway, involving significant government backing and strong backing from companies, indigenous peoples, and CSOs.

The workings of this group add value by harvesting additional perspectives and insights from a broader cross-section of actors not currently involved in either of the FACT Dialogue processes.

Join Working Group