fss_actiontrack_1-cover.png

解决方案集群 1.1.5

使用清洁能源为社区冷却中心供电

节省的食物与生产的食物一样重要,甚至更重要。粮食损失不仅是商品的物质损失,还包括稀缺和枯竭的投入资源的损失。缺乏有效的冷链估计直接导致粮食总产量损失 4.75 亿吨或 13%,价值 $3500 亿,足以养活约 9.5 亿人。[1]“制冷在全球营养中的作用(2020 年),关于制冷和食品的第 6 次信息说明。”,文本(IIF-IIR,2020 年 3 月 26 日), https://doi.org/10.18462/iir.INfood06.03.2020. 然而,冷却和冷链仍然被认为是一种并发症,对于小规模和边缘农民来说通常仍然过于昂贵。[2]“技术聚焦:太阳能冷库”,全民电力,2021 年 5 月 21 日访问, https://www.powerforall.org/resources/images-graphics/tech-spotlight-solar-powered-cold-storage. 由于能源使用的排放(间接排放)和对气候影响很大的制冷剂,所使用的技术也具有高度污染性。
只有在整个系统设计统一并应用集成系统方法的情况下,才能实现高效且对臭氧和气候友好的冷却和冷链,该方法融合了从农场到餐桌的用户生态系统的各种冷却需求。通过将此类社区冷却需求的系统级视图与“服务化”等新业务模式相结合, 社区冷却中心 (CCH) 旨在以经济实惠的方式满足各种农村社区的制冷需求,为有效利用经济上可行、可访问、低碳的冷链和制冷开发提供一条途径,不仅可以创造经济财富,还可以在可持续发展中改善医疗保健和营养方式。
认识到获得冷却和冷链服务与能源贫困之间的密切联系,CCH 与 清洁能源信息和协调平台.这些平台确定并匹配有兴趣扩大清洁能源电网的能源公司的商业案例与食物链参与者之间的协同作用,如果获得能源,则可以通过发展业务来支付能源服务费用。
考虑到能源系统内的所有驱动因素和反馈循环,解决方案集群的系统方法将确保冷却和冷链服务以及电网扩展得到它们所嵌入的更广泛的能源格局的支持,相互依存关系得到理解和管理,以及关键组件,包括融资和商业模式,协同工作。

关于此解决方案集群

鉴于冷却和综合可持续冷链可以为农村、城郊和城市社区带来广泛的发展效益,问题是如何获得它们释放的经济和社会效益,同时避免环境退化和相关风险能源密集且污染严重的制冷服务的业务照常扩张。换句话说,我们如何创建本地和全球的“田间分叉”连接,以可持续地向 100 亿人提供营养,这些小农的生计和福祉通常仅依赖 1-2 公顷土地土地,确保它们准备好适应气候变化并具有弹性,并通过确保扩大有效的臭氧和气候友好型(低全球变暖潜势)冷却解决方案来避免进一步变暖?

对于大多数国家而言,获取能源的重点一直是如何提供可持续电力,而往往忽略了使用该能源的可持续方式。虽然当前的冷却技术可能非常高效,但考虑到热需求(冷却和加热)在不断增长的全球能源需求中所占的比例很高,因此需要系统级设计,不仅是通过被动设计和行为改变来减少需求,并利用免费和浪费热能资源以抵消电力需求,同时也可以转向可再生能源,并通过循环和能源共享进一步提高系统效率。

然而,冷链和冷却通常会继续以分散的方式处理,侧重于个别技术或组件干预。冷链是跨部门的多维系统,支撑着从收获、预处理、收获后管理到中间生产、分销和消费的复杂食品系统。这种复杂性需要具有截然不同的能源需求和不均衡的能力的静态和移动元素需要协调并无缝地协同工作。冷却和冷链的孤立方法忽略了经济决策、可用能源资源、技术选择、气候变化减缓和适应战略以及社会、文化和政治系统之间存在的相互依存关系,导致了次优结果。许多问题是技术经济和行为问题,需要综合技术(工程和食品质量/安全)以及行为、财务和业务方面的解决方案来解决脱碳难题。这些方面需要得到广泛的认识、处理和倡导。

作为一种综合方法的多维度和多部门努力不太可能有机地出现,从而对实现我们的气候和发展目标构成风险。将冷链行业从农场转变为餐桌,或从“制药制造商转变为武装”,并为所有需要的人提供可持续的制冷服务,需要一个强大的系统级模型和多利益相关方联盟,在各个层面进行合作以实现这一目标。 

社区冷却中心 (CCH) 涉及系统级方法,在综合能源、需求和经济框架内设计可持续冷却(和加热)服务,通过能源向量的智能组合和互连确保灵活性和可复制性。 CCH 旨在以高度可及、高效、负担得起、有弹性和可持续的方式满足农村或城郊社区对冷链和制冷需求的广泛组合,从而同时为与《巴黎协定》相关的 2030 年议程做出贡献国家自主贡献以及蒙特利尔议定书的重要方面,包括基加利修正案和关于蒙特利尔议定书对通过可持续冷链发展减少粮食损失的贡献的罗马宣言。

鉴于必须在全球范围内扩展的疫苗接种计划对冷却的持续需求,CCH 还旨在适当地充当每个位置的最后一英里存储和交付辐条。它们将提供急需的能力,将有保证的疫苗覆盖范围扩大到通常服务不足的地区,并作为疫苗供应链的冷链节点进入农村地区。 

在可持续冷却中心的领导下,CCH 的概念和基本社会技术经济设计是通过严格的市场研究以及学术界、开发机构、最终用户和政府合作伙伴之间的参与而发展起来的。 Cool Coalition 冷链工作组正在开发部署机会。由粮农组织牵头的清洁能源信息和协调平台将连接能源公司和食品链参与者,这些参与者可以通过发展业务来支付能源服务费用。

从示范到能力建设和技能培训的交付得到了新的卓越中心的支持,例如非洲可持续冷却和冷链卓越中心(在英国卢旺达和联合国环境规划署 U4E 的支持下开发); Cool Coalition 合作伙伴的专业知识、试点项目、国家制冷行动计划 (NCAP) 方法以及粮农组织在多个国家的现有工作,通过绘制最佳投资地点和全面的成本效益分析来降低食品链可再生能源投资的风险投资。

Cool Coalition 将发挥关键的催化“系统集成商”作用,将政府(如英国、丹麦、加纳、哥斯达黎加、柬埔寨和法国)、私营部门、国际组织和民间社会的主要合作伙伴聚集在一起。根据蒙特利尔议定书,可持续冷链发展罗马宣言可以作为承诺和行动的重要政治框架。它还将在创建最佳实践概要和提供评估方法方面发挥知识作用。

以我们的协作知识、市场理解和研究为基础,我们将创建适合市场的阶梯式变化路径,以实现净零冷链和冷却,并实施 CCH 作为创新、社区和集成系统的支柱,以经济地满足农村或城郊社区降温需求的组合,包括食品、健康/疫苗(包括大流行应对)和人类舒适度。首先,我们将使用 NCAP 方法、制冷需求评估和冷链数据库模型来了解和量化国家和社区层面的制冷服务。接下来,我们将使用专有的系统优化虚拟孪生来指导本地实施的“量身定制”项目。[3]可持续冷却中心已经为发展中市场的冷链设计构建了一个虚拟双胞胎,目前正在为 ACES 构建完整的冷链和 CCH 模型。 我们将使用 Cool Coalition 状态报告和工作组来了解提供关键干预措施以实现可持续冷链和 CCH 所需的机制,包括 (i) 知识、能力、研究差距(和创新管道),(ii) 投资生态系统 (iii) 激励措施和监管要求。最后,我们将利用可持续冷却中心的卓越中心和 Cool Coalition 在印度和柬埔寨的试点项目作为部署和实施工具,提供应用研究、教学和产业合作,将定义的综合可持续发展项目付诸行动。冷却解决方案、能源矢量的智能集成以及推动采用和采用节能和气候友好型解决方案的财务模型 建立市场能力和技能,以支持最佳实践和技术部署的采用和维护,并为行业参与市场创造动力。

加入工作组

fss_actiontrack_1-cover.png

Solution Cluster 1.1.5

Power Community Cooling Hubs with Clean Energy

Food saved is as important, if not more, as food produced. Food loss is not only the material loss of the commodity but also the loss of scarce and depleting input resources. Lack of effective cold-chain is estimated to directly result in losses of 475 million tonnes or 13% of total food production, which is worth $350 billion and enough to feed approximately 950 million people.[1]‘The Role of Refrigeration in Worldwide nutrition (2020), 6th Informatory Note on Refrigeration and Food.’, text (IIF-IIR, 26 March 2020), https://doi.org/10.18462/iir.INfood06.03.2020. However, cooling and cold-chains are both still perceived as a complication and typically remain too expensive for small-scale and marginal farmers.[2]‘Tech Spotlight: Solar-Powered Cold Storage’, Power For All, accessed 21 May 2021, https://www.powerforall.org/resources/images-graphics/tech-spotlight-solar-powered-cold-storage. The technologies in use are also highly polluting due to the emissions from energy use (indirect emissions) and refrigerants with high climate impact.
Efficient and ozone- and climate-friendly cooling and cold-chain can only be achieved if the entire system is designed cohesively and an integrated systems approach is applied, which converges diverse cooling requirements across the farm-to-fork user-ecosystem. By combining a systems-level view of such community cooling needs, with new business models such as ‘servitisation’, Community Cooling Hubs (CCHs) are designed to affordably meet various rural community cooling needs, providing a pathway to efficient capacity utilisation of a financially viable, accessible, low-carbon cold chain and cooling development that serves not only to generate economic wealth but also better healthcare and nutrition in a sustainable manner.
Recognising the close linkages between access to cooling and cold-chain services and energy poverty, CCH is coupled with the Clean Energy Information and Coordination Platforms. These platforms identify and match synergies between the business case of energy companies interested in expanding clean energy grids and food chain actors that could pay for energy services by growing their business if given access to energy.
Considering all drivers and feedback loops within the energy system, the solution cluster’s systems approach will ensure that cooling and cold-chain services and grid expansion are supported by the broader energy landscape they are embedded in, interdependencies are understood and managed, and key components, including the financing and business models, work synergistically together.

About this Solution Cluster

Given the broad range of development benefits that cooling and integrated sustainable cold chain can bring to rural, peri-urban, and urban communities, the question is how to reap the economic and social benefits they unlock while avoiding the environmental degradation and risks associated with the business-as-usual expansion of cooling services, which are energy intensive and polluting. In other words, how do we create the local and global ‘field to fork’ connectivity to supply nutrition to 10 billion people sustainably from hundreds of millions of small-scale farmers whose livelihoods and well-being are often dependent on only 1-2 hectares of land, ensure they are climate change adaptation ready and resilient, and avoid further warming by ensuring scale up of efficient and ozone and climate friendly (low-global warming potential) cooling solutions?

For most nations, the focus on access to energy has been on how to deliver sustainable electricity, often ignoring the sustainable ways of using that energy. Whilst current cooling technologies can be very efficient, given the high share of thermal needs (cooling and heating) in the growing global energy demand, system-level design is required, not only to reduce demand through passive design and behavioural changes and harnessing free and waste thermal energy resources to offset the need for electricity, but also to enable shift to renewables and further improve system efficiencies through circularity and sharing of energy.

However, cold-chain and cooling typically continue to be addressed in a fragmented manner focusing on individual technologies or component interventions. Cold-chains are cross-sectoral multi-dimensional systems underpinning the complex food system from harvest, through pre-conditioning, postharvest management to intermediary production, distribution, and consumption. This complexity necessitates both static and mobile elements with very different energy demands and uneven capacities to be coordinated and work seamlessly together. A siloed approach to cooling and cold-chain has neglected the interdependencies that exist between economic decisions, available energy resources, technology choices, climate change mitigation and adaptation strategies, and social, cultural, and political systems, resulting in a sub-optimal outcome. Many issues are techno-economic and behavioural, requiring solutions that integrate technical (engineering and food quality/safety), as well as behavioural, financial, and business aspects to address the decarbonisation conundrum. These aspects need to be widely recognised, addressed, and advocated.

A multi-dimensional and multi-sectoral effort as an integrated approach is unlikely to emerge organically, posing risks to delivering our climate and development targets. Transforming the cold-chain sectors from farm to fork or ‘pharmaceutical manufacturer to arm’ and delivering access to cooling for all who need it sustainably requires a robust system-level model and multi-stakeholder coalition, collaborating at all levels to make it happen. 

Community Cooling Hubs (CCHs) involve a systems-level approach with the design of sustainable cooling (and heating) services within an integrated energy, needs, and economics framework, ensuring flexibility and replicability with a smart combination and interconnection of energy vectors. CCHs are designed to serve the broad portfolio of a rural or peri-urban community’s needs for cold-chain and cooling in a highly accessible, efficient, affordable, resilient, and sustainable manner, hence contributing simultaneously towards the Agenda 2030, Paris Agreement-related Nationally Determined Contributions, and important aspects of the Montreal Protocol, including the Kigali Amendment and the Rome Declaration on the Contribution of the Montreal Protocol to Food Loss Reduction through Sustainable Cold Chain Development.

Given the ongoing demand for cooling for vaccination programmes that must be extended across the globe, CCHs are also intended to appropriately serve as last-mile storage and delivery spokes at each location in which they are established. They would provide much needed capability to expand an assured reach of vaccines to normally underserved regions and come into use as cold-chain nodes for the vaccination supply chain into rural areas. 

Led by the Centre for Sustainable Cooling, the concept and underlying socio-techno-economic design of CCHs has been developed through rigorous market research and engagement between academic, development agency, end-user, and government partners. Deployment opportunities are being developed with the Cool Coalition Cold-Chain working group. Led by FAO, the Clean Energy Information and Coordination Platforms will connect energy companies and food chain actors that could pay for energy services, if given access to it, by growing their businesses.

The delivery, from demonstration to capacity building and skills training, is supported by new Centres of Excellence such as the Africa Centre of Excellence for Sustainable Cooling and Cold-chain (developed with the support of Rwanda, UK, and UNEP U4E); Cool Coalition’s partners’ expertise, pilot projects, National Cooling Action Plan (NCAP) Methodology, and existing FAO work in several countries on de-risking investments in renewable energy for food chains through mapping best locations for investments and comprehensive cost-benefit analysis of such investments.

The Cool Coalition will play a critical catalytic ‘systems integrator’ role, bringing together key partners across governments (such as UK, Denmark, Ghana, Costa Rica, Cambodia, and France), private sector, international organisations, and civil society. Under the Montreal Protocol, the Rome Declaration for Sustainable Cold Chain Development can serve as an important political framework for commitments and actions. It will also play a knowledge role in creating a compendium of best practices and providing assessment methodologies.

Building on our collaborative knowledge, market understanding, and research, we will create the fit-for-market step-change pathways to net zero cold-chain and cooling and implement CCHs as the anchor for innovative, communitarian, and integrated systems to affordably meet a portfolio of rural or peri-urban community cooling needs including food, health/vaccines (including pandemic response), and human comfort. First, we will use the NCAP methodology, Cooling Needs Assessment, and the cold chain database model to understand and quantify the cooling services at both a national and community level. Next, we will use a proprietary system optimisation virtual twin to guide “build-to-suit” projects for local implementation.[3]Centre for Sustainable Cooling has already built a virtual twin for cold-chain design in developing markets and is currently building a full cold-chain and CCH model for ACES. We will use the Cool Coalition status report and working group to understand the mechanisms required to deliver the key interventions to realise a sustainable cold-chain and CCH including (i) knowledge, capacity, research gaps (and innovation pipeline), (ii) investment ecosystem (iii) incentives and regulatory requirements. Finally, we will use, among others, the Centre for Sustainable Cooling’s Centres of Excellence and Cool Coalition’s pilot projects in India and Cambodia as the deployment and implementation vehicles to provide applied research, teaching, and industrial collaboration to put into action the defined integrated sustainable cooling solutions, smart integration of energy vectors, and the financial models for driving the adoption and uptake of energy-efficient and climate friendly solutions and build in-market capacity and skills to support the uptake and maintenance of best practices and technology deployment, and create incentives for industry to engage in markets.

Join Working Group